Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

If you`re not happy with things you know where the exit door is.

There’s an exit door on an online forum? Where is it? I know there’s a login/logout not I’ve never seen a door.

You’ll have the evidence to back that up?

Sometimes a small bit of cop on is all you need.

You are the one making outlandish claims, going against medial advice, going against all studies on the topic so its up to you to show some evidence.

Just to note - facebook hoax links which you get your info from don't count as evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Even more evident that there was no point too the food rule
    You had several posts which clearly showed the food rule was working as intended. You were moaning about it being bad value as you do not get as drunk on a full stomach of food, and were seemingly less likely to be going out as often as it was expensive.

These food rules/laws like these are in place for decades, possibly 100+ years, definitely 50+. Eddie rockets used to enforce them when they served beer (not sure if they still do).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

May 2020 - "5G i causing COVID. How do I know? Check out this You Tube video and link from PatriotScienceHealthIngo.net.org as a reference! Also, David Icke spoke to a Whistleblower and told me about it via telecommunication."

September 2020 - "Masks form a barrier between your mouth and mine? Sorry but i'm going to need multiple peer-reviewed studies!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Vieira82

yes, scroll up. Or is it just a "simulation" too for you? xD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

The fact is you're obliged to wear a mask for about 2-5 mins of your total stay in a pub.

To those in favour - Its pretty much negligible given people will be in a pub for hours to be wearing it for such a short time realistically and not worth getting this worked up about

To those opposed to them - it's 5 mins, for the sake of optics and aiding the pubs follow guidelines and stay open would you not just wear them?

Can we leave all other discussion of their efficacy to the mask thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Heading to Sligo on Saturday, thought I better make a bar booking for after dinner that night as I'm not sure what the lie of the land is so I called a well known hostelry in the town centre and was told, "we're not taking bookings, you can just walk in" no problem or so I thought, so I asked if 10pm would be OK, "I'm afraid not, we will be stopping serving around 10ish as we need to get everyone out by 11.30" I had planned on booking dinner there for another night but given they guys overall unfriendly attitude I decided not to. I thought they'd be biting the hand off people. I'll take my money elsewhere so.

It's like they think they'll have to sieve their pints through their masks or something.

Was in the pub on Fri and again on Sat. Was great having someone bring your round to the table every time. No queuing at the bar and hoping to get served before having to make two trips because I'm buying 5 drinks.

Wore the mask going to the jacks and that was that. The Sat was one of the best pub experiences I've ever had actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

rubadub wrote: »
    You had several posts which clearly showed the food rule was working as intended. You were moaning about it being bad value as you do not get as drunk on a full stomach of food, and were seemingly less likely to be going out as often as it was expensive.

These food rules/laws like these are in place for decades, possibly 100+ years, definitely 50+. Eddie rockets used to enforce them when they served beer (not sure if they still do).

But we've had a rule in place for 3 months, while numbers were low, that prevented pubs from opening unless they did food.
    Yet now, with numbers rising, they've suddenly decided it's OK to open pubs without any food rule, under exactly the same restrictions that were proposed 3 months ago.

Surely that demonstrates that the food rule was pointless?

Additionally, the decision to keep pubs closed was supposedly based on international evidence, despite the fact that (I'm open to correction) no other country has kept all their pubs closed this long.

Even worse, we've now found that there's no effort being made to determine where clusters are actually originating, because we apparently don't have the time/resources to find out where the first person in a cluster might have contracted Covid. Which is information you'd think would be vital to have any chance of restricting the spread, and would save a fortune in the medium to long term.

It'll be interesting when they suddenly decide in 4 or 5 weeks to scapegoat the pubs for numbers continuing to rise at the current rate, how they'll be able to explain that they've suddenly developed the ability to determine that pubs are to blame. (I'm also curious how they've been able to say definitively so far that children, schools, and international travel are definitely not causing clusters).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,542 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Mod - Thread is going rapidly off topic here. Stick to discussing the pubs in this thread please

You can discuss masks here
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058111744

MrStuffins wrote: »
    It's like they think they'll have to sieve their pints through their masks or something.

Was in the pub on Fri and again on Sat. Was great having someone bring your round to the table every time. No queuing at the bar and hoping to get served before having to make two trips because I'm buying 5 trips.

Wore the mask going to the jacks and that was that. The Sat was one of the best pub experiences I've ever had actually.

Not having to queue at the bar would be a big plus for me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

Seamai wrote: »
    Heading to Sligo on Saturday, thought I better make a bar booking for after dinner that night as I'm not sure what the lie of the land is so I called a well known hostelry in the town centre and was told, "we're not taking bookings, you can just walk in" no problem or so I thought, so I asked if 10pm would be OK, "I'm afraid not, we will be stopping serving around 10ish as we need to get everyone out by 11.30" I had planned on booking dinner there for another night but given they guys overall unfriendly attitude I decided not to. I thought they'd be biting the hand off people. I'll take my money elsewhere so.

nothing wrong with that loads of people not showing up for bookings so alot of places only taking walkins and 10pm is the cut off time so don't see your problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,620 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Seamai wrote: »

You're not the hero of that story.

Anywhere needing to stop serving at 10 to have people out an hour and a half later probably deserves to be out of business. Maybe it's their first week owning a pub or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Stopping serving at 10 to be cleared by 11.30??

Anywhere needing to stop serving at 10 to have people out an hour and a half later probably deserves to be out of business. Maybe it's their first week owning a pub or something.

Or government guidelines are a maximum stay of 1h45, and they decided to have last entry 1h45 before last orders.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Or government guidelines are a maximum stay of 1h45, and they decided to have last entry 1h45 before last orders.

That would be 21:45 then. What about someone who only wants to stay an hour? They'd be out half an hour before closing.

That's the issue isn't it, what if they told him to rock up at 10 and all their tables were full? Do you tell them to leave? Do you kick someone out to make room? There is no set formula to work off so places are just trying to figure it out as they go along.

If the tables are all full then of course you tell them to go away. Better then telling them to go even if you have a free table because you need an hour and a half to clear the place.

nothing wrong with that loads of people not showing up for bookings so alot of places only taking walkins and 10pm is the cut off time so don't see your problem

An hour and a half drinking up time in a bar where everyone is sitting at tables and less crowded than usual, come off it. Since I posted that I booked a place three or four doors due the street, only take bookings and were only too happy to accommodate me.

You're not the hero of that story.

Never claimed to be but at least I'm not a smart ass.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

Seen one of the goons on RTE news talking about another national lockdown, pubs only open a day ffs

Make the most of it folks, hard to know how long they'll be open this time.

It's a long established bar, and by all accounts in the same hands for years. The place that was only too happy to fit me in on the other hand is only opened a few months, at least under these owners.

Just for reference, both places I was in at the weekend told us well in advance "last orders at 11 and you have to be put the door at 11:30".

Both places allowed us to keep the tables after our bookings and for the rest of the night since the tables were at least distanced by 2m, so there was no time requirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭Dickie10

im going to just stick to quiet pubs these next few weekends , places with 4 or 5 in them suit me grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Sometimes a small bit of cop on is all you need.

So, nothing. Fair enough.

Was in my local last Friday night. Was sitting at the bar from 7 to 11.30,we didnt order any food,didnt put any pressure on people to order. They had a glass partition at the bar protecting the bar staff and wooden partitons about 6ft apart on the customer side of the bar. Tables were well separated too. Place was well organised. The local garda sargent was happy with the set up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Im in a pub now very close to leinster house, its pretty spaced out but i just counted and there's 22 people here excluding staff. Glad to be having a beer though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

Im in a pub now very close to leinster house, its pretty spaced out but i just counted and there's 22 people here excluding staff. Glad to be having a beer though.

sitting outside ?