Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Well if they go on a feed of Guinness and curry then there might be.

At least you'll be able to check with the pub what you had to eat for 28 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,179 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Poorside wrote: »

We're gone beyond a joke now with this new legislation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Poorside wrote: »

Finally a solid rule that will keep the Covid at bay!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Keep the pubs closed, it's the only way. (Sarcastic post).

If it's table service only, and no mingling I could live with it, but if not, well there's the issue.

"No food pubs" should provide a bit of tapa like stuff anyway, but they wouldn't give you a packet of Manhattan peanuts. Feck them.

Even a plate of chips or something. But no, never. Miserable yokes.
    I think yourself and Mr stuffins need to hook up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

Keep the pubs closed, it's the only way. (Sarcastic post).

If it's table service only, and no mingling I could live with it, but if not, well there's the issue.

"No food pubs" should provide a bit of tapa like stuff anyway, but they wouldn't give you a packet of Manhattan peanuts. Feck them.

Even a plate of chips or something. But no, never. Miserable yokes.

haha, theyre miserable because YOU want free food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,491 ✭✭✭✭L1011

If you compare prices in the tapa serving areas of Spain to the nearby ones that don't - you're paying for them; directly, as the price is folded straight in to the drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

They should weigh people before and after they enter the pub too for the 28 day log of data, ffs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

28 Days Later.

Someone been watching to much Netflix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,746 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

So will people have to buy food in so called wet pubs and them keep a record for 28 days ? They are making it fierce convoluted for small rural pubs who won’t serve food and won’t be keeping records of the aul lads who come there once a week for a few pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,746 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

The government are making a balls of this pub reopening. It was going to be challenge anyway but they’re like a Gaelic football team playing it across the back line and not being able to get the ball out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭Dickie10

the publicns and vfi need to just go along with this 28 day thing and say yeah yeah of course and move on. the dog on the street knows its just a line on a bit of paper that will never be enforced it wont be remebered this time next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Heat_Wave

I was in town last night and myself and my friend went into a popular pub on Dame Street and we were served drinks no problem without ordering food.

It is sad that some pubs are benefiting/breaking the rules, whilst others are unable to open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,348 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

The VFIand the pubs themselves entirely to blame for the new rules regarding record keeping. We all know the reason why this has been introduced: it's because so many pubs have been flouting the rules around the serving of food and the 105min limit. Every single person in Ireland knows of someone who has spent an entire evening in a food pub in the last few weeks unchallenged, they may even have done so themselves.

The record keeping isn't particularly onerous either. It just means that the order slips are retained. Hardly a huge issue.

But the VFI love a whinge or to bring others down instead of innovating or improving themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

The VFIand the pubs themselves entirely to blame for the new rules regarding record keeping. We all know the reason why this has been introduced: it's because so many pubs have been flouting the rules around the serving of food and the 105min limit. Every single person in Ireland knows of someone who has spent an entire evening in a food pub in the last few weeks unchallenged, they may even have done so themselves.

The record keeping isn't particularly onerous either. It just means that the order slips are retained. Hardly a huge issue.

But the VFI love a whinge or to bring others down instead of innovating or improving themselves.

And what difference does this make to anything at all ?

All they have to do is write, €9 pizza or chicken wings for example beside someone's name if they've not had food or if they've had food.

Its an issue because its pointless for the reason I've outlined above, its not exactly going to change anything and there's not a hope in hell that Gardai are going to be bothered going in and asking what Jimmy had to eat last week.

And yes there are issues here, its with the data protection commissioner now and working in an area that deals daily with GDPR I can't see her being favourable towards it. Its not exactly a retain the order docket situation

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

And what difference does this make anything ?

All they have to do is write, pizza, chicken wings for example beside someone's name if they've not had food.

Its an issue because its pointless for the reason I've outlined above and there's not a hope in hell that Gardai are going to be bothered going in and asking what Jimmy had to eat last week

Jimmy will have to provide a stool sample.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,348 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

And what difference does this make anything ?

All they have to do is write, pizza, chicken wings for example beside someone's name if they've not had food.

Its an issue because its pointless for the reason I've outlined above and there's not a hope in hell that Gardai are going to be bothered going in and asking what Jimmy had to eat last week

They are not going to go in and ask what Jimmy has to eat last week, but they might go in and see Jimmy and his mates with eight empties in front of him. "Oh he's just finished his pizza, Garda". Right so, let's see the slips and the receipts, in fact let's see all your slips and receipts for the last month. They might forge the order slips but they won't say they made sales they didn't. A pub is not going to pay taxes on fake dinners is it?

You know as well as I do that a significant proportion of pubs are not adhering to the rules around covid and food properly. Not only is it dangerous from a public health perspective but it also gives them an unfair advantage over those that do adhere to them. As I said, they have only themselves to blame here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,483 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Serious questions here.

Who are the people in Failte Ireland who wrote those guidelines.

And what experience does this Donnelly fella have to implement it.

It seems to me that the Tansition Year student is getting his advice from the university students on work experience.

They are not going to go in and ask what Jimmy has to eat last week, but they might go in and see Jimmy and his mates with eight empties in front of him. "Oh he's just finished his pizza, Garda". Right so, let's see the slips and the receipts, in fact let's see all your slips and receipts for the last month. They might forge the order slips but they won't say they made sales they didn't. A pub is not going to pay taxes on fake dinners is it?

You know as well as I do that a significant proportion of pubs are not adhering to the rules around covid and food properly. Not only is it dangerous from a public health perspective but it also gives them an unfair advantage over those that do adhere to them. As I said, they have only themselves to blame here.

What on earth are you bringing taxes into this for ?? A Garda isn't going to check the books nor is anyone to see how many sales of food you made. Christ almighty, all they have to show is it written down beside their name or just have a food docket that didn't go through the till, simple, no till receipts no nothing. Very easy to write down €9 pizza beside someones name on the contact tracing sheet or wherever the establishment keeps their list which shows its utterly pointless to implement.

A significant proportion not adhering to rules?? Are you basing this from social media or personal experience. I think I've been in maybe 2 establishments max since hosptiality began to reopen where not every guideline was being stuck to. Those implementing far out weighs those not.

5 clusters recorded against pubs/restaurants since the beginning of covid, all 5 clusters declared closed.

We'll agree to disagree I'm sure but its utterly pointless asking for a record to be kept of what I or anyone else eats for 28 days and like I say I'd expect something from the DPC

BPKS wrote: »
    Serious questions here.

Who are the people in Failte Ireland who wrote those guidelines.

And what experience does this Donnelly fella have to implement it.

It seems to me that the Tansition Year student is getting his advice from the university students on work experience.

Donnelly added them in, Failte Ireland only added them into their doc because of that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

I honestly think the government could come up with any stifling, illogical, impractical guideline and some people would get behind it if it meant a pub found it harder to operate.

I think the day the rest of the pubs can open is coming soon, but I am fearful as to what hoops we'll have to jump through when they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,771 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

What on earth are you bringing taxes into this for ?? A Garda isn't going to check the books nor is anyone to see how many sales of food you made.

revenue is in all likely hood going to be watching this like a hawk, as it effects them because if pubs are writing down that meals have been sold, then tax will be owed on those meals.
    if there is evidence to show meals have been sold yet meals haven't been sold then i wouldn't be surprised if the revenue were to check to make sure there is no fraud going on.
    Christ almighty, all they have to show is it written down beside their name, simple, no receipts no nothing. Very easy to write down €9 pizza beside someones name which shows its utterly pointless.

the showing of reseats will likely come if there is enough to prove that there is non-compliance, and even if simply writing something down on a piece of paper gets the gards off their back, not a chance is it going to work with the revenue.
    i think now in fairness the government have the pubs by the balls on this one.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,785 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

this time next month all pubs should be open (sadly we will have an idea about who have gone out of business). What business hours they will be ?? **** knows but it wont be pre covid hours for a few weeks

Nightclubs/late bars wont follow til closer to Xmas/Early 2021 im guessing

revenue is in all likely hood going to be watching this like a hawk, as it effects them because if pubs are writing down that meals have been sold, then tax will be owed on those meals.
    if there is evidence to show meals have been sold yet meals haven't been sold then i wouldn't be surprised if the revenue were to check to make sure there is no fraud going on.

the showing of reseats will likely come if there is enough to prove that there is non-compliance, and even if simply writing something down on a piece of paper gets the gards off their back, not a chance is it going to work with the revenue.
    i think now in fairness the government have the pubs by the balls on this one.

So much incorrect with this I dont know where to start. I'll probably leave it until morning though.

€9 meals and fraud... clutching at straws here.

I'm done for tonight though, but I sent your post onto a mate working in revenue. All I got back on WhatsApp was a load of laughing emojis followed by the words not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,449 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Can anybody tell me what the story is with events like communions, christenings? Are they considered the same as weddings and the group can be split into smaller groups of 6? Was reading the SI there and there's mention of "relevant event" but I couldn't make head nor tail of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,499 ✭✭✭emo72

Open the pubs from tomorrow and stop all this bull****. Give them a chance. I feel like John and yoko here.
    All we are saying is give pubs a chance......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,619 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »
    this time next month all pubs should be open (sadly we will have an idea about who have gone out of business). What business hours they will be ?? **** knows but it wont be pre covid hours for a few weeks

Nightclubs/late bars wont follow til closer to Xmas/Early 2021 im guessing

You ain't seeing a nightclub till we see a vaccine......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,968 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Can anybody tell me what the story is with events like communions, christenings? Are they considered the same as weddings and the group can be split into smaller groups of 6? Was reading the SI there and there's mention of "relevant event" but I couldn't make head nor tail of it.
    A wedding is a marriage

A communion or confirmation is not a marriage

Is it hard to understand the difference ?

A wedding is a marriage

Cheers for the smartarse reply. They're both group bookings, it's not that hard to grasp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,968 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

A wedding is a marriage