Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

polesheep wrote: »
    No, it will be an issue. Many of those who clapped for the nurses and doctors will be calling for them to be vaccinated whether they like it or not. This pandemic is proving to be a wonderful opportunity to study human behaviour.

it is indeed I agree. on the vaccine in health workers. I read there's a belief that because they're front line and so exposed, the workers have a slight advantage on their side with immunity, ergo, they get sick less. I'm not saying it's true i'm saying a friend of mine works in that sector and it's kind of a common myth or reality depending on who you believe. A bit like cow pox and the milk maids who were seemingly immune for the same reasons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Eod100 wrote: »
    Well for one change in Holohan coming back as CMO, another is the data reviewed since all in their letter. Communication could have been better but I don't think that would have made government go along with it. Plus Varadkar who already had meeting with CMO didn't need to be as critical or as personal on national tv.

I think he did. If he hadn't the public would have looked to NPHET first every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Derek Zoolander

Zebra3 wrote: »
    What data is this?

Pfizer share price dropped slightly today and over the last month has been static between 36 and 37USD.

If it was really believed that a corporation were about the produce a vaccine to make covid19 irrelevant the share price would be moving significantly upwards.

data links below

EMA agree real time data review for the vaccine (pretty big deal)

https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2020/10/06/2104060/0/en/BioNTech-and-Pfizer-Initiate-Rolling-Submission-to-European-Medicines-Agency-for-SARS-CoV-2-Vaccine-Candidate-BNT162b2.html

Final data from Ph3 scheduled for end October
    https://www.contagionlive.com/news/pfizer-phase-3-coronavirus-vaccine-data-october

combine those two and to me it looks likely approval in 2020

not sure that the vaccine will be a game changer in terms of pfizers bottom line..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭moonage

Benimar wrote: »
    516 positive swabs on 11,646 tests - 4.43% positivity

God, they have to do an awful lot of testing to unearth "cases". (It's annoying that they call positive tests "Covid cases", when most are asymptomatic and don't get the disease called Covid.)

Maybe the level of herd immunity is quite high already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Any DOH briefing tonight?

rusty cole wrote: »
    it is indeed I agree. on the vaccine in health workers. I read there's a belief that because they're front line and so exposed, the workers have a slight advantage on their side with immunity, ergo, they get sick less. I'm not saying it's true i'm saying a friend of mine works in that sector and it's kind of a common myth or reality depending on who you believe. A bit like cow pox and the milk maids who were seemingly immune for the same reasons!

Ha ha, love it. You may have a point. My nurse wife is never ill. Even the poison in her tea doesn't work.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,729 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

I think he did. If he hadn't the public would have looked to NPHET first every time.

How do you mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

eagle eye wrote: »
    We know that in the short term only.

Short term smort term. Should we stay in a locked down state for the next 50 years in case a teenager that had no symptoms now gets something in 2070??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

is_that_so wrote: »

There must be a good level of immunity in most of those plants by now

Eod100 wrote: »
    How do you mean?

It was all about power. Holohan tried to make himself numero uno for Covid matters. The government rightly put him in his place. If they hadn't they would have been saying, "Okay, you can be number one voice."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

lethalJB wrote: »
    I've no doubt they have a right to be concerned, and obviously I'm not going to rubbish their models.

But their fundamental flaw is on page 3:
    NPHET ... is confident that people across Ireland can once again meet the challenge with determination and unity of purpose
    I disagree with this confidence, and as we saw from the sh1tstorm yesterday, it is likely there would have been broad non-compliance; even active defiance; if a level 5 lockdown were to be introduced.

That letter, at page 3, says correctly;
    The measures proposed will only be effective if there is broad societal buy-in and adherence

In essence, the letter practically advises that level 5 should only be done if society is behind it.

Society would not be behind it. Which makes level 5 a mistake.

Society *is* behind a level 3 escalation. It can work. More slowly than level 5, but better a longer restriction that eventually works than a short, strict restriction that fails completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

There must be a good level of immunity in most of those plants by now
    We hope so but they need that serial testing anyway.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,721 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

moonage wrote: »
    God, they have to do an awful lot of testing to unearth "cases". (It's annoying that they call positive tests "Covid cases", when most are asymptomatic and don't get the disease called Covid.)

Maybe the level of herd immunity is quite high already.

This is a good point actually.

I'd love to see the following percentages:

% of population infected
    % of population tested
    % without symptoms
    % admitted to hospital due to Covid
    % died due to Covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,729 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

It was all about power. Holohan tried to make himself numero uno for Covid matters. The government rightly put him in his place. If they hadn't they would have been saying, "Okay, you can be number one voice."

That assumes NPHET leaked the letter. I don't see what they would gain from that when the letter is published after anyway. And not their usual style either.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

seamus wrote: »
    Society would not be behind it. Which makes level 5 a mistake.

Society *is* behind a level 3 escalation. It can work. More slowly than level 5, but better a longer restriction that eventually works than a short, strict restriction that fails completely.
    Precisely. A lot of the people calling for Level 5 are under the impression people will adhere to Level 5's restrictions. They won't. The nub of the issue - people mingling - is mostly in the home so getting them on board there, thinking about their behaviour, is more beneficial than pissing them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

FAI confirm member of backroom team has tested positive for Covid19 days before Slovakia clash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Now instead the people can look open-mouthed towards their great leaders in politics who are never beholden to lobby groups.

NPHET has one job - the national Public Health Emergency called Covid. They were addressing that job as specialists. They were trying to get in front of it. If money was not an issue then to get in front of a pandemic is what a civilised society should do. Personally I think money can be found to be civilised. But fair enough I accept the postponement.

In a month or thereabouts I believe level 5 will happen - maybe we just have to wait until other countries do it first. For people who get anxious about that prepare mentally and emotionally now. There is no need to lose sleep. The purpose will simply be to take pressure off the health system that will mount due to increasing presence of virus especially in vulnerable groups, the purpose will not be to crucify the population.

froog wrote: »
    yeah but we've moved on from the middle ages i'm afraid. we actually try to save people's lives nowadays.

Unless you're one of those selfish types who only thinks of their own needs and doesn't consider saving other people's lives an incentive. Example:
    the whole plan is bollix excuse my French absolutely 0 incentive to play any part in this nonsense anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,974 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Eod100 wrote:
    Well for one change in Holohan coming back as CMO, another is the data reviewed since all in their letter. Communication could have been better but I don't think that would have made government go along with it. Plus Varadkar who already had meeting with CMO didn't need to be as critical or as personal on national tv.

Varadkar came across as as an idiot telling the country that he asked NPHET about a bunch of stuff outside their remit and telling us all they didn't have answers.
    We all know they aren't going to give advice on economic matters.

What sort of an idiot would be fooled by that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,006 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

No, it will be an issue. Many of those who clapped for the nurses and doctors will be calling for them to be vaccinated whether they like it or not. This pandemic is proving to be a wonderful opportunity to study human behaviour.

Hypothetically speaking, if a vaccine is rolled out Jan 1st, who exactly would be expected to take it?

I would have thought health care workers would require a 100% uptake?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

669 new cases in NI + 1 death....
    ....out of....
    14,542 new cases in UK + 76.

Would appear to be somewhat out of control there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,336 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

seamus wrote: »

I don't see any evidence personally or anecdotally society is behind level 2 or whatever hybrid it is let alone level 3. The GAA coming out against their own should be a clue.

The data and science is being ignored.

There has been a significant up shift in the instances of the virus, the figures are getting big fast nationally. This is longer confined to one or 2 counties.

The problem is.

Over the next 2 weeks the numbers are going to grow and grow large and with them hospitalizations.

Every day that happens the government is going to become more and more under pressure. It's going to get intense.

Fast forward 2-3 weeks if we are 700+ infections a day, 200-300 in hospitals and ICU nearing capacity.

The plug will be pulled, society buy in or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,006 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Varadkar came across as as an idiot telling the country that he asked NPHET about a bunch of stuff outside their remit and telling us all they didn't have answers.

Claire came accross an ejit who was flabbergasted at the fact Ireland wouldnt be shut down on the advice of a Medical response team concerned only with Covid and no other health conditions.

Exactly.

Leo bringing up the emotive nonsense of oh they wouldn't have to tell someone they are going on PUP was absolutely embarrassing.

He will have to come out and offer some sort of apology for that absolute shít show last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

Boggles wrote: »
    I don't see any evidence personally or anecdotally society is behind level 2 or whatever hybrid it is let alone level 3. The GAA coming out against their own should be a clue.

The data and science is being ignored.

There has been a significant up shift in the instances of the virus, the figures are getting big fast nationally. This is longer confined to one or 2 counties.

The problem is.

Over the next 2 weeks the numbers are going to grow and grow large and with them hospitalizations.

Every day that happens the government is going to become more and more under pressure. It's going to get intense.

Fast forward 2-3 weeks if we are 700+ infections a day, 200-300 in hospitals and ICU nearing capacity.

The plug will be pulled, society buy in or not.

I'd say you can't wait, the glee is just oozing from you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭stockshares

is_that_so wrote: »

How frequent are the tests and are they tested without warning?

Any stats for the workers who are living in Direct Provision?

OwenM wrote: »
    I'd say you can't wait, the glee is just oozing from you.

Because I want our governance to look at the data, don't get emotive and base their decisions on science.

I can hazard a guess what the M stands for.

Exactly.

Leo bringing up the emotive nonsense of oh they wouldn't have to tell someone they are going on PUP was absolutely embarrassing.

He will have to come out and offer some sort of apology for that absolute shít show last night.

No he won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,208 ✭✭✭screamer

Exactly.

In the grand scheme of things, there have been a lot worse things done to ordinary people. You should look up the cervical check scandal, now that’s a very big **** show with tragic outcomes.