Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,189 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

robbiezero wrote: »
    How may it not happen?
    They have given a fairly clear criteria on which they will be open.

Well, not really. They've talked about maybe possibly localised restrictions or county restrictions based on the situation in different parts of the country, but they haven't been specific about what kind of numbers they are talking about. The fairly clear criteria is non existent.

They've even admitted in the last couple of hours that it may not be possible to open pubs everywhere in two weeks based on the "epidemiological situation" - they have as much as said that it mightn't actually happen yet.

If numbers keep rising over the next fortnight I'll be very surprised if all pubs across the country will be open on September 21st as planned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,687 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

alentejo wrote: »
    So Ireland has one of the highest instances of Covid in Europe with some of the most restrictions. How did we manage that?

We dont.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Dublin should have been locked down days ago but FFG wouldn't have the balls.

Needs restricted/locked down badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

are you referring to culchies?

No I mean the SME's in the greater Dublin area and the Midwest who'll get old yeller'd behind the shed if they get locked down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,968 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Blondini wrote: »
    Some of the public, and it is reflected by certain users on this thread, are fed-up of the virus and restrictions and scoff and sneer at people that might worry.

The powers-that-be are listening to these imbeciles and bowing to the pressure.

I don't think the government are listening to some people on this thread ? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Arghus wrote: »
    Well, not really. They've talked about maybe possibly localised restrictions or county restrictions based on the situation in different parts of the country, but they haven't been specific about what kind of numbers they are talking about. The fairly clear criteria is non existent.

They've even admitted in the last couple of hours that it may not be possible to open pubs everywhere in two weeks based on the "epidemiological situation" - they have as much as said that it mightn't actually happen yet.

If numbers keep rising over the next fortnight I'll be very surprised if all pubs across the country will be open on September 21st as planned.

Absolutely. And how could the numbers possibly fall prior to that?

There's a number of people here who've mentioned that they expect us to sort of go backwards and stabilise at about 100 cases per day, and I can't for a moment begin to understand their thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Dublin should have been locked down days ago but FFG wouldn't have the balls.

What's the point of locking down if the majority of school kids in those areas continue to go to school? Won't really be much point of saying "Stay home!", "don't kill your gran", "See no-one", "it's vital" if everyone sends their kids into the same building in their community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

alentejo wrote: »
    So Ireland has one of the highest instances of Covid in Europe with some of the most restrictions. How did we manage that?

Will have another lock down, then what......open up for a few weeks.... then rinse and repeat,

is it a case that you need to have a lock down every few months.....Thats no way to live your lives

Not only that, we were one of the lowest at one point! How did we mess it up so bad?

Goldengirl wrote: »

I don't like the government and I can't stand just about every party bar the soc dems but I can say with 100% confidence that they don't take feedback from boards.ie nor should anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Is lockdown our only real tactic at this stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Surely, the virus must be less likely to be spread from the mouth or nose in cold weather because droplets are more likely to freeze in air.

A few months ago, when the British government had a campaign to recruit for the picking of fruit and vegetables on farms, Dr Hilary Jones said on GMB that the virus is less likely to spread from person to person in cold weather. He's a physician - so why would he say it if it's not true?

I'd say we've only had a handful of air frost in the last 10 years, we live in a very mild country with when temps in july can equal any day in december. Also if we did have cold weather people would congregate indoors more increasing the risk of spread IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

Well they should we'd be covid free already if they did

The gang that are there can't agree, what would happen with more in the room

Get rid of some the dead wood that are currently in government and replace them with more able ?
    Let's start with that Taoiseach..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Is there anything to be said for another lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,893 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Until we produce the magic juice

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,138 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Not at all. We can have particular restrictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Not with 6 people in ICU and virtually no deaths. These numbers have to change drastically before a lockdown is justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Absolutely. And how could the numbers possibly fall prior to that?

There's a number of people here who've mentioned that they expect us to sort of go backwards and stabilise at about 100 cases per day, and I can't for a moment begin to understand their thinking.

You do know more than half the cases today were from the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,687 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

sideswipe wrote: »
    I'd say we've only had a handful of air frost in the last 10 years, we live in a very mild country with when temps in july can equal any day in december. Also if we did have cold weather people would congregate indoors more increasing the risk of spread IMO.

With windows shut...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

What's the point of locking down if the majority of school kids in those areas continue to go to school? Won't really be much point of saying "Stay home!", "don't kill your gran", "See no-one", "it's vital" if everyone sends their kids into the same building in their community.

Children don't spread. Schools should be open it helps children's learning and they have been closed for 6 months.

Wet bars cause spread and dont really add much to the health of society.

Wet bars not good in a pandemic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Definitely. Could the army help with keeping the dublin county border controlled. Not as easy as Kildare.

I assume your suggestion is not serious.

Well they should we'd be covid free already if they did

We'd probably be covid free because everyone starved to death from being boarded into their houses for the past 6 months if the lads here had their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,189 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Get rid of some the dead wood that are currently in government and replace them with more able ?

To be honest I don't know what throwing SF into the mix would do to improve things.

They've absolutely fck all to say when proper decisions have to be made - aside from complaining about them when they don't work.

niallo27 wrote: »
    You do know more than half the cases today were from the weekend.

No people see the number and immediately tear their hair out, even though fergal bowers completely explained the situation at 6.

robbiezero wrote: »
    How may it not happen?
    They have given a fairly clear criteria on which they will be open.

" depending of course on local restrictions and what NPHET suggests is safe " as per Simon Harris this evening .
    Think that covers their axxxs pretty much .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

HSE Report out

Number of Confirmed COVID-19 Cases Admitted across 29 acute sites
    (including CHI) = 50
    Confirmed IN Critical Care 6 Suspected 8
    Deaths 0
    Confirmed Ventilated 6 Suspected 3

I assume your suggestion is not serious.

Maybe not the army.

Restrictions needed in Dublin and Limerick asap.

Has it been proven that Covid caused heart arrhythmia?

The evidence is mounting.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/robertglatter/2020/08/17/covid-19-can-cause-heart-damageeven-if-you-are-asymptomatic/

https://www.news-medical.net/news/20200831/COVID-19-patients-may-experience-long-term-cardiovascular-complications.aspx

https://www.toledoblade.com/sports/pro/2020/08/15/coronavirus-causes-heart-condition-myocarditis/stories/20200815059

Of course it could eventually transpire that most of these individuals had coincidental birth to unmasked cardiac issues. Time and studies will will tell. In meantime I
    would prefer not to test it out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

I was reading that and was expecting society instead of government. Thought you’d gone full Adolf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

This local lockdown stuff is great craic. We've moved on from will wet pubs open to
    "who should lock down next?".
    "Which class will get sent home next? "
    Virus popping up all over the shop.