Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

That's a nice spin D13exile. The spin down from Knockanally (I refer to it was Ovidstown - presumably wrongly)) is tough because the surface as you say is rotten. The council resurfaced it some months back but I think they made it even worse and now it manages to scrub off any speed you had goinf into it.
    Still, there's a lovely downhill stretch into Newtown before you have the hill on the Northern side of the village.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭D13exile

That's a nice spin D13exile. The spin down from Knockanally (I refer to it was Ovidstown - presumably wrongly)) is tough because the surface as you say is rotten. The council resurfaced it some months back but I think they made it even worse and now it manages to scrub off any speed you had goinf into it.
    Still, there's a lovely downhill stretch into Newtown before you have the hill on the Northern side of the village.

It’s always been a lousy road surface in the 6 years I’ve been cycling up there. That’s what makes it a hard climb as you’re bouncing over potholes and the general unevenness of the surface.

Saying that, coming down into Newtown was a rush until I remembered that tight chicane at the bottom just as you come into the village. Hard on the old rim brakes and...........let’s just say, in that blink of an eye, I decided my next bike will have disc brakes as the rim brakes took their time to bite, although I will admit I was absolutely, top gear, flat out flying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭who_ru

shouldn't this thread be renamed 'tell us about your cycle today around dublin/wicklow?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭wheelo01

Was a lovely day for a spin, even if it was very warm at midday as d13exile says.

First spin in a fortnight after falling and messing up my back, Drimnagh, Tallaght, gunny hill, Mount venus road, down to Marley park, sandyford, Rathmines, and then an extra loop of inchicore, Walkinstown, Harold's cross and home.
    45km at an average of 25.7 km/h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

Headed out on Monday, definitely overdressed despite the weather, 77km around NCD, only hanging on when I got in the door as a result of only bringing 1 bottle. Rest day on Tues ( coffees & cake with a neighbour ) , but got out for 85km yesterday, properly dressed with 2 bottles this time. Happy out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭CapnHex

Paid it forward yesterday, just after Powerscourt. Stopped for a cyclist who had punctured for the second time, and was in need of a spare tube. He needed me to wait with the pump as well, as he'd used his CO2 cannister on his first replacement tube. I was on a short spin anyway, and had the option to ring home if I had a flat. I hope he made it home okay ... and that the cycling gods will look favourably on me for future rides!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Blanchy90

I did 54 km yesterday including howth summit. Longest cycle I've done so far. Lovely weather for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Busted out my first 100k, 106 to be exact. Had initially planned to go to Wicklow but when the restrictions hit had to stay within Dublin.

Went around North Dublin County. Oldtown, Naul, Balbriggan, Skerries, Rush and Lusk, Malahide and then home on the S2S where for once the wind was at my back.

Out for 5 hours in total and horsed through a bowl of stew when I got in :)

Was saddened to hear that while I was out a poor soul was killed on a road that wouldn't have been too far from me at the time. They should cover every road in this county with cycle lanes, using compulsory purchase if necessary. Hard to feel safe.

Apart from that, great day out and feel quite achieved.

RIP friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭bilbot79

who_ru wrote: »
    shouldn't this thread be renamed 'tell us about your cycle today around dublin/wicklow?'

No. A nice fella kindly told us about his cycle around Donegal. Love to hear about the non-dublin spins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,362 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Whats the craic with the dublin 'lockdown' now, are there guards up the mountains turning cyclists back like there was earlier on in the year?
    Looking to head up the mountains in the morning from the city centre.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Didn't see any there this morning!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

retalivity wrote: »
    Whats the craic with the dublin 'lockdown' now, are there guards up the mountains turning cyclists back like there was earlier on in the year?
    Looking to head up the mountains in the morning from the city centre.
    What does it matter if they are there or not? Surely you can give a good guess as to where the border lies before turning back or changing direction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Anyone on here cycle into the back of a car today and cycle off without giving their details to the driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

GazzaL wrote: »
    Anyone on here cycle into the back of a car today and cycle off without giving their details to the driver?

It wasn't me guv, honest!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

A quick 29km today (well, quick for me, nearly 32km/h) but at one point was passed by 6 or 7 motorcyclists on a narrow enough road, who must have thought they were on the isle of man TT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

First time on the bike in 6 months .

54km in 2 hours.

Drogheda, Mornington, laytown, julianstown, towards duleek and left up to Naul, balbriggan, julianstown and back to Drogheda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Went out Dunboyne Summerhill road this morning saw a group with one women down holding her shoulder car was there hope she is ok did not look bad but hopefully nothing serious .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭secman

To Gorey for meet up, Carnew, tinahely , Aughrim woodenbridge Arklow and back to Gorey. 77km avg 30.5 kph including warm up spin. The Gorey to Gorey avg was 31.3 kph.
    A cool down home from Gorey 8km avg 31.7kph
    Beautiful day except for stiff North east wind.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Weepsie wrote: »
    52 kmph. Thought I was nicking a KoM somewhere near Ashbourne as I was well ahead of what I thought it was, but someone else had completely smashed it only on Friday
    i was thinking of having a crack at that myself today, given the wind direction, but never got round to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

I didn't cycle today but happened to drive the R108 which passed the scene of yesterday's tragic accident. On the way I saw some profound things I'll share

The first near the Ballymun NCT centre was the sight of rider who only had one arm. It was without the most humbling and amazing sight I've seen in a good while. This gentleman has my wholehearted admiration and if anyone here should know him, please do say he's got a very big fan here. He is a very capable cyclist and rode perfectly.

Beyond that I passed yesterday's tragic spot and there were some people gathered there with flowers. It looked very sad and sobering.

A few seconds after I passed that spot and on a perfectly straight stretch of road, an old purple Fiesta piloted by a boy racer flew towards me with its engine roaring it's head off, perhaps a few RPM away from destruction. I flashed my lights to slow him down as yesterday's accident site was around the bend. He saw fit to give me the middle finger but never once did I see those brake lights come on as he disappeared around the bend.

All that, in the space two miles or so

The first near the Ballymun NCT centre was the sight of rider who only had one arm. It was without the most humbling and amazing sight I've seen in a good while. This gentleman has my wholehearted admiration and if anyone here should know him, please do say he's got a very big fan here. He is a very capable cyclist and rode perfectly.
    assuming it's the same guy - a chap i know went out with his club after a long layoff on the bike and was struggling up a hill near the end of the spin when a chap - i presume the chap above - put his hand on my friend's back and gave him a helping push up the hill. my mate was humbled but very glad of the assist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,135 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

took the young lad for a spin at Belmont bike trails yesterday (between Bray and Greystones - well worth a trip). As we were heading back to the carpark I turned around to check he was still with me and bang, straight down into the gravel I go. Not sure if I've cracked a rib, but it certainly feels like it (and apparently it doesn't make much difference either way, there's not a lot you can do other than wait for it to heal). Annoying, I was finally getting some fitness back after getting lazy over the summer.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭shaka

Half (70km) of the grass roads grand fondo in Tipp , had to bail to be home early . Savage route , will give it a blast again over the next few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭positron

I didn't cycle today but I watched Conor Dunne's latest GCN video - of him attempting Donegal 555. Amazing and well worth a watch.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30ATJwJXSN4

The route looks brutal, and that Innishowen loop in itself is very challenging and that's only a quarter of the overall distance. And to think folks finish that in 17-20 hours.. unreal!!

What I would really love to see on GCN would be an ultra ride with Conor and our own NamelessPhil. Now THAT would be epic!! :D

Just watched it, great fun reading the comments, about half of which are 'i can't understand what the guys in the car were saying'.

I was 100% committed to pulling the trigger on the 105 version of that bike a short while back . Obrea told me November then April next year. Yeah good luck with trying to sell me a '21 re-branded '22 next April :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭secman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭wheelo01

Got in a 48km at 27.7kph cycle today, even though it was cool standing around, I found myself sweating buckets while moving.
    Drimnagh, Navan Road, Cloner, Lucan, Newcastle, and home via the N7.
    Wind was fairly okay for most, but got caught in a few spots.

https://strava.app.link/zHl2Op4FW9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,453 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

50km yesterday morning. <iframe height='405' width='590' frameborder='0' allowtransparency='true' scrolling='no' src='https://www.strava.com/activities/4086178744/embed/541a24f872ee914e79df72c9c8259f23daa72aa8'&gt;

i had only wanted to do 30 steady to loosen the legs for a gaa game last night. not my smartest move!!

^^^ Correct Link = https://www.strava.com/activities/4086178744

That's a nice route Kevhog. I drove down that way yesterday morning along the old N4 heading to a minor hurling match. Absolutley loads out along there - both groups and individuals.