Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,787 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Dickie10 wrote: »
    I really cant see pubs open until January 2021 now, they have them closed again and this was what they seemed to want all along. I would be shocked if they open mid November with xmas so close

If this was done with malice then its a ****ty thing to do and costing then more in PUP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Dickie10 wrote: »
    I really cant see pubs open until January 2021 now, they have them closed again and this was what they seemed to want all along. I would be shocked if they open mid November with xmas so close

At this stage Christmas has basically been cancelled.

No trick or treating either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

IAMAMORON wrote: »

Christmas cancelled ?

No it has n't. I'm sick to death of hearing about saving Christmas, Christmas not happening. Of course it will happen.

Maybe pubs will be closed, maybe shops will be closed but of course Christmas will still happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,587 ✭✭✭SteM

Christmas is canceled!? Better tell my young fella and his friends. Damn this cancel culture.

SAMTALK wrote: »

Maybe pubs will be closed, maybe shops will be closed but of course Christmas will still happen

Yes, hopefully folks intending on spending it with folk in their 60s and 70s + ensure they have as close to no close contacts in the two weeks leading up to it. Otherwise we'll potentially have a very grim January.

Augeo wrote: »
    Yes, hopefully folks intending on spending it with folk in their 60s and 70s + ensure they have as close to no close contacts in the two weeks leading up to it. Otherwise we'll potentially have a very grim January.

People need to realise it's up to us to help stop the spread not the Government or NPHET.

They can put all the restrictions they want in place but they are no good unless we do what we can. People giving out about Government and NPHET , giving opinions on what they should do and where they are going wrong.

They are not the ones mixing in large groups, not wearing masks, not washing hands, not social distancing. WE ARE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

A depressing time of year made even more depressing. Excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭MarkY91

People need to realise it's up to us to help stop the spread not the Government or NPHET.

They can put all the restrictions they want in place but they are no good unless we do what we can. People giving out about Government and NPHET , giving opinions on what they should do and where they are going wrong.

They are not the ones mixing in large groups, not wearing masks, not washing hands, not social distancing. WE ARE

Everyone needs to read the post above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,457 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

A depressing time of year made even more depressing. Excellent.

Ah lads, is this the way grown adults behave? This talk of how Christmas is cancelled is like looking at a bridezilla show where a neurotic bint throws a hissy-fit.

Was the pub really the best part of Christmas for some of you guys?

People need to realise it's up to us to help stop the spread not the Government or NPHET...........

There's all too many goons out there bitching and moaning whilst not social distancing, wearing/using masks correctly or hand sanitising whilst racking up lots of close contacts daily........ they are the fooking problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,615 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Unless it’s at a fancy golf society event of course.

FourFourFM wrote: »
    Unless it’s at a fancy golf society event of course.

Yes this was wrong . Of course it was wrong but jesus wept the amount of people who used this as justification to do what they wanted was unreal

Oh it was ok for them so Im going to have a party / go on hols ets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Hear Hear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Eh can you just speak for yourself there Pal?

The likes of what you post is a kick in the teeth to the majority of us who've been following the rules since the start, so cut the carp and go approach those you seen in public not obeying the rules and admonish them instead of coming on here preaching in a condescending manner...

Tenzor07 wrote: »

The likes of what you post is a kick in the teeth to the majority of us who've been doing this since the start, so cut the carp and go approach those you seen in public not obeying the rules and admonish them instead of coming on here preaching in a condescending manner...

Im not preaching , just stating the facts.

Im doing what was required since this began , but of course I got some things wrong. Don't tell me that the majority of people have not done something wrong at some stage, let it be something as simple as standing too close to someone

So it's ok to admonish the government and NPHET but not the people of the country.

Lol! Ridiculous! Christmas will be different alright, but far from cancelled.

Honestly lads, if you built your lives around your routine of too much gargle and not enough other hobbies then this is the time to do something different. Pivot! Do something new. Learn a language, spend your extra time reading books, learn a musical instrument.

Do something productive instead of sitting around moaning because the world is slightly different temporarily and you're so scared of change that you just want to moan and complain it back to normal!

All this talk of "We just want to get on with our lives".

The rest of us ARE getting on with our lives. We're adapting. Maybe you should try it!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

So.... Scotland's going down the same road or even stronger on the hospitality sector, and talk of parts of the UK doing the same.

For me, level 5 is not needed as such, what IS needed, yesterday ideally, is a total curfew between 9 pm and 5 am, other than for essential purposes, with real teeth and sanctions in the enforcement, that solves the "house party" issues, gets the groups of teens off the street corners, and (fringe benefit) stops the teens letting off fireworks to terrorise people and pets.

There are a few non essential retail type outlets (betting shops) that are not needed for society to function, but like it or not, we actually need a lot of the economy functioning if we're going to avoid major problems that really will hurt.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭HBC08

Ah lads, is this the way grown adults behave? This talk of how Christmas is cancelled is like looking at a bridezilla show where a neurotic bint throws a hissy-fit.

Those type of comments get 10 or 20 thanks over on the restrictions thread.It validates the posters,what they perhaps dont realise is its the same 19 or 20 moanbags thanking the posts.
    I think these posters get a bit of a shock when they venture out onto other threads which are more of a representation of ordinary decent people trying to get through it all.

The likes of what you post is a kick in the teeth to the majority of us who've been following the rules since the start, so cut the carp and go approach those you seen in public not obeying the rules and admonish them instead of coming on here preaching in a condescending manner...

It is not a kick in the teeth to you and me who have followed the guidelines. It's a tribute to those who do the right thing and follow the rules to do what we can to make sure we don't add to the problem. It's a rebuke to those who are whingeing, bitching and moaning about the government while shirking their own responsibilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Two of my best friends died a year apart at Christmas when I was 18 and 19. Sorry if my getting out my house, to stop myself getting caught up in my own head/thoughts, doesn't marry up with your happy clappy ideas of Christmas time. It's not just drinking, its visiting friends, meeting people who have been away all year, keeping yourself busy so you don't end up a stat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

So.... Scotland's going down the same road or even stronger on the hospitality sector, and talk of parts of the UK doing the same.

For me, level 5 is not needed as such, what IS needed, yesterday ideally, is a total curfew between 9 pm and 5 am, other than for essential purposes, with real teeth and sanctions in the enforcement, that solves the "house party" issues, gets the groups of teens off the street corners, and (fringe benefit) stops the teens letting off fireworks to terrorise people and pets.

There are a few non essential retail type outlets (betting shops) that are not needed for society to function, but like it or not, we actually need a lot of the economy functioning if we're going to avoid major problems that really will hurt.

They'll just start the parties before 9pm and leave after 5am

Thing is that in the UK the boozers are owned by the brewers. They have a proper lobby with the British cabinet and that is why they are staying open in England and Wales.

The real reason Sturgeon is closing them in Scotland ( apart from their lobby not being strong enough ) is that Sturgeon is hell bent in adopting a polar opposite policy implementation to Westminster. It is basicallly a passive objectional policy designed to appease Scottish independents and generate their support. Throw in SNP euro policy and you can fathom the agenda.

Publicans in Ireland do not have an effectual government lobby. They are getting thrown under the bus by politicians that know that conservative Ireland throw their noses up at the pub industry and secretly despise your average publican, it is too many votes to be flahoolagh with.

Furthermore the brewers are not complaining as their sales are not completely compromised. People are still buying lots of cans, spirits and bottles of wine. In fact the off license trade are acing it and have never made so much money.

Deep down the government are aware that your average Irish publican is undertaxed, has a certain degree of wealth and is expendable politically. Hence the sacrifice. There are publicans on the breadline for sure, but not enough to trouble the concern of the government.

Two of my best friends died a year apart at Christmas when I was 18 and 19. Sorry if my getting out my house, to stop myself getting caught up in my own head/thoughts, doesn't marry up with your happy clappy ideas of Christmas time. It's not just drinking, its visiting friends, meeting people who have been away all year, keeping yourself busy so you don't end up a stat.

Sorry to hear this weldoninhio.

Really what you meant was the pubs will be closed at Christmas not that Christmas will be cancelled, which is a totally different thing
    Friends can be visited, you can still keep busy, you can still get out of the house

There are currently ways to do this and stay within the guidelines. What you're suggesting does not go against what is being asked of you, unless you chose to do it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭HBC08

I'm sorry to hear about your friends.
    I know Christmas can be a tough time for many in similar situations.
    Look,covid is a sh1t situation for everybody.If you disregard the rules because youre feeling down about your mates or youre just a d1ckhead and don't care about anyone else,it doesn't matter the reason,it continues to spread and you have contributed to it.Thats the cold reality of where we are now and it's feicing horrible but it needs to be dealt with as best we can.

I dont imagine there'll be a complete ban on getting out of your house at Christmas btw

It is not a kick in the teeth to you and me who have followed the guidelines. It's a tribute to those who do the right thing and follow the rules to do what we can to make sure we don't add to the problem. It's a rebuke to those who are whingeing, bitching and moaning about the government while shirking their own responsibilities.

No, but if you are going to adhere to proper lockdown guidelines you will be unable to mix and mingle with you and yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Lol! Ridiculous! Christmas will be different alright, but far from cancelled.!

You know exactly what people are talking about, you're just taking the P out of people with your post...

Headlines like this drive fear into many people:

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/christmas-could-be-cancelled-as-covid-surges-across-nation-and-medics-urge-move-to-level-4-39600035.html

Holohan is planning a full National lockdown which will see more Gardai out on the road with more powers to stop and possibly fine people... Normal people who haven't seen their families in months now stopped from leaving their homes. Families have already been out clearing the shelves of Toystores in anticipation. Parents having to explain to children why they can't see Aunts, Uncles and Grandparents this Christmas or go out and play with their friends over in the next town or estate. Churches closed, no celebration of the day allowed...
    May mean nothing to the likes of you, but to people with young families and friends/relations it does take away what Christmas is for them, in being together..

MrStuffins wrote: »
    There are currently ways to do this and stay within the guidelines. What you're suggesting does not go against what is being asked of you, unless you chose to do it that way.

What are they?

You know exactly what people are talking about, you're just taking the P out of people with your post...

Headlines like this drive fear into many people:

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/christmas-could-be-cancelled-as-covid-surges-across-nation-and-medics-urge-move-to-level-4-39600035.html

Holohan is planning a full National lockdown which will see more Gardai out on the road with more powers to stop and possibly fine people... Normal people who haven't seen their families in months now stopped from leaving their homes. Families have already been out clearing the shelves of Toystores in anticipation. Parents having to explain to children why they can't see Aunts, Uncles and Grandparents this Christmas or go out and play with their friends over in the next town or estate. Churches closed, no celebration of the day allowed...
    May mean nothing to the likes of you, but to people with young families and friends/relations it does take away what Christmas is for them, in being together..

TBF all was said that the dramatic headlines etc of Christmas being cancelled is over the top.

Yes it might change but if you have kids Santa will still come, still have the dinner and spend the day together. Ok it might not be with all the people you usually meet with but we will all be affected in some way or other.

Sure and I'm sorry to hear about your friends. But that's nothing to do with Christmas.

And the thing you said you like to do to take your mind off the past, " its visiting friends, meeting people" are precisely the thing that help spread the virus. So while visiting friends and meeting people might be a great idea for you under normal circumstances, this year ain't normal circumstances.

And that's all apart from the fact that your circumstances aren't the norm. Do you think government should make guidance based on niche circumstances like your own?