Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

The thoughts of the first night they're open turns my stomach, it'll be like Stephens day and Arthurs day rolled into one. We really are a pathetic country.

And this is from someone who worked in bars for 10 years.

ah cop on , there are guidelines , close your curtains and hide under your bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Just wait til you see Social media those nights

Cringe will not be the word

I hope bars all over the country have stocked up on Corona for the inevitable bantz.

ah cop on , there are guidelines , close your curtains and hide under your bed

Because we've seen the country stick to the guidelines so well since March.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Just wait til you see Social media those nights

Cringe will not be the word

People having fun is so cringey

Oh it's you again. The one who didn't want pubs closed in the first place and proudly broadcast the fact he was having pints when everyone with any modicum of sense wanted them closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Daqu1234

Well they are all open on sept 21st, if the pubs strictly enforce the guide lines they just might be get to stay open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

The thoughts of the first night they're open turns my stomach, it'll be like Stephens day and Arthurs day rolled into one. We really are a pathetic country.

And this is from someone who worked in bars for 10 years.

I wish they'd bring back Arthur's Day. It was great craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I'm looking forward to having a quiet pint again with mates and I'm glad myself and others can go back to work but I'd be lying if I wasn't dreading the first shift back. I've friends who work in bars that opened by getting food in from local restaurants and the pain of explaining yes you have to order food, no you can't stay for hours on end and can you go back to your table and flag someone to take your order, after a few hours it just kills your soul. My spot is already a local pub where the regulars will try and best and twist every rule almost as if it were a game to them. Still I guess you have to hope people are decent and more understanding during a pandemic, fingers crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,786 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

So if you're 2m away from everyone else you can stay as long as you like but other than that your out the door in 105 mins

Could be an issue for small pubs and no way could i see them chucking out a 'regular'

So if you're 2m away from everyone else you can stay as long as you like but other than that your out the door in 105 mins

Could be an issue for small pubs and no way could i see them chucking out a 'regular'

I don't see how you don't enforce time limits especially at the weekend. No one can book a table Saturday night and you can't guarantee when one will become available. You have a crowd in from 4pm and it is 7pm and regulars start landing down that usually stay to close but you're full so they head off. You turn away lots of regulars as the 4pm crowd start to slow down and sip. Now it is 8.30 and the 4pm crowd start to wander off into the night and you have no one to replace them coming in. What do you do? Throw up a facebook post for the first 6 groups that can come down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭questionmark?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I wish they'd bring back Arthur's Day. It was great craic!

I didn't take you as a fella who would enjoy Guinness. Who knew!!!

ShooterSF wrote: »
    I don't see how you don't enforce time limits especially at the weekend. No one can book a table Saturday night and you can't guarantee when one will become available. You have a crowd in from 4pm and it is 7pm and regulars start landing down that usually stay to close but you're full so they head off. You turn away lots of regulars as the 4pm crowd start to slow down and sip. Now it is 8.30 and the 4pm crowd start to wander off into the night and you have no one to replace them coming in. What do you do? Throw up a facebook post for the first 6 groups that can come down?

some places might keep tables for the regulars on weekend nights

Could be a pain in the ass having to go around and try your luck if you decide to go for a few. Where pre covid 8/10 times you'd be served no matter how the place is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,940 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Until 11.30pm that night.
    I suspect that rule will be flexed a little..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,620 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Could be a pain in the ass having to go around and try your luck if you decide to go for a few. Where pre covid 8/10 times you'd be served no matter how the place is

You could just book a table? Going to the pub is easy, why are you making it difficult for yourself. ..

hynesie08 wrote: »
    You could just book a table? Going to the pub is easy, why are you making it difficult for yourself. ..

The effort of ringing and all that jazz

Online reservations the way the good

The effort of ringing and all that jazz

Online reservations the way the good

So you're lazy....... Man up for **** sake.

I just don't see tbh seems too messy. Maybe I'll be way off and pubs will go for the 2m no timelimit thing but if I wasn't running a bar I'd just stick to the 1m 105 minutes myself.

The point was re: bars that use the 2m no time limit system which will mean you can't book tables as you won't know when they're free...

I just don't see tbh seems too messy. Maybe I'll be way off and pubs will go for the 2m no timelimit thing but if I wasn't running a bar I'd just stick to the 1m 105 minutes myself.

The point was re: bars that use the 2m no time limit system which will mean you can't book tables as you won't know when they're free...

If you book a table, they reserve it so it's free at the time you book it for....... That is literally the whole point of it....

Ok so say you're running a pub that is enforcing 2m distancing so you don't have to have the time limit and I ring looking to book a table at 5pm Saturday night. How long do I have the table? Do you tell me it may get booked at a later time and if so I'll have to leave, if so when do I get informed of this? Do people come in only to find out there is a time limit for them. Are you going to reserve the table for me for the night? What if I leave at 7pm and you've turned multiple bookings away during the week as you held the table for me?
    I'm only focusing on the problem I see with pubs using the 2m system rather than having a higher capacity with 1m and more structured times for tables.

Ok so say you're running a pub that is enforcing 2m distancing so you don't have to have the time limit and I ring looking to book a table at 5pm Saturday night. How long do I have the table? Do you tell me it may get booked at a later time and if so I'll have to leave, if so when do I get informed of this? Do people come in only to find out there is a time limit for them. Are you going to reserve the table for me for the night? What if I leave at 7pm and you've turned multiple bookings away during the week as you held the table for me?
    I'm only focusing on the problem I see with pubs using the 2m system rather than having a higher capacity with 1m and more structured times for tables.

That's a pub's perogative though, and the risk reward of booking tables has existed before covid and it'll exist after. They always had a finite number of tables, and at ~50% capacity, most would rather have a rough idea how many are coming in beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

All of those variables existed before the pandemic.
    The 2m just means they have to be more creative with their space. Smoking area where applicable or normal standing/squished areas.
    Restaurants often turned down people that arrived late for a booking, citing that they were late and it's tough luck.

That's a pub's perogative though, and the risk reward of booking tables has existed before covid and it'll exist after. They always had a finite number of tables, and at ~50% capacity, most would rather have a rough idea how many are coming in beforehand.

That's my point though, I was simply saying I can't see pubs choosing 2m and no time limit as it will reduce their capacity and make managing the space harder.

Suckit wrote: »
    All of those variables existed before the pandemic.
    The 2m just means they have to be more creative with their space. Smoking area where applicable or normal standing/squished areas.
    Restaurants often turned down people that arrived late for a booking, citing that they were late and it's tough luck.

Again, I'm not arguing they won't have to manage but I just don't think they'll go down the 2m no time limit approach. Your example of a restaurant is perfect, no restaurant, at least no busy one, lets you book a table for an indefinite amount of time and pubs that are only allowed operate on table service won't magically be able to pull off something the restaurant industry hasn't in all its years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Hi I’d like to book a table for 4.

Ok, I’ve a space here from 7-9 for 4. If there’s space after 9 you’ll be welcome to stay on, if not unfortunately you’ll have to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,201 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Seems to me this Reopening on the 21st September is fast turning into "A maybe, Maybe not" scenario if we take a government press release after the cabinets decision. George Lee gave a sobering, brutal, clinical and Factual breakdown of the numbers after 307 new cases yesterday. Its striking that far more stringent measures have been taken in the past with numbers a 3rd of what they were yesterday. Hopefully we're long past Total lockdowns but I sense a UTURN on pubs reopening, I may be wrong but I didn't sense much of a full commitment yesterday.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Seems to me this Reopening on the 21st September is fast turning into "A maybe, Maybe not" scenario if we take a government press release after the cabinets decision. George Lee gave a sobering, brutal, clinical and Factual breakdown of the numbers after 307 new cases yesterday. Its striking that far more stringent measures have been taken in the past with numbers a 3rd of what they were yesterday. Hopefully we're long past Total lockdowns but I sense a UTURN on pubs reopening, I may be wrong but I didn't sense much of a full commitment yesterday.

The date is set, the only caveat they have is if local restrictions anywhere mean they can't open, this was said yesterday. This is true for now and going forward.

George Lee... enough said the man has been full on panic since day 1. Fergal Bowers much more calm and measured in his reporting

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Dempo1 wrote: »

Leo on Morning Ireland just said he's much more confident rural pubs will be open on 21st than Dublin pubs.

You have to feel sorry for any Dublin publican hearing that, less than 24 hours after been given a date to re-open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Leo on Morning Ireland just said he's much more confident rural pubs will be open on 21st than Dublin pubs.

You have to feel sorry for any Dublin publican hearing that, less than 24 hours after been given a date to re-open.

As I said in another post Dublin and Limerick have been flagged last few days as potentially needing local restrictions and it was said yesterday in the announcement subject to local restrictions. So both Dublin and Limerick publicans would have been aware of that.

I dont know why this comes as any surprise when the announcement was pubs reopen on 21st subject to local restrictions that may be in place from time to time

Doesn't it say a lot about Ireland that in a few weeks I'll be able to go for a pint with the lads but still won't be able to go to a scan with my pregnant wife?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭robbiezero

As I said in another post Dublin and Limerick have been flagged last few days as potentially needing local restrictions and it was said yesterday in the announcement subject to local restrictions. So both Dublin and Limerick publicans would have been aware of that.

I dont know why this comes as any surprise when the announcement was pubs reopen on 21st subject to local restrictions that may be in place from time to time

I took that to mean restaurants and covid meal pubs would also be shut down in these local restrictions like in the LOK counties and pubs wouldn't be just singled out?