Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

So. If the Dublin lockdown has no major impact on cases, what's next? If it does have a good impact on figures, we open up again. And cases go back up. What's next. How is this 'living with the virus'?
    The dubs will spread it around the rest of the country while they're in level 3, so that Dublin will no longer stick out as problematic, and people will stop calling for something to be done about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

How many ICU beds will be added to capacity?

How many additional hospital beds?

How many tests will actually be performed?

Will serial testing in risk areas continue to be suspended?

If private bed capacity is bought. Will it actually be used this time?

Have we achieved the optimum contact tracing time?

What the hell have the HSE and NPHET been doing for the last six months between their weekly finger wagging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

We certainly can have a rational discussion. Provide any data you have that supports your made-up theory that kids are causing the virus to spread, and I'll happily discuss with you.

Look at Nolan's post on twitter, replace his reference to pubs/restaurants with schools and increase the amounts of interactions and lack of distancing in those settings./

Everybody wants kids to be in school, it is necessary for our survival.

However, it is hard to deny that it is very likely there is asymptomatic children bringing the virus home to family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

death-rolling.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Yeah, it doesn't feel like there's any plan. To be honest, I think NPHET just want to go back to full lockdown. They are taking a very narrow view of the world.

What do you think happens when infection goes out of control? Everyone will get sick.

Teachers won’t teach.
    Utilities won’t function
    Hospitals won’t be open for normal procedures and people will die unnecessarily (far more for reasons other than covid)

Lockdown is not some sadistic fantasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭Polar101

growleaves wrote: »
    If cases go up and deaths don't do we admit the virus has weakened? (Answer: No)

Or alternatively, if cases go up and deaths do as well, do we admit the virus has not weakened? (Answer: No) ;)

I reckon we'll have to wait a while to have enough data to make reliable comparisons, even though some of the numbers are promising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Lads, the plan is very clear.

We're living with it.
    But we're not.
    But some are.
    And some aren't.
    And screw the levels.
    Add a .5 to the end of it.
    Feck the restaurants, cafes and pubs.
    But we're living with it.

See?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Lads, the plan is very clear.

We're living with it.
    But we're not.
    But some are.
    And some aren't.
    And screw the levels.
    Add a .5 to the end of it.
    Feck the restaurants, cafes and pubs.
    But we're living with it.

See?

Only saving grace was today's numbers weren't the worst and thinks seem relatively stable last 4 or 5 days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

What do you think happens when infection goes out of control? Everyone will get sick.

Teachers won’t teach.
    Utilities won’t function
    Hospitals won’t be open for normal procedures and people will die unnecessarily (far more for reasons other than covid)

Lockdown is not some sadistic fantasy.

I didn't suggest it was. NPHET are well intentioned, but they don't have a long term plan. The only long term plans that I can see are elimination of the virus or the Sweden approach to living with the virus. There are good arguments for both. But we (and most of Europe) can't or won't pick between these two approaches, and we are just stumbling along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

what exactly are the garda checkpoints in dublin doing if they can't force people not to travel?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

froog wrote: »
    what exactly are the garda checkpoints in dublin doing if they can't force people not to travel?

Relying on the natural inclination of people not to want to have to explain something that they shouldn't be doing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

teachers talking about strikes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

The narrative around children has been funny itself. First they were super-spreaders and weren't even allowed in shops. Then they were immune to CoVid, then as September approached and their attendance at school became critical to the economy the situation is : they can catch it but not be affected by it, oh btw they are likely to contract the virus at home where in some cases they only see mam and dad than in the school environment where they sit shoulder to shoulder with 30 others for 7 hours a day.

Make sense?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I've been following Denmark as a comparative to Ireland since the beginning of the outbreak. Whilst DK got off to a shaky start (skiing holiday returnees being blamed) they were really quick at getting a handle on it and would be one of the best in class in the EU with regards to infections and deaths. However in the last couple of weeks their infection rates are way higher than hours. Over 500 today and figures regularly over 300. Their deaths are still very low.

I suppose schools going back is causing a big jump up. This was a country that took it seriously from the start and got great results in keeping figures low. 'Tis a slippery little fukcer of a virus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

doc22 wrote: »
    Exactly, What else opened in September that wasn't open in August.

The Dail but I doubt that contributed much to the spread of the virus.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

The narrative around children has been funny itself. First they were super-spreaders and weren't even allowed in shops. Then they were immune to CoVid, then as September approached and their attendance at school became critical to the economy the situation is : they can catch it but not be affected by it, oh btw they are likely to contract the virus at home where in some cases they only see mam and dad than in the school environment where they sit shoulder to shoulder with 30 others for 7 hours a day.

Make sense?

When you put it like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

humberklog wrote: »
    I've been following Denmark as a comparative to Ireland since the beginning of the outbreak. Whilst DK got off to a shaky start (skiing holiday returnees being blamed) they were really quick at getting a handle on it and would be one of the best in class in the EU with regards to infections and deaths. However in the last couple of weeks their infection rates are way higher than hours. Over 500 today and figures regularly over 300. Their deaths are still very low.

I suppose schools going back is causing a big jump up. This was a country that took it seriously from the start and got great results in keeping figures low. 'Tis a slippery little fukcer of a virus.

If you’ve been following Denmark, you’d know they reopened their schools all the way back in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,386 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Have we heard of any positive cases from golfgate, the big golf Oireachtas event?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

Exactly. Cases have been increasing for the last 2 months. No evidence that opening schools has made that worse. The anti children agenda is quite weird, to be honest.

You seem intent on shutting down any discussion concerning the role of schools in the increase in cases, with this anti children bull****. If someone questioned whether restaurants were contributing to the increase would you frame it as anti-diner? Or meat factories, would that be anti meat factory workers rhetoric? Stop being so hysterical.

I do not think it is unreasonable to question whether if in a community where case numbers are already rising, that shoving hundreds or thousands of pupils indoors for hours each day, where social distancing is nothing but a charade in a lot of cases, where it is more likely that those infected will be asymptomatic and where there are obvious shortfalls in contacting tracing, that maybe, just maybe, this has steathly contributed to the rise in cases seen

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

If you’ve been following Denmark, you’d know they reopened their schools all the way back in May.

More just on the numbers is where I've been looking. I know nothing of Denmark, been once (which was enough). Interesting about schools going back in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Personally I don’t believe kids are immune or that schools are some magical place where it doesn’t spread, but I can’t see the current rise in cases tied to reopening schools, as it’s likely too soon.

They’ve been back 3 weeks now and for them to pick it up, become infectious, and pass it around to family and vulnerable to the point where they then become sick and end up in hospital or icu is too small a window in that time, given we’ve seen a big increase in the last 7-10 days.

So. If the Dublin lockdown has no major impact on cases, what's next? If it does have a good impact on figures, we open up again. And cases go back up. What's next. How is this 'living with the virus'?

Country goes to level 3, Dublin to level 4, for 3 weeks. I think that there’s a good chance of that TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

humberklog wrote: »
    More just on the numbers is where I've been looking. I know nothing of Denmark, been once (which was enough). Interesting about schools going back in May.

There was an Irish guy working as a teacher in Denmark who would talk to Matt Cooper on The Last Word the odd time back then. It all just sounded so positive. Given where we were in our own lockdown at that stage, it sounded like a dream that we could get to where they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Have we heard of any positive cases from golfgate, the big golf Oireachtas event?

There are very very long odds against. Low risk situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Country goes to level 3, Dublin to level 4, for 3 weeks. I think that there’s a good chance of that TBH

Any thought for the economy in all this.

niallo27 wrote: »
    Any thought for the economy in all this.

I don’t think the government care about the economy or anything anymore. Covid is now the only issue.

At least Dublin will now prove that lockdown doesn’t work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Looks like there's been a couple of discharges from ICU today, going by the hub, good news.
    We shall see in the update later on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

Not a bit surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭declanflynn

Didn't take them long to have their hands out for more €, even after 6 months holidays with full pay, hope the government tell them where to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

Look at Nolan's post on twitter, replace his reference to pubs/restaurants with schools and increase the amounts of interactions and lack of distancing in those settings./

Everybody wants kids to be in school, it is necessary for our survival.

However, it is hard to deny that it is very likely there is asymptomatic children bringing the virus home to family.

I keep hearing the school buses are a major problem. CIE as inept as usual. They are packed. No social distancing.