Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

True story, wake up to the mental damage this is doing. I'm not trying to scare anyone, quite the opposite.

You really talk some amount of bullsh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

We can borrow the money off someone surely. Every nations in the same boat at the moment

Yeah, our kids can pay it.

The little pricks, **** them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭alentejo

I am getting slightly annoyed about us Dub's supposedly off partying and breaking all the rules. I for one am keeping a low profile and every where I go in Dublin, people seem to be obeying the rules.

I detest the warnings by Gov to restrict our behavior when the majority are obeying the reasons. Very depressing. Its as if we are all children.

If Dublin goes to Level 3, it could be months before the restrictions are lifted. I also expect more closures of businesses etc.

It seems that no one in Gov is giving any hope to the general public. Its all doom and gloom.

I think if NEPHID had there way, they would like everyone to lock themselves under the stairs and stay inside for the next year.

If we keep going down the route we are going, I fear that we could have civil unrest at some stage over the coming year.

I know the numbers are high and hospital admissions are increasing, but there seems to be no long term plan other than a series of 5 steps ranging from a light to hard lock down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭MOR316

DubInMeath wrote: »
    You really talk some amount of bullsh1t.

He's not wrong and your response/attitude is exactly why people have mental health issues and why people feel the way they do.

You never dismiss such a thing as "bull****"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,448 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I see that our minister for health has said at a FF parliamentary party meeting that it’s the opposition and media that are confusing the message. That’s a bad sign if true to blame the media. The media are just turning on the camera and covering your words live. The media can’t be held responsible if the government rabbit on and talk about trampolines amongst other things.

You couldn't make it up

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1306331224366100480?s=19

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 466 ✭✭DangerScouse

No it doesnt.

They can't be saved though, they would die without Covid

Christ.

That's enough internet for me tonight.

speckle wrote: »
    Not a virus but TB wasn't a bed of roses here or still today abroad. HIV isn't great either, neither is polio or malaria/dengue/zika/ebola in other countries or even the rise of EV D68 recently etc etc:(

I know a lot of them are beatable nowadays but I presume you mean Ireland?:)

Of course they are talking about Ireland.

Covid is a first world problem.

30k people starved to death today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I see the usual heads in the sand brigade over on the restrictions thread are spouting out more of their BS and there isn`t even a full moon tonight.

You must have been spouting worse bs seeing you got banned over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

MOR316 wrote: »
    He's not wrong and your response/attitude is exactly why people have mental health issues and why people feel the way they do.

Was he referring to me as usual, he's on my ignore list for ages, taking to a himself and doesn't even know it, he's actually the only person on my ignore list, a proper spanner.

Christ.

That's enough internet for me tonight.

100 people died in ICU the last I heard in Ireland.

100 people that were strong and healthy enough to be admitted to ICU have died since March.

Given the same poster was claiming that the supply chain was about to collapse back in March and the army was going to be on the streets, and has continued with a line of bullsh1t since, yes I can

alentejo wrote: »
    I think if NEPHID had there way, they would like everyone to lock themselves under the stairs and stay inside for the next year.

Controversial opinion perhaps but, NPHET are scientists. They have only one way of thinking.

They have no sense of social interaction, emotions, people's jobs etc. Think they give a **** how much Joe Bloggs who lives on his own feels about meeting his friend once a week for a pint? Or how Angela and Michael are going to pay their mortgage? I'd be shocked if they ever had more than a Rock Shandy in a bar

"Cut your contacts in half" ffs
    I meet 3 people a week. What am I supposed to do? Get a chainsaw down the middle to one of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,139 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

What are you hoping for?

Like when will you stop cocooning?

Are you willing to continue indefinitely or maybe until a vaccine in 3-4 years?

We were cocooning. Not for several weeks now though. But we are restricting our contacts with only two people at a time in the house. Apart from a monthly shop, we have a total "bubble" of about six people who are also keeping their level of contact to a bare minimum. We generally meet family outdoors. We'll do whatever must be done according to the situation at any time. Patience is required. We knew back in March that this was going to be a long game. At no point back then did we think life would be back to normal by Christmas.

What are we hoping for? That people cop on and do what's needed when it's needed.

Given the same poster was claiming that the supply chain was about to collapse back in March and the army was going to be on the streets, and has continued with a line of bullsh1t since, yes I can

Nah, don't shift the goalposts.

He said it was causing mental damage to some, you said it was bull****!

So people who feel mentally unwell over this is bull****, in your opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

niallo27 wrote: »
    Its the balance we need, do we stop the majority from having a normal life to save a few, we didn't do it before why would we now.

yeah lives > lifestyle pretty much always if you have any kind of morality at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Some people seem to think granny and grand dad are in their 60+. many a grandparent is in their 30's and and 40's, are they expendable as well?

Nah, don't shift the goalposts.

He said it was causing mental damage to some, you said it was bull****!

So people who feel mentally unwell over this is bull****, in your opinion?

I don't know one person who has been had any mental damage from having to wear masks, not go to the pub or restrict their movements as that poster claims for all old people.
    I do have a friend in the states who is going through hell because they lost their young son due to covid.

spookwoman wrote: »
    Some people seem to think granny and grand dad are in their 60+. many a grandparent is in their 30's and and 40's, are they expendable as well?

Many a grandparent is in their 30s? I'm sure there must be some. But, seriously, many?????:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Stop posting about people having their heads in the sand just because they their challenge your views.

I will repeat the same thing that one of your buddies did the other day and congratulate you on becoming a mod. When did that happen?

Thats horrid whataboutery.

Are the 30 year old grannies in a nursing home with a plethora of comorbidities?

If not they should be ok

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

No Country For Old Men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

froog wrote: »
    yeah lives > lifestyle pretty much always if you have any kind of morality at all.

So if a vaccine comes in the morning, covid is wiped out. Would you be willing to keep all the masks, stop all sporting crowds, music events, keep pubs closed, nightclubs closed and several limit social interactions to extend a few thousand lives a year.

I will repeat the same thing that one of your buddies did the other day and congratulate you on becoming a mod. When did that happen?

Thank you for all these revealing, informative and balanced additions to the thread this evening. Any actual points to be made instead of just point scoring?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Many a grandparent is in their 30s? I'm sure there must be some. But, seriously, many?????:eek:

Grandparents in their 30s? Very very few I would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

C'mon Bill, c'mon vaccine!!!

I do have a friend in the states who is going through hell because they lost their young son due to covid.

The effects of the restrictions can be felt much closer to home.

A plethora of suicides recently.

People are going through hell in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Are you high, seriously, that's nonsense, the people I'm referring to are 75+, still healthy and had a great social life. Now there stuck at home, I presume your a city dweller, this has been horrific on people in rural Ireland who don't have neighbors within walking distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Your a grandparent and your on boards, I doubt many are, your probably on the Skype calls and zoom to your grandkids, the vast vast majority of grandparents are not as technical as you.

My 5 siblings , 6 neighbours , and about 7-8 friends are all grandparents . All on Skype , do Zoom quizzes and shop online !! Grand parents are not all little old diddery people !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,084 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I don't know one person who has been had any mental damage from having to wear masks, not go to the pub or restrict their movements as that poster claims for all old people.

Yeah but think of the house parties like.

We have always had a cohort that furiously ignore facts and just downplay everything in their idiotic rush to ignore and pretend the virus is only a flu/dissapeared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Grandparents in their 30s? Very very few I would think.

Find that hard to believe as well. Might be a few council estate types in this position but I'd say its very low