Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Shotgun 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Overall the running picture is a little gloomy but I'm upbeat and as fit as I was 3 weeks before the sub3 last year :) Finally got a doc appointment to look at the foot tomorrow.

Wednesday 5 August
    AM: Yoga 34mins
    AM: Row 30r20 (30mins rating 20spm)
    PM: Row 10k at mixed rates

The 30r20 is a classic rowing session. Controlled power. Keeping a low rate of 20 strokes per minute you give it your best effort for 30mins. My ideal goal for this is hitting 8,000m or 247 watts. Alas I was not even in the ballpark with 7,339m, a miserable 189w. I just felt wrecked. The TT the previous day sucked the juice out of my legs. I'll have another go this week. The row later was better energy, low rates and hit 39:46 for 10k.

Thursday 6 August
    AM: Run abandoned after 10mins :mad:
    PM: Row 20k Easy

For 10 minutes I felt great. The foot felt good and I was thinking about doing an 8 mile route with some sunny country miles. It almost felt fresh. I was excited. I still ran easy with a flatter foot strike. Entered suburbia and turned right to go up a hill and sudden pain in the ball of the foot. Heat in the middle toes followed suit and I was sat on a bench in pain. From high to low in an instant. It was a long dejected limp home.

As I limped over the flyover a little Jack Russel pup trotted up alongside me. I took no real notice until he was still there approaching my house. No collar but his hind legs were covered in dry mud. I trotted in home with me, curious but happy out. It was a welcome distraction from the foot. I had the house to myself so gave him some turkey, water and brushed the mud off him, which he seemed to enjoy. He then had a sleep beside me on the couch while I put the foot up on ice. I checked with our community app and the local vet clinics and made a connection. He belonged to an recently widowed ould lad and his name was Jack. I delivered him back to the owner at the vet. Low back to high :)

In better form and painkillers doing their thing, I completed 20k on the rower in the sunshine. Rang the doc but no appointment, check again next day for cancellations :rolleyes:

Friday 6 August
    AM: Row 8k Recovery
    PM: Row HIIT session after 5k steady warm up
    PM: Row 8k Easy
    PM: Strength: AMRAP 15

The HIIT session on the rower was short but hard.
    Reps with equal rest: 60s, 45s, 30s, 20s, 20s, 30s, 45s, 60s all out at different rates. I averaged 307w and maxed at 405w.

Straight after this it was a 15 min HIIT session on the bar and mat.
    AMRAP (As many rounds as possible) of:
    15 deadlifts, 10 push ups, 5 pull ups in 15 minutes. No rest.

I managed 9 rounds for totals of: 135 deadlifts, 90 push ups, 45 pull ups and I was smashed! After round 8 I was in bits and didn't want to do another rep but I had 90 seconds left. I thought I get through the deadlifts and call it 8.5 rounds. However masochistically, I dived into the cave and buried myself to do those last 5 pull ups. Its the most smashed I've felt since the Boards 1 mile TT but this was akin to turning around and doing that TT again immediately, twice!

Saturday 8 August
    AM: Row 20k Easy in the sunshine.

Underestimated the heat and the general fatigue and really struggled with this. It took the bones of 90 mins and I needed a gel and water to finish.

Sunday 9 August
    AM: Row 2x 60mins Easy at 58% HRR and 65% HRR

2 hours under the sun again but I was better prepared. I lost 3L of sweat after 20k yesterday so I had carbed up afterwards. I had 700ml fluid for the first hour. Took 20mins of a break and another 700ml fluid and a gel for the second hour. It was still a net 3L sweat loss but at 27k and 2 hours it was my longest session ever on the rower. I learned how my heart rate climbed in the 2nd hour and how much fluid I need. In 3 weeks I'll attempt a marathon!

Later I had to run an errand for my Mum. Stepped out of the shower and slipped just a little to skid with my injured foot and it exploded in pain. Heat flared from my mid foot through my middle toes in agony. Back on ice and then had to drive to my Mums for the errand. I thought about A&E but I'm a Covid Risk case and didn't wait to wait for hours. Home, on ice again and doc appointment tomorrow. I want to get underneath this issue :( Its ok walking around on a flat foot but flexing the toes or any kid of sudden spring is a no no. Honestly if I didn't have the rower I be driven demented. Lets see what the doc says tomorrow...

Bit of a wordy update but thanks for reading :)
    Shotgun

Weekly Summary Total 13hrs
    Rowing: 149,585m (93 miles) in 10hrs 54
    Running: 4.66 miles in 0hr37 :(
    Yoga: 0hr34
    Strength: 0hr15
    Conditioning: 0hr20
    Foam Rolling: 0hr20

Overall despite the injury, getting some good fitness work done. Weight check was 78.7kg :D I've ditched the MyfitnessPal app. It served its purpose to learn my macros and nutrient intake over a month. My general diet is good so the next focus in on carb cycling. Just eating a bit smarter, my normal diet to suit easy and hard days...

Shotgun

Monday 24 August
    No running to report for the last 2 weeks :(

The day after the last update I saw the Doc. Typically after 2 flare ups in the previous week it felt ok. He sent me for an Xray, that came up clear, fracture ruled out. I then saw a Podiatrist who figured Metatarsalgia AND Mortons Neuroma, seriously! Also walking around at home in my barefeet for months hasn't helped. The dosage was a strict 4 weeks off running, minimum. For the first week I couldn't even walk down to the shop with the kids. I've been wearing my runners everyday but just to get around. The foot has improved a lot. I can flex my toes, no flare ups etc..

I went for a short walk with the kids yesterday to get the paper and it felt fine. No pain. Then got out of bed this morning and just enough of a reminder to put my shoes on.

I have been rowing almost every day between 10-20k with 2x workouts per week in a similar pattern as if I were running. The weight is down to 78.3kg I'm definitely beginning to tone up. I'd just love to go for a run, I really would. My Doc is on Pat leave so I'm waiting on another doc to review and refer for MRI. With the situation this year I'm happy enough to draw a line under running events but 2021 is loaded and I want to be back on my feet. I'll still update the log but there will be no running for at least another 3 weeks.

Shotgun

Monday 24 August
    PM: Indoor Row 60mins recovery @144w, 13,386m
    PM: Kayak Erg 30mins @42spm, 4.75km

I've maintained about 70-80 miles a week for the last 2 weeks on the rower, including 2 workouts per week. The body was thus feeling it. Monday is my low carb recovery day. The 60min recover nonetheless felt laboured :rolleyes:

12 months from now I will be toeing the line with my #TriHarder teammates for ITERA 2021 Oban, Scotland a 5 Day World Series Adventure Race and I'm super motivated by it. All going well I'll be in the shape of my life (well, besides 2000 and 2011... hard to beat...). A solid running foundation amidst a load of Adventure Racing training will be fun :) I'll take 2 weeks off and then have a go at layering 8 weeks of marathon effort training for a PR at DCM 2021. I'm so excited to be going back, ITERA 2016 was a simply amazing experience.

So 'Kayak Erg' is basically a simple device I use to transform the rower into a kayak session. Its a long pole with heavy elastic band tied to the feet and I have resistance for a paddling movement. A €10 Aldi special solution :)

The foot is now giving me grief for 2 months. It felt ok again until I had to rescue our trampoline from my neighbours hedge yesterday. I'm tired of waiting for a GP to call for a referral. I understand they are up to their eyes and a "foot injury" is not a health issue so zero priority :rolleyes: I got a contact though and am seeing a foot specialist on Friday. I miss running, I miss hopping, jumping and most of all miss dancing around the kitchen with my daughter :(

Tuesday 25 August
    PM: Indoor Row 10x500m off 90s

This was bloody tough. Its a classic advanced rowing workout although I'll never see my rowing days scores again. A classic test in rowing is a 2k TT sub 7 minutes. For that you need 300 watts average (1:45/500m) and some proper mental tenacity. 10x500 @2k effort is designed to hurt physically but also build that mental edge you need for the test. 90 seconds rest is just enough to catch a breath and get ready for the coming rep. I held a solid 316w and entered the pain cave around rep 6. I literally didn't have the juice for an easy row later. Just a simple short horrible workout for the day.

Shotgun

• Registered Users Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Best of luck with the recovery, injuries are bloody frustrating but your discipline is incredible, I’d be a 15 stone waster by now!

Foot injuries are tricky I still get pain in my toe 8 weeks after an innocuous bang, so hopefully you get it sorted ASAP

TbL

Wednesday 27 August
    AM: Indoor Row easy 10k @193w, HRR 59%
    PM: Indoor Row steady 10k @200w, HRR 64%
    PM: Kayak Erg 40min @39spm, 5.84km

I like reading Murph_D's log but it depresses me in equal measure. Akin to my own usual descriptive ramblings of running around the countryside. Alas I had also planned to be on the Hansons Plan and looking forward to those "strength" reps. In the words of Hans Solo, I have a bad feeling about this. The foot flares up for mundane everyday things and feels fine at rest. The issue is between the 2nd and 3rd metatarsal and the 2nd toe is starting to migrate suspiciously towards his big brother and I'm worried about something sinister going on. Foot specialist tomorrow and my Doc back next week so praying I'll get to the root of it soon.

Seems the spiders are liking the wet weather just as much as we are :rolleyes: Not a day goes by recently where I don't get multiple shrieks a day for creature eviction services. My kids have creature specific magifying glass jar thingies but some of our new 8 legged inhabitants don't fit in those jars :eek:

There was 2 hours of training yesterday in 3x 40min sessions. All on the rower, mostly rowing comfortably and some paddling practice. I'm going to need my foot sorted even to be able to lift my Kayak out of the flooded shed and tie it up onto the car :(

Shotgun

Have you been using your foot to stamp on spiders :)

TbL

Have you been using your foot to stamp on spiders :)

TbL

I like spiders but would you step on any of these? Several of which we have caught lately

Noble False Widow - Found a Mommy, Daddy and a bag of kids :eek:
    0_Screen-Shot-2019-07-19-at-111947.png

Giant House Spider - 2 of these in the kids playroom the last 2 days made Caz scream :D These were the ones too big to fit in the kids creature magnifying glass cups
    o_1dl49gq493r923m19b5nbk63k2h.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 10,414 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

I was doing a bit of tidying up before we vacated the Donegal digs to head home. Pretty sure I hoovered up one of those critters, looked too dangerous to inspect more closely! (Felt a bit guilty afterwards, but there's only so much room in the gaff.)

Keep the faith - your own Hanson adventures, especially the thoughts about HR, have been a valuable source or knowledge and inspiration. And we all miss your ruminations and reflections on the Limerick byways.

Thursday 27 August
    AM: Indoor Row 10k TT
    PM: Indoor Row 10k Easy

I didn't fully intend to to a TT but sat down for 10k, settled to a good rhythm and decided to go for it. If I had been running the last 2 months I was due a 10k TT around now anyway. Went through 5k in 19:10 still around 75% HRR so holding it together. I started to press on gradually. Keeping the rhythm, keeping the form, breathing...

6k in and working now, HRR hitting 80% and the effort starting to bite. I hadn't overcooked it though so I knew I had something in the tank. 7k and the projected time was low 38. Another 19min 5k would hit my running 10k lifetime PR. 8k and digging in, the projected time dips under 38 and the legs are burning. 9k, everything is burning but as the distance drops down from 900mts to go its time to wind it up. I'm in the red zone, it hurts but the hurt is good because I know I have a PR. Maintain the red line to the end and finish on 37:40 :D 18:30 second 5k for a huge negative split and beat my recent standalone 5k. Another one of my 30s marks bites the dust and I was knocking on the door of my college rowing days with this one.

Friday 28 August
    PM: Indoor Row 60r20 & Foot Diagnosis

An hour of power. 60 minutes rating 20 stokes per minute. I aimed for 15k and hit 15,145m or 209 watts. It was really tough to hold the low rate for the last 20mins takes concentration to keep the power up. Its all I had in the tank.

Later saw the Podiatrist for an assessment. Diagnosos: Mortons Neuroma. She created a foot pad for me until I get an off the shelf orthotic with a dome for my left foot. The foot actually felt much better and we both had to dig to find it. Crazy how it can feel ok but flare from 1 to 10 in an instant. Very happy to get a diagnosis and some action now. Even better she recommended the same kind of calf exercise my Physio would have and that I usually do anyway. So I'm happy to be able to do mobility and yoga again this week. Even better once I get the orthotic its a case of getting used to it for a week and then go for a short run :) While not exactly a green light its light at the end of a tunnel I've been wondering aimlessly through for 2 months and I feel like I can smell fresh air :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Great to see there's light at the end of the tunnel.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Great to see there's light at the end of the tunnel.

+1, as epic as those rows have been it will be great to get back running no doubt!

Saturday 29 August
    AM: Indoor Row 16k easy, HRR 60%
    PM: Indoor Row 10k easy, HRR 59%
    PM: Kayak Erg 30min @41spm

Sunday 30 August
    AM: Indoor Row 16k easy, HRR 64%

Basically 3.5 hours easy on the rower over the weekend.
    133,450m (83 miles) for the week in 9hr45.
    Weigh in at 78.2kg... progress but fine dining for Caz's birthday last night and lots of cake eaten this weekend
    Hopefully a bit more variety this week!

Shotgun

Thursday 27 August
    AM: Indoor Row 10k TT
    PM: Indoor Row 10k Easy

I didn't fully intend to to a TT but sat down for 10k, settled to a good rhythm and decided to go for it. If I had been running the last 2 months I was due a 10k TT around now anyway. Went through 5k in 19:10 still around 75% HRR so holding it together. I started to press on gradually. Keeping the rhythm, keeping the form, breathing...

6k in and working now, HRR hitting 80% and the effort starting to bite. I hadn't overcooked it though so I knew I had something in the tank. 7k and the projected time was low 38. Another 19min 5k would hit my running 10k lifetime PR. 8k and digging in, the projected time dips under 38 and the legs are burning. 9k, everything is burning but as the distance drops down from 900mts to go its time to wind it up. I'm in the red zone, it hurts but the hurt is good because I know I have a PR. Maintain the red line to the end and finish on 37:40 :D 18:30 second 5k for a huge negative split and beat my recent standalone 5k. Another one of my 30s marks bites the dust and I was knocking on the door of my college rowing days with this one.

Friday 28 August
    PM: Indoor Row 60r20 & Foot Diagnosis

An hour of power. 60 minutes rating 20 stokes per minute. I aimed for 15k and hit 15,145m or 209 watts. It was really tough to hold the low rate for the last 20mins takes concentration to keep the power up. Its all I had in the tank.

Later saw the Podiatrist for an assessment. Diagnosos: Mortons Neuroma. She created a foot pad for me until I get an off the shelf orthotic with a dome for my left foot. The foot actually felt much better and we both had to dig to find it. Crazy how it can feel ok but flare from 1 to 10 in an instant. Very happy to get a diagnosis and some action now. Even better she recommended the same kind of calf exercise my Physio would have and that I usually do anyway. So I'm happy to be able to do mobility and yoga again this week. Even better once I get the orthotic its a case of getting used to it for a week and then go for a short run :) While not exactly a green light its light at the end of a tunnel I've been wondering aimlessly through for 2 months and I feel like I can smell fresh air :)

Did some genius not mention Morton’s neuroma a month ago :)

TbL

Did some genius not mention Morton’s neuroma a month ago :)

TbL

Didn't disagree with you. Just wasn't sure! How long did yours take to recover? How did it recover? How did you get back? Genius told me to consult Dr Google!

Monday 31 August
    AM: Row 8k recovery, HRR 46%
    AM: Paddle 45mins @35spm
    PM: Row 8k recovery, HRR 49%
    PM: Calisthenics 20mins

Mondays are my low carb recovery days. Despite the very easy sessions though I got the days wrong and ate like I was doing a workout day. Monday is also form focus where I dial in technique.

A short mat session in the evening was my first in weeks. I was careful doing lunges so ss not to bend my toes too hard. Foot responded well. Interestingly my flexibility has noticeably improved. When I was running everyday I cokld barely touch my toes in a forward fold. After 2 months of rowing I can put my palms on the floor. That's a serious improvement and curious to see how it feels when I start running again... soon!

Shotgun

Last week Continued.. Tuesday 1 Sept
    Day Off.. long day and headache. Slept 10 glorious hours though :)

Wednesday
    Another day off. Its a recovery week for sure but 2 days off was not planned. More spiders. Cleaning the attic this time. Surely have them all out by now!

Thursday
    Indoor Row 10k Easy, HRR 56%

Call from the Podiatrist. Seems she had a chat with a colleague and they decided they want to see the MRI report. Problem is I cant get a hold of my doc for a referral. Calls, emails... He might have sent it already and I'm actually waiting on an appointment. Waiting, waiting. Meanwhile the cut out cushioning thingy she put on my foot definitely helped.

Friday - workout day
    AM: Kayak Erg 1 hour @40spm (at 5am)
    AM: Indoor Row 3x 5mins @18min 5k pace off 2 mins, HRR 83-90%
    PM: Indoor Row 10k Easy, HRR 57%

The workout was solid. Target pace was 3:36/km and I hit 3:35.0, 3:34.0, 3:33.2. Entered the red zone on rep 3 for 3 minutes and held it steady but I was gassed for a finish. No way I could hold this for 5k straight, yet anyway

Saturday
    Indoor Row 8k recovery. Foot flared up again. Couldn't put weight on the left forefoot :rolleyes::(

Sunday
    Kayak 20,188m with my teamie Sean. Back in the boat after 4 years. The official start of our ITERA 2021 training. 3hours on the water. The laughter and the power still there. A few new creaks getting out of the boat. Met Paul O'Connell with his family by the pier. Tried to draft him onto the team :D He did mention that Richie McCaw did Godzone (another AR World Series Event) a few years back, but alas thats as far as the curiosity went :D Foot fine again today. Growing tired of the yoyo.

Rubbed some arnica gel into tired muscles later after a bath and it was instant amazing heat! Except for a bit of chaffing I had on my lower back. That stung.

Focus for this week is
    1. I don't care anymore... I'm going for a run!
    2. Get the MRI booked so the Podiatrist can confirm treatment etc
    3. 100k Rowing including 2 workouts
    4. Back on the Yoga mat

Shotgun

Monday 8 August
    AM: Yoga, Cals, Row - Total 1hr40

I awoke bright eyed at 3am :rolleyes: No turning over and nodding off again. I got up, hung up washing, prepared lunches and breakfast and decided to get the days training out of the way too, since it was easy recovery stuff.

0350 - Yoga 29mins - lovely stretch out the bit of paddling stiffness
    0430 - Calisthenics 3 sets of 15 reps. Foot felt good on the lunges and calf raises
    0510 - Easy Row 10k, HRR 62%

All done before 6am :) Caught a nap on the couch before the kids woke me up

Tuesday 9 August
    PM: Run 10k!, Row 10k :D

The foot has been feeling good. I took the advice and didn't run for 4 weeks, which sucked. Turns out the surgery had my old phone number and was busy every time I called. Eventually found out the MRI will be booked in for later this week. I was adamant to try a run this week. Worst case, it would flare up again and the MRI will find it anyway.

Tentative easy mile around the block and I felt ok. Some expected creaks of joints moving differently and quads sore from the lunges yesterday. It sure was humid and windy though. I took a turn into town and put in another 5 miles until I got home. No issues :) The streets have become much busier since I was last out running! My longest run since June! Very happy but I know it can flare up so fast, so not counting chickens. It was a steady effort over all as I was sort of puffing up hills, not unexpected. The core felt stronger though. HRR 68% and pace 7:55 for the run.

I hopped straight on the rower, sweat dripping off me and completed 10k steady state at 78% HRR, maxing out at 88% HRR. My heart rate was some 20 beats higher than usual for the pace but it was so warm and humid and the body was reeling from a 50 minute run! A solid 20 mins of the row was Z4. Overall 1.5hrs for a solid session. I needed about 3 litres to re hydrate.

Suitably stiff this morning

Shotgun

• Registered Users Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Lambay island

Great that you got through the run issue free. Hope it continues to be positive for you. Your recovery and discipline has been admirable. Not to mention the volume of rowing. You deserve a good turn. Best of luck with MRI.

Didn't disagree with you. Just wasn't sure! How long did yours take to recover? How did it recover? How did you get back? Genius told me to consult Dr Google!

A couple of iterations of different orthotics did the trick but I’d caution you to keep an eye out for further foot problems like hammertoe

TbL

Wednesday 10 September
    Row 16k Steady State, HRR 67%, 1hr05

Body a bit fatigued and a bit late getting this done.

Thursday
    Day Off - Into the office, kids back to school and activities. Life seems to have accelerated again. By the time I collected the eldest from Rugby I just wanted hot chocolate and sleep!

Friday
    Kayak Erg 40min @45spm
    Row 30min TT
    Row 8k recovery
    S&C 24mins

Right the base is there. 1000km over the last 2 months. A benchmark I like to hit for rowing fitness is 8,000 in 30mins. Need to maintain a pace of 3:44/km.

Got stuck right in. 3:42-3:44 pace for the first 2,000m. Good rhythm and driving the legs. Down to 3:41 pace for the next 2,000m and I was in front of my last months 5k TT pace. Hit 5k in 18:27 (a PR!) but I was at 89% HRR with 10mins to go. 21mins gone and 90%. I'm at 3:39 pace entering the cave, Z5, the red zone!

The hardest single effort yet this year was the Boards 1 mile TT back in May. That was 5.5mins in the cave and I was in pain for a finish. This TT finished with over 9mins in the red zone and as it climbed to 95% HRR, I held 3:39 pace to the finish. 8,167m total, a lifetime best. Average 3:40.2. Proper effort, I was hanging on, squeezing what was left in the legs with pure focus for the last 3mins. Delighted with it!

Later a super easy 8k and onto the mat for stretching. Just a few poses but holding each for 3-4mins, breathing into them. Just have 3 more rowing goals for the year. Sub 18 5k
    Sub 7 2k
    Sub 3 Marathon

Shotgun

Saturday 13 September
    Run 7.03m @8:08, HRR 66%
    Kayak Erg 40min @40spm, 6,000m
    Row 16,000m Easy @58% HRR

Another run! Took a risk heading into some country miles. If it flared up it would be a long limp home. Foot was grand. Hammers, groins and quads not though. Perhaps the long deep stretches yesterday. Quads were actually in bits for a finish, like I had run a mountain yesterday. 40 mins paddling on the decking in the sun straight afterwards.

Necked an Ibuprofen and completed 66 mins and 16k on the rower later.

Sunday 14 September
    Kayak Erg 60min @38spm, 8,500m

Kids activities took up most the day so this was an easy hour first thing. Quads still shot and not up for even a row. My eldest last rugby game for his club for a while due to schools cup. Expressed himself with a sunshine soaked hat trick. It was 2hrs of driving though and I had a wave of fatigue. Too much sun?! I had a longing for the hills driving past them. Imagined running across the ridge under the blue sky. Soon...

Foot a bit sore out of the shoe. Call from the Galway clinic to confirm an MRI appointment for 26th September. More waiting but whats another week or two..

Overall 8hr49 this week
    Running 1hr48 and 13.81 miles
    Rowing 4hr42 and 68,167m
    Kayak Erg 2hr20 and 21,333m
    S&C 1hr24

Bit of an up and down busy week. Good to get a couple of runs and the rowing TT took more out of me than I realised. Feel I need to set a pattern but just doing what I can day to day for now. Weigh in at 78.2kg. Close to the sub3 weight last year.

Shotgun

Monday 14 September
    Row 60min Recovery @49%; HRR
    Kayak Erg 40mins technique focus
    Row 60 mins Recovery @52% HRR

2hrs40 and 31,915m for the day. It was a low carb day (lunch was a 4 egg spinach and feta cheese omelette) and I made better choices than last week. Low carb doesn't mean no carb, just fewer carbs.

Tuesday
    Row 10k Steady State @64% HRR. Very warm an energy wasn't there for a workout. Made up for the lack on carbs Monday with a few slices of chocolate cake and a birthday party :o

Wednesday
    Row 60min Recovery @48% HRR @4am :eek: Basically woke up after a couple of clean deep sleep cycles and was wide awake. It was so balmy that I pulled the rower out onto the decking under the stars, with the amazing bright sparkle of Venus in front of me. Pitch dark but for the light of the rowing monitor. Highlight of this session was not Venus, but a cat leaping silently off a wall beside me and scaring the living sh!te out of me. Interesting how he set off all the automatic garden lights along the gardens on his nightly hunt :D I prepared for some neighbour to wake up and pop their head out a window only to see some lunatic rowing in the middle of the night!

Later I headed out for a run. 6.32m @7:48, HRR 70%. I ran on feel and only had HRR graph on the watch so no idea what pace I was running. The foot felt ok and the quads were giving out about the load again. Nice to be out around too, fresh cut grass smells, fresh paint smells, horrible traffic smells. Interesting I ran a piece of trail that I last ran in summer, a season ago. The well worn trail had some grass and the autumn colours of fallen leaves. It felt like I had beamed forward in time.

Checked in with work and got the dinner ready before I hopped on the rower again for another steady 10k, still sweating from the run. MRI later this evening at last!

Stay Safe
    Shotgun

Week Review:
    Busy busy week. Dublin gone to L3 a few counties close to it and Limerick one of them. Finally got the MRI on the foot so just waiting for either Doc or Podiatrist to contact now. Despite the foot flaring up again, I did manage to run a couple of times. Training was plugged in around work, kids and life where possible.

Last Week Activities: 15hr12min Total
    Rowing (9) sessions | Distance 109,632m | Time 7hr43
    Running (3) sessions | Distance 23.26 miles | Time 3hr09 :D
    Kayak Erg (4) sessions | Distance 30,875m | Time 3hr30
    Mobility (1) session | Time 0hr30
    Strength (1) session | Time 0hr30

The Erg was most days as per objectives. I managed to slice my finger on a steel wire Saturday quite deep (prob needed a stitch) and it was opening during the row on Sunday. Will need to tighten that up for the next few days. Significantly I ran 3 times including a pair of 8 mile 60-70min efforts. The first was 7:57 pace and too much. I was ok to 5m but the foot deteriorated to a limp by the time I got home. That was Thursday. It really flared up Saturday but felt ok Sunday morning (such is the nature of this injury :rolleyes:). I headed on an easier (8:35 pace) 8 miles while Alex did rugby. It was a glorious sunny morning in around town and I meandered around the river and the Island happily.

Objectives not met: I took the bikes out of the shed and evicted spiders. Alas wheels were flat, tyres need cleaning out and a couple of broken spokes on the rim of the Pyga made me sad. I have a few days off work next week so I plan to both fix and ride the bikes. Worst case I'll take the roadie out for a spin. I didn't get out for a hike either. I can't use not having the time as with AR training all 24/7 is an opportunity. I'll just have to plan in a night hike. Importantly its more about the foot. If it flares up a mile or two from home on a run its not big deal. On top of a ridge line is another matter! Finally no workouts or intensity last week despite 15 hours training.

The Week Ahead
    Challenging week work wise so I'll do well to hit similar volume...

Weight: No weigh in this week.
    Injury: Hoping for results this week

Objectives:
    Row - 100k including a workout (some hurt!) but I'll happily substitute a row for a run
    Run - Every second day if I can. A pain free 30 miles this week would be awesome
    Kayak - 2hrs erg and plot next outing with Sean
    Hike - Maybe not this week but have an easy one planned for next week, including map and gear..
    Bike - Low priority so likely nothing this week
    Mobility - Really have to do more often as I sit as a desk most days for hours. 3x 15-30mins minimum!

Shotgun

Monday 21 September
    Row 35mins | 8k easy | 46% HRR
    Run 48mins | 5.81m @8:35 | 60% HRR
    Kayak Erg 60mins | 9k easy | 41% HRR

An easy row/run brick session to start the week. This is progress as each Monday for the last 2+months I had been rowing 2x8k easy or 16k easy. Significantly I substituted 8k rowing for 8k running yesterday. I ran Sunday too so this was 2 days in a row! I kept a sensible pace for a controlled trot around suburbia. I was awfully tempted to try some strides but that will have to wait. Made the most of a muggy lunchtime window to get the miles in. The foot is not perfect but feels fine running on flat pavement, road or grass. I'll chase the MRI results this week but It will be awesome if I can run every second day.

Shotgun

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

I am watching ECO Challenge on Amazon Prime at the moment. I have no idea how accurate a depiction of adventure racing it is but it looks so, so tough!

Huzzah! wrote: »
    I am watching ECO Challenge on Amazon Prime at the moment. I have no idea how accurate a depiction of adventure racing it is but it looks so, so tough!

Tough it is Huzzah!

It is the definitive definition of AR!! :D ITERA Scotland 2021 is a World Series AR too but "only" a 5 day version. Essentially 120hrs non stop mountain biking, trekking, paddling, ropes, running in the wildest terrain, seas, lakes, mountains to be found. Usually Coast to coast off the beaten track, covering 15,000m+ vertically and about 8-10hrs sleep over that 120hrs.. If it doesn't break you physically, mentally and emotionally.. crossing the line with your teammates after such an adventure is deeply deeply satisfying.

Shotgun

Tuesday 22 September
    Yoga 45mins
    Row 20mins | 5,098m Steady | HRR 62%
    Strength 20mins
    Row 4mins | 858m| Tabata Set | HRR 83%
    Row 41mins | 10,000m Steady | HRR 68%

Workout Day! Eventually I will bring a running workout back into Tuesdays. So today was to get my kicks from a 21-15-9 CrossFit style set and a short tabata blast on the rower.

After a solid 20min rowing warm up I did a short strength session. The 21-15-9 was 40kg thrusters and pull ups. It took me 7 mins to complete the total 45 thrusters and 45 pull ups and I was smashed. I then did an easier 12 min set of calisthenics with my quads still wobbly.

I usually warm up for a tabata set (8x 20sec on 10sec off) but I hopped on cold and went for it. Really went all out on the first reps and then just gave it what I had. I lasted 5 reps strong until I really started to fade. Such a short blast but max effort! I needed my inhaler to catch my raspy breath and I sat back down for a controlled low rate 10k. My arms were shaking for the first 6mins or so until oxygen took control of my body again.

Shotgun

Wednesday 23 September
    Row 1hr 23 min | Steady 20k | HRR 67-79%
    Run 54 min | Easy 6.46m @8:24 | HRR 61-70%
    Kayak Erg 40 min | @41spm | HRR 46%

I had an app with the Doc to go over the MRI results and treatment but alas the kids have sniffles and a cough so stuck home :rolleyes: I did get out for a lovely easy run in the fading crisp evening sunshine. I felt a bit ragged for the first mile after 20k rowing in the legs earlier. Some DOMS there from the thrusters the previous day too. However it loosened out, the pace gradually improved for similar effort and had a really enjoyable 10k. Daylight sure is fading faster these days.

Had a rugby coaches webinar later in the evening that I watched while paddling, making best use of available time for training. Just shy of 3hrs for a midweek day is a win.

Shotgun

Thursday 24 September
    Yoga 32 mins | rainy salutation sequences
    Kayak Erg 60 mins | 8k Easy
    Row 35 mins | 8k | HRR 49%

Hopefully these non running days will become few and far between. Doc appointment moved to Monday. Asked to discuss over the phone but he wants to see me in person. Hopefully not bad news :o

A much lighter day today as Friday is a workout day AND a run day :D Very easy yoga, very easy paddling and very easy rowing. 2 hours total over the day. I feel I need more yoga/mobility though and maybe a better home office set up.

Shotgun