Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

growleaves wrote: »
    The problem is that people have become too indivualistic.

The solution I propose is that we need to replace individuals with coviduals.

Coviduals do what they're told.

When you tell a covidual they'll be restricted to 2km for six months they will typically reply "What, only six months? From a public health point of view I think it should be eight months."

This was very funny and will definitely not get the recognition it deserves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭CiarraiManc

Micky 32 wrote: »
    And of course you’re the one who won’t take the vaccine that will help curb the spread and save lives , the hypocrisy.

Never said that I would not take one I said there won't be one around for a while to take in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Their training is superior apparently. When I incurred an emergency situation with my heart shorty my after coming out of surgery two Filipino nurses performed procedures on me that secure the situation quickly, they told me that they are trained for this and Irish trained nurses simply are not.

Apparently heart conditions are more common in Filipino people than Irish people for some reason. I remember a consultant friend of mine told me that if a Filipino person presents with even minor symptoms the case is escalated more quickly than an equivalent age Irish person as the likelihood is greater that it is a heart attack. Possibly that's the reason they receive more training in that regard.
    “Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Never said that I would not take one I said there won't be one around for a while to take in the first place

Yeah the smugness of your posts in the vaccine thread gave a different impression

Thankfully the evidence is leaning toward more likely there will be one than not. I’lll do my bit and take the chance if it helps spread and deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Cody montana

I rent in cork city but also live in county cork.

Can’t see a city lockdown working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

Hospitalisation rates don't have to breach capacity to affect other patients.

https://twitter.com/DublinLive/status/1310206808305274888

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭landofthetree

flanna01 wrote: »
    Death rates nowhere near the same as the first wave...

The aged and medically impaired are more aware of personal protective measures now.

Much of ado about nothing me thinks..

Too many doom and gloom merchants forecasting (hoping for) end of days scenario's... Sorry kiddo's .. This isn't it.

Irreversible global warming is the one to get yer britches up in a bunch about.. Not this!

What's really going to screw us over is this:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geomagnetic_storm

We are due a big one soon.:eek:

Thought it was a casedemic? Strange that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,238 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Our health system is a shambles and hasn't been improved in the last 6 months despite the lockdown initially being so that we could prepare the Health system to cope with it.

If only some of the Millions and Billions wasted on advisors, committees and PR firms could have been put into increasing our actually capacity on the ground.

Sadly that will never happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,132 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Schools that's all, but look over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,844 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Has hospital cases increased from 102?

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

Our health system is a shambles and hasn't been improved in the last 6 months despite the lockdown initially being so that we could prepare the Health system to cope with it.

If only some of the Millions and Billions wasted on advisors, committees and PR firms could have been put into increasing our actually capacity on the ground.

If people did as they were told we wouldn't need the capacity in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

I rent in cork city but also live in county cork.

Can’t see a city lockdown working.

If you get stopped going out of the city you can say your going home and visa versa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Has hospital cases increased from 102?

Hub lists 108
    Last night op report was 110

spookwoman wrote: »
    Hub lists 108
    Last night op report was 110

And ICU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,397 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I wonder whose 'battle account' this is. I have an idea or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

And ICU?

HUB ICU is 17
    Op report was 18 last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭SPDUB

iguana wrote: »
    Dublin isn’t like the other cities. Dublin is a small county with a huge population. The vast majority of the county is a suburb of the city. This isn’t true of the other cities and their relationship with their counties. Cork city’s metropolitan area is only a tiny part of the county. They aren’t comparable.

Quite .

Someone earlier mentioned Castletownbeare is 126km from the city .

In terns of Dublin that's like asking someone in Gorey to be currently on the same restrictions as Dublin since they are only 105km from the city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Champagne Sally

I see a few posts referring to more reduced capacity in our ICUs compared to Mar/Apr, why is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,114 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

flanna01 wrote: »
    Death rates nowhere near the same as the first wave...

The aged and medically impaired are more aware of personal protective measures now.

Much of ado about nothing me thinks..

Too many doom and gloom merchants forecasting (hoping for) end of days scenario's... Sorry kiddo's .. This isn't it.

Irreversible global warming is the one to get yer britches up in a bunch about.. Not this!

Ridiculous statement

How many people has global warming made sick or killed this year ? Well ?

Much ado about nothing ? Yeah, hundreds sick or dead, economy in a jocker but “much of ado about nothing” ? Tell that to loved ones of people who got sick or died because of covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

And ICU?

COVID app is has good up to date info on hospitalisations and ICU. YOu can just turn off the bluetooth if the connection to other phones/tracking is the reaosn you don't want it

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,675 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

And ICU?

You can also find these numbers on the app.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

Strumms wrote: »
    Ridiculous statement

How many people has global warming made sick or killed this year ? Well ?

Much ado about nothing ? Yeah, hundreds sick or dead, economy in a jocker but “much of ado about nothing” ? Tell that to loved ones of people who got sick or died because of covid.

Divine Faeces !!!

Floods & storms are caused by global warming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Pablo Escobar

Cork lads has no bother with a Dublin lockdown. Why should they get special treatment?

Why would Cork "lads" care about where is locked down? I know the narrative is "chip on the shoulder", but some of the responders would want to take a look in the mirror.

As someone originally from Cork City, I want the most effective and appropriate approach. If that's locking down the whole county, so be it, but what about the areas of Kerry that lie miles to the east of parts of west Cork? And nobody has even mentioned east cork which is no small distance from the city either.

Policing was mentioned, but surely monitoring movements in and out of the city would be easier than the entire country bounds?

The problems in north Cork potentially mean a countywide restriction might be the only way though as if you're targeting a problem urban area, it'll need to be a sizeable urban area. To leave north Cork unaffected if it's another problem would likely be a mistake.

And as for the people claiming that special treatment is being requested, the Government have already indicated that this will be the approach.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,675 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

What's really going to screw us over is this:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geomagnetic_storm

We are due a big one soon.:eek:

A Carrington event would be a very 2020 thing to happen.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    COVID app is has good up to date info on hospitalisations and ICU. YOu can just turn off the bluetooth if the connection to other phones/tracking is the reaosn you don't want it
    igCorcaigh wrote: »
    You can also find these numbers on the app.

Three network a disaster today, will try to access now, thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

GooglePlus wrote: »
    How do you reckon they should manage the movement of people from the city outward? How many roads lead out of the Cork City area and how do you suggest they stop that flow of people, while allowing essential movement.

The landscape doesn't allow for what you suggest, it's either all or nothing.

There is zero stopping of people leaving Dublin. M1, M4, N7 and M11 all completely free flow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,951 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Rubbish, a few million more wouldn't make any major difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭flanna01

Getting tired of seeing sentiments like this on both extreme sides of the spectrum. We can't risk going into a full lockdown too early because our economy simply can't handle it, nor can people's mental health. At the same time, to think that everything is grand because we are slightly more prepared and ready for virus in the winter than we were back in March when it first arrived is ridiculous. The ICU thresholds are still there, lower now. Our hospitals are still at risk at being overrun, especially in flu season when hospitals are usually in dire states anyway. People need to stop slipping towards this binary lockdown/sure look it'll all be grand mindset and strike a delicate balance in the middle -- there probably isn't as much cause for alarm today yet because it's still less than two weeks since we saw Dublin go into level 3. But none of us should be keeping our guard down.

As well as that, and I'm tired of having to repeat this -- even if it seems the fatality rates are lowering, anyone who is well versed in medicine would tell you that the most worrying aspect of covid-19 is what we still don't know about it because longitudinal data still isn't available. Who's to say what the long term effects of this virus will be in five years or ten? Indeed, preliminary findings of long-term effects include but are not limited to insomnia, headaches, chronic fatigue, serious cardiac and lung damage, short-term memory issues. We should be erring on the side of caution because there is still so much we don't know. If you disagree with this, you clearly do not have a medical background.

In the immortal words of Thomas Pynchon, we need to "keep cool but care". No need to fret just yet but if we become too complacent we can saunter into conditions far more ruinous and traumatic than those we endured in April/May.

Too extreme.... Not extreme enough...??

Who are you - Goldilocks??

Some of us are dealing with the evidence presented today. Not bothered about twenty years from now, I'd be more concerned about the climate by then...

A lot of copy & pasting of other contributors posts, then you add nothing but basic fear mongering nonsense..

Im sorry to hear you are tired of this, that and the other..

Have you been tested..??