Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The one household 6 people limit is confusing.

Can I see my family who do not live with me?

Can my parents mind my child?

Yes to both.

But someone brought up the nonsense of that one on the radio during the week too.

6 only from one other household.. Grand. When they go home you can immediately have another 6 over. Or - as I take that further - what if you had a BBQ in the front garden and they stood outside your gate?

Completely unworkable and the Gardai will have no powers to check anyway

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Gruffalox wrote: »
    What do you want to do though, seriously? Just keep everything as pre-covid and let it run through the country?
    The roll of the dice is that venues where people gather in close proximity are liable to spread virus. 12 years ago the roll of the dice was that builder's and site workers were screwed. If we allow the virus to spread without check it would be Brazil here. It is the leading cause of death there this past while. If you were Emperor of Ireland could you stand over 30 or more people dying of it every day in a few months and do nothing? What would you do?

Personally I have no clue why creative people have not come up with a load of ways for people to have the craic outdoors in a safer way. Big huge geodomes, with open sides. Monster marquees. Personal zorbs. Hats that are umbrellas, that not only keep you dry but keep everyone a bit away from each other!

tenor.gif

I hear you. I think we're not at a serious hospitalisation situation though, or approaching that yet. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I'm confused that I can't go on holidays within Ireland but I can go to a few European countries and enjoy a couple of weeks reasonably unrestricted services.

Perhaps the key here is who/how many are going to hospital. Not saying to hell with the vulnerable, but the vulnerable do have to take precautions, as do those that come into contact with them. But public opinion will veer towards let it rip, if the situation is that for most people it'll be 'ok'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Sam McConkey said back in March that we could have 20,000 dead. That was averted by lockdown then and it'll be averted again by this one.

Should anyone feel comfortable suggesting despite his qualifications that McConkey is an idiot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,906 ✭✭✭CH3OH

froog wrote: »
    ffs no one needs to hear from ryan right now.

I see what you did there!

But yes Ryan is worse than useless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

So is this going to be like before when Gardai turning people back on the roads? I haven’t seen anything about this yet.
    Doubtful I'd say. With people having fewer places to go they may stay home.

€30 million for Dublin businesses into the restart grant

Typo? Not the restop grant? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

The real Taoiseach is now speaking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

CH3OH wrote: »
    I see what you did there!

But yes Ryan is worse than useless

ha ha he's as boring as gilmore tbf!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,685 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

alentejo wrote: »
    Is Dublin the only city in Europe where you cant eat inside?

The UK Government is considering implementing a second national lockdown currently, so perhaps other Government's will regret not having followed Ireland's approach if we manage to avoid the need for a complete lockdown countrywide.

Boris Johnson Says Coronavirus Second Wave Is Coming And Hints At Lockdown

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭CiarraiManc

Should anyone feel comfortable suggesting despite his qualifications that McConkey is an idiot?

Yeah he's only an expert on infectious diseases. That's surpassed by having a boards.ie account clearly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Heading to 1000 cases a day by mid October.

Glynn really should not be giving briefings. The completely hysterical nonsense from him is not at all helping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

is_that_so wrote: »
    There is apparently a system to ramp up as required. I've seen a number of 250 extra being available.

Where did that number come from if ya don’t mind me asking?
    Are these permanent icu beds and rooms as opposed to something that might be close to an icu setup but just falls short?
    The reason I ask is we are obviously borrowing billions at this stage but I’d like to imagine some of that money would go into permanent infrastructure. If not it’d be criminal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

Probably a daft comment but why don’t these guys wear masks when presenting indoors? Same with the Dail as you see everyone not speaking wearing a mask but the person actually talking not wearing one.

It's been said a few times here now, I'll say it again. Because of the fact that the tracing system can only account for 2 days from day of testing, the full means of how the virus is being transmitted is being constantly missed. We cannot day that x y & z aren't places/ways where the virus has been spreading; we just don't have sufficient t information. The virus is potentially infectious for much further back than the tracing system had bend designed to account for. The people accountable now are those who signed off on the validity of this system in the first place. Of course knowledge was less then; however currently the tracking system is not fit for purpose and needs updating.

Stheno wrote: »
    the info graphic says otherwise

The graphic says "or other essential reasons". Who defines essential? Holiday for my mental health?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Zara King - wedding or no wedding question? Vote now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

shinzon wrote: »
    Government has released an infographic explaining whats what as regards restrictions in Dublin

dublin.jpg

Shin

Imagine in 5000 years when some future archaeologist digs up some of these flyers(somehow theyve survived) and they have to try decipher these symbols.

Whats a wet pub?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Sam McConkey said back in March that we could have 20,000 dead. That was averted by lockdown then and it'll be averted again by this one.

That level of death didn't happen in Sweden who didn't lockdown like us.

sterz wrote: »
    Probably a daft comment but why don’t these guys wear masks when presenting indoors? Same with the Dail as you see everyone not speaking wearing a mask but the person actually talking not wearing one.

Do as we say not as we do.

Golfgate proved that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Yeah he's only an expert on infectious diseases. That's surpassed by having a boards.ie account clearly

He's still an idiot that has had no consistent opinion from one day to the next. Having a Boards account gives one the right to post an opinion here.

So is this going to be like before when Gardai turning people back on the roads? I haven’t seen anything about this yet.
    coastwatch wrote: »
    MM said regarding travel, people are advised not to travel in/out of county Dublin, except for essential work and for educational reasons.
    That's not as strong as prohibited from travelling in and out.

I'd like to know this too. As far as I can tell, it's not illegal to go down the country on the holiday I've booked. I'm torn on this decision to be honest. I have to check my bookings, but if any are non refundable that will likely sway my decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

christ it's not a mystery. large groups of kids (not in schools) are spreading this and bringing it back to homes. not restaurants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Imagine in 5000 years when some future archaeologist digs up some of these flyers(somehow theyve survived) and they have to try decipher these symbols.

Whats a wet pub?...

Do you reckon the lockdowns will have ended by then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

750-1000 instances of unknown transmission in the past 14 days.

Between 53 - 71 a day.

It wasn't too long ago that was the complete case count per day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Who's made a bit of an ass of himself by his wild guesses on virus outcomes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭CiarraiManc

That level of death didn't happen in Sweden who didn't lockdown like us.

Sweden has one of the highest rates of people living alone in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Do all the people that are happy to see business close in Dublin for 3 weeks know that we all will be paying for the 50,000 people now unemployed? I understand that things needed to be done to slow the growth in Dublin but not create more unemployment!!
    This open up/lockdown yo yo needs to stop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Great. We need some normality. Should have allowed at least 5000 in the stadium.

I agree, it’s the contradiction that I’m highlighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

I've just seen 44 as the tally for last 7 days with 14 in ICU

It might seem like overkill but RTE should be showing every press briefing live on RTE One. Shuffled away on News Now is a big strategic failure to get the message across.
    He asked for the week so far. But 44 is a big number :(