Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

You keep saying this in multiple threads and have been called out on it multiple times, where are the facts for rising hospitalisations?
    We had 6 patients in hospital with confirmed Covid on July 30.

On 1 September, we had 35. This is all public information you can easily find, it's not being kept a secret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

hmmm wrote: »

On 1 September, we had 35. This is all public information you can easily find, it's not being kept a secret.

No, I will ask you to cite your claims, because I think you are deliberately conflating statistics to suit your agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

The local "wet' pubs are reopening next week where I am and will be serving food. Anyone else seeing this in their locales?

Should be interesting to see the reaction on a government and public level.

No, I will ask you to cite your claims, because I think you are deliberately conflating statistics to suit your agenda.
    They're announced at the press conference.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0902/1162839-covid-ireland-latest/

"At present, there are 42 confirmed cases in hospital and six in critical care units. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭Neowise

525183.PNG

The up you are talking about is equivalent to coming down from a mountain and going up a flight of stairs.

Speaking on RTÉ's Today with Claire Bryne, Prof Collins said the fact that hospitalisations are down is a good marker of how well Ireland is dealing with the pandemic.
    Prof Collins says they are down.

Health Service Executive CEO Paul Reid said 1,514 cases have been reported over the past 14 days, compared with 1,096 in the previous 14 days.
    He told a briefing this morning that the number of patients with Covid-19 in hospital and in intensive care units is reasonably stable overall.
    And Paul Reid says they are reasonably stable overall.

They're announced at the press conference.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0902/1162839-covid-ireland-latest/

"At present, there are 42 confirmed cases in hospital and six in critical care units. "

So there we are, from a clear and simple graphic on that link you just gave:

https://img.rasset.ie/00151d9b-614.jpg?ratio=1.78

Hospital admissions per day
    29th July - 1
    5th August - 2
    12th August - 1
    19th August - 3
    26th August - 3
    2nd September - 4

So admissions are pretty much negligible and yet you are repeatedly telling people that hospitalisations are rising. I hope other people can see the horse**** you are trying to sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

The local "wet' pubs are reopening next week where I am and will be serving food. Anyone else seeing this in their locales?

I've been seeing it for weeks! Plenty of pubs open.

Sounds like they are going to adhere to regulations? Not sure why Government & Public reactions shouldn't be that of delight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Well they aren't wet pubs in that case if they serve food. Classed as restaurants for the time being so they can open no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,785 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Things looking positive but they could still turnaround and say 'no not yet for wet pubs'

Leo says more than his prayers sometimes

So admissions are pretty much negligible and yet you are repeatedly telling people that hospitalisations are rising. I hope other people can see the horse**** you are trying to sell.
    Stop now, you're embarrassing yourself.

Hospital cases are rising. There are more cases in hospital today than the low point in July. That's the facts, even if you don't like them.

I think what you might be trying to say is "hospitalisation cases are rising, but not at a fast rate". In that case, yes that's correct, but the trend is going the wrong way. We need to bring it under control.

That's my final reply to you.

Stop now, you're embarrassing yourself.

Hospital cases are rising. There are more cases in hospital today than the low point in July. That's the facts, even if you don't like them.

I think what you might be trying to say is "hospitalisation cases are rising, but not at a fast rate". In that case, yes that's correct, but the trend is going the wrong way. We need to bring it under control.

That's my final reply to you.

As I say, I hope others reading can see the pattern in your posts and aren't led to believe the false narrative you are trying to push.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I've been seeing it for weeks! Plenty of pubs open.

Sounds like they are going to adhere to regulations? Not sure why Government & Public reactions shouldn't be that of delight.

Given the reaction so far in general towards pubs I'm sure there will be some inevitable anger towards the pubs "cheating" the system by serving food. People were hoping these pubs would be closed into the new year so of course they're going to be unhappy, regardless of whether they adhere to the rules. That's just the way some people are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Given the reaction so far in general towards pubs I'm sure there will be some inevitable anger towards the pubs "cheating" the system by serving food.

Sorry, but can you explain how the system, currently allowing pubs to open if they serve food, is being cheated by pubs opening and serving food?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Sorry, but can you explain how the system, currently allowing pubs to open if they serve food, is being cheated by pubs opening and serving food?

I don't have to explain a thing as there's plenty of posts on this thread showing exactly how people feel towards pubs in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,771 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Seems like the government might finally be accepting that we have to start living again.

that's funny because we have mostly been open for a few months now, so clearly the government accepted such ages ago.
    only the wet pubs, and other businesses which have lack of demand are closed.
    in fact our whole approach was about getting us back to normal as quickly as possible, while protecting the economy and suppressing the virus.

the poster has no agenda, nor has engaged in any sort of scare mongering or any sort of mongering or narrative.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

I don't have to explain a thing as there's plenty of posts on this thread showing exactly how people feel towards pubs in this country.

it's not pubs specifically they have an issue with, but the VFI, and those publicans shouting how wonderful they are in an aim to push the MUP agenda.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

that's funny because we have mostly been open for a few months now, so clearly the government accepted such ages ago.
    only the wet pubs, and other businesses which have lack of demand are closed.
    in fact our whole approach was about getting us back to normal as quickly as possible, while protecting the economy and suppressing the virus.

the poster has no agenda, nor has engaged in any sort of scare mongering or any sort of mongering or narrative.
    Lack of demand...Freudian slip on your part? The demand is certainly there, there is an appetite amongst the public for the pubs to reopen. I agree that they are not an essential service, but that doesn't mean that pubs are not in demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭bladespin

Lack of demand...Freudian slip on your part? The demand is certainly there, there is an appetite amongst the public for the pubs to reopen. I agree that they are not an essential service, but that doesn't mean that pubs are not in demand.

Think the problem is the opposite tbh, the govt are convinced we're all going to go out en masse and get langered - they may or may not have a point, I haven't been a frequent pub goer in the last 10 years but will up for a pint as soon as they do.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

no no, my lack of demand didn't specifically apply to pubs, but there may be other businesses who have decided to stay shut for now until demand begins to return which were who i was aiming my point at.
    some of the public will want the pubs to reopen but as said the pub is slowly dieing and there is not as much care for them as there once was.
    couple that with the VFI and some of the publicans pushing an agenda to try and force out the cheaper alternatives and force us all back in the pub, and the pub trade is certainly doing itself no favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I think there's an element of lack of trust of publicans and public to be honest. Not necessarily because out of "badness", more that the public are going to find it hard to adjust to the restrictions, and publicans are going to find it hard to enforce (especially the oft quoted Heart of the Community publican).

I'd hope to see some movement or plan on foot of greater enforcement powers. And I'd hope the non-food publicans would see this as an aid to get their punters to comply, as much as seeing at as punishment for them. Personally, I think it's going to be a nightmare for them to police their punters wanting the "old normal".

VFI as others have pointed out have done themselves no favours by looking for off sales bans, price increases etc. Particularly as there isn't the evidence of an increase in off sales. But I really find it hard to see the Governments motive to pay publicans and bar workers PUP, over safe opening!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

Just open the fcukin things and let's all go on a massive session!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,179 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Heard some guy on radio from HSE saying they are too great a risk to open he quoted about a cluster in a pub in Aberdeen, for God sake there are thousands of pubs in the UK Europe and Northern Ireland open and no rear problens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,968 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Heard some guy on radio from HSE saying they are too great a risk to open he quoted about a cluster in a pub in Aberdeen, for God sake there are thousands of pubs in the UK Europe and Northern Ireland open and no rear problens
    the pub in aberdeen was overcrowded with people standing and mingling. An absolute example of what not to do, and thats not what pubs/ restaurants look like anywhere I've seen on the continent

Thats also not whats proposed for Irish pubs.

If the HSE lad is using that as an example, then its clear he knows little about the example he is using, or he really has no clue of what a rural pub looks like, with barely enough customers to keep the place open from one end of the week to the next before Covid happened. It couldnt be more different to that pub in Aberdeen, and that on a Sunday afternoon too where an Irish pub would be empty, if not simply closed for lack of demand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Keep the pubs closed, it's the only way. (Sarcastic post).

If it's table service only, and no mingling I could live with it, but if not, well there's the issue.

"No food pubs" should provide a bit of tapa like stuff anyway, but they wouldn't give you a packet of Manhattan peanuts. Feck them.

Even a plate of chips or something. But no, never. Miserable yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,968 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Keep the pubs closed, it's the only way. (Sarcastic post).

If it's table service only, and no mingling I could live with it, but if not, well there's the issue.

"No food pubs" should provide a bit of tapa like stuff anyway, but they wouldn't give you a packet of Manhattan peanuts. Feck them.

Even a plate of chips or something. But no, never. Miserable yokes.
    table service and all sat down was proposed way back in April or May. The government, led by doctors on 6 figure salaries leading into a guaranteed very cushy pension and retirement (i.e. no worries in the slightest at any aspect of their own personal futures) with little concept of how free trade works, somehow saw auld men sat in pubs as being potential superspreaders, with little side thought to the livliehoods they were wrecking

Like at the height of the epidemic in March, the rules seem to be designed for Dublin (by dublin based doctors) but applied nationwide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

table service and all sat down was proposed way back in April or May. The government, led by doctors on 6 figure salaries leading into a guaranteed very cushy pension and retirement (i.e. no worries in the slightest at any aspect of their own personal futures) with little concept of how free trade works, somehow saw auld men sat in pubs as being potential superspreaders, with little side thought to the livliehoods they were wrecking

Like at the height of the epidemic in March, the rules seem to be designed for Dublin (by dublin based doctors) but applied nationwide.

Look, I am on the side of opening them up, but on the other hand can see the possible "dangers" of mingling and getting pie eyed, you know the score.

Pubs across Ireland outside of Dublin are mad places sometimes too, but a bit of C is often thrown in the mix.

Rural Ireland is not saintly, but Dublin pubs never said they were either. It's a balancing act. We are not used to being told how to behave really, although in fairness the 9 euro thing worked up to a point.

I dunno what the solution is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,746 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I’ve issue with the way the non food pubs have been treated since most of the rest of the economy was reopened to some degree and the date kept getting pushed out further. I’m sure like most the owners of their local are known to them beyond being a publican and that’s what I wasn’t happy with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭boombang

I have a Wetherspoons next to me. Full of tables of people in their early 20s. I can't see much food being eaten, but the standard of behaviour is generally pretty sensible and wouldn't worry me. However, you do get big crowds sometimes, especially of young lads that drink too much, leave half cut and are singing and roaring into each others faces while hugging/ boxing each other. It's this type of behaviour that I think spoils this for everyone. The problem is, once somebody's drunk, there's no telling them to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,774 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

If/when they reopen the pubs (hopefully the end of the month), is it likely they will keep the 1h 45 thing? You'd think that will only increase the amount of people doing pub crawls which is surely more dangerous than allowing people to stick in the one pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,746 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Storm 10 wrote: »

Well if they go on a feed of Guinness and curry then there might be.