Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Because of the prevalence of hunger in women in developing countries, malnutrition is a leading cause of death for children. Approximately 3.1 million children die of hunger each year, and in 2011 poor nutrition accounted for 45 percent of deaths for children under five.

https://borgenproject.org/15-world-hunger-statistics/

9 million die of hunger or hunger related illness every year

https://www.theworldcounts.com/challenges/people-and-poverty/hunger-and-obesity/how-many-people-die-from-hunger-each-year/story

I of course want my all my 80+ year olds in the family to avoid covid/infuenza/stroke/heart attack etc, but we need to keep everything in perspective both they and I know when their time is up, it is up and to let them go respectfully and graciously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,082 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

The effects of the restrictions can be felt much closer to home.

A plethora of suicides recently.

People are going through hell in Ireland

Christ are you really still trying to play the suicide card? If this was true there'd be thousands dead from suicide the amount of times you've claimed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Grandparents in their 30s? Very very few I would think.

No exact numbers out there but I even know of a few that became grandparents when in their mid to late 30's.

The same with not everyone in their 60's or older are grandparents either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

pjohnson wrote: »
    Christ are you really still trying to play the suicide card? If this was true there'd be thousands dead from suicide the amount of times you've claimed it.

Suicide card, ****en hell, that a new low for this place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Health officials have announced a third wave of increased infections and deaths in Iran after public holiday celebrations caused a surge in Tehran and other major cities:
    Iranian Deputy Health Minister Alireza Raeesi, expressing concern about the new wave, said people went on out-station trips in the last few weeks, disregarding the ministry’s instructions.

He said cases have significantly increased in Tehran and major cities in the last two weeks. In Tehran, single-day cases jumped from 900 to 1,800.

Iran held large ceremonies late last month to mark Ashura – the day Moses saved the Israelites by leading them out of Egypt across the Red Sea.
    https://www.aa.com.tr/en/latest-on-coronavirus-outbreak/covid-19-cases-deaths-see-fresh-spike-in-iran/1974334#

Seems like Iranian authorities claims a few months ago that 1 in 3 iranians have already contracted COVID was untrue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭MOR316

DubInMeath wrote: »
    I don't know one person who has been had any mental damage from having to wear masks, not go to the pub or restrict their movements as that poster claims for all old people.
    I do have a friend in the states who is going through hell because they lost their young son due to covid.

Well I know two people who are and have had the livelihoods snatched away from them and what they had planned to do with their lives is now on hold for God only knows how long and they're devastated over it

Nothing to do with masks or pubs are anything you suggest. Keep in mind, your world is not the centre of the universe, there are others on this rock too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

niallo27 wrote: »
    So if a vaccine comes in the morning, covid is wiped out. Would you be willing to keep all the masks, stop all sporting crowds, music events, keep pubs closed, nightclubs closed and several limit social interactions to extend a few thousand lives a year.

what?

Suicide card, ****en hell, that a new low for this place.

Fintan and some of the other relaxation crowd tried using it often months ago to try and drum up sympathy and support for their cause.

It didn't work then so suprised to see it tried again.

Where are you getting that from because anyone who states this never answers where they heard it from.
    The last time I looked that was supposed to be a claim made by a jigsaw volunteer in August that was debunked by jigsaw themselves given they don't have the numbers, and it normally takes about two years for a ruling of death by suicide to be part of the figures. Hence why we only got preliminary figures for 2019 early this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

froog wrote: »
    what?

Read back what you were replying to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Very important not to spread misinformation Fintan, people are having tough enough time without you making up a reality where things are even ****ter.

https://twitter.com/samaritans/status/1277629591557980166?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1277629591557980166%7Ctwgr%5Eshare_3&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.thejournal.ie%2Fsuicide-ireland-august-claim-33-deaths-factcheck-5192698-Sep2020%2F

https://twitter.com/i/events/1277782419999842304?lang=en

Fake news spreading everywhere about increased suicide rates across Ireland. In particular a tweet claiming 33 people died by suicide in Ireland in the last week. Apart form the fact the information is not available as up to date as that, the same tweet has been reshared by people claiming that number of 33 suicide occurred specifically in Dublin, Galway, Northern Ireland and Belfast. Complete and utter rubbish in other words.
    https://factcheckni.org/articles/did-33-people-die-by-suicide-during-the-first-week-of-september-2020-in-northern-ireland/

There is some evidence that suicide rates have actually decreased during COVID.
    https://www.derryjournal.com/education/prof-oneill-says-suicide-rates-fell-start-ofcovid-crisis-worried-over-furlough-end-2944706
    Professor Siobhan O’Neill told a Gasyard Féile event that paradoxically the crisis resulted in a decrease in rates.

This, for example, was the case during the recent conflict in Ireland and it appears to have been repeated during the initial stages of coronavirus.

“The suicide rates generally decreased which is what you find. It happened in Northern Ireland during the Troubles. People have a sense of community spirit. We are in it together, you know, there’s support. That keeps people going. It keeps people alive,” she suggested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭MOR316

Fintan and some of the other relaxation crowd tried using it often months ago to try and drum up sympathy and support for their cause.

That's pretty low and scummy tbh.

There have been 4 suicides locally near me in the last month or because of this

EDIT: I'm pretty disgusted at that mindset and what you just posted. Sticking you on ignore. Enough badness in the world without reading that

Where are you getting that from because anyone who states this never answers where they heard it from.
    The last time I looked that was supposed to be a claim made by a jigsaw volunteer in August that was debunked by jigsaw themselves given they don't have the numbers, and it normally takes about two years for a ruling of death by suicide to be part of the figures. Hence why we only got preliminary figures for 2019 early this year
    Exactly.

Its just a crass attempt to raise support to his views.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

I don't know one person who has been had any mental damage from having to wear masks, not go to the pub or restrict their movements as that poster claims for all old people.
    I do have a friend in the states who is going through hell because they lost their young son due to covid.

Just pathetic. Tens of thousands of people losing their livelihood in front of your face but you're fishing for reflected sympathy because one person on another continent not even related to you died.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Considering this comes from the same poster who continually moans about Ireland becoming a police state I would take anything he posts with a very large dose of salt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭CiarraiManc

Yeah, our kids can pay it.

The little pricks, **** them

As if the country was debt free before covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

spookwoman wrote: »
    No exact numbers out there but I even know of a few that became grandparents when in their mid to late 30's.

The same with not everyone in their 60's or older are grandparents either.

What has your whole point got to do with anything, I said there are upset elderly people out there and you said it was bollix, now your dribbling on about 30 something grandparents. :confused:

Considering this comes from the same poster who continually moans about Ireland becoming a police state I would take anything he posts with a very large dose of salt.

Perhaps but suicide is an issue in this country for a long while so trying to politicise it now and making up a "rise" in it, just to support your own views is beyond disgraceful.

Read back what you were replying to.

yup still doesn't make sense.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,776 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    We were cocooning. Not for several weeks now though. But we are restricting our contacts with only two people at a time in the house. Apart from a monthly shop, we have a total "bubble" of about six people who are also keeping their level of contact to a bare minimum. We generally meet family outdoors. We'll do whatever must be done according to the situation at any time. Patience is required. We knew back in March that this was going to be a long game. At no point back then did we think life would be back to normal by Christmas.

What are we hoping for? That people cop on and do what's needed when it's needed.

I'm a parent of an at risk child and we haven't had a single person enter our house since March, every food shop is delivered each week and we have travelled to see some very close family members in outdoor locations on a very few occasions. All meals are now home cooked, any time we do go out out we have masks on and maintain strict distance from anybody who comes near us.

All in all, we're living a very similar life to yourself, it's just what needs to be done. Of all the different circles of people I know, I don't think a single one is living anything similar in terms of keeping a low number of close contacts. While I may be the extreme of caution, the majority are on the total other end of the spectrum, coffee out with friends, dinners out, multiple shopping trips, hair and beauty treatments.

At the end of the day, the CMO and government can talk about this restriction here and that level of lockdown there, but it comes down to personal choice. People have to take responsibility for how they live their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Gavan Reilly has been excellent throughout all this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

Eod100 wrote: »
    What sort of economy do you think will be left without any preventive measures? Or health service for that matter?

Somewhere like Sweden perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

What has your whole point got to do with anything, I said there are upset elderly people out there and you said it was bollix, now your dribbling on about 30 something grandparents. :confused:

You were on about granny crying, was just saying that granny is not always elderly.

MOR316 wrote: »
    Well I know two people who are and have had the livelihoods snatched away from them and what they had planned to do with their lives is now on hold for God only knows how long and they're devastated over it

Nothing to do with masks or pubs are anything you suggest. Keep in mind, your world is not the centre of the universe, there are others on this rock too

There are and as you said they should realise that it doesn't revolve around them and that more preople on this rock have had worse things happen than cancelled plans.
    And like them I've plans that have been put on hold, I just made the decision that feck it, I'd prefer to have my relatives around for as long as possible, as I'll be along time without them, and my plans can still be done eventually.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭CiarraiManc

Perhaps but suicide is an issue in this country for a long while so trying to politicise it now and making up a "rise" in it, just to support your own views is beyond disgraceful.

some people will say or do anything for their little trip to the pub

the selfishness of a large amount of irish people is pretty shocking and horrifying. some people here willing to let a whole load of old people die so they can "have their old life back again". i hope they are trolling, i really do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

bb1234567 wrote: »

I had similar idiot respond last weekend when I said a lot of doctors wouldn't see patients, only a phone consultation.

The response was similar to this type of thing, but alas, I was proven correct by Matt Cooper tonight who raised the issue.

Now as you know suicides inquests take year's , so Im referring to my local and other local towns in rural Ireland which has had a number of suicides lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

You mean a bit like the poster who drummed up the false tweet to support his cause regarding a load of athletes who supposedly developed heart problems due to covid that turned out to be bollox?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

No it doesnt.

They can't be saved though, they would die without Covid

We cannot lockdown against mortality although it feels like we are trying too. Germany and Sweden have published in depth studies that show that Covid is no danger to the working age population. Even the death rates to the elderly are much lower. Like any respiratory infection the elderly are more at risk. Put the civil servants on the Covid payment and watch how quickly this pandemic ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

A bit like deaths in nursing homes from respitory illnesses.

Been happening for years

Its on your facebook feed now so all of a sudden your very knowledgeable on the topic