Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

revenue is in all likely hood going to be watching this like a hawk, as it effects them because if pubs are writing down that meals have been sold, then tax will be owed on those meals.
    if there is evidence to show meals have been sold yet meals haven't been sold then i wouldn't be surprised if the revenue were to check to make sure there is no fraud going on.

the showing of reseats will likely come if there is enough to prove that there is non-compliance, and even if simply writing something down on a piece of paper gets the gards off their back, not a chance is it going to work with the revenue.
    i think now in fairness the government have the pubs by the balls on this one.

talking and spelling ****e

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

it will be pulled tomorrow that's egg head doing too much coke in wicklow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,348 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

So much incorrect with this I dont know where to start. I'll probably leave it until morning though.

€9 meals and fraud... clutching at straws here.

I'm done for tonight though, but I sent your post onto a mate working in revenue. All I got back on WhatsApp was a load of laughing emojis followed by the words not a chance.

I sent my post to a friend in revenue and he said it's something that already do to check for vat compliance.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

Is it really that big of a deal? Am I meant to get all bothered if a restaurant takes note for 28 days that I had pasta on a certain date? It's not like I'm handing over my PPS number, bank account details or address to the restaurant.

A restaurant I went to recently had a sheet with names and contact numbers left next to the till unattended. I'd be more bothered about that than them taking note of what I ate.

It seems more like the publicans are outraged on my behalf that they will actually have to serve alcohol and food together because the new rules should allow all this to be checked out. I'm ok with the new rules, thanks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

PTH2009 wrote: »
    this time next month all pubs should be open (sadly we will have an idea about who have gone out of business). What business hours they will be ?? **** knows but it wont be pre covid hours for a few weeks

Nightclubs/late bars wont follow til closer to Xmas/Early 2021 im guessing

No nightclubs /late bars reopening until 2022 at the earliest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,201 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

it will be pulled tomorrow that's egg head doing too much coke in wicklow

Too funny (Egg Head :) )

But I wondered is there a valid point to this new requirement, I suspect it stems from the clear knowledge alot if pubs actually acting the maggot re serving alledged €9 meals, Gardai themselves must see what's going on, a stale looking frozen pizza left on a plate for hours whilst those around it enjoy a few beers etc.

Just from a paperwork perspective, even pubs that don't have state of the art POS systems are legally required to issue receipts so I don't get why it would be terribly complicated, apart of course from explaining how a frozen pizza cost €9

A bit of hysteria me thinks from the sanctimonious VFI I'm afraid.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Too funny (Egg Head :) )

But I wondered is there a valid point to this new requirement, I suspect it stems from the clear knowledge alot if pubs actually acting the maggot re serving alledged €9 meals, Gardai themselves must see what's going on, a stale looking frozen pizza left on a plate for hours whilst those around it enjoy a few beers etc.

Just from a paperwork perspective, even pubs that don't have state of the art POS systems are legally required to issue receipts so I don't get why it would be terribly complicated, apart of course from explaining how a frozen pizza cost €9

A bit of hysteria me thinks from the sanctimonious VFI I'm afraid.

The issue is more to do with another stupid guideline when there is so much more that needs attention, if they had come out with a valid health safety reason for this I think it would have been accepted without question, when the tourism minister was questioned about it, she didn't have a clue why it was brought in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,201 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Poorside wrote: »
    The issue is more to do with another stupid guideline when there is so much more that needs attention, if they had come out with a valid health safety reason for this I think it would have been accepted without question, when the tourism minister was questioned about it, she didn't have a clue why it was brought in.

Fair point, communication skills have been somewhat lacking with this government

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

So it to stop people goin to the pub and mingling.
    I live in my own, work on my own and can go the whole week seeing no one. I used to go to the pub to meet and talk to people. It’s not the drink I was after. So now I’ll have to book a table and go and sit in my own. Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Fair point, communication skills have been somewhat lacking with this government
    It's also a wildly excessive measure given there have been about 200 venues not in compliance and that a lot of the more recent infections are from community settings. Ultimately the message is that the government, the Martin & Donnelly axis of it, will just legislate their way to compliance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

Poorside wrote: »

We need temperance in society. The average guy can neck three pints in an hour and a half. If that same guy has a substantial meal then that’s knocked down to two pints in a sitting within the time allowance. Basically the policy is a measure that puts the brakes on pub crawling and as a result transmission of the virus. A couple of pubs into it and you would barely be able to move. Now imagine having to eat four substantial meals to have eight pints, the soakage alone would mean you would still be sober anyway. The policy discourages behaviours that are contrary to what is expected of people by our experts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

How stupid will this look if they open the pubs in 3 weeks time?

hynesie08 wrote: »
    You ain't seeing a nightclub till we see a vaccine......

What if there is no vaccine or it is only partly effective?

Should we just accept that nightlife was the good ol days and never open a late bar again?

Even if we continue with just a handful of deaths a month?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Jimmy will have to provide a stool sample.
    There'll be a full forensic examination of every turd in the jacks of every pub in the country daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Donnelly added them in, Failte Ireland only added them into their doc because of that

I remember Donnelly as an independent in 2008 and the financial collapse . He was pretty good and spoke some sense.

What a fcukin disaster he has been since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

you do love a good misery post.
    covid will be gone by early 2021, herd immunity will be achieved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

How stupid will this look if they open the pubs in 3 weeks time?

Monday two weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Monday two weeks

Confident of that ? Appears to be the date guidelines come out even though we all know it'll be the same minus the food

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

keep trying.

revenue is in all likely hood going to be watching this like a hawk, as it effects them because if pubs are writing down that meals have been sold, then tax will be owed on those meals.
    if there is evidence to show meals have been sold yet meals haven't been sold then i wouldn't be surprised if the revenue were to check to make sure there is no fraud going on.

the showing of reseats will likely come if there is enough to prove that there is non-compliance, and even if simply writing something down on a piece of paper gets the gards off their back, not a chance is it going to work with the revenue.
    i think now in fairness the government have the pubs by the balls on this one.

The entire concept is completely unenforceable. It is a meeting table idea that some pen pushers made up to keep the head nodders happy.

What are they going to do, set up some phucking task force to implement the workings of a document set up by a PR team?

This thread should be teeming with 28 days later Zombie jokes at this stage.

There is simply no resources to be going around spot checking boozers to see who was on the beer 23 days ago? What date was that anyway?

Can anybody tell me what the story is with events like communions, christenings? Are they considered the same as weddings and the group can be split into smaller groups of 6? Was reading the SI there and there's mention of "relevant event" but I couldn't make head nor tail of it.

I will generally bring a skiv or bat to communions or christenings. Ya jas nevva know , ya knaw?

I might tool up for a wedding though, just in case. Leave her in the car like, ya knaw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭bladespin

Not what I've heard but I'm sure your source is as reliable as mine.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Jaysus!

Positive news comes through and the rabble move onto giving out about pubs having to keep records (which a till and till roll should be able to do easily, it's not that difficult).

Nobody here REALLY cares about pubs do they? They just care about having an aul whinge!

A lot of you need to get out more. Stop moaning and just go have a pint!

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Jaysus!

Positive news comes through

And what postive news is that ?

That in 2 weeks there'll be some sort of plan for living with covid in the medium term ? Not sure thats exactly postive news now as its been flagged up for weeks that a new roadmap was coming.
    Apart from that I don't see what postive news there is for publicans, because things are no clearer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,178 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Why all this fake outrage over being asked to record what customers order food wise

I suspect ALOT of pubs are not complying with the requirements and they are now caught by the balls over this

Doesn't a till record all of this stuff?

When I worked in pubs, the till had two receipt rolls.

Both recorded each transaction as it was put through. One was the customers' copy and the other was the copy for the business.

Would this not be good enough?

Why all this fake outrage over being asked to record what customers order food wise

I suspect ALOT of pubs are not complying with the requirements and they are now caught by the balls over this

I hear there's a protest planned outside the Dail this weekend against pub workers being forced to sign that little sheet in the jacks that lets customers know that they've recently been cleaned.

Twitter solicitors everywhere are tweeting the Data Commissioner to see if it breaches GDPR!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

28 days though to maintain and then dispose of data is an overhead pubs don't need. 48 hrs is enough at the most.

It makes no sense - beyond stupid this idea and will do more damage than good to the public health message.

They have made a massive mistake here and on the back of golf gate aswell where compliance was already dented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,178 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

What’s the big deal over the pubs providing a record of what customers ordered

Could it be They are just disgusted they actually have to take the regs seriously now

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Doesn't a till record all of this stuff?

When I worked in pubs, the till had two receipt rolls.

Both recorded each transaction as it was put through. One was the customers' copy and the other was the copy for the business.

Would this not be good enough?

nope not all would, worked in pubs up to 3 years ago myself and there wasn't 2 recepits nor did we have a POS system. It was your basic till. Till at the end of the day gave a printout of cash balance and that was it.

The only copy the business had was the order docket and the kitchen would usually just bin that.

Also appears now that ticking a box on contact tracing sheet will do.
    The question was asked to Adrian Cummins of the Restaurant Association of Ireland on morning Ireland, do restaurants have the ability to implement this requirement ?

The answer was,
    "Very simply for your listeners, the print to receipts they can give one to customer and one for their records or in the contact tracing book when a customer comes in the door put down their time of entry and lead person you just put a tick that their having a meal, for me from government information services last night that is what is being required".