Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,134 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Arghus wrote: »
    Back when people were scared and a lockdown was widely supported. His personal approval ratings rocketed immediately afterwards. You are missing my point.

Any unpopular decision during the Summer was more or less left to NPHET to announce. Anytime good news about phases or, even better, speeding them up was being announced - you could bet your bottom dollar Leo would be at that press conference.

Anytime there's a whiff of unpopular decisions then you won't find Leo at that announcement. MM, Donelley, fck it, you might even see Éamonn Ryan there for the craic. It's no harm to have the media asking why is the Taoiseach noticably absent, it's hardly because he disapproves of these unpopular decisions is it...

Anytime there's a balls up that seems vaguely FF in origin, there will be whisperings already out in media that Leo strongly disapproves of all this. Any good news or potentially popular ideas will have his name nebulously attached to it in media reports a few days beforehand.

He's become a way slicker operator in how to not be associated with unpopular ideas in the media and the minds of the public. That isn't necessarily a criticism, it's a display of political skill to be honest. He's better than I gave him credit for.

Well that's all a lie.

He was there introducing the first lockdowns.

Went onto the late late after it unprepared yet willing to address the nation.

Which he got slated for not been prepared.

Still put himself out there even though FG were just coming off the worst election in decades.

I think you're been very harsh here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

You don’t even know what it is do you?

Acute myocarditis can cause permanent heart damage or even sudden death, however most cases resolve themselves with no permanent damage, and that’s just the ones that are detected.

Most will be detected when patients who survive are going for an ECG and any general anaesthetic
    This is where some milder cases can cause problems with those affected suffering complications through a simple operation or dental surgery.

Or keeling over when they start training for their annual marathon or triathlon, as my family member did.

Or dying suddenly as Tony said.

Some will spontaneously heal, but cardiac tissue remains scarred , it never heals completely .

You are totally minimising an extremely serious side effect to suit your narrative.

I am done with you . Goodnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

I don’t get the Irish Examiner headline, its new that over 75’s are testing positive? erm were a loads testing positive in the spring? ie030920page1-1015x1536.jpghttps://www.broadsheet.ie/2020/09/02/thursdays-papers-48
    The breakdown in age groups testing positive is updated daily. They could have spotted that trend all along, they couldn't be arsed and only report it once it's pointed out to them by professor Nolan at the press conference today. Totally lazy journalism.

Goldengirl wrote: »
    I am not exaggerating , are you minimising?

No, I am challenging unnecessary fear. We must respect the challenge of the virus, but not assign magical properties to something that is behaving like a more severe example of what we already know. People have to live their lives with caution, but some people are being placed in a position of fear over something which for the vast majority won’t have major long term effects.

For example, the reduced death rate is largely down to more effective treatment, with use of steroids combined with antibiotics to prevent secondary bacterial infection. This is nothing new for respiratory viruses, it just took some time to get the more effective combinations going

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Wrong or bullsh1t?

Haha, would say the latter but am trying to be polite !:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

No, I am challenging unnecessary fear. We must respect the challenge of the virus, but not assign magical properties to something that is behaving like a more severe example of what we already know. People have to live their lives with caution, but some people are being placed in a position of fear over something which for the vast majority won’t have major long term effects.

For example, the reduced death rate is largely down to more effective treatment, with use of steroids combined with antibiotics to prevent secondary bacterial infection. This is nothing new for respiratory viruses, it just took some time to get the more effective combinations going

You're very certain of yourself.

What percentage of infected people do you expect to suffer prolonged effects from covid?

Haha, would say the latter but am trying to be polite !:pac:

Thought so, but not surprised :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,216 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Well that's all a lie.

He was there introducing the first lockdowns.

Went onto the late late after it unprepared yet willing to address the nation.

Which he got slated for not been prepared.

Still put himself out there even though FG were just coming off the worst election in decades.

I think you're been very harsh here.

No lies there I'm afraid.

Well, he had to put himself out there he was still technically Taoiseach!

You don't get the point I'm trying to make.

The lockdown was bad news, but at the same time it was a popular decision in the circumstances. Opinion polls were showing that 90% of people thought it was the right thing to do. Not announcing it would have been an unpopular decision!

I fully supported the lockdown and believe it worked and I give Leo some credit for being Taoiseach at the tíme, but let's not totally kid ourselves either: there wasn't any other option, he did what literally any other Irish political leader would have done in the circumstance.

Seriously watch how Varadkar allies himself with popular ideas and always manages to successfully distance himself from government fck ups. It's a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,510 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Wolf359f wrote: »
    The breakdown in age groups testing positive is updated daily. They could have spotted that trend all along, they couldn't be arsed and only report it once it's pointed out to them by professor Nolan at the press conference today. Totally lazy journalism.
    they are claiming Nolan said it was a 'new phenomenon' somewhere in the press conference today https://www.pscp.tv/rtenews/1ynKOqoMEzWJR he talks about age groups around ten minutes in but doesn't say what the Examiner said he said at that point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

HSE Daily Operations Update

39 in hospital, decrease of 1.
    7 confirmed cases in hospitals today, 4 in Beaumont, 1 in Connolly, Tallaght and Wexford.
    6 in ICU and 6 ventilated, no change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

39 in hospital and 6 of them in ICU the latest update tonight from the HSE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

HSE Operations report,
    39 covid paitents in hosptial tonight, down 1 on yesterday.

6 in ICU with 6 ventilated. No change on yesterday.

7 cases confirmed in hosptials.
    4 in Beaumont, 1 Tallaght, 1 Connolly & 1 Wexford.

Beaumont currently treating the most patients with 12 admitted.

Generally a stable day in terms of covid across hospitals based on the report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Over 50k cases in Spain in the past 7 days.

Huge spike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Hospitals:
    Beaumont (+3) - 12
    St James (--) - 6
    UHL (-1) - 4
    Kilkenny (--) - 3
    Connolly (--) - 2
    Letterkenny (--) - 2
    Tallaght (--) - 2
    Tullamore (--) - 2
    Wexford (+1) - 2
    Crumlin (--) - 1
    Mater (-1) - 1
    Naas (-1) - 1
    South Tipp (--) - 1
    UHW (-1) - 1
    Portlaoise (-1) - 0

Most will be detected when patients who survive are going for an ECG and any general anaesthetic
    This is where some milder cases can cause problems with those affected suffering complications through a simple operation or dental surgery.

Or keeling over when they start training for their annual marathon or triathlon, as my family member did.

Or dying suddenly as Tony said.

Some will spontaneously heal, but cardiac tissue remains scarred , it never heals completely .

You are totally minimising an extremely serious side effect to suit your narrative.

I am done with you . Goodnight.

Most cases resolve in less than 6 months with no lasting damage. These are facts. I have had 2 relatives get acute myocarditis. One about25 years ago and is healthy since and one who got a second case relatively recently after getting it for the first time about 10 years previous. In his case there is evidence of scarring, but nothing to suggest he won’t live a long healthy life if he takes care of himself (in his early forties now)

how many suspected cases near ICU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

they are claiming Nolan said it was a 'new phenomenon' somewhere in the press conference today https://www.pscp.tv/rtenews/1ynKOqoMEzWJR

The only thing he mentioned was the % changed, when we had the lower case numbers the majority of cases where in young people, now the % of elderly catching it is increasing. Which makes sence. He did stress that at the start, there was a very high number of elderly people contracting the virus. How the independent spin it as a new phenomenon is just a clickbait headline.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Pawinho wrote: »
    Conspiracy theories?
    https://www.forbes.com/sites/jasonbrett/2020/06/23/digital-dollar-hearing-round-2-us-senate-to-examine-future-of-money/

Do you think change monetary system could be introduce like that? Open your mind.
    Do not post in this thread again

how many suspected cases near ICU?

twas 6 in ICU, and 15 suspected if I recall correctly\

You're very certain of yourself.

What percentage of infected people do you expect to suffer prolonged effects from covid?

I don’t know, and you don’t either, but what I do know is that even for those with long term effects, the majority will still live long fruitful lives.

Do you the effects the fear that some people are living in currently due to incessant negativity will have on Long term physical and mental health of a proportion of our population?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Answering your own questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

9 now but I pay little attention to suspected cases.

I don’t know, and you don’t either, but what I do know is that even for those with long term effects, the majority will still live long fruitful lives.

Do you the effects the fear that some people are living in currently due to incessant negativity will have on Long term physical and mental health of a proportion of our population?

Of course neither of us know. So why all the table-thumping certainty?

your second paragraph needs work, but I think you're asking me if I think lockdowns are neutral when it comes to physical and mental health?

No, I don't. I think they're detrimental to both. you?

Raind. If you go back over my posts you will find I am fully aware of what treatments are or are not available.
    In fact i remember discussing with you before that those treatments are not new and have been used in intensive care for years.
    So glad you actually do listen .

I don't think you have anything new to say that I don't already knpw, do you?

No fear here and no assignment of 'magical 'properties, just a particuarly nasty virus that only has basic intensive care treatment and that does not work against these so called milder or asymptomatic cases, which by the also very basic criteria given , don't even qualify as 'Symptomatic'.

Come back to me if you ever want to really discuss it properly without all that denial baggage.

You do realise that the vast majority of suspected cases in hospitals and icu turn out to be negative. If someone has a car accident, has a heart attack or any other ailment that requires admission to icu and gets a cough/fever, they are automatically treated as a suspected case of Covid until negative test proves otherwise

Answering your own questions?

no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,059 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Over 50k cases in Spain in the past 7 days.

Huge spike

Mentioned it earlier, the more you look at it the more it becomes obvious.

https://twitter.com/laoneill111/status/1246046810168266753?s=20

Then we have current studies to back up the early theroy..
    "Our analysis suggests that mandated BCG vaccination can be effective in the fight against COVID-19"
    https://advances.sciencemag.org/content/6/32/eabc1463?utm_campaign=SciMag&utm_source=JHubbard&utm_medium=Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,510 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Wolf359f wrote: »
    The only thing he mentioned was the % changed, when we had the lower case numbers the majority of cases where in young people, now the % of elderly catching it is increasing. Which makes sence. He did stress that at the start, there was a very high number of elderly people contracting the virus. How the independent spin it as a new phenomenon is just a clickbait headline.
    https://www.pscp.tv/w/1ynKOqoMEzWJR
    he speaks again at 20 minutes, he said they had very few hospitalizations in over 75's, does he mean people who are over 75 who still live in the community as opposed to nursing homes (many who didn't go to hospital)? ...no he was only taking about the last few weeks?

You do realise that the vast majority of suspected cases in hospitals and icu turn out to be negative. If someone has a car accident, has a heart attack or any other ailment that requires admission to icu and gets a cough/fever, they are automatically treated as a suspected case of Covid until negative test proves otherwise

"you do realise" that if we see a resurgence in covid we'll first see a resurgence in suspected covid cases?

Raind. If you go back over my posts you will find I am fully aware of what treatments are or are not available.
    In fact i remember discussing with you before that those treatments are not new and have been used in intensive care for years.
    So glad you actually do listen .

I don't think you have anything new to say that I don't already knpw, do you?

No fear here and no assignment of 'magical 'properties, just a particuarly nasty virus that only has basic intensive care treatment and that does not work against these so called milder or asymptomatic cases, which by the also very basic criteria given , don't even qualify as 'Symptomatic'.

Come back to me if you ever want to really discuss it properly without all that denial baggage.

I am not denying anything. I am discussing the real impact, not the imaginary acute myocarditis that’s going to be impacting all asymptomatic cases, which was the route this discussion was going down before we went down this blind alley.