Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

My brother is a professional musician, obviously not working at the moment, but he has a D license so got a job driving a delivery truck and is loving the change of routine.

He reckons that things will slowly come back to life as he can see from his contacts in the prof music cohort, but it will take quite a while. I admire him so much for just getting on with things, as have so many others. The moaners can feck right off now.

speckle wrote: »
    What about the auld wans that want to party?:D

Ah lol, I am a bit older than most on here and the partying we do is with the young wans on their birthdays, graduation, christenings, communions and so on.

All off the agenda now, but the younger wans have ways and means that make me feel so tired ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,249 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I was just talking to my brother, and he said jaysus they should just corral the younger wans in Citywest if they have a house party or are acting the maggot, and leave the rest of us ahem, more mature to enjoy life. We have sacrificed a lot says he.

I laughed out loud, but WTF, he may have a point going forward. If you have a house party, straight to Citywest for you for fourteen days. OMG.

I think we are all going a bit doo lally at the moment. And as for those young wans, well they'd want to get a grip and behave very soon. That is tongue in cheek BTW before anyone lights on me.

I think Citywest is far to good for them . Spike Island could be resurrected and they could go there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

US2 wrote: »
    Do they give the median age of deaths or people in ICU anymore? If not why not

You can go through the Epidemiology reports to see the age range of deaths and ICU stats.
    This month (up to midnight 9th) there's been 4 ICU admissions:
    0-4: 1
    25-34: 1
    55-64: 1
    75-84: 1

On the Deaths:
    55-64: 1
    65-74: 1
    75-84: 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭Onesea

So with the numbers ever increasing over the past 2 months, how many died from covid from mid July to today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭Onesea

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I think Citywest is far to good for them . Spike Island could be resurrected and they could go there

Sure they wouldn't treat pedophiles or murderers that bad would they? Guideline ignorant folk are the worst ilk right

Onesea wrote: »
    So with the numbers ever increasing over the past 2 months, how many died from covid from mid July to today?

Next to none like all of Europe.

https://www.spectator.co.uk/article/coronavirus-cases-are-mounting-but-deaths-remain-stable-why-/amp?__twitter_impression=true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

US2 wrote: »
    Do they give the median age of deaths or people in ICU anymore? If not why not

They can’t have us knowing it’s only killing octogenarians

I'm sorry to be such a worry wart, but the reality is that young folk are spreading the virus around now. They are having house parties, are going back to school, college and so on. I don't want to tar them all with the same brush, I had teenagers and was one myself, but times are a bit different now.

I know they don't want to be strangled and prevented from seeing their mates/friends, but it's not a good time in Dublin anyway to be spreading this around.

I note from the stats (that I don't follow too much apart from the headline), that it IS younger people who are being infected now, and they in turn could infect many others.

It is just an awful dilemma for everyone. No one wants to be giving out and sounding superior or wagging the finger and that, but I suppose we will have to wait for the trend to emerge over the next few days and see how it goes. For the record I don't agree with another lockdown in Dublin. We will see what happens.

All the best everyone.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

France seems to be seeing increased cases and recently increased deaths too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,828 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Jackman25 wrote: »
    What a pile of crap. Who exactly will have a difficult legacy in many peoples eyes?
    Ironically for one giving out about "mintal health", You are coming across more unhinged every day. At least it was a Saturday and there weren't any school kids for you to be foaming at the mouth over.

Wow, what a constructive contribution. :)

‘ unhinged ‘ is that a medical term ? Or do you just hang doors for a living ?

No, I think I’ve just quoted a poster in this post, who is quite adept as we can all see as regards foaming..and possibly picking up toys once they get thrown too..

The legacy of not doing what they are supposed to in order to slow the spread of covid.

France seems to be seeing increased cases and recently increased deaths too.

https://www.santepubliquefrance.fr/dossiers/coronavirus-covid-19/coronavirus-chiffres-cles-et-evolution-de-la-covid-19-en-france-et-dans-le-monde

17 deaths 10560 cases today.

On average around 10 deaths occur in France everyday from road accidents.

On average around 40 deaths occur in france from the flu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

My brother is a professional musician, obviously not working at the moment, but he has a D license so got a job driving a delivery truck and is loving the change of routine.

He reckons that things will slowly come back to life as he can see from his contacts in the prof music cohort, but it will take quite a while. I admire him so much for just getting on with things, as have so many others. The moaners can feck right off now.

Yes I agree, well done to your brother, a lot of musicians I know are doing the same, or volunteered their time elsewhere, or are porting into the digital online age, but for those taking non music jobs, looking at it as a great way for future songwriting material can keep you sane.
    Hope there is an explosion of great music and songs when things right themselves, maybe a country western driving song from your brother or he might be a highway to hell type or even a Dvorak inspired trucking classical piece

France has had 10,561 new confirmed Covid-19 cases in the past 24 hours, health authorities said today, a new daily record as the number topped 10,000 for the first time.

The latest daily count, surpassing the previous record of 9,843 new infections reported on Thursday, highlights a resurgence of the disease in France.

The rise led the government to outline additional measures yesterday to avert a return to the general lockdown put in place earlier in the year. Prime Minister Jean Castex promised steps to speed up tests and toughen local measures in high-infection zones.

Mr Castex warned there was a "clear worsening" in the country's outbreak, and that a recent increase in Covid-19 hospitalisations was particularly worrying.

Crap, I'd better not get in the habit of posting negative news!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 466 ✭✭DangerScouse

He's not legally allowed drive a delivery truck with a D licence. That's a bus licence. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Roots 2020

Those 17 deaths relate to 28 days ago when they had around 2,000 cases.

In 28 days we'll know what 10560 cases equates to in deaths.

Crap, I'd better not get in the habit of posting negative news!

Nothing negative about it all those cases and only 17 deaths. That's great news. More people die of the flu each day in france. Great news.

Roots 2020 wrote: »
    Those 17 deaths relate to 28 days ago when they had around 2,000 cases.

In 28 days we'll know what 10560 cases equates to in deaths.

We heard this months ago.

It's brilliant news all over Europe thousandss of cases but hospital admissions and deaths lower than flu but people see this as negative. Irish government have realised the way they report this has to change to stop people panicking every day at 6pm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 IHaveTheFlag

Nothing negative about it all those cases and only 17 deaths. That's great news. More people die of the flu each day in france. Great news

I find it a bit weird how people almost try and wish things will get worse so they can be proven right on an internet forum.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

speckle wrote: »
    Yes I agree, well done to your brother, a lot of musicians I know are doing the same, or volunteered their time elsewhere, or are porting into the digital online age, but for those taking non music jobs, looking at it as a great way for future songwriting material can keep you sane.
    Hope there is an explosion of great music and songs when things right themselves, maybe a country western driving song from your brother or he might be a highway to hell type or even a Dvorak inspired trucking classical piece

I know a musician here in Cork that is playing music by the Lough every Sunday now, 2 to 4 or 6 I think, and people love it.

Adapt and thrive! We need the arts now more than ever.

He's not legally allowed drive a delivery truck with a D licence. That's a bus licence. :eek:

Oh whatever license is needed for a big (not articulated) truck. Stop fecking nitpicking thanks. Has to do CPC aswell. Sorry if I sound annoyed, I don't mean to, it's just all so negative.

Need to put on some mad music now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Roots 2020

We heard this months ago.

It's brilliant news all over Europe thousandss of cases but hospital admissions and deaths lower than flu but people see this as negative. Irish government have realised the way they report this has to change to stop people panicking every day at 6pm.

In June and July cases were low. You're talking nonsense. Most sensible people weren't preaching panic but your trying to say this to report your narrative.

It's fair to say that if 2,000 cases translates to 17 deaths after the period the illness takes to cause death in a small minority. Then 10,000 will roughly equate to 85.

When France had 70 cases a day in high summer there were no deaths many days.

It's simple maths. I'm not saying it's the end of the world. Simple maths.

I find it a bit weird how people almost try and wish things will get worse so they can be proven right on an internet forum.

How is it worse.

Worse is when people go to icu or die.

17 deaths in France today due to covid out of a population of 60 million.

Those deaths reported are what you would see for flu.

Nothing negative about it all those cases and only 17 deaths. That's great news. More people die of the flu each day in france. Great news

Oh whatever license is needed for a big (not articulated) truck. Stop fecking nitpicking thanks. Has to do CPC aswell. Sorry if I sound annoyed, I don't mean to, it's just all so negative.

Need to put on some mad music now!

Don't mind him he's a wind up merchant, look at his posts all evening.

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    I know a musician here in Cork that is playing music by the Lough every Sunday now, 2 to 4 or 6 I think, and people love it.

Adapt and thrive! We need the arts now more than ever.

Brings me back. Lovely spot, my late younger sister's ashes are scattered there and there is a bench in her name on the periphery too.

There is so much that could be done for the arts outdoors but it's all so slow to happen. Cork have jumped ahead I see! Always loved that city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,828 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Taking the US as an example.

I’m reading that in a 12 month period, flu will kill anywhere from 25,000 to 69,000 people in the US.

193,000 deaths have been attributed to covid so far in the US.

By the end of the year it’s going to be a likely scenario that covid will kill about 250,000.

Going by the us average of around 27,571 covid deaths in the us per month, a further 82,000 may or sorry, probably will die. About 250,000.

Makes covid potentially three and a half times more deadly, fûcked up the world economy, causes a rake of social and other issues, but...

Only... the flu... right.

Roots 2020 wrote: »
    In June and July cases were low. You're talking nonsense. Most sensible people weren't preaching panic but your trying to say this to report your narrative.

It's fair to say that if 2,000 cases translates to 17 deaths after the period the illness takes to cause death in a small minority. Then 10,000 will roughly equate to 85.

When France had 70 cases a day in high summer there were no deaths many days.

It's simple maths. I'm not saying it's the end of the world. Simple maths.

Come back to me when your PROJECTIONS come true. That's all they are. Speculative. Facts are 17 people were reported to have died today of covid out of a population of 60m.