Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Skerries Covid Party

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

We all partied.

We need to get rid of all the young people.

They will outlive us all if we don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

Shriek!

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

I'm as puritanical as anyone you'll meet when it comes to Covid-19, but the dominant mode of non-dance TikTok is spoof and fantasy, which this likely is. I also can't really begrudge kids a knees-up after 6 months of this, especially when society's concern for infection control apparently doesn't stretch to jamming them in 30 to a prefab as of this week.

On the other hand, if some of them *were* out working and socialising while awaiting test results, their parents should definitely be held to account. I see this crap (with adults) in my own wider family, and it's selfish nonsense - but the the responsibility doesn't lie with minors, who are usually immortal in their own minds.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,199 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Abby said she licks and shares drinks when drunk and has tested positive for the virus.

And ? Was she positive when everyone met up ? We've absolutely no idea, sounds like there was a postive test after they went out and now they're all close contacts and guessing who might have it

• Registered Users Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Heard about this video of a load of young wans from North Co. Dublin having a mad party and videoing themselves licking each other.

False advertising

Maybe I'm being old fashioned.

But I don't think publicly shaming these young girls over a silly video will do anyone any good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 902l45irqnwbah

When I first heard about this I thought it was that they intentionally were doing things to try to see who would get covid from a confirmed friend. I am now pretty sure one of their friends was found positive and these girls then made a video speculating who would also have got it from said friend. Based on that understanding, will the people who are wanting them expelled and punished have a long look at themselves, these girls are young and being silly but unless they intentionally tried to spread covid all they did was make a stupid video.

I think people forget that teenagers brains are not fully developed, throw in the internet which is a whole other ballgame that most of us did not have when growing up and you can see how a silly idea can suddenly turn into the country being outraged at them. Does anyone remember being a teenager? Well I did many idiotic things, I don't think my life should have been destroyed over it.

Hopefully it will be clarified today as to what exactly happened and the girls will learn a lesson and be able to move on.

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭Psychedelic Hedgehog

^^ This.

Thank Christ social media wasn't a thing when I was a teenager.

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Alias G

When I first heard about this I thought it was that they intentionally were doing things to try to see who would get covid from a confirmed friend. I am now pretty sure one of their friends was found positive and these girls then made a video speculating who would also have got it from said friend. Based on that understanding, will the people who are wanting them expelled and punished have a long look at themselves, these girls are young and being silly but unless they intentionally tried to spread covid all they did was make a stupid video.

I think people forget that teenagers brains are not fully developed, throw in the internet which is a whole other ballgame that most of us did not have when growing up and you can see how a silly idea can suddenly turn into the country being outraged at them. Does anyone remember being a teenager? Well I did many idiotic things, I don't think my life should have been destroyed over it.

Hopefully it will be clarified today as to what exactly happened and the girls will learn a lesson and be able to move on.

Go away out of that. Its my agenda as a social media consumer to faux outraged at complete non events.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,619 ✭✭✭✭listermint

ronoc wrote: »

But I don't think publicly shaming these young girls over a silly video will do anyone any good.

Maybe you are old fashioned i suppose. Because tictok is public. This is deliberate and the point is to go viral (excuse the pun)

You dont understand the point of what this excercise was.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

^^ This.

Thank Christ social media wasn't a thing when I was a teenager.

Secondary school and growing up was hard enough years ago without social can you imagine it these days i would hate to be a teen millenial Yikes
    Times were simpler then lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

TikTok vid doing the rounds of girls from North Dublin bragging about possibly getting/spreading Covid.

I don't want to post the vid, as all the girls name themselves, their tags are evident, and I'm not entirely sure all them are over 18.

They are absolute fúcktards. They deserve whatever online shaming comes their way. Idiots like these need to learn that there are consequences to their actions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭coolisin

Im like toootallllly outraged roight now!

But every year we have these things blowing up in young peoples faces when they do stupid sh!t and post about it online.
    The world doesn't need to know about your every movement.
    Oh and putting things up in a public domain and not expecting them to explode/go viral is a little naive.

If its a joke it is a terrible joke and more importantly a friend who likes to lick faces jaysus.

Sports clubs have had to close up, skerries as a community is going to lock itself down for a couple of days until its all cleared up.

• Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Mod: @Heres Johnny - if you post completely unsubstantiated and potentially libelous information on the forum again, I'll remove your access.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

coolisin wrote: »

Sports clubs have had to close up, skerries as a community is going to lock itself down for a couple of days until its all cleared up.

that's on the sports clubs tbh for believe rumour over fact (the known facts).
    not on the teens.
    They are absolute fúcktards. They deserve whatever online shaming comes their way. Idiots like these need to learn that there are consequences to their actions.

what did they do wrong?
    please enlighten me

• Registered Users Posts: 15,747 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

ronoc wrote: »

No, fines would put a stop to these "jokes" pretty sharpish. Haha lolz ppl dying but I'm ok.
    Fûck them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭coolisin

paw patrol wrote: »
    that's on the sports clubs tbh for believe rumour over fact (the known facts).
    not on the teens.

No the sports clubs etc need to act on a potential outbreak from someone being in contact etc.
    Just like a business would need to shutdown and sanitize.

I am on the side of them here, they did a stupid thing with that video, its a heavy lesson to learn here in viral media getting out of hand in a public arena.

They went out and about with no social distancing etc and announced it to the world.
    The second this video was on TikTok was the second it no longer was under their control and a poor joke that could have stayed in a group of friends blew up.

Now obviously that is if it is found out to be a joke and not intentional "Covid Party"

• Registered Users Posts: 16,003 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

We are slowly turning into america, absolutely outraged by everything. We really are turning into a nation of curtain twitching ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,268 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

dulpit wrote: »
    Following out of curiosity...

Well that was a waste of my time. What a nothing burger of a story.

coolisin wrote: »
    No the sports clubs etc need to act on a potential outbreak from someone being in contact etc.
    Just like a business would need to shutdown and sanitize.

you are right and i agree.
    But Skerries Town said "in light of recent events...." giving fuel to the rumours. They should have a duty of care to their members to be precise in their language.

when they could have just said "due to covid outbreak we are closed" (or whatever)

I'll accept its a small point.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,692 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I just heard about this on the Pat Kenny show.

Seriously - are they going to have a public health expert on to comment every time some youngster does something a bit stupid and immature.

Give the girls a break FFS.

Maybe instead of getting caught up in every little bit of stupidity that goes on the media could actually do their job and do a proper investigation for example into how the state moved infected people from hospitals into nursing homes causing the virus to spread in these settings. I'd say the former Taoiseach and Minister for Health are delighted with all these little distractions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

Based on that understanding, will the people who are wanting them expelled and punished have a long look at themselves, these girls are young and being silly but unless they intentionally tried to spread covid all they did was make a stupid video.

I think people forget that teenagers brains are not fully developed.....

Clearly the adults looking for them to be expelled have brains that aren't fully developed either :pac:

They harmed a sum total of no one. It's like when Americans think that Waterford Whispers is a genuine news source. They're silly, but all teenage girls are silly. We just didn't have social media to hang us when we were their age.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Lillyfae wrote: »
    Clearly the adults looking for them to be expelled have brains that aren't fully developed either :pac:

They harmed a sum total of no one. It's like when Americans think that Waterford Whispers is a genuine news source. They're silly, but all teenage girls are silly. We just didn't have social media to hang us when we were their age.
    The problem with the monster of social media is that it will rear its head in a very ugly way in 5-6 years when they are looking to be employed.

is_that_so wrote: »
    The problem with the monster of social media is that it will rear its head in a very ugly way in 5-6 years when they are looking to be employed.

Has that ever happened?

BPKS wrote: »
    I just heard about this on the Pat Kenny show.

Seriously - are they going to have a public health expert on to comment every time some youngster does something a bit stupid and immature.

Give the girls a break FFS.

Maybe instead of getting caught up in every little bit of stupidity that goes on the media could actually do their job and do a proper investigation for example into how the state moved infected people from hospitals into nursing homes causing the virus to spread in these settings. I'd say the former Taoiseach and Minister for Health are delighted with all these little distractions.

I can understand the reaction, people are scared. This is an outlet.

But relying on teenagers to not be teenagers to stop the spread of COVID is nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,615 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

niallo27 wrote: »
    We are slowly turning into america, absolutely outraged by everything. We really are turning into a nation of curtain twitching ****.

Worse than America when it comes to certain things. We as a nation have no grit or tenacity.
    “The Fighting Irish”, yeah right.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Pretty sure this tiktok video is to be taken as satire and has just blown up thanks to WhatsApp sharing with no context.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Thanks god there was no social media when I was young, the stupid things was got up to only lasted as long as someone cared to remember and most of it was blur anyway!

It’s the same sort of idiotic humour of joking at airport check in that for all you know there might be a bomb in your bag because your mammy packed it for you- stupid joke but it can’t be ignored by the authorities.

It’s not the obviously immature video content that’s the key fault here- it’s the narrative, whether true or untrue that went out accompanying the video on WhatsApp that’s putting pressure on businesses sports clubs the HSE and the Gardai - no one can confirm at present what the true position is so they have a lot of work to do and precautions to take before they determine the truth.