Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 KillTheTories

Klonker wrote: »
    I don't even know what to say in response to this. I just feel sorry for you to be honest that you think the above is some kind of reasonable solution.

How is it unreasonable when Australia and New Zealand are doing the very same thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Optimistic at best, but even if it works out, those with influence will get it first anyway. lol.

I am more worried about the fact that everyone is talking about giving it to the vulnerable first, yet is it not tested normally on young healthy subjects? Asked on the vaccine thread but no answer ,to put my mind at ease. Anyone here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

speckle wrote: »
    I am more worried about the fact that everyone is talking about giving it to the vulnerable first, yet is it not tested normally on young healthy subjects? Asked on the vaccine thread but no answer ,to put my mind at ease. Anyone here?

Where are you seeing that it's only tested on young and healthy? Seems odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭stockshares

So currently we can leave Dublin for any reason we like?

There will be further advise on Thursday, expecting dubs to be asked not to leave the county for two weeks similar to LOK

Do you mean it's going to level 3 Thursday or 2.5+. Serious question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    I'm about to pull the plug on a weekend getaway. It's going to cause a row as the girl I'm seeing is anti restrictions.

The situation is way grim. I can't ignore them numbers and the direction they are heading in.

Fair play. Empathy very low at the minute.Very disappointing tbh. Personally Im not worried about the virus impacting my own health. I'm 30 years old and exercise daily and watch my diet. I am in the minority in my age group however. Younger people playing sports etc don't care at all about this virus. In some way I understand it unlikely to directly affect them but I have to admit I am disappointed. Suppressing this virus not that hard as proven in Asia. Western society struggling to do it for mainly selfish reasons and a lack of discipline

GooglePlus wrote: »

Well the Oxford 'vaccine' almost killed someone they tested on but the story vanished. Amazing what money can do I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

This is just the start. It hasn't hit the vulnerable yet. We'll be seeing 1000 deaths a day in Ireland and we'll look back on this time and regret not locking down instantly like Israel.

Now you're just being hysterical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

I see Spain has seen an increase in deaths, +156 today, +9.5k cases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Double O Seven

wadacrack wrote: »
    Fair play. Empathy very low at the minute.Very disappointing tbh. Personally Im not worried about the virus impacting my own health. I'm 30 years old and exercise daily and watch my diet. I am in the minority in my age group however. Younger people playing sports etc don't care at all about this virus. In some way I understand it unlikely to directly affect them but I have to admit I am disappointed. Suppressing this virus not that hard as proven in Asia. Western society struggling to do it for mainly selfish reasons and a lack of discipline
    Up to 70% of the population are going to get Covid 19 eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Not really, one of my best friends is due to get married and with the restrictions no friends will be able to go only family. Their both gutted and don't want to go ahead with the day but being left with absolutely no choice by the venue to start with. There was only ever 100 going to this so it was by no means a big wedding.

Sadly they do not realise that their friends don't care really and will be happy to save a few hundred quid for not being able to attend.

Big Weddings should be consigned to history. I don't know anyone who absolutely is ecstatic on receipt of a save the date or an invite anymore.

People have more to do with their money now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

GooglePlus wrote: »

when they where asking for participants originally, which is why I asked recently again in case in a later phase they would, which surely they must be at if they are talking about it being ready by year end?

ShyMets wrote: »
    Now you're just being hysterical.

Sam McConkey said back in March it could kill 20,000+ here. That was only prevented by lockdown. Now there's nothing stopping it from spreading like wildfire. In shops, schools, dry pubs, restaurants and workplaces. It's borderline mass murder. We're pigs to the ****ing slaughter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Double O Seven

BLIZZARD7 wrote: »
    I see Spain has seen an increase in deaths, +156 today, +9.5k cases

They had a draconian lockdown, what did people expect would happen once things opened up again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,504 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Sam McConkey said back in March it could kill 20,000+ here. That was only prevented by lockdown. Now there's nothing stopping it from spreading like wildfire. In shops, schools, dry pubs, restaurants and workplaces. It's borderline mass murder. We're pigs to the ****ing slaughter

What the fúck is this nonsense?

OK. I think you need to step away from the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Up to 70% of the population are going to get Covid 19 eventually.

Yes but its obviously going to much better if its a slow process. Alot of progress has been made with treatment. No one can say with any certainty what is likely to happen. Obviously many more variables at play . Most we dont fully understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

Dublin is the capital and the spear head of the country.

We should lock down the entire country apart from Dublin. IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

Weddings are so boring (and formulaic) and bloody expensive too, for a lot of people, bet they will delighted not to have to attend.

Back to basics here now and it's not such a bad thing either. The meringue and all the associated shyte of 175 attendees is hopfully gone now.

Everyone wishes you well, but it's nothing to do with me either apart from wishing you well. A two minute thing on an email to decline + a pressie, job done.

Sorry now, I know some will be offended. But who cares.

I know, isn't it shocking that everyone doesn't just agree with you and have the same view on everything? How they dare people want a big party celebration surrounded by all their family and friends that they'll remember for the rest of their life.

Nobody is forced to go to a wedding against their will. Not that hard respond, sorry but weddings aren't really my thing, I just don't feel comfortable at them but I hope you have a great day and we can meet up some time after for a coffee and you can tell me all about it.

I say this as someone who is getting married next year and will have less than 20 guests, covid restrictions or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Not really, one of my best friends is due to get married and with the restrictions no friends will be able to go only family. Their both gutted and don't want to go ahead with the day but being left with absolutely no choice by the venue to start with. There was only ever 100 going to this so it was by no means a big wedding.

We've seen on this this thread before that if some posters don't personally like or agree with something, then theyre delighted when restrictions put a stop to it and fantasize about it never coming back. Not keen on big weddings myself, and it wouldn't be my choice (the only guests at our wedding were our daughter and my parents lol) but I wouldn't be happy that anyone had theirs affected by this. The friends are better off without people like that there "celebrating" with them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Boggles wrote: »
    What the fúck is this nonsense?

New account, how long will it last 😂

ShyMets wrote: »
    OK. I think you need to step away from the internet

Why? Because the truth hurts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,173 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Mad to think this is all kicking off again in Europe just as winter approaches,almost1000 COVID deaths in Europe in the last 48 hours, could that timing really just be coincidence or could it be a seasonal illness?

What wave is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Not surprised KillTheTories is a new account set up today. Seriously sad people who get a thrill from trolling.

New account, how long will it last 😂

What does my account age have to do with anything? And what have I done or said to warrant a ban?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,448 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Sadly they do not realise that their friends don't care really and will be happy to save a few hundred quid for not being able to attend.

Big Weddings should be consigned to history. I don't know anyone who absolutely is ecstatic on receipt of a save the date or an invite anymore.

People have more to do with their money now.

Well I can tell you the friends do care. Its a not a large group of friends but everyone has known everyone for years.

Thats your take on big weddings and thats grand but not everyone has that take.

This was 100 people and everyone who was invited was going.

Devastated for them both.

Why? Because the truth hurts?

It pains me deeply. Anyway, enjoy you're time on the this thread. I suspect it wont last long

US2 wrote: »
    Not surprised KillTheTories is a new account set up today. Seriously sad people who get a thrill from trolling.

I wish I was trolling. I lost my job in April because of covid and that ****ed me right up. It's been a long and hard 6 months for me. As it has for many

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,504 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Klonker wrote: »

Nobody is forced to go to a wedding against their will.

Bollix. I have been forced to about 20.

I'd rather get a fúcking bill in the door than an invite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,173 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Advisers for Taoiseach Micheál Martin, Tánaiste Leo Varadkar and Green Party leader Eamon Ryan are set to cost taxpayers at least €1.5m a year.

The Coalition leaders have 17 special advisers between them, with salaries ranging from €74,000 to as much as €180,000

Nice Pay for Some

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 466 ✭✭DangerScouse

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    What wave is this?

Mexican