Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

is_that_so wrote: »
    Roll back to January of this year and you wouldn't have being diagnosing anything. Hard to shake off the habit of staggering into work when you think you're not really sick.

Yes. I will roll back and I would have said the same thing. In other countries where I have worked, I and others have been rightfully taken to task by colleagues for turning up with a cough.

But aside from that the Minister for Health in a pandemic really should have known better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Dublin is our wuhan.
    Weld the doors shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Yes. I will roll back and I would have said the same thing. In other countries where I have worked, I and others have been rightfully taken to task by colleagues for turning up with a cough.

But aside from that the Minister for Health in a pandemic really should have known better.
    Can't say I've experienced that in any of the countries I've worked in and it sounds like acute germophobia but each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,106 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

So if we leave Dublin before this announcement today we're good to stay away for the week?

I know people who are leaving for a month, houses booked out west going to work from home there instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

So if we leave Dublin before this announcement today we're good to stay away for the week?

As long as ye head east.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Looking at the UK lockdowns thinking they were the same as us, they are just closing pubs and restaurants earlier. Why are we so different to the rest of Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,306 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Dublin is our wuhan.
    Weld the doors shut.

Get yizzer bats......tooo fer a yooooor-oh

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Dublin is our wuhan.
    Weld the doors shut.

A good information video has already been created on how to deal with this type of situation

How to manage your city in an emergency situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

bb1234567 wrote: »
    570 people have died in Spain in the last 72 hours with 1330 in ICU currently, mostly in Madrid region. It is undeniably a second wave at this stage and not just in numbers of cases any longer.

It doesnt have to be a 'second wave' thats just a catch phrase anyway. I feel a pandemic is as much a medical problem as it is a logical or statistical one.

I think its not s second wave and it hasn't weakened it just is what it is with us gaining increasingly more information. I feel we have to let it go through but just keep it under that threshold where it will cause unnecessary deaths. It will always cause deaths.

Pat Kenny pushing for a midnight curfew, with fines if you’re caught out on the street. Jesus

Kenny has become very reactionary in his old age. Used to be a smart journalist once upon a time.

niallo27 wrote: »
    Looking at the UK lockdowns thinking they were the same as us, they are just closing pubs and restaurants earlier. Why are we so different to the rest of Europe.

It is bizarre they are keeping them open, I wouldn't be going measuring ourselves against those fúcking lunatics, that would be pure folly.

Particularly when they know pubs are one of the main things driving transmission.
    Responding to the rise in infections, Newcastle City Council leader Nick Forbes said: "The evidence we've found from local testing is that it's spreading in three main areas - in pubs, in people's homes and in grassroots sports."

Boggles wrote: »
    The Bridge House Hotel in Tullamore, Co Offaly, has temporarily closed after around 20 people, from a group of 40, tested positive for the virus.

The correspondence noted the group had also played golf in the area and socialised in a number of bars and a restaurant.

“Currently infection is limited to this group,” the email reads. “If, from testing, new notifications and further history, we determine there is a transmission of infection beyond this group…(they would be asked to) contact their GP…”

The Offaly Express reported it had been told by local sources, that most of the guests were from Dublin.

Dirty feckin Dubs again.

Boggles wrote: »

When I was staying in this hotel the staff did everything to implement the safety measures, however the clientele was... eh.... noisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭firemansam4

People comparing schools to house parties, pubs and restraunts don't seem to grasp the basic idea that people can live without parties and drink for a while and it is not going to severely negatively impact them for the rest of their lives.

On the other hand children have already missed out on many months of school already, and for them to continue missing a proper education could have a severe negative impact on them for the rest of there lives.
    What if the vaccine isn't available until next summer? Keep children off school for an entire academic year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

If Level 3 hits Dublin, is it illegal to leave the county or advisory?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Kh1993 wrote: »
    Grim evening with the drip drop of news..

Have to say, as someone who bought into the green jersey stuff, play your part etc at the start, this has gone past restriction level and feels like a punishment. Closing restaurants, cafes and museums won’t stop the spread, it’s an admission that no one can stop household spread. It’s more punishment for business owners, workers, and people who’ve missed out on seeing friends families and loved ones. Encouraging people to meet in control settings were the key, that’s gone now if government accept this.

It’s easy to see the general public are waning. Just because a few people online haven’t seen anyone else in months and are happy to stay at home watching Netflix as advised, it doesn’t mean everyone is. The wider population need a carrot dangled to keep up the basic measures. Closing restaurants, sports, cultural events, the things that bring us some joy and sanity, isn’t the way to go.

The household gatherings, parties, family events will continue. They won’t stop. Cases won’t come down quick. We’re looking at months here in Dublin. It would kill your spirit.

Totally agree. And Fine Gael have been tweeting about the next stage protecting businesses from the impact of Covid. But they are not. They are hitting businesses hard. Surely this pushes people back to the dreaded uncontrolled environment house parties??
    Schools. I know I have said it before, but 25 or 30 kids, primary and secondary in an enclosed environment for up to five maybe more hours per day. Coming from households, going back to households. And multiply each class by ten or whatever. That's every day.

I dunno, but seems to be suppressed. So let's stop a few people staying for an hour or two in a controlled environment once or twice a week, sure why not, same with weddings.

Six to be in a house at the one time apart I presume from the dwellers, but all just from one household.

Nope, it is not the partying either I don't think, that is a handy crutch, not doubting that there are such things going on, but have these weekly/bi weekly gatherings really led to the current scary spike? Pubs with food seem to be out of the loop, as do cinemas, gyms, shops and so on.

So let's think it out again. Yep to me it's the schools, has to be, but that will never be mentioned. Now I have no doubt that some statistician will object to what I am saying and will back it up. But the timing of this spike is an outlier since all the above businesses have been open for ages, and parties have been happening all along, whether we want to admit it or not.

Anyway, on a point of order..... I really feel so sorry for those getting married soon. It is a total disaster for them and must be so stressful with the changing of the rules to 25 next week, and no one is sure if that includes or exclues staff, musicians etc. Sad times for them to be sure.

Schools. Has to be, not open long, but all those dirty kids going back spreading god knows what. Deffo!

On the other hand children have already missed out on many months of school already, and for them to continue missing a proper education could have a severe negative impact on them for the rest of there lives.

TBF no one on here as far as I am aware decided to shove a million people back indoors on the pretence that biological humans under the age of 19 don't really get the virus and if they do they don't really spread it indoors.

Or will we just keep pretending that 3 weeks after the schools opened Dublin is going into restrictions at midnight and one has absolutely nothing to do with the other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Going to be some mass exedos of people from Dublin this afternoon, the auld covid express down the country to the parents houses and the holiday homes for a few weeks.

It's all advisory but one would assume some increased Garda presence to remind people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

He's gone bat **** crazy, we need to get old men and women off the Telly and Radio. He dropped the word Stasi a few times there, i'd say he'd shoot everyone under 45 if given half a chance.

Get rid of him for sure, sack him. Get the new blood in there, we need journalists who support the new measures that are well adjusted to the new normal. Those who are demoralizing the public by sowing seeds of doubt about our Government and our experts need to be purged, there is no other way. They are either with us or they are with the virus.

165 'restaurant' pubs breaching the guidelines. Three weeks ago (more now).

That's a lot of opportunity for our 20-25% community transmission to occur.

Plenty on here and Twitter boasting about no food, staying 5 hours, showing their 30 pint and 3 substantial meal receipts.

Firstly, with 2m distancing as done in lots of pubs, there is no time limit. Secondly, do you really think there is much difference between sitting with someone for 2 hours or a few hours? Would you rather they were doing the house parties instead? Do you really think the "no food" cases are making any difference to case numbers? Rubbish!

Is it not time we moved to a period of acceptance - we need to learn to live with it. These experts and politicians are running round like headless chickens and looking for the next cohort of people to blame - youung/old/etnic group/ employment group/publicans/GAA/county - who is next? We have a basic human need to be sociable and this cannot be repressed indefintely which seems to be the current position. Put our efforts into healthcare provision and protecting vulnerable and let people exist and economy survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

People comparing schools to house parties, pubs and restraunts don't seem to grasp the basic idea that people can live without parties and drink for a while and it is not going to severely negatively impact them for the rest of their lives.

What if the vaccine isn't available until next summer? Keep children off school for an entire academic year?

Well if thousands of people lose their jobs and businesses and it severely affects providing for their families into the future then yes it might severely affect the rest of their lives. Its not all about going for a few drinks.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

niallo27 wrote: »

If you have to ask that, you really don't understand the way many Irish Pubs operate.

If the UK pubs close at 11, the doors are closed and locked by 11:05, Irish pubs close when it's no longer worth keeping the staff behind the bar to provide service, which around here is any time between 01:00 and 03:30, depending on the numbers in the place, and I can't remember the last time I saw court action taken against an Irish Pub for serving "after hours".

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

Paddygreen wrote: »
    Get rid of him for sure, sack him. Get the new blood in there, we need journalists who support the new measures that are well adjusted to the new normal. Those who are demoralizing the public by sowing seeds of doubt about our Government and our experts need to be purged, there is no other way. They are either with us or they are with the virus.
    152K in listeners is music to the ears of advertisers and the station!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭dmakc

It's advisory. Work/education/essential journeys are allowed do as they please so I can't see it being anything more than an unsupervised recommendation.

The way people are talking here you'd expect the military to be out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

is_that_so wrote: »
    Kenny has become very reactionary in his old age. Used to be a smart journalist once upon a time.

Used to really like Pat. He's very keen to get the boot into young people and the misbehaving great unwashed these days though. Quite frustrating listening to him now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Used to really like Pat. He's very keen to get the boot into young people and the misbehaving great unwashed these days though. Quite frustrating listening to him now.

Selfishness isn't just a one-way street. He would burn the country and the young peoples futures to avoid any risk to his oily, well-pensioned hide.