Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

antodeco wrote: »
    My daughter goes to colasite Chillian and based on what's she's telling me, I'm surprised they only have 8 cases.

No enforcement of mask wearing at all. Lads coughing and spitting all over the place.

Sounds like not much has changed since my time there!
    “Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

lukas8888 wrote: »
    You got to be kidding she is widely considered one of the best looking females across assorted channels.

i didn't say she wasn't good looking. i said i don't care for her dead lifeless eyes.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭political analyst

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/oct/06/scientists-call-for-herd-immunity-covid-strategy-for-young
    An international group of scientists has called on governments to overturn their coronavirus strategies and allow young and healthy people to return to normal life while protecting the most vulnerable.

The proposal drawn up by three researchers, but signed by many more, argues for letting the virus spread in low-risk groups in the hope of reaching so-called herd immunity, a situation where enough of the population is resistant to the virus to quell the pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Spiderman0081

Sweden's herd immunity is looking less like a thing each day.

https://twitter.com/zorinaq/status/1313534442170798080?s=20
    Ireland’s “we are all in this together” looking even less like a thing each day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,336 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The authors of the declaration – Sunetra Gupta at Oxford University

Seriously would she ever fúck off!

The day the WHO said a Vaccine could be approved by the end of the year and that cúnt still wants to cull the vulnerable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find them, maybe you can hire... the B-Team.

Their proposal to protect care homes is to have the staff move into them.

33,000 staff in Ireland all abandoning their families and life and moving into the care facilities that don't have the room anyway.

tenor.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,971 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I don't think they ever referred to their approach as herd immunity
    It's a crap approach regardless of their aims.

Boggles wrote: »
    Their proposal to protect care homes is to have the staff move into them.

33,000 staff in Ireland all abandoning their families and life and moving into the care facilities that don't have the room anyway.

tenor.gif

Time to start building "granny-flats" onto care homes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,523 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Sure if we are talking crazy plans we should have forcibly quarantined all the non vulnerable and sent them to camps to be deliberately infected then released back into society a month later.
    Think of it as national service.
    I am surprised N Korea didnt think of this they think outside the box.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,553 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

mloc123 wrote: »
    Kildare has about 5-6 times the population of Longford, Dublin has around 40 times the population of Longford..

You cannot use stats like that for this. I saw an expert on tv talking about this, how countries use their population as a figure to divide by. It's not how it works when talking about a virus.

China shutdown the province of Hubei and its capital Wuhan, not the whole of China.
    Of course China could have used it's giant population number, and used it to divide it by cases and claim, all is grand.

It's sad to see the pubs close but it's necessary. Wouldn't mind increased income tax to help pay for PUP for hospitality workers. Something non draconian like 2-3%.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭TexasTornado

It's sad to see the pubs close but it's necessary. Wouldn't mind increased income tax to help pay for PUP for hospitality workers. Something non draconian like 2-3%.

Absolutely. We all have to pitch in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Pfizer have submitted their vaccine for rolling submission. Which means the regulator can start reviewing the clinical trial data. Can cut down on approval time

https://investors.biontech.de/news-releases/news-release-details/biontech-and-pfizer-initiate-rolling-submission-european

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Just roll back on the increase in the public sector pay bill which came into force this month and divert the money to PUP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Nermal

Professor Trish Greenhalgh... said it was not practical to cut off an entire cohort of vulnerable people from open society.

Yet shutting down large segments of our economy is practical?

Does Trish in her own life avoid doing anything that cannot be done perfectly, with no risk involved?

Practical suggestions are listed in the declaration, but that doesn't mean all of them are required or sensible in every situation, and of course we can think of more.

Who knows - if we applied to their strategy a tiny fraction of the creative zeal we've shown in shutting ourselves down, we might even be able to come up with a few more.

Just roll back on the increase in the public sector pay bill which came into force this month and divert the money to PUP.

The unions would never agree unfortunately. Also, a lot of the porters/kitchen staff would be hurt by the rollback. We are all not on mega wages in the HSE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,196 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

This is our life going forward really. Most people can accept it and deal accordingly in order to keep schools and some businesses open. I realise it is devastating for the hospitality sector. It is very tough for them.

Will be a roller coaster all the way to a viable safe vaccine I think, and the Winter is not going to help either.

Was strolling past my lovely local hostillery earlier that has a great outdoor space with views of the river and lovely evening sun (when the sun shines!). Boss man was telling me that they are only opening Thursday, Fri and Sat with massive heaters, but can only have fifteen and they must have grub. This is Dublin.

Very tough on them and their staff. But needs must. Anyway hopefully the mad house parties and gatherings will ease off for everyone's sake. Look, no one wants to be a party pooper or clutching their pearls, but this is an abnormal time really and is what we have to deal with.

Good on those who stuck by the rules, and will still do that. You are helping to quell the spread. That must be acknowledged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

To those knocking the Barrington Declaration, What about talking to people like myself and others who are high risk before knocking it. Or do we not get a say... if so that is discrimnation.
    High risk does not mean our choices and voices should not be heard. And likewise all epidemiologists of both sides should have a voice and maybe, the path lies some where in the middle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Public health coming under pressure. Hopefully they can keep it up.

https://twitter.com/marietcasey/status/1313547173846487043?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,971 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

speckle wrote:
    To those knocking the Barrington Declaration, What about talking to people like myself and others who are high risk before knocking it. Or do we not get a say... if so that is discrimnation. High risk does not mean our choices and voices should not be heard. And likewise all epidemiologists of both sides should have a voice and maybe, the path lies some where in the middle.
    Either that or maybe you should all be allowed carry a shotgun to protect yourselves.
    I qualify by the way, I'm high risk even though I do everything possible to stay healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,725 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Eod100 wrote: »

''Mr Varadkar told TDs and Senators that it was inevitable that cases will rise for the next two to three weeks even under the current Level 3 restrictions, but that the country was not ready to return to lockdown, particularly as other countries in Europe had a higher incidence rate than Ireland.''

For an accurate comparison, how many ICU beds do those countries have per 100,000?

''Mr Varadkar said that the oversight group was due to meet on Monday and suggested that Nphet should have waited until then to discuss the advice with Government.''

So his issue was that NPHET met on Sunday night? That's literally it?

speckle wrote: »
    To those knocking the Barrington Declaration, What about talking to people like myself and others who are high risk before knocking it. Or do we not get a say... if so that is discrimnation.
    High risk does not mean our choices and voices should not be heard. And likewise all epidemiologists of both sides should have a voice and maybe, the path lies some where in the middle.

Its the practicalities of such plans that arent feasible, like the one pointed out. It would be a bit like Nphet giving out economic advice.

So his issue was that NPHET met on Sunday night? That's literally it?

Leo does know the "E" in NPHET is emergency, right?

I imagine the notion of working on Sunday might seem strange to a politician all right.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Public health coming under pressure. Hopefully they can keep it up.

https://twitter.com/marietcasey/status/1313547173846487043?s=20

Wonder was that a factor in NPHET recommendation? Yet more crap planning by the HSE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

eagle eye wrote: »
    Either that or maybe you should all be allowed carry a shotgun to protect yourselves.
    I qualify by the way, I'm high risk even though I do everything possible to stay healthy.
    I hope you are keeping well. but why use yourselves if you are high risk, ti should be ourselves? And yes, there will be a range of different voices within the high risk catorgories. I don't need a gun for protection, but I have always had a gra to try archery.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,136 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

xvril wrote: »
    Anyone thinking pubs will stay open and serve outdoors tomorrow will be dissapointed tomorrow.

Not one pub stayed open in Letterkenny. Not exactly weather for serving outdoors and with a max 15 people its hardly worth their while.

Even with heaters, would you bother your hole ? It’s hardly going to be any comfort in that as winter hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

I think he said that last night, it just wasn't the right approach without more discussion /thought.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭TexasTornado

Boggles wrote: »
    Leo does know the "E" in NPHET is emergency, right?

I imagine the notion of working on Sunday might seem strange to a politician all right.

Hold on he's just going to check with his PR people first.