Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Necro wrote: »
    Both groups are idiots, generalising and playing the blame game is just pointless.

I’ll blame which ever group of people are responsible for me not being able to travel outside of my county or meet a friend indoors for a coffee or a meal.

If a video emerges of another cohort of people acting the prick, I will call them out too. I don’t discriminate when the actions of certain people affect me directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I need a happy pill or two now. Winter is approaching, the usual trolley watch, the usual doom and gloom. And Covid. Oh God help Dubliners, it ain't looking good is it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I’ll blame which ever group of people are responsible for me not being able to travel outside of my county or meet a friend indoors for a coffee or a meal.

If a video emerges of another cohort of people acting the prick, I will call them out too. I don’t discriminate when the actions of certain people affect me directly.

So that would be both, given they're all from Dublin.

And let's not forget that 20 of the golf lads tested positive, all we have is a video of a rave and no evidence anyone had Covid there.

I mean that's what you said about the golf lads too right?

Which reinforces my point, playing the blame game is pointless.

OscarMIlde wrote: »
    They obviously didn't socially distance if they met up as a group of forty and twenty of them caught it.

Wonder how the other twenty didn't contract it though.

I think one of their party died suddenly, so RIP, that seems to be how they discovered the outbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

And let's not forget that 20 of the golf lads tested positive, all we have is a video of a rave and no evidence anyone had Covid there.

Golf lads??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I need a happy pill or two now. Winter is approaching, the usual trolley watch, the usual doom and gloom. And Covid. Oh God help Dubliners, it ain't looking good is it.

Might I suggest turning off the internet for a while and watch an uplifting film instead of RTE news.
    Leave the happy pills alone, mod altering drugs are best avoided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

The golfing outing happened outside of lockdown - the vast majority of people got lax, hence the reason for a lockdown in the first place.

However the message given from MM, Leo, Ronan Glynn at the press conference was quite clear. We all have to seriously cop on and reduce our social contacts hugely. Clearly having an all night party is not conducive to this. If numbers don’t go down, we’ll just stay in lockdown longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

hmmm wrote: »
    We need far more granular lockdowns.

Locking down restaurants in areas of Dublin with low rates of spread, while it's running rampant through other areas makes little sense. Particularly when you see videos like the one we saw today.

Definitely. Harder lockdowns, with heavy policing and in smaller areas would be a much more sensible (and more effective) approach. I really don't think NPHET live in the real world.

Might I suggest turning off the internet for a while and watch an uplifting film instead of RTE news.
    Leave the happy pills alone, mod altering drugs are best avoided.

Ah yer alright, and I hope you mean well.

You just get the zeitgeist somehow. And I am not liking the trend in Dublin either. lol.

There is no end to it for those who observe the rules, but everyone else can do what they like. And on it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

hmmm wrote: »

It is baffling that Michael Levitt won a Nobel prize for anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

GooglePlus wrote: »

You do serious disrespect to the people who have actually lived under authoritarian regimes by speaking like this and really only show your lack of understanding towards what it is really like under one of these.

You don't realise how easy you have it, you wouldn't last a day in a real hard time.

You don't think were living under an authoritarian regime? You think it's ok to close businesses, dictate to people how they should manage their own home, who they should meet, ban them from participating/watching sports, tell them how close they can be another person, people should practice virtual sex, you can't go to a funeral, visit a dying relative, there is a heap more restrictions on us, we know exactly what it's like we're living through it, people are hurting incase you didn't notice.

You think people have it easy, I wouldn't say that too loud.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

The golfing outing happened outside of lockdown - the vast majority of people got lax, hence the reason for a lockdown in the first place.

However the message given from MM, Leo, Ronan Glynn at the press conference was quite clear. We all have to seriously cop on and reduce our social contacts hugely. Clearly having an all night party is not conducive to this. If numbers don’t go down, we’ll just stay in lockdown longer.

Absolutely. And that party is a disgrace. But the whole point of me bringing up the golfing thing is that it isn't just "scobes" disregarding the rules. It's people of every sex, age, religion, orientation - so blaming one group is just silly, imo.

Anyways we'll leave it there as we're getting a bit off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

526948.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Definitely. Harder lockdowns, with heavy policing and in smaller areas would be a much more sensible (and more effective) approach. I really don't think NPHET live in the real world.

Heavy policing...”

Yes, of course, I’m sure that will work.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,196 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Tom Hardy could be the next James Bond ;) does that leave you shaken and stirred

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

We've added 25 beds with €20 billion, seems like value for money..

https://twitter.com/Flyck66/status/1307607890002358273?s=20

Just 25 extra beds. Christ. Thank fuk Covid turned out to be less, less deadly than first thought.

Value for money, not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

tom1ie wrote: »
    Yes but all you have listed adds No long term benefits to actually increasing the ability and capacity of the system with coping with patients.

Yes it does have long term benefit, because protecting staff from infection allows the hospital to keep running. Detecting people with covid 19 allows us to isolate them and contain the spread. That is crucial to maintaining capacity at this moment.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Tom Hardy could be the next James Bond ;) does that leave you shaken and stirred

Nope. I couldn't care less.

But I am concerned about lockdown forever, which is looking likely :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Ah yer alright, and I hope you mean well.

You just get the zeitgeist somehow. And I am not liking the trend in Dublin either. lol.

There is no end to it for those who observe the rules, but everyone else can do what they like. And on it goes.
    It was a genuine suggestion, caution is advisable . However winding oneself up with fear is damaging to your mental health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,196 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I am mighty peed off now with the raves in full view etc. in Dublin.
    But sure who cares about me and my family, we are observing the rules best we can. What about those who are not? What are the sanctions, does anyone care, have the Gardai got the powers or the will to apprehend and/or stop this carry on?
    As always, the law abiders will pay the price for those who refuse to adhere to any rule anywhere. I am so pissed off. But will continue to try my best to keep our family and friends safe. Sick of it now. Useless rules without sanctions and on the spot fines anyway.
    Those who will observe the rules will, others will not, without sanction. I am not one bit happy about that.
    Sorry for the absolute rant, can't help it.

Rant away, it is frustrating for anyone following the rules trying to protect themselves and their families when idiots don't care as long as they have their fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

mod altering drugs are best avoided.

Except when they are shaping up to give me a warning. Then drug them to the eyeballs, I say.

Northern Ireland have had the highest reported cases in the last week yet hospitilisations and icu inpatients have barely increased. Deaths have increased from zeo to around one a day.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/COVID-19_pandemic_in_Northern_Ireland

I except what has to be done, but perspective is needed when listening to the gloom.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Northern Ireland have had the highest reported cases in the last week yet hospitilisations and icu inpatients have barely increased. Deaths have increased from zeo to around one a day.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/COVID-19_pandemic_in_Northern_Ireland

I except what has to be done, but perspective is needed when listening to the gloom.
    Yep. Casedemic. Cases and hospitalisations have always lined up perfectly and occurred at the same time. Open everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,384 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The new restrictions won't effect the rising numbers much.

Fresh restrictions are likely in the next 2 weeks.

Yep. Casedemic. Cases and hospitalisations have always lined up perfectly and occurred at the same time. Open everything.

You'd have expected some increase. Cases been rising for months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Won't happen thankfully, what little respect the force enjoys in the community would be destroyed if the tactics of a once sectarian police force was used.

Agree. Needs to come from within communities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Apparently Garda did break up that party in Oliver Bond Street last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

The new restrictions won't effect the rising numbers much.

Fresh restrictions are likely in the next 2 weeks.

So restrictions don't work, let's have more restrictions. The logic there is escaping me unless the government are going to seal the borders.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Apparently Garda did break up that party in Oliver Bond Street last night.

With batons raised?