Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,061 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

eagle eye wrote: »
    When we had lockdown it did work.

When we opened up again all the idiots decided it was back to normal despite being told to wear facemasks, wash your hands and social distance.
    The amount of people I see with just their face covered and not their nose, that step into other people's space, that are constantly scratching under their facemasks is unreal. Absolutely no cop on for a sizeable minority.
    The biggest problem is that most people are too nice and too afraid to say something to upset another person when you should not only say something to these fools but use a couple of expletives to drive it home.

Your contempt for people is a proof that the approach you are looking for won't work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,743 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Great to see fans back at the Bayern Sevilla match tonight.
    All the leftists are battering their keyboards in their f*cking sh*t stained basements demanding a lockdown for the next 100 years.

The c*nts had no lives before , so they want everyone else to be basement dwelling gaming neckbeard 45 year old virgins ...

sorry lads, the tide is turning ...

Tell us how you really feel

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

All the leftists are battering their keyboards in their f*cking sh*t stained basements demanding a lockdown for the next 100 years.

The c*nts had no lives before , so they want everyone else to be basement dwelling gaming neckbeard 45 year old virgins ...

A piece of advice for you pal.Stick to your BOO posts. They make far more sense than this incoherent gibberish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Australia doing very well. New Zealand back to normal virtually. Air bridge with Australia. Wouldn't it be nice to have a green list that is getting bigger. Might take a bit longer for us to conclude that. Might not. Who knows.

527358.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Australia doing very well. New Zealand back to normal virtually. Air bridge with Australia. Wouldn't it be nice to have a green list that is getting bigger. Might take a bit longer for us to conclude that. Might not. Who knows.

527358.jpg

Just wait, Australia and NZ will have more outbreaks as soon as they relax restrictions ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

The biggest problem is that most people are too nice and too afraid to say something to upset another person when you should not only say something to these fools but use a couple of expletives to drive it home.

Give it a go the next time you see people not behaving the way you deem appropriate. Throw in the few expletives just to drive home your displeasure, report back here of your experiences if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Eod100 wrote: »
    From this apparently there are now 11 covid19 vaccine candidates which have reached phase 3. Hopefully some of these work. https://www.france24.com/en/20200924-novavax-enters-late-stage-clinical-trials

I think the most important part of this story is that the company have received $1.6 billion dollars from the US government to fund the development of the vaccine. The same is true of many of the vaccines in development. They are being funded by government money, even if they do not produce an end result.
    There is a perverse incentive for pharmaceutical companies to claim that they are making rapid progress so that they can keep the money flowing.
    It’s all just part of the barmy economics which has overtaken the world.

A piece of advice for you pal.Stick to your BOO posts. They make far more sense than this incoherent gibberish.

Edited that in time then ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

gud wrote: »
    As most of the experts outside of ireland are starting to say now Sweden were right......
    Only conclusion to that is one of two things if not a combination of both.

1. People that has that view aren't experts
    2. Deluded into thinking Sweden was right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

I'd imagine a
    basement dwelling gaming neckbeard 45 year old virgin
    would have a lack of vitamin d and a diet of coke and chips, no wonder theyd be worried.

But wait ... wait wait !!!!

Boards user John O groates in his sh*t stained bed is screaming in our faces that we are all GRANNY KILLERS!!! and lockdown must continue FOREVER !!!
    As he **** off furiously his 1cm knob with tweezers ....

I will listen to him, never mind that doctor ... he must be "FAR RIGHT"

Banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Just wait, Australia and NZ will have more outbreaks as soon as they relax restrictions ...

Australia and New Zealand have border controls. Ireland and Europe has fcuk all border controls. Australia won't be ditching the border controls anytime soon and they will be able to go back to some normaility sooner and quicker than us. They also have other measures and fines for people breaking restrictions. We have a lackadaisical approach where anybody can bend the guidelines to suit themselves.

Nobody is stopping anyone living your life. It's all advisory. You can go to work, go out etc. Eat in an outdoor establishment in Dublin or go to the pub elsewhere. You'd swear we lived in China. The anti public health people are very shouty. They should probably take a step back from the keyboard and enjoy some of the freedom they keep going on about instead of telling others to get back to normal and live with the virus.

Who the fvck wants to live with a virus. Sounds gross.

527359.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

And here you are bashing your keyboard harder than anyone on the thread. Heh. If you’d take a deep breath and some time to read, you’ll see that close to nobody is advocating locking down forever, or any extended period of time.

Boards user John O groates in his sh*t stained bed is screaming in our faces that we are all GRANNY KILLERS!!! and lockdown must continue FOREVER !!!

You need to stay off the drugs. They are adversely affecting your admittedly already limited mental capacity.

owlbethere wrote: »
    Australia and New Zealand have border controls. Ireland and Europe has fcuk all border controls. Australia won't be ditching the border controls anytime soon and they will be able to go back to some normaility sooner and quicker than us. They also have other measures and fines for people breaking restrictions. We have a lackadaisical approach where anybody can bend the guidelines to suit themselves.

It's endemic, it's spreading amoungst the population from asymptomatic carriers ... just wait.

You need to stay off the drugs. They are adversely affecting your admittedly already limited mental capacity.

Don't take drugs, need to be up early for work tomorrow, I am lucky that I can work from home , but am aware that many can't and have lost work over this pandemic.

You however are grand , you can lie in till 2PM tomorrow, just make sure you throw the cum stained jocks in the laundry basket before your mam comes into your room tomorrow morning to try and get you to send those CV's into super value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭techdiver

I'm of the hopeful opinion that at least 1 of the vaccine candidates proves successful and will be rolled out in 2021, but..... From what we are seeing a vaccine is plan a, b, c... z for the government. In the event of no vaccine working or having adverse effects that remove it as a viable candidate, what is the real plan b?

All the eggs are in the vaccine basket at the moment. We can't continue with rolling lockdowns for ever as the economic cost will reach a topping point.

Lockdowns will also prove less effective with each iteration as people will become jaded and not care anymore. Recent government and NPHET performance has damaged credibility and it's difficult to regain that. A few examples is the use of speculative science to justify the closing of pubs and restaurants without any actual data to prove a route cause. Also comments from the CMO yesterday stating that "many" young people will die to achieve herd immunity was poorly considered. He shouldn't be throwing flippant remarks around like that without any data to back it up, especially when the current evidence contradicts his assertion.

As has been touched on before we will start to see some clear evidence of collateral damage of placing covid ahead of all other conditions. At least 1 GP had stated that a number of their patients have died from cancer that would have had a better prognosis if it were not for covid related delays and shifted resources.

We also have mental health and childhood developmental practitioners (occupational therapy, etc) being reassigned to do covid swabbing!

In saying all that I'm not in the camp of it being "just another flu". Quite the opposite. I'm acutely aware of how serious it is for vulnerable people and the rest of us need to take responsibility also. Continue to wear masks and observe social distancing when possible. But we are losing sight of other issues in society that will have ramifications for years to come.

Mental health is very important in all this. It's really important that people when they are depressed by the situation are allow to go down to the pub and spend borrowed money on a depressive that will make them more depressed in the morning. It's their right to inflict damage to their mental health in this way while shouting mental health and depression.

527361.png

Don't take drugs, need to be up early for work tomorrow, I am lucky that I can work from home , but am aware that many can't and have lost work over this pandemic.

You however are grand , you can lie in till 2PM tomorrow, just make sure you throw the cum stained jocks in the laundry basket before your mam comes into your room tomorrow morning to try and get you to send those CV's into super value.

And the above clearly demonstrates why people should never take drink/drugs and post at the same time. The rapid deterioration of functioning brain cells (although in this case they were quite low in number to begin with) as evidenced here is quite stark to witness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

Jesus you get rid of some of the morons and more just reappear. A lot like weeds...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Mod

Do not post in here again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Always_Running

102 in hospital and 16 in ICU according to tonights HSE update.

Last night I expected to see it hit over 100 yet it was 88 so increase of 14 in 24hrs.

Decrease of 1 in ICU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭quokula

techdiver wrote: »
    I'm of the hopeful opinion that at least 1 of the vaccine candidates proves successful and will be rolled out in 2021, but..... From what we are seeing a vaccine is plan a, b, c... z for the government. In the event of no vaccine working or having adverse effects that remove it as a viable candidate, what is the real plan b?

All the eggs are in the vaccine basket at the moment. We can't continue with rolling lockdowns for ever as the economic cost will reach a topping point.

Lockdowns will also prove less effective with each iteration as people will become jaded and not care anymore. Recent government and NPHET performance has damaged credibility and it's difficult to regain that. A few examples is the use of speculative science to justify the closing of pubs and restaurants without any actual data to prove a route cause. Also comments from the CMO yesterday stating that "many" young people will die to achieve herd immunity was poorly considered. He shouldn't be throwing flippant remarks around like that without any data to back it up, especially when the current evidence contradicts his assertion.

As has been touched on before we will start to see some clear evidence of collateral damage of placing covid ahead of all other conditions. At least 1 GP had stated that a number of their patients have died from cancer that would have had a better prognosis if it were not for covid related delays and shifted resources.

We also have mental health and childhood developmental practitioners (occupational therapy, etc) being reassigned to do covid swabbing!

In saying all that I'm not in the camp of it being "just another flu". Quite the opposite. I'm acutely aware of how serious it is for vulnerable people and the rest of us need to take responsibility also. Continue to wear masks and observe social distancing when possible. But we are losing sight of other issues in society that will have ramifications for years to come.

There is lots of research going on outside of vaccines. There's treatments to give a better chance of positive outcomes. There's improved testing and tracking. If you look at professional sports, in many cases they've been able to get back to normal because the competitors are tested repeatedly so they can be sure anybody with covid is immediately caught and isolated. Spreading that kind of diligence to many more workplaces and public places is a matter of scale and cost reduction.

So there are many tracks for potential solutions, and in the meantime social distancing and lockdowns where appropriate are required. I get where you're coming from saying lockdowns become less effective as people get tired of them, but I do think apart from an extremely vocal minority most people are still pretty understanding and compliant. And if we do get to a point where nobody is obeying the rules, we'll quickly be seeing hundreds of deaths per day and that in itself will encourage strong compliance again.

I disagree that we're losing sight of other issues in society. I have had hospital appointments as normal recently. Shops are open, schools are open, businesses are open. The adjustments we've all had to make have generally been proportionate to the threat at hand. Hopefully we won't see continued growth in case numbers in the next few weeks which would force us to lock down a bit more, but for now we're managing things about as well as we can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,061 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Golden and ace get 72hour bans for handbags and it gets replaced by this
    ��������

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Fcuk that's some rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,658 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Give it a go the next time you see people not behaving the way you deem appropriate. Throw in the few expletives just to drive home your displeasure, report back here of your experiences if you can.
    I've done but many times over the last few months. I did it in Tesco yesterday when this fool with a mask not covering his nose leaned in right in front of me to grab an item off the shelf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

I've done but many times over the last few months. I did it in Tesco yesterday when this fool with a mask not covering his nose leaned in right in front of me to grab an item off the shelf.

Did you deck him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,658 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Did you deck him?
    No, I told him to step back, told him to have a bit of manners and wait his turn.