Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Tim76

is it just me or are a lot of Ads on UK tv nothing but doom and gloom, insurance for when you die, leave money for your loved ones, have you had a accident at work, really depressing adverts., Hate them all.

I'm noticing lots of charity ads as well for various diseases, water, tigers, pandas & donkeys. If I donated to all of them myself and the family would be featuring on one of the ads before long.

Tim76 wrote: »
    I'm noticing lots of charity ads as well for various diseases, water, tigers, pandas & donkeys. If I donated to all of them myself and the family would be featuring on one of the ads before long.

Those ads are often punctuated for ads for pay day loans.

I sometimes wonder if the reason the person needs the payday loan is because they've donated to sponsor a tiger, a gorilla, a dolphin and poor Kamal over in Africa who has to walk 8 miles a day to get water.

One of my colleagues was putting her child to bed one night and the child asked her if she thought she had been mis-sold PPI(Payment protection Insurance).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,976 ✭✭✭optogirl

Virgin Media's radio ad about being fast. Voiced I believe by Brian Cox. Some piano player who can play really fast. Commonly heard on NewsTalk.

I cringe every time it comes on.

Christ yes. Why is speed admirable in playing a piano?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

The Lidl ad where the mother says in a monotone “we are looking forward to them going back to school and we’re not bad parents for saying that” Christ almighty she’s such a horrendous actress in every one of those ads.

That dreadful Ladbrokes ad with the idiots pretending to be big horse racing fans :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

The Lidl ad where the mother says in a monotone “we are looking forward to them going back to school and we’re not bad parents for saying that” Christ almighty she’s such a horrendous actress in every one of those ads.

Also why do they say its been a long time since the 15th of March ? At least get the facts right the schools closed on the 12 th of March

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

That bloody Vodafone ad with the dancing kid.

Fupp off like!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Acosta

It would be funny if there was a monster under the bed and it ate the child.

The mother with the D4 accent browsing fish recipes but its meant to look like shes browsing tinder.

The dialogue is so clunky, and at times syntactically incorrect.

I could write better dialogue. It would still be a lousy ad, but it would be a lousy ad with professional execution.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Another song massacred by Volvo.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭trashcan

Acosta wrote: »
    It would be funny if there was a monster under the bed and it ate the child.

Or the Grandad shouts "JESUS CHRiST" when he looks under the bed, and the kid drops his tablet in fright ��

• Registered Users Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

trashcan wrote: »
    Or the Grandad shouts "JESUS CHRiST" when he looks under the bed, and the kid drops his tablet in fright ��

What if there was a priest in a cassock, minding his own business under the bed, would that have worked I wonder??

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

is it just me or are a lot of Ads on UK tv nothing but doom and gloom, insurance for when you die, leave money for your loved ones, have you had a accident at work, really depressing adverts., Hate them all.
    Tim76 wrote: »

and its mainly daytime when these ads are on, i suppose when the old dears are watching

• Registered Users Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭oneweb

The Imelda May one?

Every time I listen to radio online it plays. :mad:

Really sick of that "poetry in Dublin accent" thing Emmet Kirwan popularised.

"go for a gander, a meander"

"Go for a propaganda, a meander." I block out the rest of the ad 'cos I just can't unhear that bit �� [hear-no-evil monkey, 'cos boards can't process edits with emoji]

It is what it's.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Three and Deliveroo ads and any ads like them, which is basically people acting like twats on their phones with horrible noisy background music.

UK radio - "JUUUUST ONNNNE CORNEEEETTO, GIVE IT TO MEEE. THE PHONE, I MEAN". No, ye dumb twat, you specifically asked for one Cornetto. Anyway that was more than 20 years ago, when it actually worked. Obviously resurrected by some young wans in marketing who've never heard the original.

Oh, then the mother joins in, to the dumb twat's forced laugh.

It is what it's.

Rat House Garden Centre's another radio one. With a rip of Ugly Betty opening credits music which did my head in 'till I figured it out.

(Ratoath)

It is what it's.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,300 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Three and Deliveroo ads and any ads like them, which is basically people acting like twats on their phones with horrible noisy background music.

When that deliveroo driver was tragically killed a few days ago, folks were quick to mention how Deliveroo is rather douchey to their employees.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

rubadub wrote: »
    I don't know, but that's a bit harsh on poor auld Tubridy.

I think they mean D'arsey... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

The AIB ad. It takes a certain kind of brave :mad:
    Workers dashing around the place all jutting jaws and full of piss and vinegar, you would swear it was shot in America rather than Ireland.

AIB acting like thay are the benevolent saviour of Irish business when they have lumbered us with a massive debt, the interest alone economists now say we will never be able to pay off. It is going to grow and grow and bleed our little nation dry forever :(
    Thanks a bunch AIB...NOT!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

The AIB ad. It takes a certain kind of brave :mad:
    Workers dashing around the place all jutting jaws and full of piss and vinegar, you would swear it was shot in America rather than Ireland.

Dreadful ads. They used to have one with an awful annoying voiceover. 'We're backing brave' ... wtf, that does not even make sense.

I'm going to laugh though now when I see their ads, because your description is excellent :D

What if there was a priest in a cassock, minding his own business under the bed, would that have worked I wonder??

A savage eye sketch in the making :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

That Liberty insurance ad seems to on non stop. The ad is a poor enough effort but there's one individual in it who I want to harm everytime I see his mug. "I know a plumber but his name's leaky". That lad, that type of character, who thinks he's great craic, a self proclaimed archbishop of Banterbury. The sort of lad who goes into the local pub and there is a collective sigh " not that feckin dose".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,013 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Sam Hain wrote: »
    That Liberty insurance ad seems to on non stop. The ad is a poor enough effort but there's one individual in it who I want to harm everytime I see his mug. "I know a plumber but his name's leaky". That lad, that type of character, who thinks he great craic, a self proclaimed archbishop of Canterbury. The sort of lad who goes into the local pub and there is a collective sigh " not that feckin dose".

Couldn’t have put it better myself....the most punchable face on telly at the moment....smiling at his own “wit” before it’s revealed to the rest of us...:mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,971 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Sam Hain wrote: »
    That Liberty insurance ad seems to on non stop. The ad is a poor enough effort but there's one individual in it who I want to harm everytime I see his mug. "I know a plumber but his name's leaky". That lad, that type of character, who thinks he great craic, a self proclaimed archbishop of Canterbury. The sort of lad who goes into the local pub and there is a collective sigh " not that feckin dose".

Brilliant absolutely brilliant:D I'm laughing here.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,013 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

And the father trying to be “down with the kids “ self-recording himself and the teenage daughter (and the poor daughter cringing along with the rest of us):eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

That stupid spilt milk on the page ad . I just realised today that I knew it off by heart but had no clue what it was actually advertising

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    That stupid spilt milk on the page ad . I just realised today that I knew it off by heart but had no clue what it was actually advertising

It's an annoying ad. I tune it out, but it's on every ad break.

The young one is old enough to know better than to grab a page that I presume is to do with a mortgage application, to mop up the milk or whatever gets spilt on the table.

Get a cloth or a piece of kitchen towel. :rolleyes:
    And the parents smiling indulgently at her.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,971 ✭✭✭CoBo55

It's an annoying ad. I tune it out, but it's on every ad break.

The young one is old enough to know better than to grab a page that I presume is to do with a mortgage application, to mop up the milk or whatever gets spilt on the table.

Get a cloth or a piece of kitchen towel. :rolleyes:
    And the parents smiling indulgently at her.

She reminds me of that poor girl that died in Malaysia..

No. Nobody said "Just Eat".

It is what it's.