Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Well if you do you are breaking forum rules by attacking the poster and not the post that can lead to a threadban. But you know all about threadbans don’t you?

Any chance you might stop your inflaming provoking comments which is equally a potentially bannable offence by you as well and deal with the issue the poster has raised?

Gradius wrote: »
    You work in government and can't predict tomorrow. That matches well.

Biology is predictable. Human behaviour is predictable.

You can tell a government that such and such behaviour will create a devastating virus. Simple.

A government will ignore that prediction because it goes contrary to making certain people happy.

Virus appears. Government shakes hands, "how could we have known?"

Government listens to experts more closely now that their arse is on the line. But the people won't be happy with the suggestions, so they only half-listen.

With one foot in, and one foot out, nobody is happy as the virus continues along it's predictable route, growing and devastating with a slow surity.

People remain unhappy as they die, people remain unhappy as they live. Government wrings hands, experts talk to wall.

But you can't predict even tomorrow? Here, let me try; loads more new cases, a few more dead, no solution in place, very close to another ineffective reaction like regional lockdown, no medium term strategy with any hope of success, lots of looking to equally ineffective leadership for a clue that isn't coming.

I suppose I don't belong in government so.

yeah i couldve predicted your angle of response

and your lack of a cv with it

wise after the fact. certain of the future. if people would only read yr message board posts the world would be perfect, eh?

whats that worth?

“I wish,” said Melbourne, “that I knew any thing as well as Tom Macaulay knows every thing.”

there's another quote that springs to mind for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Any chance you might stop your inflaming provoking comments which is equally a potentially bannable offence by you as well and deal with the issue the psoter has raised?

You mean you don’t want me to have a different view of said poster and yourself? On yer bike pal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

You mean you don’t want me to have a different view of said poster and yourself? On yer bike pal.

I don`t particularly give a flying **** what your view is l but as I have now mentioned for the 2nd time regarding this proposal I actually have the same opinion as you on the fact it will not be a realistic option. Got it now pal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I don`t particularly give a flying **** what your view is l but as I have now mentioned for the 2nd time on this proposal I actually have the same opinion as you on the fact it will not be a realistic option. Got it now pal?

Well good for you, at least you have some sense and know it’s a non runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Sweden's 'Herd Immunity' Mastermind Gets Promoted by WHO

One of the people behind Sweden's "herd immunity" plan for managing the COVID-19 pandemic has been promoted by the World Health Organization. Johan Giesecke has been given a senior advisory position as vice-chair of the Strategic and Technical Advisory Group on Infectious Hazards.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.newsweek.com/sweden-herd-immunity-mastermind-who-promotion-1529111%3famp=1

Meanwhile we sack "resign" a doctor for simplyly suggesting we follow Sweden's approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,040 ✭✭✭Polar101

MOR316 wrote: »
    I wonder if the cells of the virus have a forum like this to discuss what to do next.

Covid.ie or something

It's moderated by Phil Hogan and hosted in Clifden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

No fantasies here.

I fully realise that this country, and others, is chock full of pig ignorant fools that have neither the necessary grasp of reality nor the wherewithal to act upon it even if they did.

I fully expect the country to go completely down the drain before the previously unthinkable occurs; we might have to do something that works.

It's still worth pointing out that 2+2=4, no matter whether people accept that reality or not.

So, enjoy the coming trainwreck :)

It might work but I think the problem is that this disease is nowhere near serious enough to warrant that reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Today’s the day the teddy bears have their picnic

Just spent too long catching up with this thread, and it's depressing to read some of the posts here.

I'm a grandparent with 7 grand children, we didn't see any of them for close on 4 months, and we've only seen 2 of them once in the last 9 months. We're seeing 3 of them more often, because they're more local, and we have to be available to assist with care, as both of their parents have to work in order to survive, the financial crash hurt them badly, and even now, there's no way for one of them to stop working, even with the covid issues. fortunately, we do have and use relevant technology, but it's NOT the same as being able to see (and hug) the people we love. Anyone that tells you different is lying through their teeth.

Much more worrying to me is that we've not seen my parents in the UK for over 9 months, and we're unlikely to be able to visit them for some time to come, as the restrictions that we'd be in to when we return would cause all sorts of problems, and the parents are 90 (x2) and 96, and they were in cocoon mode for a good while due to their ages, and even now, they don't fully understand why we can't visit them, and it's clear that their mental health has suffered as a result of the Covid situation. And yes, they too have and use some technology, despite the regular problems that Microsoft cause with their unreliable updates, we'd be blown out of the water if I couldn't do remote support from here to keep their computer going, but they don't do things like mobile phones, so there are for sure problems keeping in touch with them at times.

There's also the very real scenario that travelling to the UK is not exactly advisable right now, and given our ages, Covid is not to be taken lightly, I'm still wondering if we had a dose of it around the New Year, we were both pretty much wiped out for close on a month by something that looking back had pretty much all the Covid symptoms, and took a dose of steroids after 2 weeks to get it finally under control.

I digress slightly, probably because it's getting late, and there have been distractions, both in the thread and on the TV. Sky news is on in the background. It's not just here that's in ****e, there are 2 areas of the UK that are being locked down as a result of increased clusters, and the South Wales area that's being locked is as a result of several clusters which has resulted in the area's incidence rate hitting 82.1 per 100,000 people over the past seven days.

And we wonder why the relevant advisors don't want the wet pubs open in Dublin, where the incidence rate is now hitting between 90 and 150!

Melbourne seem to be getting their numbers back under control, but I suspect that there would be riots here if the relevant ministers had the balls to go for what Melbourne have done. The reason I mention Melbourne is because there are a lot of similarities numbers wise, and we have a family member living there, so get regular updates from my brother about what's happening there.

5KM movement restrictions, no visiting at all, 1 person only per day allowed out for essential shopping, and a complete curfew between 20:00 and 05:00, and most businesses closed. It was even more severe, but is being relaxed slowly as the numbers are coming down again from a high in mid July. The fines for non complicance are eye watering, and have been used to deal with repeat offenders.

That would shut the house parties down if they did it here, and there's no pubs or restaurants open either, though they are allowed to deliver during curfew, and take away can be ordered outside of curfew hours.

There's a good few on this and the related wet pub thread that would have a complete melt down if that level of restricition came in here.

We were supposed to be going to a wedding on Friday, but can't, as the numbers are too restricted, so they've had to cut the guest list.

The reality is that we'd like our lives back, so that we can actually do something with the retirement that we're supposed to be enjoying. on the basis of the age of my parents, we should have a good few years yet to do so, and I'd kind of like to do so, so catching covid is not part of my plan, given the risks it poses for us.

And in passing, based on what my wife and daughter have seen at the local school, I suspect that the problems that are being blamed on the schools are not the kids, but the parents that just have to get together with their friends as they all congregate around the gates when they drop off and pick up their kids.

So, what should we be doing differently.

First, the politicians need to be told in no uncertain manner that wishy washy messing around on the fringes of this pandemic is NOT hacking it, we DESERVE clear and decisive leadership, based on the advice of the myriad of advisers and other hangers on that they have in every direction, and no, they don't need yet more layers of committees to hide behind.

The testing and contact tracing systems should have been resourced to enable them to provide the level of service that doesn't leave people hanging for several days or having to travel on public transport for several hours to get to a test centre, and then spending several days wondering if they have Covid or not.

Then there's the travesty of people being tested, then found negative and being forced to use holiday time as a result, that should have been addressed.

The HSE should have been shaken up from top to bottom to make it fit for purpose, that's never been done since the health boards were merged, and there's still way too much waste and inefficiency in the management structures.

The two tier health nonsense should have been dealt with, and the people that are no longer needed for unneccesary accounting work to make the private insurers pay for every last item should have been redeployed to more useful things like contact tracing and testing, so that specialists from other areas like speech therapy for the schools and occupational therapy could be allowed to go back to their real jobs.

The chronic shortages of ICU beds should have been addressed over the summer, there was very little doubt that a second wave would happen, the only doubt was when, and the severity of it.

The travesty of people being afraid to get testing because they'd be getting no money should have been addressed.

The importance of social distancing, correct mask use, hand sanitising, and related protections need to be much more clearly emphasised, as well as pointing out the risks of things like garage fuel pump nozzles as a potential source of infection.

I'm sure I could add to this list, but that's enough, and it will probably stir up some anyway.

Thank you, sincerely, for a thoroughly excellent post, summarizing the situation and providing a way forward.

I have my daughter, son in law and grandchildren in the UK, plus close friends in Melbourne. The chances of me seeing my family this year are next to zero. I last gave them a hug in February. Those hugs are something I miss so much.

I really can’t add much to your post. It encapsulates what I think and how I feel. The dithering, obfuscation and procrastination has reached epic levels. Could we please have some leadership.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 466 ✭✭DangerScouse

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    My 5 siblings , 6 neighbours , and about 7-8 friends are all grandparents . All on Skype , do Zoom quizzes and shop online !! Grand parents are not all little old diddery people !!!

Poster thinks grandparents are all at deaths door for some reason. Bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

They need to get to the conclusion here, sooner rather than later.

100% lockdown for 4 to 6 weeks, have all arrangements made for stocking up on necessities, a deployed martial law and necessaries for emergency interventions. Zero leniency, no exceptions.

Nobody gets in to the country, nobody gets out for a minimum of 12 months.

Following the 100% lockdown, we can kiss all the bull**** away. No more masks, no more arguments, no more debates, no more lockdowns, no more virus.

It's that simple.

And what happens when we open up? The virus comes back. We cannot shut the world away for a virus that is not harmful for the vast majority of its citizens.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭CiarraiManc

Thankfully your draconian proposed measures will never ever happen. Hopefully you’ll realise this “ sooner the better”

Pandemics have been happening since the dawn of man. They always disappear or at least into something more benign, they never last, they usually last approx 2 years. 3 max. We’re almost a year in already.

Several experts have already said that covid isn't going anywhere this is the new status quo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

Arghus wrote: »
    Not really Fintan.

If you need to see your GP you will be able to see your GP.

Why do even bother posting this it's obviously not true. You're usually cute enough to misinterept ambiguous statements.

My GP is not seeing patients. Phone consultations only and doors to his practice shut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

In complete ignorance of the data the past 20 pages, with people talking about mythical rises in suicides and 30 year old grannies being vulnerable mixed with rousing self-righteous nonsense that seems to be talking about a serious virus rather than covid, someone posted there are 300-400 suicides in Ireland annually.

Based on the last 17 weeks, a third of a year so a decent length of time, 679 people will die "with" covid in a year. And people think we need stricter restrictions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,049 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Based on the last 17 weeks, a third of a year so a decent length of time, 679 people will die "with" covid in a year. And people think we need stricter restrictions!

Maybe it would be a good idea to put some money and resources into our mental health services, to prepare for peak season!

US2 wrote: »
    Sweden's 'Herd Immunity' Mastermind Gets Promoted by WHO

One of the people behind Sweden's "herd immunity" plan for managing the COVID-19 pandemic has been promoted by the World Health Organization. Johan Giesecke has been given a senior advisory position as vice-chair of the Strategic and Technical Advisory Group on Infectious Hazards.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.newsweek.com/sweden-herd-immunity-mastermind-who-promotion-1529111%3famp=1

Meanwhile we sack "resign" a doctor for simplyly suggesting we follow Sweden's approach.

If a doctor employed in an influential position in the Irish health service believes we are on the wrong track, he should influence from the inside. Multiple contradictory voices coming from positions of influence on an organisation can only lead to Chaos.

wellwhynot wrote: »
    My GP is not seeing patients. Phone consultations only and doors to his practice shut.

Then your GP should be reported to the medical council if they are not seeing patients. For one, they are being neglectful of patient care by not ensuring all patients get the necessary assessment. Also, I am sure thier contract with the HSE has not reduced, so is continuing to take the money for Medical card patients without any of the costs. If they wanted to work in a call centre, why did they get a medical degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,049 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Then your GP should be reported to the medical council if they are not seeing patients. For one, they are being neglectful of patient care by not ensuring all patients get the necessary assessment. Also, I am sure thier contract with the HSE has not reduced, so is continuing to take the money for Medical card patients without any of the costs. If they wanted to work in a call centre, why did they get a medical degree.

For the craic, maybe! Or maybe they have a good reason not to be seeing patients face to face, I don’t understand why though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭stockshares

Level 3 for Dublin and possibly other Counties on the way.
    https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/dublin-to-be-cut-off-from-rest-of-country-for-next-three-weeks-as-concerning-trends-emerge-in-three-other-counties-39538525.html

Donnelly delayed implmenting the measures which were recommended last week.

Simon Harris seems to be deliberately undermining him going by this article.

Simon Harris sought assurances at the last Cabinet meeting that the Government will act sooner on public health advice than it did on Nphet recommendations on Dublin. Harris asked for an assurance that if Nphet made a recommendation it would be made quickly so we don't have a situation like the last week," a source said.

"We have lost five days in the fight against the virus because they didn't move and he's really not happy about it," the source added.

Nphet is due to meet at 10am today to discuss the increasing number of new coronavirus cases in Dublin and elsewhere in the country.

The expert health group's recommendations will then be reviewed by the newly formed Covid-19 Oversight Group chaired by Department of the Taoiseach secretary general Martin Fraser.

Mr Fraser and Nphet's recommendations will then be forwarded to the Cabinet Committee on Covid-19 which will meet tomorrow morning.

An online Cabinet meeting may be organised later in the afternoon if a decision is taken to introduce new rules for the capital before the weekend.

Another Quote(shocking attitude here)
    While the recommendations were received by the Government last week, they were only announced on Tuesday and came into force for the first item yesterday.

A senior Cabinet member defended the delay in reacting to the advice by noting that the rise in cases has yet to lead to a significant increase in hospitalisations or deaths.

"Yes, there is an increase but bear in mind during an average flu season there are hundreds of deaths and we don't get into lockdown," the source said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Arghus wrote: »
    GP's have been offering phone consultations for some things that previously would have required a trip to the surgery, that's true. In the end you got the phone consultation and the prescription I presume.

But if you absolutely need to see your GP in person you will be able to see your GP and if you can't then maybe it's time to change GP's.

It doesn't even have to be that serious and you'll still probably get seen too, at least in my part of the country.

My mother, my neighbour and one of my co-workers have all gone in person in the last few weeks for routine enough non emergency medical appointments and that's only the people that I'm aware of.

My mother went for a standard issue blood test. It wasn't that pressing, but she made the appointment and got it done. Now according to Fintan that did not happen.

There is GPs not seeing patients Argus.

Thats true.

There is some incredibly articulate posters on here I wouldnt dream of getting into debate with.

Your not one of them.

You can see your GP, I never argued otherwise.

Other's cant, like I said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

There is GPs not seeing patients Argus.

Thats true.

There is some incredibly articulate posters on here I wouldnt dream of getting into debate with.

Your not one of them.

You can see your GP, I never argued otherwise.

Other's cant, like I said.

Any GP refusing to see a patient when absolutely necessary should look at other professions.

Anyone being refused should look elsewhere and they won't have to look too far. I've 2 GPs between my home town and where I live now, both of which are seeing patients. My girlfriend has a separate GP and she is going in next week. I've only been discussing mental health issues with a close friend and he has been in to see his GP also, which could have been done over Zoom but there you go.

Having a quick look at 5 different GP websites just now, they're all taking face to face consultations so it seems that the GPs refusing are few in numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭lulublue22

Thats horrid whataboutery.

Are the 30 year old grannies in a nursing home with a plethora of comorbidities?

If not they should be ok

What about the grannies n their 80’s who are not in nursing homes waiting to die ? I have a very active fit 80 year old parent. Still walks 6 miles a day , goes away with the sisters on hols , does her shopping , goes to local clubs and dancing etc Theses people do exist you know - she has as much right to continue to enjoy her life as any young one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,138 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

niallo27 wrote: »
    Your a grandparent and your on boards, I doubt many are, your probably on the Skype calls and zoom to your grandkids, the vast vast majority of grandparents are not as technical as you.

While we may use the internet we don't do Skype or zoom or WhatsApp or any of those things. Though I know several grandparents who do.
    It's hardly new technology to use a website. We used computers way back in the 80s you know and the internet almost 25 years ago. Tech isn't as new as you might think, give us some credit. All my friends use internet sites - we may be older but we're not ancient. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

lulublue22 wrote: »
    What about the grannies n their 80’s who are not in nursing homes waiting to die ? I have a very active fit 80 year old parent. Still walks 6 miles a day , goes away with the sisters on hols , does her shopping , goes to local clubs and dancing etc Theses people do exist you know - she has as much right to continue to enjoy her life as any young one.

Thats great, chances are if she gets it, she will be just fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    While we may use the internet we don't do Skype or zoom or WhatsApp or any of those things.
    It's hardly new technology to use a website. We used computers way back in the 80 you know. Tech isn't as new as you might think, give us some credit. All my friends use internet sites - we may be older but we're not ancient. :)

Some people forget that the dawn of www. in the public domain was nearly 30 years ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

100 children infected the week before schools opened.

A child is getting it at home from parents but is that child infecting other children or teachers?

Internationally that seems not likely.

There are 13 outbreaks in schools so far. They are only back a couple of weeks.
    Outbreaks in schools in most countries where Social distancing and masks not mandated but just keep the lie going.

Kinda like the masks don't work, there are still some on here saying that even though the gov admitted it was completely the wrong advice.

Wonder at when with this that they'll admit they got t wrong again.

https://twitter.com/FergalBowers/status/1306247600752996355?s=20

https://twitter.com/SamHold21632854/status/1306329917546795010?s=20

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    While we may use the internet we don't do Skype or zoom or WhatsApp or any of those things. Though I know several grandparents who do.
    It's hardly new technology to use a website. We used computers way back in the 80s you know. Tech isn't as new as you might think, give us some credit. All my friends use internet sites - we may be older but we're not ancient. :)

I'm just going from my own experience with my parents, I wouldn't even dream of trying to do a zoom call.

GooglePlus wrote: »
    Some people forget that the dawn of www. in the public domain was nearly 30 years ago!

Let's not pretend everyone in their 60s or 70s are tech savy either, a lot of them struggle.