Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Registered Users Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭Dunedin

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/finishing-cattle-efficiently-this-winter/

Quote that demand is getting tight and price is creeping up......... whatever about demand, price has gone from €3.80 2 weeks ago to €3.65 next week.

Did he dream up that or just took a guess at price with no research of any kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭mf240

Why would anyone feed cattle this winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

mf240 wrote: »
    Why would anyone feed cattle this winter

another BEAM

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭mf240

another BEAM

Fool me once shame on you

Fool me every year.....

mf240 wrote: »
    Fool me once shame on you

Fool me every year.....

Feed 100 cattle win 10,000 euro........well that if the factories get an excuse to screw you and any excuse will do. There was no BEAM the time of the horse meat lads were left high and dry. Beam is not even compensation for market losses. Saw a bit of the rag at the parent in laws house today. There was a page about Beam and the lads reactions to it it was a case of f@@k the suckler farmer store cattle are too dear and they are compensated anyway. There was a mart manager hoping these lads will pass it back in the autumn marts.

However for finisher to make 100/head on cattle store and suckler farmers need to produce at a loss. Now I no saint but I do know that the store man needs every penny he gets.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Jjameson wrote: »
    Keep money from the taxman. Something to do, get out of the house, a sense of identity.

Beam money is irrelevant to the cohort of independently wealthy farmers. The perpetual waffle about sheds not filling or and finishers exiting (only really happens when you put em in a 6 x3 hole) never comes to anything.

I know a few old lads that would crack up if they didn’t go out in the autumn to buy stores to feed over the winter. To make money on them is only a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

It's like a science experiment at this stage.
    Finishing cattle in winter 18 was a bad idea.
    Finishing cattle in winter 19 was a very bad idea.
    Finishing cattle in 2020, they are dearer in the mart and the factories are riding roughshod etc so drive on hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭jntsnk

Danzy wrote: »
    Finishing cattle in 2020, they are dearer in the mart and the factories are riding roughshod etc so drive on hard.

Add brexit to the mix and it’s definitely a runner

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Yes on all accounts but the fear of not making money is worse than the fear of losing it for many, the only thing worse is someone else making it instead of you. This spring was a good one for those who fed lambs over the winter, the same lambs this back end are probably a tenner or more dearer than there 2019 born counterparts. The most active men I see ringside atm for store lambs fed little or none last winter. The fact that this year's lambs are dearer and therefore there's less chance of a profit is meaningless to most of them. There not going to miss out a second time around and there's always the temptation of a final roll of the dice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭kk.man

Yes on all accounts but the fear of not making money is worse than the fear of losing it for many, the only thing worse is someone else making it instead of you. This spring was a good one for those who fed lambs over the winter, the same lambs this back end are probably a tenner or more dearer than there 2019 born counterparts. The most active men I see ringside atm for store lambs fed little or none last winter. The fact that this year's lambs are dearer and therefore there's less chance of a profit is meaningless to most of them. There not going to miss out a second time around and there's always the temptation of a final roll of the dice.

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭richie123

True. In the last 30 year was there even 3 half arsed years where money was made ??

richie123 wrote: »
    True. In the last 30 year was there even 3 half arsed years where money was made ??

There probably however because if mechanism and sheds it has become possible to feed large numbers with little labour. But profit is determined by what you pay for a store not by efficiency. Feed efficiency might make a 20 euro difference between a technically good finisher and an average one but the average might be 50/head better at the ring

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭Dunedin

But profit is determined by what you pay for a store not by efficiency. Feed efficiency might make a 20 euro difference between a technically good finisher and an average one but the average might be 50/head better at the ring

So where does the suckler farmer fit in. Haven’t bought a store in 10 years.........

Profit for me is sale price versus costs and unfortunately they’re both going in the wrong direction.

Dunedin wrote: »
    So where does the suckler farmer fit in. Haven’t bought a store in 10 years.........

Profit for me is sale price versus costs and unfortunately they’re both going in the wrong direction.

When I talk about feed efficiency I referring to getting the diet right to put on weight and fat score. The agriland article is about ''feeding cattle efficiently this winter'' however where is the profit in efficiently. Friesian cattle will not put on enough weight to cover feeding costs, HE and AA are just about break even, continental cattle might make 50-70c/day over direct feeding costs but you have to still deduct other ancillary costs, transport, mart fees, vetinenary costs, mortality etc

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭morphy87

Steers 3 65, south east but was told if definitely giving the cattle 3 70 will be got, reckons they will hold at that for a while not over plentiful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭older by the day

Hi I've an Angus bull, running with heifers, say 700kgs. What's the best way to sell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,281 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Rumours around that Kildare Chilling will stay closed rather than comply with Guidelines....... might b a long winter yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭Sami23

wrangler wrote: »
    Rumours around that Kildare Chilling will stay closed rather than comply with Guidelines....... might b a long winter yet

If that's the case they some shower of c@#*s

Is Kildare chilling still an independent or is it under the control of Dawn. If it not incorporated into the big three it may be just wholesaling to them

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Is Kildare chilling still an independent or is it under the control of Dawn. If it not incorporated into the big three it may be just wholesaling to them

Still independent I think

It probably just wholesaling a lot of the beef with limited contracts that's the way the game has gone

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Tileman

Still independent. Does about 40% of the lamb market. Wouldn’t like to see them go down.

Any quotes for next week?

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭Duke92

That’s rubbish costing them a fortune being closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭50HX

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Any quotes for next week?

Rang an abp plant for cull cows....was told full for next 2 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Duke92 wrote: »
    That’s rubbish costing them a fortune being closed

Kildare are back processing lambs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭DukeCaboom

50HX wrote: »
    Rang an abp plant for cull cows....was told full for next 2 weeks

Ya was pushed back till next week too.

Jjameson wrote: »
    There’s a lot of cattle got this week tat we’re only borderline last week. Ground is getting mauly

Killed about 20 cattle over last four weeks have nothing for another 2-3 and even then they are the dirt if cattle that I can hold as they are still light emough or have a lot of frame left on them.

Slava Ukrainii

Killed about 20 cattle over last four weeks have nothing for another 2-3 and even then they are the dirt if cattle that I can hold as they are still light emough or have a lot of frame left on them.

Have you replaced them yet?

No

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭dryan

3.60 base on offer for Steers here in the midlands - anyone anything better to report?

dryan wrote: »
    3.60 base on offer for Steers here in the midlands - anyone anything better to report?

3.65 around this part of the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,307 ✭✭✭tanko

How much would an R= 4- Sim x Lim 28 month old 525 kg liveweight heifer be worth in a factory this week assuming QA bonus applies?

tanko wrote: »
    How much would an R= 4- Sim x Lim 28 month old 525 kg liveweight heifer be worth in a factory this week assuming QA bonus applies?

1050-1080

Slava Ukrainii

525kg x .55 KO= 288.75 x €3.90 = €1126 .
    Kill out is the variable. That would be the most she’d make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭epfff

jntsnk wrote: »
    525kg x .55 KO= 288.75 x €3.90 = €1126 .
    Kill out is the variable. That would be the most she’d make.

R- 535kg heifer Ko from my herd is closer to 50%
    And I would be only getting 385 for her this week
    So I say 270kg * 385=1040 - 11 stopages
    Maybe I'm negative noel

epfff wrote: »
    R- 535kg heifer Ko from my herd is closer to 50%
    And I would be only getting 385 for her this week
    So I say 270kg * 385=1040 - 11 stopages
    Maybe I'm negative noel

Yes killout is the variable

She made €1130 in the mart and was killed later that day. Haven’t seen her for a few months but i doubt she’d have been a U grade, plain enough animal.

1130 in the ring? plus the vat ..minus the fee.

Yeah, 1130 in the ring, about 1115 take home i suppose.

1170 take home depending on how much commission is.

No plus Vat in the ring. Vat in s part of the ring price. Vat is only paid as part of factory price and in reality factory gets the benefit of it

Slava Ukrainii

No plus Vat in the ring. Vat in s part of the ring price. Vat is only paid as part of factory price and in reality factory gets the benefit of it

That's a good one any cattle I ever bought vats added to ring price.

Never saw that at any mart I have bought at, vat element is shown as part of ring price so that a vat registered farmer can reclaim it. Mart fees are added to the cost but that is it.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Where exactly have you seen this??

Any quotes for this week?

morphy87 wrote: »
    Any quotes for this week?

€3.65 for bullocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

€3.65 for bullocks

I dont know. Hard to buy cattle to match that price. Someones or a lot of peoples crystal balls are banjaxed.

I suppose it’s 3.85 for under 30 months and a kill out of 55% for an r= grade leaves a live weight price of €2.11.
    So is a 500kg r grade store worth €1055? Very hard to know how to value stores.

€3.65 for bullocks

The best that can be got down here is 3 60 south east