Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Skerries Covid Party

• Registered Users Posts: 7,243 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I just feel were outraged at the wrong things, if we didn't make an absolute balls of the nursing homes would we be in this position, why isn't the minister of Health being held accountable.
    You have to admit they've done a good job in turning us on each other.

To be fair, the government are not directing anger at teenagers on skerries, people partying in Killarney, oversize weddings or any of the whole host of selfish breaches of the guidelines that have taken place over the past few months. People themselves have turned on those these individuals, because that behavior is a giant **** You to everyone else that has been trying to do the right things and making great sacrifices along the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Graham wrote: »
    the video?

Not a hanging offence, but not exactly a clever move either.

From watching the video it doesn't appear to me to suggest anyone intentionally spread it(covid). They went out, socialised and one subsequently tested positive is what it suggests to me, in that case they may have not known they even had it when they went out. That's not intentionally spreading it.

Looks like they're guessing who might be postive having now been a contact of a confirmed case.

Nowhere does it say this person went around meeting people with a confirmed test result.

Like I've said until actual facts come out its all social media rumour. Either way a poor lack of judgement to even make a video like it

• Registered Users Posts: 28,118 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

s1ippy wrote: »
    Another magic moment from the individual who says to send a child into school regardless of a litany of illnesses.

Completely and utterly factually incorrect post as usual from yourself.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Can under 18 you throw the first stone?

I'm sure the younger me did some supremely stupid things.

Like I said, not a hanging offence but it's right up there on the dumb-o-meter.

TBH I don't envy todays young ones and the compulsion to video/share everything but that's a different discussion.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

From watching the video it doesn't appear to me to suggest anyone intentionally spread it. They went out, socialised and one subsequently tested positive is what it suggests to me

Shared (spread) the video. Not necessarily (and hopefully) covid.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

If the club found out Saturday about positive cases in the town and decided to close I doubt any of these people in the video had positive results by then as they only went out partying on Saturday.

If one returned a positive test on Monday and they released the video in Monday none of them would have been tested yet

We don't even know if any of them tested positive

Seems like they all were messing around guessing who would get it after all being out together with one person who did test positive.

Highly doubt they intended one going out for a bit of fun and subsequently catching Covid.

A bit of a sit video to post but doesn't and I'm sure they're all isolated and you can see they are all on their own in the video.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

These are 5th/6th year kids. Some of them are probably underage. Why are they being abused with zero evidence of anything other than one of their friends tested positive?

Completely different to Phil Hogan or even Berlin D2.

They are all separated on the videos.

If it turns out to be more, fine but some people need to lay off for now.

Eh...they did it to themselves by posting it on ticktock.

Whether it’s true or not is another story.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,242 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Bunch of kids messing in an ill judged attempt at satire, it’s gonna cause them a world of grief unfortunately.
    I’d say every single teenager (and most adults) in Ireland have made those exact same types of comments as jokes amongst friends and family, just most of them didn’t get uploaded to social media and go viral.

I doubt very much that these kids intentionally tried to spread the virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭milli milli

From watching the video it doesn't appear to me to suggest anyone intentionally spread it(covid).

Nowhere does it say this person went around meeting people with a confirmed test result.
    t

Abby said she licks and shares drinks when drunk and has tested positive for the virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

So much for limiting your contacts.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Abby said she licks and shares drinks when drunk and has tested positive for the virus.
    What they say and what are facts are unlikely to be things that are in any way related. This will come back to haunt them all in ways their stupid little heads haven't imagined. It's extremely dumb attention seeking, but outrageous nope.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

deise08 wrote: »
    Contact tracing will be easy as they are all on the video!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,396 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Sounds like a new age version of Cluedo

• Registered Users Posts: 745 ✭✭✭SNNUS

Yawn ��

• Registered Users Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

This thread has made me despair that everyone gets a vote, lol

• Registered Users Posts: 11,308 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Akrasia wrote: »
    Bunch of kids messing in an ill judged attempt at satire, it’s gonna cause them a world of grief unfortunately.
    I’d say every single teenager (and most adults) in Ireland have made those exact same types of comments as jokes amongst friends and family, just most of them didn’t get uploaded to social media and go viral.

I doubt very much that these kids intentionally tried to spread the virus.

I think this post puts it perfectly.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

the gene pool in Skerries is certainly very visually beautiful - stunning girls. If they are under 18 I guess there may be a world of trouble ahead - not to mention someone outing 2 as lesbian lovers!

I’ve olayed that video a few times and there is ZERO mention of bars or cafes where they maynor may not have worked - where did this come from? Serious damaging for business - in fact potentially a death blow.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

What do we actually know? very little.
    nothing in the actual video to show they did anything wrong bar have a party - big fcukin deal says me , who hasn't had a party?

one of them tested positive and they then got tested.
    They made a video betting on who would also get it.
    That's all we have to go on at the moment.

This is mob mentality indicative of the absolute pathetic state of Ireland now.
    full of rats, gossips, curtain twitchers and agents of the state.

As somebody said to me earlier, it's like John Charles McQuaid is back and ruling from his throne in Drumcondra.
    A pile on, on a gang of teens by adults who "should" know better.

Fcukin state of some of the posters here.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,243 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

paw patrol wrote: »
    What do we actually know? very little.
    nothing in the actual video to show they did anything wrong bar have a party - big fcukin deal says me , who hasn't had a party?

one of them tested positive and they then got tested.
    They made a video betting on who would also get it.
    That's all we have to go on at the moment.

This is mob mentality and indicative of the absolute pathetic state of ireland now. full of rats, gossips, curtain twitchers and agents of the state.

As somebody said to me earlier, it's like John Charles McQuaid is back and ruling from his throne in Drumcondra.
    A pile on, on a gang of teens by adults who "should" know better.

Fcukin state of some of the posters here.

I haven't had a party. Who has had a party?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

I haven't had a party. Should I?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

its an incurable disease that has killed millions worldwide and out health ‘policies’ in Iteland mean that if you have basically any of the typical mainstream health issues and are make and iver 60 you will be automatically denied ICU treatment and left to die if you get it. Might be of little or no consequence to you but a lit of people care about their health & livliehood.

How would you like to be a teacher of one of these girls. Do you expect them to go into class? How would you like to be a parent worrying if they should send their teenager to school because these girls are in the class? Ir the owner of the bar mwntioned - do you think people will be flocking to their premises now despite all their hard work and compliance? Or to visit and shop in Skerries in general? Things like this can have a serious impact in a smll village. I certainly won’t be heading there for the forseeable - thats all my revenue list to smallbusinesses - and I won’t be the only one staying away. People are outraged and angry for good reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Not that outraged. Horse has bolted so a video highlighting who could have it has drawn attention to the fact they were all out and about in the community so the risk is that little bit higher in that area. This is good to know.

Phil Hogan et al should have looked at the golf function and walked out.
    If they aren't adults then it's the parents who should have queried their daughters on what they were doing and where they were going.
    They are legally responsible. You'd think one of them might have said "a party bus is usually a great idea but not now with everything going on"

The kids are quite flippant about it and it'll be the businesses and residents in the local area who will be damaged.
    I don't think those parents will be welcomed into the businesses their kids have damaged. There are usually consequences, hopefully there isn't a lockdown or school closures because of this.

Would be interesting to know where the first person who introduced into the group got it. Probably moonlighting in a meat factory or went on holiday with mammy and daddy and didn't quarantine.

I really hope it’s just kids being kids as videos like this could have a negative impact on their future selfs should there be some that test positive.

Social media studies and its impacts should really be part of the curriculum in this day and age.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

The biggest scandal in all this is the education system and the failure of parents to guide their children on Being emotionally intelligent aka “cop on”. But it spans many Education Ministers as the lads at the Golf Dinner also had the same lacking of cop on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Not that outraged. Horse has bolted so a video highlighting who could have it has drawn attention to the fact they were all out and about in the community so the risk is that little bit higher in that area. This is good to know.

Phil Hogan et al should have looked at the golf function and walked out.
    If they aren't adults then it's the parents who should have queried their daughters on what they were doing and where they were going.
    They are legally responsible. You'd think one of them might have said "a party bus is usually a great idea but not now with everything going on"

The kids are quite flippant about it and it'll be the businesses and residents in the local area who will be damaged.
    I don't think those parents will be welcomed into the businesses their kids have damaged. There are usually consequences, hopefully there isn't a lockdown or school closures because of this.

Would be interesting to know where the first person who introduced into the group got it. Probably moonlighting in a meat factory or went on holiday with mammy and daddy and didn't quarantine.

You think any of them little posh p**** works in a Meat Factory haha

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

I haven't had a party. Who has had a party?
    I haven't had a party. Should I?

i have been to a few.

you(se) should try it. can be great craic.

The people clutching their pearls over this harmless joke should be locked up in a mountain convent so the rest of us don't have to put up with their whining hysteria any more.

That's what I think anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

You think any of them little posh p**** works in a Meat Factory haha

Im sure there's a joke there somewhere.,..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

I just feel were outraged at the wrong things, if we didn't make an absolute balls of the nursing homes would we be in this position, why isn't the minister of Health being held accountable.
    You have to admit they've done a good job in turning us on each other.

We can be outraged at multiple things, sometimes those things can even contradict each other, such is the nuances of life.

As long as these kids weren't trying to purposely spread the disease I could give 2 fcuks what social media games they play. They seem like the dim/ignorant type though, most likely imitating their similarly ignorant parents.

The likes and attention they spend their time courting on social media is going to come back and bite them in this instance tho, hopefully some life lessons will be learned and they can move on less ignorant.