Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

There could be a large exodus to places like bray, maynooth, celbridge, leixlip, Ashbourne etc, would be hard to police alright

Nobody's going to bother their arse doing that when so many pubs in Dublin are open. Its less hassle to pay 9 euro for food than try and get out of the county and back..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

AdamD wrote: »
    Nobody's going to bother their arse doing that when so many pubs in Dublin are open. Its less hassle to pay 9 euro for food than try and get out of the county and back..

A pub crawl in Bray via the DART is zero hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,731 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

The downside is that you're in Bray though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Moragle

Why are so many people picking on susieblue if she has 6 visitors in the house she's within guidelines. None of us know how many households the 6 came from.
    I've stuck to the guidelines the whole way through, didn't have anyone over all through lockdown, then as restrictions relaxed I relaxed along with the guidelines. For example at the weekend I went to a friend's for dinner on Saturday then met 5 other friends in the pub on Sunday. All within current guidelines.
    The way some on this forum are going on I'm trying to kill people. But guess what, I'm a frontline healthcare worker. When the **** hit the fan I worked harder than I have in my life while most of the country stayed in the house, and if things go bad again the same thing will happen. So I'm going to enjoy my bit of social contact while I can and I dont feel one bit guilty, I've earned it. And so has susieblue and everyone else who stuck to and continues to stick to guidelines while trying to get on with life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Moragle wrote: »
    Why are so many people picking on susieblue if she has 6 visitors in the house she's within guidelines. None of us know how many households the 6 came from.
    I've stuck to the guidelines the whole way through, didn't have anyone over all through lockdown, then as restrictions relaxed I relaxed along with the guidelines. For example at the weekend I went to a friend's for dinner on Saturday then met 5 other friends in the pub on Sunday. All within current guidelines.
    The way some on this forum are going on I'm trying to kill people. But guess what, I'm a frontline healthcare worker. When the **** hit the fan I worked harder than I have in my life while most of the country stayed in the house, and if things go bad again the same thing will happen. So I'm going to enjoy my bit of social contact while I can and I dont feel one bit guilty, I've earned it. And so has susieblue and everyone else who stuck to and continues to stick to guidelines while trying to get on with life.

Well I didn't mean to pick on anyone. The door handles thing annoys me when ever I see it :) my issue!

The virus doesn't care if your having a wine and cheese night. The virus doesn't care if you've worked hard. It's delighted you have 7 friends over. All this talking around why you have 7 people over in your house is pointless IMO.

Anyway lets open these damn pubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    The door handles thing annoys me when ever I see it

Also, whenever anyone says "The virus knows not to attack if you've paid €9 for a meal".

It does nothing for their argument only show that they don't actually have a grasp of what the intention of the regulations put in place actually are.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

A pub crawl in Bray via the DART is zero hassle.

The Dart to Bray next week

07092018-Banner-2-equitymaster.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,457 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

OK. People who want to break the rules will do so and only a tiny few will be caught or fined. That doesn't take from the point that most people will do the right thing and keep things tight to reduce the numbers. Some people will be part of the problem but you'll always have arzeholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,620 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

AdamD wrote: »

5-10 minutes on the dart or bus to spend all day on the beer? Wouldn't be my style but it's hardly hassle

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

Another hammer blow to pubs in Dublin by this despicable, incompetent and corrupt government. I feel for those whose businesses and livelihoods have been destroyed by the ridiculous restrictions.

Doubt there will be a queue of entrepreneurs looking to start business in this state anymore. The civil servants and politicians only care about the big American multinationals and licking their arse. The Irish businesses get taxed and regulated into oblivion and now outright destroyed by a handful of corrupt politicians.

If you work or even worse start a business in this country, you are by default a masochist that likes pain and suffering. And it will only get worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,863 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

September 21st now for the vast majority of the country. :)

A very welcome relief for all of the rural pubs that were about to go out of business. A meeting point for thousands who live alone and isolated has returned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭Allinall

Another hammer blow to pubs in Dublin by this despicable, incompetent and corrupt government. I feel for those whose businesses and livelihoods have been destroyed by the ridiculous restrictions.

Doubt there will be a queue of entrepreneurs looking to start business in this state anymore. The civil servants and politicians only care about the big American multinationals and licking their arse. The Irish businesses get taxed and regulated into oblivion and now outright destroyed by a handful of corrupt politicians.

If you work or even worse start a business in this country, you are by default a masochist that likes pain and suffering. And it will only get worse.

Which particular ones are corrupt?

Fitz* wrote: »
    September 21st now for the vast majority of the country. :)

Until Meehole and Donnelly have another bad day and it's shut down again. Pubs should have been opened 4 months ago. I wouldn't trust these gombeen politicians to tie their shoelaces.

Another hammer blow to pubs in Dublin by this despicable, incompetent and corrupt government......

Who are making this decision because there are too many people in Dublin who cannot be trusted to live inside the guidelines, throwing house parties and going to large gatherings, not wearing face-coverings etc.

If we all had have stuck to the guidelines in the first place, Dublin might be ok. Unfortunately, it's the few who have ruined it for the many!

Allinall wrote: »
    Which particular ones are corrupt?

The Taoiseach himself Martin was given donations by property developers which mysteriously ended up in his wifes bank account. Fintan O'Toole called him out on it....

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/we-need-to-talk-about-money-micheál-1.560262

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Dublin pubs reviewed for 3 weeks time again.

This is a winner for everyone, right?

As far as I know the pubs that had the issues were the rural ones? Are there many pubs in Dublin that can't avail of the current guidelines on food etc.?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Are there many pubs in Dublin that can't avail of the current guidelines on food etc.?

No. Its real easy to give a pizza place or a chippy a bell and deliver food for €9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭Allinall

The Taoiseach himself Martin was given donations by property developers which mysteriously ended up in his wifes bank account. Fintan O'Toole called him out on it....

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/we-need-to-talk-about-money-micheál-1.560262

Nothing corrupt there.

Political donations are fully legitimate.

Fintan O'Toole is an idiot.

The Nal wrote: »
    No. Its real easy to give a pizza place or a chippy a bell and deliver food for €9.

Boom!

Problem solved, delicious pints for all!

Who are making this decision because there are too many people in Dublin who cannot be trusted to live inside the guidelines, throwing house parties and going to large gatherings, not wearing face-coverings etc.

If we all had have stuck to the guidelines in the first place, Dublin might be ok. Unfortunately, it's the few who have ruined it for the many!

None of that is the fault of Dublin "wet pub" publicans nor will it change by keeping them closed. I do feel for those guys today, no open date forthcoming for them.

Lets not forget that even when they open many of these pubs will be so crushed by the restrictions, lack of tourists, customers etc that several will probably not be financially viable. It's not the case that when pubs open the good times will roll, it will be a hard slog for many publicans as the crowds will stay away in many places.

I went into the Silver Penny Wetherspoons last week in Abbey Street. It's massive, was absolutely dead, there was 2 other people in it. Tim Martin can absorb that, most other places can't.

None of that is the fault of Dublin "wet pub" publicans nor will it change by keeping them closed. I do feel for those guys today, no open date forthcoming for them.

Are there many pubs in Dublin not open at the moment? If they are not open, why not? Because the vast majority are open. As you say below......
    I went into the Silver Penny Wetherspoons last week in Abbey Street.

These other pubs can open just like Wetherspoons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Surely opening even more pubs would further dilute the available clientele?

Allinall wrote: »
    Nothing corrupt there.

Political donations are fully legitimate.

Fintan O'Toole is an idiot.

I'm far from a Fintan O'Toole fan, but if the most well known newspaper columnist in the country has claimed the Taoiseach was essentially corrupt, it's a legitimate point. O'Toole could be sued for libel otherwise.

Where do you stand on face-masks, if you don't mind me asking?

And how much blame would you proportion to the role of individuals in this whole thing Is it 100% the Govt.'s fault? Or do the people have a part to play?

Are there many pubs in Dublin not open at the moment? If they are not open, why not? Because the vast majority are open. As you say below......

These other pubs can open just like Wetherspoons.

They do food, it's a big part of their revenue. Many other pubs not so much. I don't know the exact figures of Dublin wet pubs, the Dublin Vintners probably will have info out on this.

Well, the vast majority of pubs will be open come Monday, and the rest will be open with the small different of serving food.

A good result for pint drinkers!

Where do you stand on face-masks, if you don't mind me asking?

And how much blame would you proportion to the role of individuals in this whole thing Is it 100% the Govt.'s fault? Or do the people have a part to play?

I don't agree at all with mandatory face masks, but I do wear them now in places it's mandatory. I hate wearing them. But I have worn them recently at mass, on the Luas and on 2 train journeys. But I do go to shops far less since the rules came. Not worth the hassle.

I may go to the cinema tomorrow and would be wearing one in and out. Even if you disagree with mandatory masks it's not really worth the hassle of potential arguments.

Boom!

Problem solved, delicious pints for all!

This is allowed right? A pub without a kitchen is able to order in outside food and charge €9?

Well, the vast majority of pubs will be open come Monday, and the rest will be open with the small different of serving food.

A good result for pint drinkers!

It is a good result no doubt, I have not drank in my local for 6 months so I'm looking forward to it....:)