Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,504 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Dublin will be at level 4.5 by Halloween.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭babyboom

I'm in Dublin too. I know 4people currently with the virus, around 10 people who've had it and 3 who have died. You are right, it is real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

1. Kids don't transmit so much.

2. Education more important than than you and your mates watching football.

I agree I just think if we get to Level 5 - its madness to leave them open. Its not even the schools themselves its all the interactions before and after that will help spread the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,457 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Can us filthy dubs travel to a hotel or should I just cancel it now?

As long as it's in Clifden you'll be grand. You'll have to buy a €9 Sand-wedge though. :D

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,195 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

So Dubliners are "strongly advised" to stay in Dublin.

That will put the fear of God into the thousands who will head to Bray this weekend.

True... should stop the southbound DART at Shankill and check passports to allow only genuine Wicklow residents to proceed beyond that point.

That's how it worked in any WW2 movies I have seen.

I am in Dublin, I know 4 people currently with the virus, about 10 who have had it and 3 who have died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭HeyV

What's the beer situation like today? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

SPDUB wrote: »
    And this is part of the problem .

People thinking they are ****ing the Govt .

No you are just ****ing other people

I don't think that's it. I think it's more a rejection of restrictions. The government just happen to be incompetent.

Boggles wrote: »
    Dublin will be at level 4.5 by Halloween.

But there'll be more masks around, so that should help.

I know of three cases in one Sandyford based company alone.

I am in North County Dublin. I know 4 people currently with the virus, 10 who have had it and 3 who have died.

I agree I just think if we get to Level 5 - its madness to leave them open. Its not even the schools themselves its all the interactions before and after that will help spread the virus.

It's nonsense, whatever level of infection we need to get to level 5 I imagine it is fairly high, the people who work in schools won't go and parents won't send their children in.

What do they think we are, fúcking Lemmings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I think it is very tricky. What would you suggest as a substantial measure in Dublin?
    Agreed it is very tricky, but I think the majority of people are willing to take big steps if they are given clear guidance as to what those steps should be. Asking people to "avoid all but essential travel if you live in the following Dublin postcodes" is an example - you'd get 80% compliance for a few weeks just by asking. Or limiting alcohol sales in off-licences. Or no travel outside county boundaries.

I think what the earlier government got correct initially is that people respond to "big" high-profile asks, but with the more granular rules approach it is difficult to capture attention.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

HeyV wrote: »

We aren't going to find out, the source went into hiding in the mountains cos they knew what kind of a crap fest the gov were going to put on today :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭SPDUB

My neighbour works in ICU, married to a garda, both seem perfectly happy to be the ones hosting the parties in our estate .

It shows that just because someone is in a particular position that overall they can be a eejit

HeyV wrote: »

Only half’s allowed today. No pints :D

hmmm wrote: »
    Agreed it is very tricky, but I think the majority of people are willing to take big steps if they are given clear guidance as to what those steps should be. Asking people to "avoid all but essential travel if you live in the following Dublin postcodes" is an example - you'd get 80% compliance for a few weeks just by asking. Or limiting alcohol sales in off-licences. Or no travel outside county boundaries.

I think what the earlier government got correct initially is that people respond to "big" high-profile asks, but with the more granular rules approach it is difficult to capture attention.

This is either a poor judgement of the people and the mood or plain wishful thinking. The herd is moving again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,173 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

So the plan is there is no plan

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

That’s the cunning plan, Liz :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

As wishy-washy as the "strong advice" is not to leave (or enter?) Dublin is, why didn't they mention it at the press conference?

It's strong advice that you have to find yourself - buried in some god-awful boring looking document somewhere online.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,044 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

seamus wrote: »
    No, 15 people out in a park.
    Not going by this:

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1305836209885904896

Or indeed the ever-clear document:
    Other settings outside your home or garden

Members of different households can continue to meet socially in other settings up to 6 people indoors, 15 outdoors from 1, 2 or 3 other households.

This will be determined by the prevailing public health advice for the county or other defined geographical area.
    For Dublin, it'll be from one other household. I would love to know the logic of this (households make more sense from an indoor transmission perspective).

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

And the first rule of the plan is to not talk about the plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,189 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Bit farcical really. They're just delaying the inevitable in regards to Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,448 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Can us filthy dubs travel to a hotel or should I just cancel it now?

Have hotel booked outside Dublin next week.
    Will be going.

I get claustrophobic when trapped between levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

ixoy wrote: »
    Not going by this:

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1305836209885904896

Or indeed the ever-clear document:

For Dublin, it'll be from one other household. I would love to know the logic of this (households make more sense from an indoor transmission perspective).

I assume it's for the sake of clarity.

Didn't quite work out, but at least they're trying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

There is a plan, but it doesn't seem all that different to the previous plan so it's hard to grab people's attention.

Ronan Glynn was much better I thought. Simple clear instructions e.g. reduce the number of people you meet. Some other public health experts have been saying things like if you are going to meet people, meet them outside rather than inside. All simple messages which make a big impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,681 ✭✭✭✭rob316

They'll have Dublin on Level 3 by Monday when they release how ridiculous this 2.5 nonsense is.

rob316 wrote: »
    They'll have Dublin on Level 3 by Monday when they release how ridiculous this 2.5 nonsense is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,189 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

At least SF are still appearing on TV and giving quotes, which is reassuring.

Because if the situation was really serious SF would be nowhere to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,457 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

According to RTE, next review Oct 4th

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."