Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Every time a child tests positive a school will get dragged into this even it has nothing to do with it. People just love blaming schools. It's a warped agenda.

Its ridiculous tbh the media love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,965 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    The Government will have to make this clear . I absolutely am not the only one who will misinterprete that .
    “ at any given time “ leaves it wide open

Agree.
    If they want buy in from people it has to be crystal clear , so no grey areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

MOR316 wrote: »
    Had no clue there was a press conference.

Can anyone give me a short summary of what was said/introduced?

Imagine a press conference were no one says anything of note and then they release the documents which need to be revised a few times with hours. Also the plan has 5 phases but Dublin is in 2 but with more , a restriction from phase 5.

It was really really poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

rusty cole wrote: »

Ha HA is there a enough space in the country for that.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Oranage2 wrote: »
    What really need is a plan involving shapes.

Rhombus means safe
    Circle means caution
    Triangle means danger

That's a system I could get behind.

Dublin's current Status just in.....

Dublin Covid Status.png

526431.png

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,444 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Chaos and confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

RTE saying he spoke to the CMO first who told him to contact his GP.

Must be hard to understand the whole advice of contact your GP and don't go to work

Heard him talking and coughing this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Donnelly never really got off the ground as a minister for health which is probably why we are seeing less of him. The trampoline comments ruined his credibility early on.
    They were limited in terms of choices for the job and as he was the FF spokesperson he was in line. I reckon he wanted it but as he is learning, like many others before him, wanting and doing are extremely different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Donnelly has been sent for a COVID test due to feeling unwell today

You couldn't make this up, he lacks the personal responsibility to still at home with symptoms but he is making the rules for everyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭MOR316

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Chaos and confusion.

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    Imagine a press conference were no one says anything of note and then they release the documents which need to be revised a few times with hours. Also the plan has 5 phases but Dublin is in 2 but with more , a restriction from phase 5.

It was really really poor

Hurrache wrote: »
    We're still trying to work that out.

Classic Ireland :D

RTE saying he spoke to the CMO first who told him to contact his GP.

Must be hard to understand the whole advice of contact your GP and don't go to work

Imagine if he was positive and passed it to CMO, MM and LV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

is_that_so wrote: »
    They were limited in terms of choices for the job and as he was the FF spokesperson he was in line. I reckon he wanted it but as he is learning, like many others before him, wanting and doing are very extremely different things.

Should have been given a junior ministry at the Dept of Health. Classic case of be careful for what you wish for......you might just get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Should have been given a junior ministry at the Dept of Health. Classic case of be careful for what you wish for......you might just get it.

He's been criticising for years.

Finally gets a chance to put his money where is mouth is and shows himself to be utterly useless.

Chap thinks he's more important than he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Sure, but apart from one of the old codgers there were no other obvious front runners for MoH.

The one from Ballincollig in Cork is another non-story, not a single person in the school has been deemed a close contact and the school remains open as normal.

That is true so far of the one in Dublin i have heard about , but these are not what most parents would describe as" a non story."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,456 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Basically they announced a 5 level plan.

A county/area can be deemed to be in level 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5

25 of the county's are in level 2 but Dublin is in level 2.5 (Go figure).

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

SusanC10 wrote: »
    If this is correct, I wish that they would make it clear.
    Personally, I was just using an example.
    The reality is that we are not making any visits to my elderly Mum (who lives far away from us) for the foreseeable now that the Kids have gone back to school.
    I mentioned ages ago, one idea that schools should closed 15 days before xmas to allow kids/parents meet up with grandparents. Bring them back a bit early the other side or make up for it later on.etc However the final decision should be with the grand parents how the celebration is held.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

It is a 6 month plan (or framework, sorry I'm not sure) but it doesn't cover Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,502 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Don't think are reports of any clusters in schools yet. Epidemiology report is due tomorrow so should tell us more

It won't tell us anything unless their is specific team of contact tracers setup for schools, is there?

If cases just go into the general pot of contact tracing, it won't be traced back to class rooms.

Example.

Little Johnny tests positive, class sent home for 14 days.

Little Johnny infected Little Mikey.

Little Mikey was asymptomatic and infected both his parents, their symptoms didn't show up for 8 days, they get tested and their contacts are traced 48 hours before onset of symptoms.

No link made to the class.

speckle wrote: »
    I mentioned ages ago, one idea that schools should closed 15 days before xmas to allow kids/parents meet up with grandparents. Bring them back a bit early the other side or make up for it later on.etc However the final decision should be with the grand parents how the celebration is held.

What about all those parents who wont get holidays until the 23rd but will have kids off from the 10th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭schmoo2k

Basically they announced a 5 level plan.

A county/area can be deemed to be in level 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5

25 of the county's are in level 2 but Dublin is in level 2.5 (Go figure).

Just heard them trying to explain this on the radio - complete amateur hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Goldengirl wrote: »
    That is true so far of the one in Dublin i have heard about , but these are not what most parents would describe as" a non story."

Its a non story in relation to schools. Hysteria around schools is poisoning the discourse in this country and stopping parents sending children to school.

Boggles wrote: »
    It won't tell us anything unless their is specific team of contact tracers setup for schools, is there?

If cases just go into the general pot of contact tracing, it won't be traced back to class rooms.

Example.

Little Mikey was asymptomatic and infected both his parents, their symptoms didn't show up for 8 days, they get tested and their contacts are traced 48 hours before onset of symptoms.

This will happen in some cases, but on average, as with any cluster, the source will emerge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭MOR316

It is a 6 month plan (or framework, sorry I'm not sure) but it doesn't cover Christmas.

Wait what?

What about Christmas?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

The Snakes and Ladders plan.
    If a county is good they progress along the board, but if you land on a snake you go down a level. Dublin is currently on a snake. And trying to eat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭ForestFire

todays press conference was brought to you by the number 2

point 5

hmmm wrote: »
    My proposed Lilac, Lavender, Plum, Purple colour scheme would also clearly communicate risk in a manner similar to the Government's Level 2, 2.365, 2.4753, 2.6743, 2.6744, 3 scheme.

With aqua and cornflower blue notes for in between levels maybe?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,446 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Imagine if he was positive and passed it to CMO, MM and LV?

If it wasn't so serious it would be funny.

Preaching to everyone to take personal responsibility and not go into work with symptoms and contact your GP.
    The CMO had to tell him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Boggles wrote: »

Example.

No link WILL be made to the class.

We signed up to this level of fraudulent reporting likely to occur when some 20+% of our voters voted for FF again.

The irony is the vast majority of those voters will be among the most vulnerable to an increase in CoVid 19 spread caused by this ****show of a government and their policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

speckle wrote: »

That is a good idea.
    We spend Christmas in our own house. Don't usually have family but have celebrated with friends for the Dinner some years. Usually, we go to my home place sometime between Christmas and New Years and spend New Year there.
    Last year we were all sick after Christmas one after the other with a flu type thing and didn't go at all over the break for the first time in years.
    Looks like we won't be going again this year.