Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There have been 3304 Cases of Covid 19 in Ireland over the last 30 days. There have been 5 deaths.

A death Rate of 0.15%.

This is nonsense lads. They should be open right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

That'll be a "probably not" then. They need to be careful though. Given some attitudes, if they get too many false hopes up they'll end up with riots.

Well let's not go that far now.

End of the day it'll be a government decision.

Well let's not go that far now.

End of the day it'll be a government decision.

Have the government made many so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

There have been 3304 Cases of Covid 19 in Ireland over the last 30 days. There have been 5 deaths.

A death Rate of 0.15%.

They are open. They're open right now.

I was in the pub on Saturday. Drinking pints! Might go again next weekend!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

All pubs are not open.

statesaver wrote: »
    All pubs are not open.

Don't bother, it's tedius you'll be going around in circles for hours

statesaver wrote: »
    All pubs are not open.

Some have not taken advantage of the measures put in place allowing them to open.

Those measures are being changed. Maybe the ones that have chosen not to open so far will do so? I hope that's the case!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

A death Rate of 0.15%.

The 5 deaths no doubt had weeks to live either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

MrStuffins wrote: »
    They are open. They're open right now.

I was in the pub on Saturday. Drinking pints! Might go again next weekend!

Mod: @MrStuffins - I've given you a lot of latitude in this thread because whether people like it or not, having an unpopular opinion in itself isn't an actionable offense. Posts like this however, are just blatant trolling to get the reaction you are looking for. Any further posts to simply troll for a reaction and I'll remove your access to the thread.

mike_ie wrote: »
    Mod: @MrStuffins - I've given you a lot of latitude in this thread because whether people like it or not, having an unpopular opinion in itself isn't an actionable offense. Posts like this however, are just blatant trolling to get the reaction you are looking for. Any further posts to simply troll for a reaction and I'll remove your access to the thread.

Hi Mike.

Apologies if I am coming across as trolling. This is not my intention.

I will be careful how I word my posts in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Hi Mike.

You’ll have to have delicious, tasty and creamy posts somewhere else!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

I’ve moved my drinking shirt from the back of the hot press, to slightly nearer the front.

Santy2015 wrote: »
    You’ll have to have delicious, tasty and creamy posts somewhere else!!

Well when these new measures come in, there will be plenty of other places to drink! No food requirements, no time requirements (if the right social distance is kept) etc.

It'll be as close to the old pub experience as possible. I have a weekend "staycation" coming up with the lads as well so it'll be ideal if we're rolling by the end of the month!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,785 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Just pick a dam date government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,863 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

This image is doing the rounds tonight.

The poor fella, and nobody to have a pint with.

https://twitter.com/GalwayPlayer/status/1303047799672573960?s=09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Fitz* wrote: »

Jesus... and that's the reality of it.

Awful.

It's on Twitter. Might not even be 2020 or Ireland in the photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i find ronan glynns response tonight very different to what would have been said 6 weeks ago under these case numbers. Glynn would have said "no way not under these numbers not for the forseeable future will pubs open" Now hes saying they probabaly will open, i think we can see from that statement that ronan glynn and nyphet are lowly but surely being put back in thier box.

Dickie10 wrote: »
    i find ronan glynns response tonight very different to what would have been said 6 weeks ago under these case numbers. Glynn would have said "no way not under these numbers not for the forseeable future will pubs open" Now hes saying they probabaly will open, i think we can see from that statement that ronan glynn and nyphet are lowly but surely being put back in thier box.

I'd say they just know that it's a lost cause now that the people have turned because it went on longer than was convenient, so may as well see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,863 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

It's on Twitter. Might not even be 2020 or Ireland in the photo.

It's from McGinns in Galway today. It's on their Facebook page. I know the exact seat he is in. Also a lovely bar for food & pints for what it's worth.

https://www.facebook.com/842661005770679/posts/3258638420839580/?sfnsn=mo&extid=lyVfIAulpU0fQriR

Hi Mike.

And a classic non-apology apology. Pity it took an Admin having to take time out of their day to get you to stop.

Fitz* wrote: »

Looks pretty sweet to me. I love a good pint on my own.

Only when I do it my alarm clock is actually a phone that could ring at any point with the missus telling me my pinting time is over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Seems a bit condescending to me.
    A man is sitting in a pub minding his own business, had a meal and looking out the window.

"This little old man.."

:/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Dickie10 wrote: »

Try 1 week

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40039100.html%3ftype=amp

I would agree with the sentiment that it is political will now driving this rather than a change in NPHETs position....that is of course if they do follow through.

Looks pretty sweet to me. I love a good pint on my own.

You seem to be inhabiting an alternative universe where everything is fine and dandy. It's reprehensible an auld lad like that in for his quiet jar has to be marshalled by the clock.

Hang on...... is it not the case that time restrictions don't count if you can socially distance?

This guy is on his own. Surely there's no time restriction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

You seem to be inhabiting an alternative universe where everything is fine and dandy. It's reprehensible an auld lad like that in for his quiet jar has to be marshalled by the clock.
    You seem to be under the assumption that he is not choosing to use the clock himself to limit his time there.

He may be kinda worried about catching the virus himself.
    He no longer needs to limit himself to the 105 minutes.

He may just like going there, having a quiet pint and a bit of food, and getting out before he stays too long.

Suckit wrote: »
    You seem to be under the assumption that he is not choosing to use the clock himself to limit his time there.

He may be kinda worried about catching the virus himself.
    He no longer needs to limit himself to the 105 minutes.

He may just like going there, having a quiet pint and a bit of food, and getting out before he stays too long.

Yeah, I'm pretty sure the point was made on this thread yesterday that, once distancing can be assured, that the time limit doesn't come into play
    there is currently no time limit in any establishment as it stands now if theres 2m between the tables. Its been like that since hosptiality reopened.......

You can already stay in an establishment if the tables are more than 2m apart for longer than 105 mins.

I am, of course, open to correction?