Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 and socialising

• 01-10-2020 4:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭

In view of the superspreader couple, how many holidays,piss-ups, parties,dinner parties does one need per week to maintain mental health? Full disclosure i visited one restaurant for breakfast, when travelling for work, since march.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

I have met 3 different friends once each since March. All have been outdoors.
    I am struggling with it all tbh.

I have lost other friends (group) too because I didn't want to break the restrictions in place at the time on two separate occasions. I didn't phrase it like that either - I simply said that I wasn't ready personally for that particular social activity at that point. They have now set up a separate WhatsApp group and no longer communicate with me which is hurtful but their choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,131 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

If there was some plan or some goal I think people would adhere to the guidelines better.

Right now there doesn't seem to be an end in sight so fewer and fewer people care about following the restrictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,067 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

SusanC10 wrote: »

I have lost other friends (group) too because I didn't want to break the restrictions in place at the time on two separate occasions. I didn't phrase it like that either - I simply say that I wasn't ready personally for that particular social activity. They have now set up a separate WhatsApp group and no longer communicate with me which is hurtful but their choice.

Are you high risk Susan that's very little socialising...

Not personally, No. But family members are in both the high risk and very high risk categories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭TheBlackPill

I have lost other friends (group) too because I didn't want to break the restrictions in place at the time on two separate occasions. I didn't phrase it like that either - I simply say that I wasn't ready personally for that particular social activity. They have now set up a separate WhatsApp group and no longer communicate with me which is hurtful but their choice.
    sorry to read that Susan. Its the type of selfishness that that superspreader couple demonstrate. and i suspect for every eejit caught, multiple lie to the contact tracers about their socialising. edit. similar reasoning myself with parents.

I haven't met any friends since march (even socially distant), haven't eaten in any restaurant or even entered a pub since early march either and can't see that changing for some time.

I'm not finding it too bad, I meet close family members, beers at home every weekend night, zoom quizzes up to recently (which I miss but others got tired of them) etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I haven't seen any friends since February. I've left the house less than once a month this year. It's slowly driving me mad but I'm trying to do my best to prevent the spread.

Until the Airports are closed and a stricter lockdown is brought in I won't feel safe outside.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    If there was some plan or some goal I think people would adhere to the guidelines better.

Right now there doesn't seem to be an end in sight so fewer and fewer people care about following the restrictions.
    a goal would be make the Island COVID free then open up internally. However we have neither the temperment nor the police state the east asian countries have

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Godeatsboogers

I preempted this years ago by just having no friends, covid suits my lifestyle, it brought everyone to my level

a goal would be make the Island COVID free then open up internally. However we have neither the temperment nor the police state the east asian countries have

New Zealand have done it. I have an online friend from there who talks about how great it is. No restrictions at all, until they get one case and it's extreme lockdown, nothing but food shops only for around 3 weeks, after which everything opens even nightclubs and life goes on as normal.

I preempted this years ago by just having no friends, covid suits my lifestyle, it brought everyone to my level

stop trying "to be too cool for skool"

GarIT wrote: »
    New Zealand have done it. I have an online friend from there who talks about how great it is. No restrictions at all, until they get a small few cases and it's extreme lockdown, food shops only open for around 3 weeks and then all the nightclubs and everything open and life goes on as normal.
    New Zealand kind of lucked out. not the type of place to go for a weekend break, but they are what we should be aspiring too.

A full lockdown one day per week where you couldn't leave your property would go a long way to reduce cases. If we all couldn't go outside on Sunday, it would give an extra day for people to realise they have it and not spread it, massively reducing the number of people spreading it before they realise they have it.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 321123

My partner goes to the office every day, I go to classes. We meet up with his family, visit his grandparents, I flew back to Ireland for a month and visited friends and family (after self quarantining in a friend's empty apartment) daily, I eat out once or twice a week, go to the pub regularly, go to the gym 3-4 times a week, visit my friend's place, take public transportation when necessary (try to walk as much as possible) etc.

Haven't had/gotten covid that I know but people around me have, my boyfriend's parents both had it in the spring and wasn't a big deal.

I feel genuinely sorry for people that have to isolate but since I don't and live by all the recommendations, I don't have a problem at all with my lifestyle.

We also have the ridiculous situiations where a meat plant can have 50 cases, no social distancing or masks and be allowed to operate as normal. 1 case should shut down a business for 2 weeks with no exceptions.

A family member works in penney's and they had a staff member tested positive and their colleagues where forced to work and threatened with being sacked if they didn't work while waiting on test results.

I had prepay power at the door selling their perdatory meters. Probably went to hundreds of houses no mask, but they did stand back a bit after using the doorbell. Door to door sales should be illegal until 2022.

There's a building site in Tallaght run by the council, staffed by NI builders who all stay in local hostels and eat at local restautrants while they tell us were the second most infected area in the country.

sorry to read that Susan. Its the type of selfishness that that superspreader couple demonstrate. and i suspect for every eejit caught, multiple lie to the contact tracers about their socialising. edit. similar reasoning myself with parents.

Yeah, I mean that group of women all know me for years (10+) and are very aware of my circumstances.
    Although I didn't agree with the type of socialising as it was breaching the restrictions at the time, I didn't say that as I believe in personal responsibility but rather said that I personally wasn't ready yet.
    I also knew that with alcohol involved that even the best intentions would go out the window.
    Perhaps they knew that I don't agree that it was the right thing. Who knows?

Whole Pandemic has been a bit of an eye-opener all round tbh. People I thought I knew very well have behaved in surprising ways both positive and negative.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Over a few weekends in the Summer when things were kind of OK, we had four gatherings outside in the garden within the guidelines. So glad we did that now. Have the photos and all!

Won't be happening anytime soon anymore really.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭alentejo

Have really cut back meeting friends - Meet 2 or 3 times during the summer outdoors. Was planning to meet 2 friends last weekend, however we all agreed to cancel. I don't know how sustainable this is over the coming months tbh.

PS, meeting my friends I felt on top-of-the-world for about a week after meeting them!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Oranage2 wrote: »

Absolutely agree with you. It's a free for all now and people are just doing what they like. While many others are doing their best to keep safe. It is not a hermit thing, it is just observing the befuddled regs now. Need to be more upfront about it from Nphet and Gov.

Clear messages please. For everyone.

But there is no enforcement at all, so like the fireworks, drug dealing, car stealing, etc. it only matters if they follow up. Meaning the Gardai, but they appear to have no jurisdiction either. So what do we do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

But there is no enforcement at all, so like the fireworks, drug dealing, car stealing, etc. it only matters if they follow up. Meaning the Gardai, but they appear to have no jurisdiction either. So what do we do?

100% this

Dublin is in serious trouble with this and the Gardai having no enforcement is a big part of it

Yeah, I mean that group of women all know me for years (10+) and are very aware of my circumstances.
    Although I didn't agree with the type of socialising as it was breaching the restrictions at the time, I didn't say that as I believe in personal responsibility but rather said that I personally wasn't ready yet.
    I also knew that with alcohol involved that even the best intentions would go out the window.
    Perhaps they knew that I don't agree that it was the right thing. Who knows?

Whole Pandemic has been a bit of an eye-opener all round tbh. People I thought I knew very well have behaved in surprising ways both positive and negative.
    Not really an eyeopener for me. The same people that would be a dose/pub socialising multiple nights weekly pre lockdown are the same ones misbehaving now. Its just pure gluttony irregardless of the covid situation

I don’t think that’s fair, I would have been a pub goer every week often a few times a week and haven’t set foot in one since March and have no plans to go to one in the near future as there is just too much risk. Drinking just as much mind but will make do with bottles/cans of beer until the virus cases are drastically lower than now.

Sorry for offending you. I didn't mean that everybody who is a pub socialiser are the ones breaking the lockdown, its just in general i note the ones socialising now in excess behaved similarly pre lockdown. I could have phrased it better, and my last post is a lot of frustration showing. And thank you for making your sacrifices. Wish your attitude was more widespread.

321123 wrote: »
    My partner goes to the office every day, I go to classes. We meet up with his family, visit his grandparents, I flew back to Ireland for a month and visited friends and family (after self quarantining in a friend's empty apartment) daily, I eat out once or twice a week, go to the pub regularly, go to the gym 3-4 times a week, visit my friend's place, take public transportation when necessary (try to walk as much as possible) etc.

Haven't had/gotten covid that I know but people around me have, my boyfriend's parents both had it in the spring and wasn't a big deal.

I feel genuinely sorry for people that have to isolate but since I don't and live by all the recommendations, I don't have a problem at all with my lifestyle.
    Yes but if everybody follows your social schedule the transmission rates go through the roof. Why do you need to eat out up to twice a week and go to the pub?

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    100% this

Dublin is in serious trouble with this and the Gardai having no enforcement is a big part of it

Dubliners abiding by the restrictions, mandates and public health advice have nothing to worry about.
    The herd, well they'll just keep on running and there's nothing going to stop them.
    Guards getting more power could cause riots not worth the risk of widespread retaliation against them especially for people helping build immunity in the community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

especially for people helping build immunity in the community.

Wtf? :confused:

Dubliners abiding by the restrictions, mandates and public health advice have nothing to worry about.
    The herd, well they'll just keep on running and there's nothing going to stop them.
    Guards getting more power could cause riots not worth the risk of widespread retaliation against them especially for people helping build immunity in the community.
    Drunken monkies are proving a bit of a problem with covid19 transmission currently

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Nope, we've both been working from home since March. Other than the youngster going back to school and one 3day staycation we haven't changed our routine.

Now, we weren't ever mad for going out anyway so there's not much difference there but I would have stayed with an elderly family member a lot, and that's not happened since.

We haven't even sent the young lad to childcare after school - right now we are managing fine being at home but it's just one less place of exposure.

I've met a friend once since March, outdoors for a walk.

I think though that there's a difference in habits between people who have /family members have vulnerabilities that mean Covid could be life threatening for them and the ones who have all healthy family members.

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Wtf? :confused:

You need a certain level of immunity in the community along with a vaccine. 60/70% would be ideal. Ideally we still need 20% of the population to get their own immunity and the other 50% to get the vaccine. RTE estimated 52% of people will try the 1st EU approved vaccine this evening.