Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Mad to think this is all kicking off again in Europe just as winter approaches,almost1000 COVID deaths in Europe in the last 48 hours, could that timing really just be coincidence or could it be a seasonal illness?

It’s a bit early compared to regular seasonal illnesses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 KillTheTories

snotboogie wrote: »
    Vaccine is on the way. Treatments and testing improving rapidly. We are in for a tough few months but I think we'll start to see vaccinations in January and improved testing and treatments having an effect then too. We should have gone for zero covid back in March but at this stage we might as well hang on.

There isn't a vaccine. No coronavirus has ever had a vaccine. According to scientists we were supposed to have a vaccine for HIV years ago and here we are. We'll be led along by corporations with tales of a vaccine until we finally cop on it was CEOs inflating stocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Now regarding this plan, I noticed that they mention, the plan or a version of it having to be in place until a vaccine is produced.... should that not have been in place until a vaccine or good treatments or medications be in place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭the corpo

That was fast. My adult daughter hasn’t been well since yesterday, has been self-isolating at her home and rang gp reception this morning with symptoms of cough and temperature. No call back from gp yet!

Aye, was surprised. I was expecting the slow part to be the wait for the test, but they seem to have seriously ramped it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Vaccine is on the way. Treatments and testing improving rapidly. We are in for a tough few months but I think we'll start to see vaccinations in January and improved testing and treatments having an effect then too. We should have gone for zero covid back in March but at this stage we might as well hang on.

That's very optimistic. Most cases are saying any COVID vaccine will be arriving mid to late 2021, then think of how long it will take to get enough people vaccinated. We are looking at a year or more of this.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Goldengirl wrote: »
    No

? No restrictions on leaving Dublin legally yet is there?

If the Guards in Dubljn could tackle these marauding gangs of tracksuit clad rif raf wandering about in large groups . And put a stop to the house parties they may get in top of the numbers again.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Schools go back, the number of new cases rise. It was to be expected.

Breaking: Parents of schoolchildren to be asked to restrict movements for 2 months and only socialise with other parents.

Singles and non parents complete freedom of movement :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Sconsey wrote: »
    But the numbers are still rising...those lethal masks, people must be wearing two or three now :rolleyes:

Plenty of experts understand the risks with use in the general public. Most of NPHET do, senior HSE officlas do.
    I witness the constant misuse every day by people coming into retail, retail staff, deli staff, delivery drivers, shelf stackers. Every part or the chain is a cluster fcuk of misuse.
    I'm a big believer in perspex, hand washing, distancing, ventilation, good cleaning regime.
    Public transport I get but not retail, it's doing more harm than good.

I'm saying no more about it as it's driving me crazy the acting CMO hasn't a clue what's happening on the ground and he obviously can't even follow his own rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,964 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

? No restrictions on leaving Dublin legally yet is there?

No , there are :D

Edit, not legally, just " strongly advised ".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

I suppose people's selfishness and desire to get pissed at a wedding comes before the health of others. That's why we had 300+ cases today

I'm about to pull the plug on a weekend getaway. It's going to cause a row as the girl I'm seeing is anti restrictions.

The situation is way grim. I can't ignore them numbers and the direction they are heading in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

If the Guards in Dubljn could tackle these marauding gangs of tracksuit clad rif raf wandering about in large groups . And put a stop to the house parties they may get in top of the numbers again.

Almost every person I see without a mask in shops is wearing a grey tracksuit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

North inner city is a shambles. Pjama wearing auld ones, roma tenements and young lads roaming in packs not giving a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I got a little worried the other night when a bunch of scobes were coming my direction all in masks it was nearly fully dark and i'm not a small guy, seriously thinking of trading in my rifle for a hand gun if this continues much longer. The same toe rags wouldn't wear a mask when there meant to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Weddings are so boring (and formulaic) and bloody expensive too, for a lot of people, bet they will delighted not to have to attend.

Back to basics here now and it's not such a bad thing either. The meringue and all the associated shyte of 175 attendees is hopfully gone now.

Everyone wishes you well, but it's nothing to do with me either apart from wishing you well. A two minute thing on an email to decline + a pressie, job done.

Sorry now, I know some will be offended. But who cares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Double O Seven

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Mad to think this is all kicking off again in Europe just as winter approaches,almost1000 COVID deaths in Europe in the last 48 hours, could that timing really just be coincidence or could it be a seasonal illness?
    1000 people out of 446 million. How many people in Europe have died of obesity the past 48 hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,283 ✭✭✭kenmc

Almost every person I see without a mask in shops is wearing a grey tracksuit.

I believe if you're an athlete, covid can't catch you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭snotboogie

That's very optimistic. Most cases are saying any COVID vaccine will be arriving mid to late 2021, then think of how long it will take to get enough people vaccinated. We are looking at a year or more of this.

Unless there are serious setbacks there will be multiple vaccines by the end of the year. Will take at least a year to roll out in developed countries but as the vulnerable are vaccinated restrictions will be slowly lifted. We may have serious lockdowns late this year but I think we'll be at level 1 or 2 for most of 2021.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Weddings are so boring (and formulaic) and bloody expensive too, for a lot of people, bet they will delighted not to have to attend.

Yeah, one of the positives of this whole thing for me is definitely not having to go to weddings or invent excuses not to go,

Back to basics here now and it's not such a bad thing either. The meringue and all the associated shyte of 175 attendees is hopfully gone now.

Everyone wishes you well, but it's nothing to do with me either apart from wishing you well. A two minute thing on an email to decline + a pressie, job done.

It'll be 4 funerals and a wedding the way the numbers are going. Now the children are even at risk back at school. The undertaker's will be out of a recession at least at everyone else's expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Plenty of experts understand the risks with use in the general public. Most of NPHET do, senior HSE officlas do.
    I witness the constant misuse every day by people coming into retail, retail staff, deli staff, delivery drivers, shelf stackers. Every part or the chain is a cluster fcuk of misuse.
    I'm a big believer in perspex, hand washing, distancing, ventilation, good cleaning regime.
    Public transport I get but not retail, it's doing more harm than good.

I'm saying no more about it as it's driving me crazy the acting CMO hasn't a clue what's happening on the ground and he obviously can't even follow his own rules.

And we only had good hygiene like the above, and cough/spit/sneeze into a hanky or tissue and we still managed to beat TB along with good medications(and yes I know the difference between a bacteria and virus)

God help us if we had Ebola to deal with like my mates. We would be climbing the trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

1000 people out of 446 million. How many people in Europe have died of obesity the past 48 hours?

Or just died for that matter.

Hard to fathom people still coming out with stuff like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Roots 2020

FF are leading the government at the moment and shoulder most of the blame for the messing.

However you can't but feel that when we got to June/July FG took a collective sign and said job done for us, thank fcuk we can wash our hands (literally and metaphorically) of it now.

Since the formation of the new government they have remained in sleep mode. They need to be pushing harder on FF and MM to make the big decisions. They have the added advantage of experience too.

Then it's not beyond any of our politicians to play politics with a serious issue. Nice to be remembered as the one who got the outbreak under control rather than the one who restarted it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    I'm about to pull the plug on a weekend getaway. It's going to cause a row as the girl I'm seeing is anti restrictions.

The situation is way grim. I can't ignore them numbers and the direction they are heading in.

In all honesty I would say the numbers are as low now as they will be for a long time to come. Now is the time to have a nice getaway. Just mind yourself abd others and spend most of time doing outdoors stuff. It will be a while before numbers go the other way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

It's not the fact that 1000 is a very large number in itself but it's a large increase on the number of deaths in Europe over the last few months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

So currently we can leave Dublin for any reason we like?

There will be further advise on Thursday, expecting dubs to be asked not to leave the county for two weeks similar to LOK

Or just died for that matter.

Hard to fathom people still coming out with stuff like this.

This is just the start. It hasn't hit the vulnerable yet. We'll be seeing 1000 deaths a day in Ireland and we'll look back on this time and regret not locking down instantly like Israel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Unless there are serious setbacks there will be multiple vaccines by the end of the year. Will take at least a year to roll out in developed countries but as the vulnerable are vaccinated restrictions will be slowly lifted. We may have serious lockdowns late this year but I think we'll be at level 1 or 2 for most of 2021.

Optimistic at best, but even if it works out, those with influence will get it first anyway. lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,173 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

bennyl10 wrote: »
    They cabinet isn’t back in the dail

Junior ministers are sitting

On large increased salaries doing fcek all, sitting around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,446 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Not really, one of my best friends is due to get married and with the restrictions no friends will be able to go only family. Their both gutted and don't want to go ahead with the day but being left with absolutely no choice by the venue to start with. There was only ever 100 going to this so it was by no means a big wedding.