Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

With so much labour free they could build roads, greenways, redevelop our infrastructure, stamp out antisocial behaviour in our towns, clean our cities, plan our future, they could put Ireland in a position to be a leader the other side of COVID.

This is without mentioning the obvious other jobs they could do, but instead of just throwing away 350 a week, pay then a little more and put them to work on meaningful projects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

is_that_so wrote: »
    Right and that training is through who now?

Sorry, I made my post a bit more specific with an edit.
    But my original point was what are we doing with the money we are borrowing, we are not really building any infrastructure with it as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The evidence worldwide is clear that indoor socialising is a bad idea with this virus.

I'd be fairly sure we will have to close the pubs again. It's difficult to see how we avoid a cycle of opening and closing restaurants.

Instead of this uncertainty for hospitality business owners, we should be moving heaven and earth to move things outside. Close streets in cities, towns and villages. Get rid of parking spots and fill them with seats. Big coverings. Free jumpers for everyone. A big push to get us through the next 12 months essentially.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

So easy solution: Open all the pubs and ban all off sales of alcohol. Would suck to not be able to have a bottle of wine/beer with dinner but would at least drag this problem out in the open and into an environment that could be controlled.

tom1ie wrote: »
    Project management/ construction of modular buildings for hospital and school extensions for a start. If there employment history lends themselves to that of course.

Sounds like the kind of thing you'd need an engineering background for. Not many engineers out of work these days. All you need is a laptop to stay productive.

hmmm wrote: »
    The evidence worldwide is clear that indoor socialising is a bad idea with this virus.

I'd be fairly sure we will have to close the pubs again. It's difficult to see how we avoid a cycle of opening and closing restaurants.

Instead of this uncertainty for hospitality business owners, we should be moving heaven and earth to move things outside. Close streets in cities, towns and villages. Get rid of parking spots and fill them with seats. Big coverings. Free jumpers for everyone. A big push to get us through the next 12 months essentially.

This is what should be happening without a doubt.
    Imagine coverings on Camden street/Kevin street and designated areas with seating on the roads for each restaurant/cafe/pub along with patio heaters.
    Busses only up and down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

Is there any way to find out how many people were in ICU with respiratory illness this day last year? Or 2 years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭seamusk84

So easy solution: Open all the pubs and ban all off sales of alcohol. Would suck to not be able to have a bottle of wine/beer with dinner but would at least drag this problem out in the open and into an environment that could be controlled.

That's actually not a bad idea...Would never happen though. Can you imagine MM or Leo announcing such a measure! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,039 ✭✭✭jackboy

Summer is near over. The weather will rarely be good enough for outdoor activities until next springtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,626 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Oh yes I read every single post in the thread! Get a grip.

Oh yes, selective reading of posts.

Sounds like the kind of thing you'd need an engineering background for. Not many engineers out of work these days. All you need is a laptop to stay productive.

Yeah maybe, but it’s not really a problem as we are not using any of the money we are borrowing to build anything anyway.
    It’s a wasted opportunity.
    We could use some of the money to pay for coverings and heaters to allow designated areas for social activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

True, everything that is outdoors needs to be encouraged. As you say indoor gathering with people congregated are not viable with this virus . Outdoor sports/exercise and small outdoor events need to be given more leniency that indoor ones. Ventilation indoors when possible also needs to be highlighted

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

So, the advice says that outdoor is much less of a risk than indoor.

I see lots of people in town every day, outside, but with no social distancing or mask usage.

How risky is this? Anyone know?

jackboy wrote: »
    Summer is near over. The weather will rarely be good enough for outdoor activities until next springtime.

Hence the coverings to keep out snow and rain and heaters To keep people warm and lighting for when it’s dark to extend social time.
    This isn’t impossible!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

MM was suggesting that artists work in schools.

At a time when schools are being told to limit/ban visitors? Send artists out to visit multiple schools and possibly transfer Covid from place to place?

Yeah that was a sensible suggestion from him alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,145 ✭✭✭prunudo

Gods Gift wrote: »
    As a great philosopher once said

We like to party
    We like,
    We like to party
    We like
    We like to party.

Naughty naughty, very naughty.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

igCorcaigh wrote: »

I see lots of people in town every day, outside, but with no social distancing or mask usage.

Masks are not mandatory outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Is this what you mean by backslapping?

Poster 1 : Only 100 cases today.
    Poster 2 : That's good.

No he means people ridiculing others who were worried, and trying to sound clever with crappy statistics and their fcucking "outliers".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

igCorcaigh wrote: »

Likely to not be much of a risk at all. With poor ventilation the virus can stay in the air for hours and travel withing a room so if one person in that room has the virus it could lead to a super spreading event with the virus lingering around for a long time . Outdoors this is not a factor the virus would evaporate much quicker. You would likely need to much closer to an infected person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Again it’s the scobes in this city ruining things for everyone else. Their anti social behaviour ruined things like the boardwalk and make certain areas in town no go areas after certain times, busses won’t go into certain estates in west Dublin, and they even attack fire brigades at Halloween going in to put out fires.

Whatever about having a rave someone where where no one can see you, the absolute gall of them having an open air gathering with a DJ, lights, a gazebo and having it go on until 5am on the first night of lockdown in the middle of town, in full view of everyone. They don’t give a damn. And sure why would they - the know the guards aren’t going to go in to shut it down.

The chickens are coming home to roost now with our social welfare for life nation. If you don’t have to work for something, you don’t respect anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Masks are not mandatory outside.

Would you tell that to all the clowns wearing them outside, starting to think there secret police tasked with keeping the fear going...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Again it’s the scobes in this city ruining things for everyone else. Their anti social behaviour ruined things like the boardwalk and make certain areas in town no go areas after certain times, busses won’t go into certain estates in west Dublin, and they even attack fire brigades at Halloween going in to put out fires.

Whatever about having a rave someone where where no one can see you, the absolute gall of them having an open air gathering with a DJ, lights, a gazebo and having it go on until 5am on the first night of lockdown in the middle of town, in full view of everyone. They don’t give a damn. And sure why would they - the know the guards aren’t going to go in to shut it down.

The chickens are coming home to roost now with our social welfare for life nation. If you don’t have to work for something, you don’t respect anything.

Nope, we have idiots in every social class. The golfing lads who got a hotel in Tullamore closed down were from Dublin as well. I doubt they were on social welfare. They weren't young ones either from all reports.

Don't see the point in blaming a certain class or age category, there are morons who disobey the rules in every sector of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Project management/ construction of modular buildings for hospital and school extensions for a start. If there employment history lends themselves to that of course.

The majority on PUP are from the hospitality / travel sector doubt if construction skills feature highly on their CVs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Interesting that Sweden not experiencing second wave like rest of Western Europe. Their case numbers are relatively stable with rate of cases at 22 for every 100,000 people. ICU numbers also staying constant at 17, with an overall population of 10million. Denmark in comparison are not doing so great, with ICU intake increasing.

Also, was surprised to read that wearing of masks isn't really commonplace there, even on public transport. They still have indoor dining, limited to table service. Evidence suggests that Social Distancing, good personal hygiene and personal responsibility are paramount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

How much money have we borrowed to put into long lasting infrastructure such as icu beds, nurses/doctors to staff them?

We've added 25 beds with €20 billion, seems like value for money..

https://twitter.com/Flyck66/status/1307607890002358273?s=20

We have an ex-RUC(same thing call it whatever you want) man in charge of. They had no bother going hell for leather in the Bogside or Falls when it suited them. There's a fair few parts of Dublin would hugely benefit from such tactics. Send the gardai in tooled up on a Saturday night. Tell them to ask no questions, don't think twice, just give it to anyone you see outside at that time. There will be collateral damage but you have to crack a few eggs when making an omelette.

Do this every weekend in every ****hole estate for at least 2 months. Put a bit of fear into them. The judiciary aren't worth a ****, they aren't going to do it. Think a car was bought with the proceeds of crime? Burn it. Damo draws the Dole but is dressed in the latest designer gear complete with new iPhone? Strip him naked and smash the phone.

The only way to get the message across to the scum who are being left run riot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Would you tell that to all the clowns wearing them outside, starting to think there secret police tasked with keeping the fear going...
    I think some people are doing what makes them feel safe. No reason to criticise people for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

We have an ex-RUC(same thing call it whatever you want) man in charge of. They had no bother going hell for leather in the Bogside or Falls when it suited them. There's a fair few parts of Dublin would hugely benefit from such tactics. Send the gardai in tooled up on a Saturday night. Tell them to ask no questions, don't think twice, just give it to anyone you see outside at that time. There will be collateral damage but you have to crack a few eggs when making an omelette.

Do this every weekend in every ****hole estate for at least 2 months. Put a bit of fear into them. The judiciary aren't worth a ****, they aren't going to do it. Think a car was bought with the proceeds of crime? Burn it. Damo draws the Dole but is dressed in the latest designer gear complete with new iPhone? Strip him naked and smash the phone.

The only way to get the message across to the scum who are being left run riot.

Christ, please tell me you're joking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

The country is going to have to pay for all this and will be doing so for years to come. Next budget is going to be very severe. As usual it will be the middle who will be the ones footing the bill.

You can guarantee the crowd in Oliver Bond flats last night wont be the ones getting hit in the budget.