Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Anything about indoor sports such as pool and darts? 2 people at a pool table is safe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I remember working in pubs as a kid and the pubs had to close at 11pm, if i'm remembering correctly. It wasn't until 2000 that the bars were allowed open til 12:30am at the weekend. (please correct me if i'm wrong).

Also, there was a "holy hour" where booze couldn't be served between 2pm - 4pm on a Sunday. That was abolished in 2000 too.

It works both ways!

Although I agree with you on the off licences. Stopping the sale of booze at 10pm is silly! It just inconveniences people who have to go to the shop earlier!

There was a brief period where pubs could serve till 1230 on a thurday, and you could buy booze till 1230 thur to fri. The halcyon days. If you remember it you weren't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,120 ✭✭✭HBC08

US2 wrote: »
    Anything about indoor sports such as pool and darts? 2 people at a pool table is safe?

No standing up so no darts,pool or jukebox.
    Not ideal but its a start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Dublin pubs may not open if numbers still rise and are high

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

Do you know what's pathetic, its people like you who are happy to be manipulated and controlled. Like I said 6 months ago here on boards, the gov will take all your freedoms and only give you so many back and chumps like you will be delighted with it. It's a power grab, nothing more. It's absolutely pathetic that you're dancing up and down with delight because you can get a creamy tasty and delicious pint even though what you're in isn't a pub from 6 months ago, its a step above a prison cell that happens to sell pints, that's pathetic. Show some balls and stop being a little grateful good citizen delighted that the government is now allowing you one of lifes little pleasures that we could have had anytime 6 months ago. Pathetic.

You sound like a 16 year old after smoking a joint for the first time.

Jim Root wrote: »

After a dream about the martian lizard people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

it would have depended i guess on what information the government had at the time.
    the information at that time may have shown there were specific risks of opening the non-food pubs at that time dispite the low cases, however information now may show that while cases are rising, the risks are such that it is safe to open.
    this whole thing is very complex and things are changing all the time with everything being updated as all of the new information comes to light.

If you seriously think that NPHET advice has changed to the point where they judgd it safer to open all pubs now, than they did two months ago, I've a bridge to sell you.
    Doesn't it say a lot about Ireland that in a few weeks I'll be able to go for a pint with the lads but still won't be able to go to a scan with my pregnant wife?

Says a lot in favour of common sense alright. Perfectly logical that you want to minimise the number of people going into a healthcare setting. Whether you personally choose to go to a busy pub afterwards for pints with the lads is entirely at your discretion and your level of comfort with risk.

Fitz* wrote: »
    Watching a match with no commentary or music playing over it is horrible. It's harder to gauge the glow of the game.

I've found lately I prefer it with the volume barely loud enough to hear the whistle and crowd sounds and not having to listen to the inane witless commentators talking tripe. And since I can't stand the fake crowd sounds they're playing over empty stadiums I'd actually rather no volume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Jim Root wrote: »

I’ll tell you what. Come back in a year or two when the pubs are still being run into the ground and they still have a closing time or 11:30 and we will see who’s right.

As usual when you point out tyranny you get the usual morons shouting “Alex Jones” and “lizard people” the only one ye missed was “tinfoil hat”.

Time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I’ll tell you what. Come back in a year or two when the pubs are still being run into the ground and they still have a closing time or 11:30 and we will see who’s right.

As usual when you point out tyranny you get the usual morons shouting “Alex Jones” and “lizard people” the only one ye missed was “tinfoil hat”.

Time will tell.

If, in two years, Covid is gone but we still have to book a table in a pub, stay for 105 mins max unless we socially distance, can't stand in the pub and can only sit down in the smoking area and wear a mask when going to the toilet I will come back here and apologise to you, admitting that you are right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

MrStuffins wrote: »
    If, in two years, Covid is gone but we still have to book a table in a pub, stay for 105 mins max unless we socially distance, can't stand in the pub and can only sit down in the smoking area and wear a mask when going to the toilet I will come back here and apologise to you, admitting that you are right.

I might even borrow his tinfoil hat then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    I might even borrow his tinfoil hat then!

HAHA CLASSIC

When’s the tour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭jt69er

MrStuffins wrote:
    I remember working in pubs as a kid and the pubs had to close at 11pm, if i'm remembering correctly. It wasn't until 2000 that the bars were allowed open til 12:30am at the weekend. (please correct me if i'm wrong).

10o'clock on a Sunday Night as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

HAHA CLASSIC

When’s the tour?

Cancelled :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,732 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

HAHA CLASSIC

When’s the tour?

Whens your next freedom protest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Think it was even earlier before that. Think closing time on Sundays used to be around 8pm back in the early 90s or so. Vaguely remember my parents on about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Degag wrote: »
    Think it was even earlier before that. Think closing time on Sundays used to be around 8pm back in the early 90s or so. Vaguely remember my parents on about it.

You are thinking of holy hour. Pubs used to close between 2-4 ( for an hour or so ) of a Sunday afternoon. The increase in pub grub soon saw this fizzle out. In general most pubs are last order 11pm on Sundays. But with a food license this gets stretched an hour and as such is at the option of the publican.

Nah i knew about happy hour. I just though bars closed even earlier than 10 back in the day. Maybe not

It may have been 10:30 in the early 80’s, that time is somewhere in the back of my mind from childhood, but it’s definitely been 11 since the 90’s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    You are thinking of holy hour. Pubs used to close between 2-4 ( for an hour or so ) of a Sunday afternoon.

At the age of 13 I was a lounge boy in quite an infamous pub in Dublin. I worked every Sunday afternoon.

My only job was to stand inside the front door between 2pm - 4pm, letting people in and out as they wanted whilst simultaneously looking out for the Guards in case they spotted anything.

Heady days indeed :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Dublin pubs may not open if numbers still rise and are high

**** the numbers thats down to schools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,786 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Never really know what a lounge boy/girl was until the start of this pandemic. Definitely more of a dublin thing

Will we see that trade return with the table service and that ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Never really know what a lounge boy/girl was until the start of this pandemic. Definitely more of a dublin thing

Where are you from , The Blaskets?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

PTH2009 wrote: »

ah are you taking the piss at this stage or a gombeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,786 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

worded it a bit wrong and meant to say i never seen a lounge person in any place i've been in before that was not a food pub

Things can be fair quite in Waterford

To be fair, down in the sticks you only had (and still only have) barmen and barwomen. None of these fancy lounge boys or girls. You'd have to be damn lucky to get a drink delivered to your table, barring current circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭juno10353

You are thinking of holy hour. Pubs used to close between 2-4 ( for an hour or so ) of a Sunday afternoon. The increase in pub grub soon saw this fizzle out. In general most pubs are last order 11pm on Sundays. But with a food license this gets stretched an hour and as such is at the option of the publican.
    2 hour holy hour and closing 10pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,714 ✭✭✭Sawduck

Have pubs reopened tonight, it's the busiest I have seen since lockdown began, it feels strange to hear drunk people singing again, it's been like a ghost town here for so long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

Ireland must be the number 1 country per capita consumer of pre made pizzas.

To be fair, down in the sticks you only had (and still only have) barmen and barwomen. None of these fancy lounge boys or girls. You'd have to be damn lucky to get a drink delivered to your table, barring current circumstances.

Hopefully it doesn't catch on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Had a few pints tonight, not an enjoyable experience atall. Wasnt allowed go for a pint had to wait for the "waiter" to come to me so I spent a lot of time looking into an empty glass.
    The toilet was literally 10ft away from me but there was a 1 way system in place so I had to walk the whole way around the bar to go to the toilet that's beside me.

Don't think I'll bother again even when "wet" pubs open if it's going to be like this.