Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

When they announce over 300 cases today , this might get questioned or shelved.

Yep, obviously the sudden rise over the last week is due to the pubs which are still closed, and not in any way connected to schools going back
    that's not a big deal really, the information now probably shows that reopening the non-food pubs wouldn't entail the same risks now as it would have weeks ago.
    remember that information changed quite quickly right through this as new information and understanding on the virus was gained.

Right. So pubs have been kept closed for months of low figures on the grounds they were going to doom us all, but as soon as numbers start rising it's suddenly safe to open them under pretty much the same restrictions they could have opened under months ago?

All because suddenly new information has come to light?
    (in fairness, that's far more coherent than our government)

Or just maybe they could have actually opened months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

MrStuffins wrote: »
    What a horrible thing to state! Just disgusting!

It's gas that your sarcastic posts have dried up; now you are just full of rage. It's great to see that the tables have turned on people like you. You were nothing but condescending to many posters on here for months, now you have no ammo, and all that is left is bitterness.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Gods Gift wrote: »
    How will goin to the jacks work.
    Do you put your hand up and ask permission?
    They were talking about having someone in there for crowd control. One Tesco I saw had a traffic light system for store entry. Something like that could work in busier places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

MrStuffins wrote: »
    What a horrible thing to state! Just disgusting!

No creamy pints are delicious, not disgusting. Roll on 21st and we can go into any pub and have some. Mmmmmmmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

is_that_so wrote: »
    They were talking about having someone in there for crowd control. One Tesco I saw had a traffic light system for store entry. Something like that could work in busier places.

Any restaurant I’ve been in lately has been use the jacks as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

TomTomTim wrote: »
    you are just full of rage.
    You seem to be inhabiting an alternative universe where everything is fine and dandy.

Weird to be accused of being happy and of being full of rage too.

No rage here my man! I've been enjoying the pubs this whole time and I will continue to enjoy them come Sept 21st and thereafter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,331 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

A catheter will be issued to you on entry to the venue.

Have you not been to a 'food' pub in the last few months? You just stand up and walk to the toilets...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Rumours that FF are going to introduce measures to force men to sit down while peeing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

o1s1n wrote: »
    A catheter will be issued to you on entry to the venue.

Have you not been to a 'food' pub in the last few months? You just stand up and walk to the toilets...

here, its just go toilet as normal and uee your head.

Spain in July, you had to put your mask back on to go toilet, which was fair enough imo

Any restaurant I’ve been in lately has been use the jacks as normal.
    You'd imagine that the smaller numbers would allow it to take care of itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭D3V!L

I heard you'll have to put up your hand and and ask permission from the bar man when you want to go to the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

This decision makes no sense at all. Sure we'd love to see businesses reopening, but the timing of this while cases and hospitalisations are increasing is head-scratching. I wouldn't be rushing out to stock a bar expecting to reopen on that date.

D3V!L wrote: »
    I heard you'll have to put up your hand and and ask permission from the bar man when you want to go to the toilet.
    In some restaurants and cafes you have to ask for a code/key to use the toilet so no big deal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

hmmm wrote: »
    This decision makes no sense at all. Sure we'd love to see businesses reopening, but the timing of this while cases and hospitalisations are increasing is head-scratching. I wouldn't be rushing out to stock a bar expecting to reopen on that date.

The date is now set. Unless there's any local restrictions in place you can open under the guidelines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

An bhfuil cead agam dul go dtí an leithreas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The date is now set. Unless there's any local restrictions in place you can open under the guidelines
    Sure. Where will the local restrictions be, and when will they be announced? Will publicans have to wait until the 21st to find out? What happens if you've re-employed staff, stocked up etc and find yourself in a local restriction zone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

It makes loads of sense. Schools are back safely, now we get on with it and live with this virus. The dry pubs have been open long enough with no clusters reported from them?
    If you're scared don't go, or if you live with someone who is at risk don't go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

I'm all for them opening, but agree it doesn't make much sense if August wasn't ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,864 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

There'll be some baby boom in 9 months! :D
    That was happening already apparantly some chemists were reporting massive increases in sales of pregnancy tests during the height of the lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,731 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

That was happening already apparantly some chemists were reporting massive increases in sales of pregnancy tests during the height of the lockdown.

And lube/play gel. (True story).

A lot of people dropping anchor in poo bay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

We need a rule that if people are getting a bit too merry in the pub and you see someone with their phone out filming, you take the phone and smash it. We don't need any more viral videos of people not social distancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,185 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Cienciano wrote: »
    We need a rule that if people are getting a bit too merry in the pub and you see someone with their phone out filming, you take the phone and smash it. We don't need any more viral videos of people not social distancing

This.

Scabs out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Trump making a much-awaited statement on wet pubs.

Guess he has a vested interest in Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭Degag

The Nal wrote: »
    And lube/play gel. (True story).

A lot of people dropping anchor in poo bay.

Thanks for this. Most enlightening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

What?? They'll be delighted, adds more fuel to their fire

They will go out to buy extra thin net curtains!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Agreed. It's the simple fact that this kind of stuff distorts the truth. The government, and their obedient followers, constantly used these incidents as tools against us, pretending that they were an average, instead of the truth, that they were outliers. I've been in honestly about 20 establishments since you could get a pint again, and every single one of them were obeying the standards. I'm just back from 7 days in Kerry, and places in Kerry were incredibly strict about this stuff, especially in Killarney.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Ah no public shaming needs to continue, the Irish media would collapse without lads dancing on top of phone boxes and people having fun.

So selfish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭bladespin

The phone might not be all...

Seriously though, we need accountability but we also need some acceptance ahead of finger wagging, bit of both would be grand - really.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Ah no public shaming needs to continue, the Irish media would collapse without lads dancing on top of phone boxes and people having fun.

So selfish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,771 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

MOH wrote: »
    Yep, obviously the sudden rise over the last week is due to the pubs which are still closed, and not in any way connected to schools going back

Right. So pubs have been kept closed for months of low figures on the grounds they were going to doom us all, but as soon as numbers start rising it's suddenly safe to open them under pretty much the same restrictions they could have opened under months ago?

All because suddenly new information has come to light?
    (in fairness, that's far more coherent than our government)

Or just maybe they could have actually opened months ago.

it would have depended i guess on what information the government had at the time.
    the information at that time may have shown there were specific risks of opening the non-food pubs at that time dispite the low cases, however information now may show that while cases are rising, the risks are such that it is safe to open.
    this whole thing is very complex and things are changing all the time with everything being updated as all of the new information comes to light.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.