Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭gipi

14,000 tests last 24 hours, jesus christ, that is massive

Are they testing nursing homes, etc., again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Sconsey

MOR316 wrote: »
    1. I didn't ignore the fact they were having a coffee. In fact, I even said it in my post, which goes to show how sick your mind is, reading what you want to read into it :rolleyes:

2. As for the second underlined part, perhaps you should ask that of the person sat in a car park, reporting what other people are doing in their lives?

1. I don't think I have a sick mind, I thought your language was trying to imply something sick. In fairness you probably were not and I apologise for the implication.

2. The person was reporting their observation of a lack of social distancing, in a Covid forum, but you decided they should heve better things to do with their day. Are they not entitled to discuss their relevant observations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭eigrod

14,000 tests last 24 hours, jesus christ, that is massive

If effective contact tracing can follow up on this weeks testing, and a high level of compliance by those contacted, then numbers of positive cases should start to fall in a week or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭MOR316

Sconsey wrote: »
    1. I don't think I have a sick mind, I thought your language was trying to imply something sick. In fairness you probably were not and I apologise for the implication.

2. The person was reporting their observation of a lack of social distancing, in a Covid forum, but you decided they should heve better things to do with their day. Are they not entitled to discuss their relevant observations?

Am I not entitled to say people, especially children, should be left alone without being judged for their innocent actions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

gipi wrote: »
    Are they testing nursing homes, etc., again?

Yep every 2 weeks now. Nursing homes, care centres etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

seamus wrote: »
    The 7-day positivity rate increased from 1.2 to 1.3%
    If today's number was 1.1% then we generally wouldn't expect the 7-day rate to increase. If the data is marginal between 1.2 and 1.3 though or day 8 was big drop/increase, then the stats can go weird.

The positivity rate is pretty meaningless when we target and blanket test.

It was a lot more accurate when the profile of the virus was largely in these settings.

The more pertinent number is the amount of community positives compared to the amount of community tests, because that is where the profile has shifted.

Also 1000 contacts a day not showing up for testing is a worry, instances are definitely being missed.

Am I not entitled to say people, especially children, should be left alone without being judged for their innocent actions?

Is the other person not entitled to say they see feck all social distancing taking place in a bunch of school kids and it worries them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Nothing to think about. The implications in your post were downright offensive and can be seen as such no matter what side of the debate somebody is on.

As I keep saying and I will say it again. Taking offence is a choice. Your choice. Good for you.

Is the other person not entitled to say they see feck all social distancing taking place in a bunch of school kids and it worries them?

Depends, did they have a curtain hung on the windscreen?

They're a bunch of children, cop on and give it a rest, the pair of you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

hmmm wrote: »
    What makes you say that? 1.1% positivity would be in line with previous days.

There has been 292 positive tests the last 2 days.

If todays total announced is 98, that will be 193 (95+98) announced over the last 2 days - a 99 shortfall. There was also a small shortfall on Wednesday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

(I am going to throw this beaut out there)

I know full well the biggest curtain twitchers in Ireland and the most vocal 'lockdown' Nazis are the same class of people that stayed remarkably silent during decades of Catholic Church inspired abuses that riddled this country.
    I want people to take precautions (social distancing, appropriate mask wearing) and it's pretty clear that a large stupid proportion of people need to be spoonfed the rules so by your estimation I'm probably a lockdown Nazi. I wasn't alive for the decades of abuse and I have absolutely nothing to do with religion. Fairly weird conjecture to associate the two unrelated situations. Are you ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,009 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

And plenty of these older people, regardless of potentially being adversely affected by the virus if they get it, just want to get on with their lives without any more of the recently over the top response from Govt :)

That is their prerogative.
    But I bet they don't want to be told " hey , you've lived your life , " or you should have looked after yourself better !" if they catch it .

(I am going to throw this beaut out there)

I know full well the biggest curtain twitchers in Ireland and the most vocal 'lockdown' Nazis are the same class of people that stayed remarkably silent during decades of Catholic Church inspired abuses that riddled this country.

Would say the opposite would be the case actually going by the posters crying about the pubs etc, they normally don't like facts or possible consequences and try to shout down anyone who disagrees.

Personally don't give a f*ck who goes to the pub etc, but recognise the bullsh1t spouted by most of those on here who do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Sometimes I wonder what's the point of testing, test 10000 get 130 cases, test 5000 get 65 etc.

What's the point? What's the strategy? Are just trying to keep the numbers low?

we're not going for zero covid, and hospitalizations are slowly increasing. We could stuck in this twilight zone until a vaccine comes out. The government really needs to tell people the plan so they've hope.

Now it's just a free for all, some taking the restrictions seriously, some half following them and others have just totally gone against them.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Goldengirl wrote: »
    That is their prerogative.
    But I bet they don't want to be told " hey , you've lived your life , " or you should have looked after yourself better !" if they catch it .

I agree. But most elderly people I've spoken to, and I have a fair few in my family, are pretty pragmatic about this and think the whole thing is being over managed by Govt.

Depends, did they have a curtain hung on the windscreen?

They're a bunch of children, cop on and give it a rest, the pair of you!

You're on the wrong forum if you don't care about people commenting on the state of social distancing. Maybe if you had more cop on you'd realise that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭blowitupref

14,064 tests must be the highest testing number for a 24hr period?

Clusters or community spread? I thought they couldn't identify community spread, but regardless, they are not known as a significant source from what I gather, compared to other sources which are not being watched more closely.

If you read the post I was replying to , it will be clear to you that I was answering a question about clusters OR community spread.
    My answer relates to clusters announced last week which is in the public domain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

I personally think the time has come to open up everything and get on with evolution.
    Those that don't think it's real or that there is any point to restrictions will fall ill, pass it on to older relatives and die.
    They are the cohort that are causing the numbers to remain high anyway.
    If there is no long term consequences then they won't have any.
    If there are then they will and they'll have to deal with them.
    I'd prefer a short sharp kick in the face at this stage.
    Let's be brave and hard at the same Time.
    Put your heart where your mouth is.
    Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,051 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

s1ippy wrote: »
    I want people to take precautions (social distancing, appropriate mask wearing) and it's pretty clear that a large stupid proportion of people need to be spoonfed the rules so by your estimation I'm probably a lockdown Nazi. I wasn't alive for the decades of abuse and I have absolutely nothing to do with religion. Fairly weird conjecture to associate the two unrelated situations. Are you ok?

My great grandfather died at the hands of the Nazis the day after his 30th birthday so we could have our freedoms. All for nothing they way some of ye are carrying on welcoming this new normal.
    The fact your opening comparing yourself to one makes my blood boil.

Working nights last week didn't see the news and I gave up watching the Nphet briefings long ago.
    Can you provide a link?

No . But it came from Dr R Glynn both on news and briefing early in the week. Limerick and Clare I think .
    RTE player or YouTube?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Sometimes I wonder what's the point of testing, test 10000 get 130 cases, test 5000 get 65 etc.

we're not going for zero covid, and hospitalizations are slowly increasing. We could stuck in this twilight zone until a vaccine comes out. The government really needs to tell people the plan so they've hope.

Now it's just a free for all, some taking the restrictions seriously, some half following them and others have just totally gone against them.
    The bulk of it is in very specific locations, known to be very high risk - care homes and food and meat plants. It's trying to make sure it doesn't get back in there. As for people this point was predicted way back in March. The challenge is to keep as many people as possible onside in the absence of any real changes to what we've been doing for months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I'll be accused of scare-mongering by the usual suspects for posting this, but it's a reputable source and we can't all hide away from reality. Anyone with a bit of sense would want to take some reasonable precautions to avoid getting this disease until we know more about the damage it does, even if you are not in a highly vulnerable group.

https://www.statnews.com/2020/09/04/carnage-in-lab-dish-shows-how-coronavirus-may-damage-heart/

"Concern about long-term damage to the heart stems from the fact that unlike the liver, for example, it cannot regenerate its tissues. Doctors in Germany reported earlier this summer that 39 autopsies and cardiac MRIs of 100 patients showed damage to the hearts of older people who died (average age of 85) and younger people (average age of 49) who weren’t even hospitalized for their apparently mild Covid-19 infections. "

You're on the wrong forum if you don't care about people commenting on the state of social distancing. Maybe if you had more cop on you'd realise that.

They're children ffs :D What the hell do you expect??

Considering you automatically thought I was referring to Paedophilia when I made my original post, it's not me who needs to cop on.

In short, stop being an arse! There is no social distancing in classrooms or the school yards! They're children who don't understand the magnitude of it all!

I can judge an adult for not complying to social distancing but, a child?

Yeah, I'm not a dick

Oranage2 wrote: »

Exactly. Does the government say we have to live with other things such as class a drugs/serious crime. They say we are going to war on these things and have a zero tolerance to it.but with covid they say we will live with it to the public. its message is too vague. Zero tolerance on covid doesnt mean failure if there is cases, it means govt/public trying hard to to get rid of it. Simple clear message instead of this current nonsense. Public have given up understanding the message.

If there were clusters and community spread from the places you mentioned, it would be headline news on RTE ever night and the subject of many pages here.
    Was on the news last week and NPHET briefings .
    Clusters or community spread? I thought they couldn't identify community spread, but regardless, they are not known as a significant source from what I gather, compared to other sources which are not being watched more closely.
    If you read the post I was replying to , it will be clear to you that I was answering a question about clusters OR community spread.
    My answer relates to clusters announced last week which is in the public domain.

I'm obviously reading you wrong then. My reading of the above was that Plumbthedepths referenced both and you didn't clarify only clusters in your response.

5 clusters from pubs / restaurants. One of note numbers wise. All clusters are now closed as per HPSC data.

5 isn't alot now at all is it

Never said it was .
    Question as to whether there was any was asked , and duly answered . No further comment on it, but it is a fact that clusters have and will occur and efforts to contain it should continue , do you not agree ?

If opening wet pubs , which I have no problem with , the pubs all should comply with whatever regulations are in place , whether some people find them silly or not .
    It shows a capability to comply with guidelines .
    It will be dropped as soon as wet pubs open , won't it ?

They're children ffs :D What the hell do you expect??

Considering you automatically thought I was referring to Paedophilia when I made my original post, it's not me who needs to cop on.

In short, stop being an arse! There is no social distancing in classrooms or the school yards! They're children who don't understand the magnitude of it all!

I can judge an adult for not complying to social distancing but, a child?

Yeah, I'm not a dick

From what I've seen since all the way back to March, kids haven't been social distancing outside. And we had practical zero community transmission for quite a while. So it's not something that I personally think is a situation that is contributing to current case loads.

If you have any interest we have discussed meat factories at length over the last few weeks .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Benimar wrote: »
    There has been 292 positive tests the last 2 days.

If todays total announced is 98, that will be 193 (95+98) announced over the last 2 days - a 99 shortfall. There was also a small shortfall on Wednesday.

Another big Saturday on the cards. 200+