Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,715 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Did the brother happen to mention if any of those who tested positive are actually sick?

What does it matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Ah here, level 5. Thats completely unwarranted

I’m speechless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,880 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Hmmm
    Sources said last night that the Government would not defy any recommendation from Dr Holohan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,445 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

For Gods sake , Level 5 ??
    Well that will go down well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭madcabbage

I would call that hitting the panic button. They can't honestly expect the whole country to play ball with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,983 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Independent saying NPHET recommending 3 for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I guess a lot of people will want to live elsewhere other than Ireland the way this country is going.

Level 5 would be ridiculous.

jojofizzio wrote: »
    Looks like Big T is back at the helm alright....

I think government asked big t back as they knew he had the moral authority to introduce such measures.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭TexasTornado

Correct approach. We need to get on top of this situation now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,762 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

madcabbage wrote: »
    I would call that hitting the panic button. They can't honestly expect the whole country to play ball with that.

Surely not. Honestly cannot see how government will themselves buy into shutting down the country again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,729 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Ah here, level 5. Thats completely unwarranted

I don't think it would be NPHET's style but wonder do they think government will refuse 5 and go with 4 as opposed to recommending 4 and going with 3 say. Wasn't even expecting country to be in 4 so seems to have come out of nowhere tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Looking for that chart that lists the various levels and can’t find it- can anybody oblige?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,715 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

manniot2 wrote: »
    Holly fook I can’t believe this

There's nothing unbelievable about it. As has been said umpteen times, their focus is purely public health. They don't, nor should they, factor in anything else outside the scope of their remit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Hopefully just some kind of miscommunication leak, even a level 4 outside the cities is just completely over the top currently. 22 in ICU! It is still at a completely manageable level

I'd really lose a lot a lot of faith in your national governance if they press the big red button so prematurely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

Level 5 means back to March again. Complete shutdown. End of the economy. I mean, as far as the virus goes, it will work. But is is practical? Will the government stomach it? Can we afford it? I think there will be riots personally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,730 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Who is this? Are they liable to report rumour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,762 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Correct approach.

Bringing the country back to March is the correct approach?? Go away out of that.

Its completely disproportionate to numerous counties

Is it a bargaining tactic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

irishgeo wrote: »
    Independent saying NPHET recommending 3 for everyone.

That may be excessive for some counties, but level 5 all round just seems outta touch. To go from 2-5 in one recommendation makes the 5 point plan even more of a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,556 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Hurrache wrote: »
    There's nothing unbelievable about it. As has been said umpteen times, their focus is purely public health. They don't, nor should they, factor in anything else outside the scope of their remit.

Should ban smoking so.

Massive danger to public health...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,543 ✭✭✭✭road_high

RobertKK wrote: »
    I guess a lot of people will want to live elsewhere other than Ireland the way this country is going.

Level 5 would be ridiculous.

It’s becoming intolerable le to be honest. We are one of the most idiotic panicky dumb nations on planet earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭pconn062

If they even consider going to level 5 they will lose the majority of public support. I won't be closing my business again that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Quote:
    Sources said last night that the Government would not defy any recommendation from Dr Holohan

The true leader has spoken lads!!
    Usually Micheál Lehane is on the ball so,, looks like level 5.
    That’s the will of the majority of this country crushed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

I actually don't know anyone who has had Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭MaccaTacca

irishgeo wrote: »
    People aren't showing up for covid tests after being contacted by tracers. I make that an arrestable offence and a huge fine and I go as far as house arrest.

Well that's a nuts suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,556 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

pconn062 wrote: »
    If they even consider going to level 5 they will lose the majority of public support. I won't be closing my business again that's for sure.

Correct.

22 in ICU.

Jesus what have we become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,445 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Are they leaking Level 5 so that when they say Level 3 we will all say “ Ah grand “

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

so we will probably have a hard lcokdown for 3 weeks, including airports.
    number will drop, people will praise nphet and the govt.
    3 weeks after we slowly open abck up...again... open the airports, numbers rise again and we go back to yoyo lockdowns.

havent a ****ing clue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭boardise

It wants to find new hosts with no immunity.

A community with immunity can function with impunity.