Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭douglashyde

is_that_so wrote: »
    Paper loves ink and a contrary opinion. Stopped reading when I saw herd immunity. Herd immunity is a bit of an unachievable fantasy and it's really not a helpful way to keep people onside with the right kind of behaviours.

I suggest you keep reading it so; it explains there is evidence for cross immunity , PCR testing picks up a huge amount of false positives and the fact this is far less serve than the flu for the vast majority of people.

This guy is just some nobody - it’s the clinical director of the HSE and he’s writing it in the Irish Times.

I honesty believe some people love the drama of all this and anxiously await for “the numbers” , like the lottery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

Strumms wrote: »
    Taking the US as an example.

I’m reading that in a 12 month period, flu will kill anywhere from 25,000 to 69,000 people in the US.

193,000 deaths have been attributed to covid so far in the US.

By the end of the year it’s going to be a likely scenario that covid will kill about 250,000.

Going by the us average of around 27,571 covid deaths in the us per month, a further 82,000 may or sorry, probably will die. About 250,000.

Makes covid potentially three and a half times more deadly, fûcked up the world economy, causes a rake of social and other issues, but...

Only... the flu... right.

We put none of the mitigation steps in place for the flu either, so in reality an order of magnitude worse again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Roots 2020

Come back to me when your PROJECTIONS come true. That's all they are. Speculative. Facts are 17 people were reported to have died today of covid out of a population of 60m.

They're far from projections. It's simple maths Woody. Have you ever seen a graph..

Spain had 48 deaths yesterday and 4,700 odd cases. You can check worldometer and see what today's figures are later. Cases and subsequently deaths are rising. As many have pointed out the first wave took out the most vulnerable but this wave will cause a bit of bother. Not the end of the world.

But you told me yesterday that you weren't a logical man. You'd rather take advice from Diarmuid Ferriter, a historian, on a viral pandemic than a virologist or epidemiologist.

Strumms wrote: »
    Taking the US as an example.

I’m reading that in a 12 month period, flu will kill anywhere from 25,000 to 69,000 people in the US.

193,000 deaths have been attributed to covid so far in the US.

By the end of the year it’s going to be a likely scenario that covid will kill about 250,000.

Going by the us average of around 27,571 covid deaths in the us per month, a further 82,000 may or sorry, probably will die. About 250,000.

Makes covid potentially three and a half times more deadly, fûcked up the world economy, causes a rake of social and other issues, but...

Only... the flu... right.

Nobody is saying this was not bad when it hit first anywhere in the world. Your assuming it will continue killing at same death rate. The most vulnerable have died. New York is similar to Europe in that it hit same time, has similar climate, etc. 5 deaths yesterday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 IHaveTheFlag

How is it worse.

Worse is when people go to icu or die.

17 deaths in France today due to covid out of a population of 60 million.

Those deaths reported are what you would see for flu.

I think you misunderstood me. I'm agreeing it's good news. I'm referring to the lads who are always saying that thing's will get worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

HSE Operations report

54 in hosptial, increase of 1.

9 in ICU, all 9 ventilated. Increase of 2 in ICU.

4 cases in hosptials today, 1 each in Beaumont, Mercy, Tallaght & UHL.

Hub showing 5 admissions & 4 discharges

Roots 2020 wrote: »
    They're far from projections. It's simple maths Woody. Have you ever seen a graph..

Spain had 48 deaths yesterday and 4,700 odd cases. You can check worldometer and see what today's figures are later. Cases and subsequently deaths are rising. As many have pointed out the first wave took out the most vulnerable but this wave will cause a bit of bother. Not the end of the world.

But you told me yesterday that you weren't a logical man. You'd rather take advice from Diarmuid Ferrite, a historian, on a viral pandemic than a virologist or epidemiologist.

When did i say I wasn't a logical man?

I would actually say the opposite.

There is little deaths throughout Europe and I'm saying we are doing ok. Don't panic. Sounds fairly logical to me. If nobody is dieing and lots of cases this is a good thing, no? Covid will never be eradicated now. Its like herding mice across a road.

I think you misunderstood me. I'm agreeing it's good news. I'm referring to the lads who are always saying that thing's will get worse.

Apologies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 IHaveTheFlag

Apologies.

Ah, no bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,214 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

My brother is a professional musician, obviously not working at the moment, but he has a D license so got a job driving a delivery truck and is loving the change of routine.

He reckons that things will slowly come back to life as he can see from his contacts in the prof music cohort, but it will take quite a while. I admire him so much for just getting on with things, as have so many others. The moaners can feck right off now.

The arts have been hit hard but fair play to him for changing careers and getting stuck in to new things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

HSE Operations report

They seem to be discharging over the weekends now at the same frequency as weekdays.
    In context, this day last week we had 48 in hospital and 7 in ICU.
    So week on week, very little increase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

speckle wrote: »
    Yes I agree, well done to your brother, a lot of musicians I know are doing the same, or volunteered their time elsewhere, or are porting into the digital online age, but for those taking non music jobs, looking at it as a great way for future songwriting material can keep you sane.
    Hope there is an explosion of great music and songs when things right themselves, maybe a country western driving song from your brother or he might be a highway to hell type or even a Dvorak inspired trucking classical piece

He can play any music. Piano is his main gig, but he can do guitar, clarinet, sax, etc.

I haven't a note in me head! He got it from my Grandad I think. Sorry to go on about it, but music is something we all love in our family, even if most of us haven't a clue!

When did i say I wasn't a logical man?

I would actually say the opposite.

There is little deaths throughout Europe and I'm saying we are doing ok. Don't panic. Sounds fairly logical to me. If nobody is dieing and lots of cases this is a good thing, no? Covid will never be eradicated now. Its like herding mice across a road.

No. You're saying France had 10,500 cases today and still only 17 deaths. You equated the two. I couldn't debate any further with some one with as poor a grasp of numbers as that.

It's totally different from saying we're doing well no panic. It's falsely connecting 17 deaths to 10,500 cases to make your point. You can argue your point that we're doing ok but not with a point like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

ICU is Tallaght +1 (3) and Beaumont +1 (2)

Enjoyable thread tonight. Quite mellow.

I think we all know now that things could get worse in Dublin, but we will deal with it if it happens.

It is never ending though, that is the problem. Whack a Mole is right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Wolf359f wrote: »
    They seem to be discharging over the weekends now at the same frequency as weekdays.
    In context, this day last week we had 48 in hospital and 7 in ICU.
    So week on week, very little increase.

Yeah very small increase week on week. Weekend discharges do seem to be taking place now as you say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

HSE Operations report

All 9 ventilated, that's a bit worrying.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 466 ✭✭DangerScouse

Oh whatever license is needed for a big (not articulated) truck. Stop fecking nitpicking thanks. Has to do CPC aswell. Sorry if I sound annoyed, I don't mean to, it's just all so negative.

Need to put on some mad music now!

You need to step away from the news for a period. Stuff is obviously getting to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,283 ✭✭✭kenmc

Nothing negative about it all those cases and only 17 deaths. That's great news. More people die of the flu each day in france. Great news.

In September? That sucks

You need to step away from the news for a period. Stuff is obviously getting to you.

Yes dear, whatever you say dear. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Seamai wrote: »
    All 9 ventilated, that's a bit worrying.

Our ventilation survival rate is incredibly high

Is it being used less in Ireland now, like other countries?

Remember back in March a huge concern was the amount of ventilators we had. TG those bleak days with fear of the unknown are past.

Remember there is a difference between ventilation and intubation.
    Would the ventilated figures on the reports include both?

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Remember there is a difference between ventilation and intubation.
    Would the ventilated figures on the reports include both?

Now I don't know, but would reckon that a patient would need to be intubated in order to be ventilated?

But someone will put me right. God love them all anyway whatever the answer is. Not something you would want for anyone.

Roots 2020 wrote: »
    No. You're saying France had 10,500 cases today and still only 17 deaths. You equated the two. I couldn't debate any further with some one with as poor a grasp of numbers as that.

It's totally different from saying we're doing well no panic. It's falsely connecting 17 deaths to 10,500 cases to make your point. You can argue your point that we're doing ok but not with a point like that.

Point is you don't know how many 10500 cases is going to equate to in deaths. Sometimes it is better just to state what is reported. The numbers are the numbers. Your projecting again under assumptions based in March. I don't project because it's nonsense. All the data coming back whatever the reasons is mortality is dropping like a stone. Project away.

kenmc wrote: »
    In September? That sucks

So are the ten road deaths in France today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

Now I don't know, but would reckon that a patient would need to be intubated in order to be ventilated?

But someone will put me right. God love them all anyway whatever the answer is. Not something you would want for anyone.
    There are forms of non invasive ventilation which can be given using very closely fitting face masks or hoods. This form of treatment can be done on many general medical wards especially if it is a respiratory ward, special care units, high dependency units and coronary care units as well as temporarily in Emergency Departments. However, usually when speaking about ventilated patients, healthcare workers mean those who are in a coma (which can be medically induced coma), are intubated and on a mechanical ventilator.

I cannot confirm for definite which is counted in HSE operations report but I would presume that number is referring to those patients who are intubated and are on a mechanical ventilators as referring specifically to patients in ICUs.

They would need to be ventilated after being intubated, but my understanding is, you can be awake on a ventilator and it is just pushing higher pressure air into your lungs via a mask (evasive vs non-evasive)

But yeah, I can't even imagine a patient being told they need to be put onto a ventilator and being given a chance to call home to potentially say goodbye.
    It has to be absolutely horrific on them, their family and healthcare staff. It's not like an operation/procedure when you kinda know you're going to wake up after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

ICU survival in Ireland for Covid-19 to date in August 2020 was just under 80%.

Of course, selection of which patients go to ICUs in the first place will greatly influence survival rates.

majcos wrote: »
    There are forms of non invasive ventilation which can be given using very closely fitting face masks or hoods. This form of treatment can be done on many general medical wards especially if it is a respiratory ward, special care units, high dependency units and coronary care units as well as temporarily in Emergency Departments. However, usually when speaking about ventilated patients, healthcare workers mean those who are in a coma (which can be medically induced coma), are intubated and on a mechanical ventilator.

I cannot confirm for definite which is counted in HSE operations report but I would presume that number is referring to those patients who are intubated and are on a mechanical ventilators as referring specifically to patients in ICUs.

Thanks for the info, I would presume the same, but as ourt ventilated recovery rate is very high compared to the UK, I just though maybe it was a different definition.