Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,893 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

blade1 wrote: »
    What's the protocol when a work colleagues son has tested positive?
    I'm not sure if the son lives with them or not.

Michaal and Leo to call around for tea and scrumpets

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Arghus wrote: »
    People have short memories. I can remember reading fck all praise for Leo and Simon on boards during the summer, once that first flush of fear began to abate. Particularly Simon Harris. I could link you to literally hundreds - no exaggeration - of posts blasting him: "condescending", "clueless". Leo was trying to cripple the economy, supposedly.

The restoration of their reputation is partly down to FF's sloppiness, but also it's plain old boards short term memory and hating whoever is in charge more than who isn't at any given moment.

You are 100% right on that.
    However Leo is a Slippy one, and the last abiding memories we have of him was accelerating the relaxation of restrictions just before he stepped down as Taoiseach. This leaves some positive and hopeful memories.

It's also clear as day now that despite the criticism at the time, himself and Simon H are 100 Times better communicators than MM and SD. We may have disagreed with their plans but they were at least much better at explaining the rules and the logic behind them.

If he lives with him or has had contact within 48 hours of symptoms developing/ test if asymptomatic, he must restrict movements for 14 days - no going to work.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Interesting report from the UK.

For the week ending 4th September, 1500 fewer people died of all causes than in a normal year. This is likely to continue for a number of weeks. It probably indicates a couple of things - people dying from infectious diseases is down because of social distancing and many people who died of covid earlier in the year would have died at some stage this year.

It will be interesting to see the full year excess deaths comparison for a country like the UK at the end of 2020.

This is the report from UK ONS.

https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/birthsdeathsandmarriages/deaths/bulletins/deathsregisteredweeklyinenglandandwalesprovisional/weekending4september2020

Although there is a caveat!
    I remember listening to a UK epidemiologist back in February on BBC radio. He predicted that there would be no excess deaths in the UK in 2020 and basically everyone who dies of this disease would more than likely died this year anyway, bar a small unlucky few. I thought he was speaking nonsense. He might not have been.

Interesting points. So the excess in the first half of the year could balance a bit over the whole year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,968 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Ya when I saw the Cork numbers a week ago I was going well they can't use its a city as a total excuse even Galway is very low

Yea but noone lives in Cork :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

the work colleague should isolate until he gets a negative test result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

However Leo is a Slippy one, and the last abiding memories we have of him was accelerating the relaxation of restrictions just before he stepped down as Taoiseach. This leaves some positive and hopeful memories.

It's also clear as day now that despite the criticism at the time, himself and Simon H are 100 Times better communicators than MM and SD. We h=may have disagreed with their plans but they were at least much better at explaining the rules and the logic behind them.

Isn't it Tony you should be giving the credit to.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

speckle wrote: »
    So with this plan my family will not be having Christmas/Solstice/Newyears as we are all live in separate solo households, which those in power do not take into account when planning. In the present era their are a lot more non-nuclear families and individuals without children.

We have not seen each other since last year, so technically as we do not live in the same county, it will be up to two years between the old guidelines and this new plan before that happens, yet we could travel to some of the s green listed countries and meet up there?

Our risk is potentially lower than a family with kids in school for picking up covid. It also does not take into account that some people within a family structure may be antibody positive for covid.(and still taking formite transmission precautions)

I'd be making subtle arrangements if I were you, that s too long a gap to skip meeting your family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭History Queen

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    I understand there is a difference between self isolating and restricting movements , but there's conflicting reports , Ceann Comhairle said self isolating .

Apologies, I only head the term restricting movements on the news

froog wrote: »
    the work colleague should isolate until he gets a negative test result.

No, for 14 days if he is a close contact. Negative result won’t change that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Yeah, is there any danger it was a strategic cough?

"Jaysus that went terribly, time to activate plan D as per the PR plan"

They cabinet isn’t back in the dail

Junior ministers are sitting

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Some need to be educated better . A large majority in Dublin are doing exactly as asked . We are just as peed off with the eejits as you are

Are you not peed off with the eejits who are posting these silly posts?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Insidious

is_that_so wrote: »
    Cases per 100K will probably be the measure and we have 5 levels. It's level 2 for most of us and Dublin at a hybrid 2.5 but probably borderline Level 3.

It's just a joke... They are making such a mess of this.. there are 5 levels.... That means you are on one of 5 numbers... 2.5 makes a mockery of the plan.. that means it could be a hundred levels.. Dublin 2.6 tomorrow? It's either 2 or its 3... I wish they would release the triggers without people having to guess and stop.... Just stop playing politics with this... If there is clear rules.. then everyone can understand and plan accordingly. FF and fg together are looking pretty bad..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

People have short memories. I can remember reading fck all praise for Leo and Simon on boards during the summer, once that first flush of fear began to abate. Particularly Simon Harris. I could link you to literally hundreds - no exaggeration - of posts blasting him: "condescending", "clueless". Leo was trying to cripple the economy, supposedly.

The restoration of their reputation is partly down to FF's sloppiness, but also it's plain old boards short term memory and hating whoever is in charge more than who isn't at any given moment.

Indeed. I recall many posters referring to Harris as Simple Simon and now the same type of stuff is being directed at Donnelly with the egghead comments and such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Apologies, I only head the term restricting movements on the news

Does that mean going to the loo less often?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

Bring back Leo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Isn't it Tony you should be giving the credit to.

Not sure but Tony did seem to be more on the same page as Leo And Simon than Glynn is with the current two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Ok Thanks! hopefully he does so if he's been in contact with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭stockshares

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I felt Leo and Simon Harris had some competence and confidence at least in their briefings and handling of this compared to MM and Simon D
    iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Absolutely and you felt they actually cared
    Ah here Harris maybe but Varadkar not a chance.

Harris and Varadkar are better communicators but that's not saying either are competent.

Leo threw a party in the Phoenix just a mile or so away from where people died in their drives in a care home. How callous was that. He also wanted Paddy's Day to go ahead.

Leo doesn't give a ****. He didn't about the Cervical check women either and neither did Tony Holahan.

Ventilator capacity is not as crucial as first thought. In certain cases it actually makes things worse. In Italy they found that certain patients who were not ventilated due to shortage had better outcomes than some who were with similar presentation.

Yes .
    Its down to catching vulnerable patients early, and good Medical and Nursing care ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,999 ✭✭✭growleaves

FG came across as having strong leaders at the start of the pandemic. Coveney was solid as concrete, Harris was honest and compassionate and Leo (who I never really rated - style over substance) quickly took control and showed real leadership. Every one of Leo's speeches hit the right notes.

I'm seriously worried by the dearth of cynicism in this country. Many people seem to want to be reassured, and Leo's playing every note on his psychological xylophone satisfies this need.

But people should know better by now. Most of these leaders are playing you. Should have learned this during the Bertie years.

And no that doesn't mean that I'm calling them conspirators. I'm saying people should forget about whether politicans give you get a fuzzy feeling and just coldly assess if they're doing enough for you economically and in other ways, and can you get a better deal from someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,675 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

I bet Donnellys test result will take days. This is all a stunt so they don't have to answer to anyone. And most on here are falling for it.

Have done this test 28 times, fastest return was 4 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭snowgal

See this is the mad confusion we are getting from changes here there and everywhere. This is 3rd reply to initial post and all slightly different responses. Not getting at any posters btw but just goes to show the different interpretations we all have! Ie confused.com :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Insidious

Indeed. I recall many posters referring to Harris as Simple Simon and now the same type of stuff is being directed at Donnelly with the egghead comments and such.

I don't think you can compare really.. when this started it was a ****e show... But everyone was learning about covid and they didn't get everything right but they did ok under difficult circumstances... These new guys have all the learned experience and knowledge of covid and appear to be making a complete mess if things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,189 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It's also clear as day now that despite the criticism at the time, himself and Simon H are 100 Times better communicators than MM and SD. We h=may have disagreed with their plans but they were at least much better at explaining the rules and the logic behind them.

I agree with all of that. But I do think that the message MM and SD have to deliver is more complicated and less stark. In a sense the messaging delivered by LV and SH was much more black and white and people weren't as tired listening to it.

MM and SD aren't great communicators but I have a degree of sympathy for them. The situation isn't as black and white, the population is far more restless, they have lobby and interest groups in their ears all day long and the government is many headed beast. I have fairly strong suspicions that any of our politicians would not be doing brilliantly in the situation.

Though Leo is a master in fairness. How he's managed to keep the stink of every bad government decision off him - The Tainiste! - and have it always associated with FF is pretty amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

snowgal wrote: »
    See this is the mad confusion we are getting from changes here there and everywhere. This is 3rd reply to initial post and all slightly different responses. Not getting at any posters btw but just goes to show the different interpretations we all have! Ie confused.com :)

The last one is right, as a close contact a negative test doesn’t mean you could still get it after the test. So you isolate 14 days from last contact with the positive case to ensure no symptoms develop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Schools go back, the number of new cases rise. It was to be expected.

Yes i do.

So you think kids in Cork Galway Dublin or anywhere else behave differently ? They don't , unless they are supervised by an adult .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Restricting your movements...another phrase added to the list of 2020 unpleasantries. Sounds like self-induced -strangulation of the bowels.