Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,185 ✭✭✭✭rob316

SAMTALK wrote: »
    When hairdressers / barbers / beauticians closed down there wasnt a word about needing them open to keep depression at bay or to interact with people

All we got were funny pictures of DIY jobs at home

You had nowhere to go and we all looked like **** so it was grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Allinall wrote: »
    So you've no idea how it gets into the home in the first place.
    It's brought in by somebody having been infected by another person somewhere else outside the home.
    The obvious thing to do is try to restrict the opportunities for someone to pick up the virus outside the home.
    Close non essential meeting places (pubs ) sounds like a good start.

Schools, shops, sports matches, gyms, public transport, should we close them all as they're just as likely to be the source of transmission?

How can all other EU countries have pubs open and we can't? Is the Virus different in say Germany for instance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

growleaves wrote: »
    There have been reports in England of elderly people dying in conditions of solitary confinement that would be illegal among the prison population.

So you're saying it's not Covid killing the elderly, but it's restrictions?

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Schools, shops, sports matches, gyms, public transport, should we close them all as they're just as likely to be the source of transmission?

So there should be no nuance? Open everything or close everything?

That wouldn't be very good at all now would it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭growleaves

MrStuffins wrote: »
    So you're saying it's not Covid killing the elderly, but it's restrictions?

Not as such.

I'm saying that the effects of prolonged isolation, on elderly as well as on non-elderly, are in themselves lethal.

There have been aggravated deaths from Alzheimers among the elderly in the UK.

Many people must dodge the restrictions, criminalising themselves as they do so, to remain mentally normal and healthy.

Supporters of restrictions must tell lies constantly, e.g. "It's not that bad" - since the real harm being done is unjustifiable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,098 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    What lies? That pubs have been closed since March with only a brief reprieve for those operating as restaurants?

You do realise there's a political game going on in the UK? That it's not all about public health? Or did you only read the recent headlines?

And your final point... The pubs aren't responsible for the increase in Covid! All over Europe they never closed. The majority of the cases are traced back to the home not the pub.

Were the majority of these people reclusive. I agree there is an agenda to blame it all on pubs and restaurants, while ignoring the elephant in the room- we saw what happened to the Irishman on Safari when he did that - but, some of the increase is also down to pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭almostover

fin12 wrote: »
    That was not a pub, it was a CAFE.

I'll leave this here.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-seventy-cases-in-cork-traced-to-local-pubs-and-restaurants-in-recent-weeks-1.4366678

I won't mention the establishment that I know of where many cases were but I can assure you it's not a cafe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

growleaves wrote: »
    Yes but we're not meant to according to guidelines. They are closed in order that people will reduce social contacts.

Reducing social contacts for 6-16 months or longer?! Madness.

There have been reports in England of elderly people dying in conditions of solitary confinement that would be illegal among the prison population.

There is no dilemma around these restrictions, they are insupportable ethically.

There seems to be mass confusion around what human beings are and what is required for human society to continue to exist.

Years of isolation are not survivable for a normal person, and people who are isolating *with their families* should not ask lone people to destroy themselves.

Reduce contacts yes. You can have 6 people from 1 other household

You can dine outdoors in a restaurant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Lol! Ridiculous! Christmas will be different alright, but far from cancelled.

Honestly lads, if you built your lives around your routine of too much gargle and not enough other hobbies then this is the time to do something different. Pivot! Do something new. Learn a language, spend your extra time reading books, learn a musical instrument.

Do something productive instead of sitting around moaning because the world is slightly different temporarily and you're so scared of change that you just want to moan and complain it back to normal!

All this talk of "We just want to get on with our lives".

The rest of us ARE getting on with our lives. We're adapting. Maybe you should try it!

I feel personally attacked! :) I'll show you MrStuffins!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

To be fair, he IS right!

If you're saying you need to get out of the house and you need to meet friends, that is not the same as the pubs opening. There are different reasons to get out of the house and different avenues in which to meet friends.

You just WANT to meet them in the pub.

I didn't mention pubs anywhere in any of my posts about how depressing Xmas is. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I didn't mention pubs anywhere in any of my posts about how depressing Xmas is. :confused:

You can meet friends .

No but you said.........
    Sorry if my getting out my house, to stop myself getting caught up in my own head/thoughts, doesn't marry up with your happy clappy ideas of Christmas time. It's not just drinking, its visiting friends, meeting people who have been away all year, keeping yourself busy so you don't end up a stat.

All of these things can be done without pubs.
    Sure pubs don't even open on Christmas Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,457 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Then what it got to do with pubs being restricted?

Do you think government should legislate for unusual situations like your own with the grief associated with the time of year?

I would normally be out in the pub well over half the days on the 2 to 3 weeks I have off over christmas. Haven't missed a 12 pubs in about 11 or 12 years, christmas eve in the pub is one of the highlights of the year.

But feck it, I will manage for one year when we have a deadly pandemic in the country. Off-licence will do the trick as it has done since March and it should do just fine for anyone else too.

When the pandemic is over I will be the first person in the pub but not until then.

But feck it, I will manage for one year when we have a deadly pandemic in the country..............

Christmas 2021 will be very similar to Christmas 2020, at best IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Augeo wrote: »
    Christmas 2021 will be very similar to Christmas 2020, at best IMO.
    Christmas 2021 could go down as the best Christmas in our lifetimes if all this ****e is over by then! :pac:

No but you said.........

All of these things can be done without pubs.
    Sure pubs don't even open on Christmas Day.
    Then what it got to do with pubs being restricted?

Do you think government should legislate for unusual situations like your own with the grief associated with the time of year?

It's not just pubs that are restricted. Cinema's, cafes, restaurants, etc. Can only socialise with one other household. Its nonsense.

It's not nonsense, but it is more difficult than normal.

Govt should be legislating f all for a virus with such a low death rate.

https://twitter.com/FatEmperor/status/1314159651664076805?s=20

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Serious question, Is the Dáil bar now closed and if open only allowed serve food to 15 outdoor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Serious question, Is the Dáil bar now closed and if open only allowed serve food to 15 outdoor?

Still open, I think it's like the one in Westminster, it's considered a workplace Cafeteria...

Plenty of pints being supped as they are in the Dail making the laws...

This same up in the UK Parliament where their bars were exempt from the 10pm curfew because it was a staff canteen for people working in Parliament.

Not sure if the Dail bar is the same but it could be a work canteen which might also have different rules.

I'd have no problem with it serving food as that's pretty normal and necessary. Booze is not necessary and it's taking the p1ss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭HBC08

I think you're confusing nonsense with inconvenient, disruptive, scary,not normal,uncomfortable, a pain in the hole etc.

This sh1tty situation is going to be life for the next year or two.No amount of complaining or stomping of feet is going to change that.Its best to make your peace with it however you can and get on with it like the rest of us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I think it is only open if you don't support the government. They decided that politicians that do nothing all day need somewhere to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

Get used to the fact that restaurants and pubs (especially Pint pubs) ARE a problem with managing Covid.
    Yet apparently not for anywhere else in Europe who have had them open all summer and are only closing them now as they enter the rough equivalent of our level 4.
    Funny how you keep cherry-picking examples from the UK which has been utterly disastrous at managing the entire pandemic.
    How do you think the virus gets into the home in the first place?
    So you've no idea how it gets into the home in the first place.

It's brought in by somebody having been infected by another person somewhere else outside the home.

The obvious thing to do is try to restrict the opportunities for someone to pick up the virus outside the home.

Close non essential meeting places (pubs ) sounds like a good start.

No, the extremely obvious thing to do would have been to make some effort to ask patient 0 in each home cluster where they've been recently and try to build up a view of where they might have contracted it. Which is what pretty much everyone I know assumed was happening, until NPHET accidentally let it slip last week that they weren't bothering (ironically as part of their justification for shutting pubs).

We've repeatedly heard that pubs needed to stay shut based on "best international evidence" despite the fact that everywhere in Europe has had them open all summer.

Presumably best international evidence didn't mandate actually tracking how the virus is spreading, particularly when cases were low and businesses were gradually reopening; making any effort to enforce quarantine on international arrivals; increasing ICU availability; investigating early clusters like meat-packing plants and putting measure into place to prevent re-occurence; developing a coherent long-term plan and sticking to it, as opposed to rewriting it at first use.

You could go into level 5 restrictions from now until January, and by April we'd be back where we are now.

The whole point of the first lockdown was to buy time for the government and health authorities to establish protocols and infrastructure to deal with future waves. They've both failed utterly to get remotely near doing so. And now we're back to Tony telling everyone that it's all down to us again (while Leo snipes from the sidelines at the mess his government got us into).

He's right though - it is all down to us. Because there's no way those muppets are doing anything to help.

It is anything but nonsense, it is crucially important we severely limit our contacts to stop the virus spread. Its insane that a number of posters in here don't think this is needed and no wonder cases are going up with this attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,620 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

It is anything but nonsense, it is crucially important we severely limit our contacts to stop the virus spread. Its insane that a number of posters in here don't think this is needed and no wonder cases are going up with this attitude.

So if we go to level 5 like you want nox, how will your Christmas be if you can't visit your parents?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

MOH wrote: »
    Yet apparently not for anywhere else in Europe who have had them open all summer and are only closing them now as they enter the rough equivalent of our level 4.
    Funny how you keep cherry-picking examples from the UK which has been utterly disastrous at managing the entire pandemic.

No, the extremely obvious thing to do would have been to make some effort to ask patient 0 in each home cluster where they've been recently and try to build up a view of where they might have contracted it. Which is what pretty much everyone I know assumed was happening, until NPHET accidentally let it slip last week that they weren't bothering (ironically as part of their justification for shutting pubs).

We've repeatedly heard that pubs needed to stay shut based on "best international evidence" despite the fact that everywhere in Europe has had them open all summer.

Presumably best international evidence didn't mandate actually tracking how the virus is spreading, particularly when cases were low and businesses were gradually reopening; making any effort to enforce quarantine on international arrivals; increasing ICU availability; investigating early clusters like meat-packing plants and putting measure into place to prevent re-occurence; developing a coherent long-term plan and sticking to it, as opposed to rewriting it at first use.

You could go into level 5 restrictions from now until January, and by April we'd be back where we are now.

The whole point of the first lockdown was to buy time for the government and health authorities to establish protocols and infrastructure to deal with future waves. They've both failed utterly to get remotely near doing so. And now we're back to Tony telling everyone that it's all down to us again (while Leo snipes from the sidelines at the mess his government got us into).

He's right though - it is all down to us. Because there's no way those muppets are doing anything to help.

Brilliant post.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Limpy

I hope patrons and publican's remember how this government F'ed you when we get another election. Same goes for the Airline, hospitality sector. Oh and the Health sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

How nice would a quiet meal and a pint be after a hard week of work?! What a shame.