Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

Would you tell that to all the clowns wearing them outside, starting to think there secret police tasked with keeping the fear going...

Easier to keep mask on when moving from one shop to another if close together in my experience, other than that no, and I'd guess that's what most do unlike your fear claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

is_that_so wrote: »
    I think some people are doing what makes them feel safe. No reason to criticise people for that.

There fear mongers or mentally unwell. They absolutely should be criticized for scaring people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

froog wrote: »
    Christ, please tell me you're joking

Not even a little bit. Enough mollycoddling the little bollixes with social workers and community centres. Wallop a bit of respect, fear and civic spirit into them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,756 ✭✭✭Pretzill

The stupidity of people never ceases to amaze me. Why are people shouting "freedom" at that protest? :o I just don't get the pov about liberty being taken away when there's a worldwide health emergency - the same cnnts would be shouting and screaming because they won't get to see a doctor during an a&e crisis. F*cking idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

There fear mongers or mentally unwell. They absolutely should be criticized for scaring people.

Who, the people wearing masks outside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Necro wrote: »
    Nope, we have idiots in every social class. The golfing lads who got a hotel in Tullamore closed down were from Dublin as well. I doubt they were on social welfare. They weren't young ones either from all reports.

Don't see the point in blaming a certain class or age category, there are morons who disobey the rules in every sector of society.

The Tullamore crowd say they didn’t break any guidelines - they travelled down separately and kept social distance. Without any video proof of them doing otherwise, we can’t comment.

But there was no ambiguity with the Oliver Bond gathering. The guidelines quite clearly state no social gatherings. Or if they weren’t sure what a gathering was, only meet with one other household in your home or garden. They quite clearly were breaking the rules and couldn’t care less.

You should be the last person claiming that someone is mentally unwell or fear mongering going by your posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,316 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Treepole wrote: »

I hope these fcekers and their parents are very proud, they should be fined

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Holy Fcuk - 400 covid cases today.

That's a lot. Over half of them are in Dublin. This is only going to go one way from here on in and that's - up, up, up, up

Pretzill wrote: »
    The stupidity of people never ceases to amaze me. Why are people shouting "freedom" at that protest? :o I just don't get the pov about liberty being taken away when there's a worldwide health emergency - the same cnnts would be shouting and screaming because they won't get to see a doctor during an a&e crisis. F*cking idiots.

Do you not see any issue with what's happening, if people want to protect themselves fair enough but for the government to convince one side the other is trying to kill them is completely out of order.
    Who the fcuk are the government to tell you, who you can have in your home, close your business, where you can go and what you have to wear, fcuk them I'd take a slug fighting for your right to keep those freedoms.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

No access to the Astro turf for 3 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

We've added 25 beds with €20 billion, seems like value for money..

https://twitter.com/Flyck66/status/1307607890002358273?s=20

Jesus wept.
    This is what we should be outraged about not wearing or not wearing a poxy mask!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I am mighty peed off now with the raves in full view etc. in Dublin.

But sure who cares about me and my family, we are observing the rules best we can. What about those who are not? What are the sanctions, does anyone care, have the Gardai got the powers or the will to apprehend and/or stop this carry on?

As always, the law abiders will pay the price for those who refuse to adhere to any rule anywhere. I am so pissed off. But will continue to try my best to keep our family and friends safe. Sick of it now. Useless rules without sanctions and on the spot fines anyway.

Those who will observe the rules will, others will not, without sanction. I am not one bit happy about that.

Sorry for the absolute rant, can't help it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Would you tell that to all the clowns wearing them outside, starting to think there secret police tasked with keeping the fear going...

Wow, still at it, without any proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

owlbethere wrote: »
    Holy Fcuk - 400 covid cases today.

That's a lot. Over half of them are in Dublin. This is only going to go one way from here on in and that's - up, up, up, up

In the early stages of this pandemic, we were told to look at Denmark as an example of how this thing should be handled. With our similar sizes and population distribution we could make direct comparisons. Now that Denmark has a higher infection rate than us, are we still looking to them as an example?
    By contrast Sweden was heavily criticised as reckless feckers who we should certainly not emulate.
    I wonder who we should look to now?

tom1ie wrote: »
    Jesus wept.
    This is what we should be outraged about not wearing or not wearing a poxy mask!!

It is but the propaganda machine has convinced us to fight each other instead.
    Little did I know waking up this morning I'd be considered far right.

Cause people leave their masks on?
    Are you ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭Polar101

Interesting that Sweden not experiencing second wave like rest of Western Europe. Their case numbers are relatively stable with rate of cases at 22 for every 100,000 people. ICU numbers also staying constant at 17, with an overall population of 10million. Denmark in comparison are not doing so great, with ICU intake increasing.

It's very interesting. But Sweden's "curve" went down slower than in most other European countries - so it's hard to say whether they've now reached the "summer lull", or avoided the 2nd wave.

Not sure why they'd avoid a second wave, but if they don't, then it'll also be interesting to see if it will be less severe there.

It's possibly a win-win situation (for a lot of people), if it works out - then we'll put mr. Tegnell in charge of future pandemics worldwide. If it doesn't work out, then we'll be glad we didn't live in Sweden during the pandemic.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Do you really think their parents give a crap? And if they were fined, they won't pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Roger_007 wrote: »
    In the early stages of this pandemic, we were told to look at Denmark as an example of how this thing should be handled. With our similar sizes and population distribution we could make direct comparisons. Now that Denmark has a higher infection rate than us, are we still looking to them as an example?
    By contrast Sweden was heavily criticised as reckless feckers who we should certainly not emulate.
    I wonder who we should look to now?

A good hard look in the mirror

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

We've added 25 beds with €20 billion, seems like value for money..

https://twitter.com/Flyck66/status/1307607890002358273?s=20

I imagine that the HSE has been spending a fortune on extra PPE for staff, so that 20 billion for covid wouldn't have been just spent on ICU beds. Also add in the testing costs. RT-PCR is very expensive, you need to buy lysis buffer, RNA extraction kits, cDNA synthesis kits, and primers and probes..not to mention pay for the MLAs, GTs, medical scientists/clinical scientists carrying out the testing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Polar101 wrote: »
    It's very interesting. But Sweden's "curve" went down slower than in most other European countries - so it's hard to say whether they've now reached the "summer lull", or avoided the 2nd wave.

Not sure why they'd avoid a second wave, but if they don't, then it'll also be interesting to see if it will be less severe there.

It's possibly a win-win situation (for a lot of people), if it works out - then we'll put mr. Tegnell in charge of future pandemics worldwide. If it doesn't work out, then we'll be glad we didn't live in Sweden during the pandemic.

Indeed, will be interesting to see where they are in a months time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,316 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

ixoy wrote: »
    Do you really think their parents give a crap? And if they were fined, they won't pay.

Cut off their dole, pup payment or high salary tax, fine the parents too if minors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

As always, the law abiders will pay the price for those who refuse to adhere to any rule anywhere. I am so pissed off. But will continue to try my best to keep our family and friends safe. Sick of it now. Useless rules without sanctions and on the spot fines anyway.
    We need far more granular lockdowns.

Locking down restaurants in areas of Dublin with low rates of spread, while it's running rampant through other areas makes little sense. Particularly when you see videos like the one we saw today.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

The Tullamore crowd say they didn’t break any guidelines - they travelled down separately and kept social distance. Without any video proof of them doing otherwise, we can’t comment.

But there was no ambiguity with the Oliver Bond gathering. The guidelines quite clearly state no social gatherings. Or if they weren’t sure what a gathering was, only meet with one other household in your home or garden. They quite clearly were breaking the rules and couldn’t care less.

Both groups are idiots, generalising and playing the blame game is just pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

They obviously didn't socially distance if they met up as a group of forty and twenty of them caught it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

hmmm wrote: »
    Locking down restaurants in areas of Dublin with low rates of spread, while it's running rampant through other areas makes little sense. Particularly when you see videos like the one we saw today.
    I'd agree. Would <100 be a sensible threshold? That'd suit me! Hell right now I can even do you a <80 (barely!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

It is but the propaganda machine has convinced us to fight each other instead.
    Little did I know waking up this morning I'd be considered far right.

You may need to see a psychologist, this irrational thinking isn't good for you.

You do serious disrespect to the people who have actually lived under authoritarian regimes by speaking like this and really only show your lack of understanding towards what it is really like under one of these.

You don't realise how easy you have it, you wouldn't last a day in a real hard time.

OscarMIlde wrote: »
    I imagine that the HSE has been spending a fortune on extra PPE for staff, so that 20 billion for covid wouldn't have been just spent on ICU beds. Also add in the testing costs. RT-PCR is very expensive, you need to buy lysis buffer, RNA extraction kits, cDNA synthesis kits, and primers and probes..not to mention pay for the MLAs, GTs, medical scientists/clinical scientists carrying out the testing.

Yes but all you have listed adds No long term benefits to actually increasing the ability and capacity of the system with coping with patients.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

We have an ex-RUC(same thing call it whatever you want) man in charge of. They had no bother going hell for leather in the Bogside or Falls when it suited them. There's a fair few parts of Dublin would hugely benefit from such tactics. Send the gardai in tooled up on a Saturday night. Tell them to ask no questions, don't think twice, just give it to anyone you see outside at that time. There will be collateral damage but you have to crack a few eggs when making an omelette.

Do this every weekend in every ****hole estate for at least 2 months. Put a bit of fear into them. The judiciary aren't worth a ****, they aren't going to do it. Think a car was bought with the proceeds of crime? Burn it. Damo draws the Dole but is dressed in the latest designer gear complete with new iPhone? Strip him naked and smash the phone.

The only way to get the message across to the scum who are being left run riot.

Won't happen thankfully, what little respect the force enjoys in the community would be destroyed if the tactics of a once sectarian police force was used.