Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

Going by the increases in cases, the general approach of the government and word in the HSE, I expect Dublin to be in lockdown in the next two to three weeks. There is obvious community transmission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Amongst other viruses. Nothing new there, even the flu has been known to cause heart problems.The flu can even cause a heart attack. There have been cases where people discovered heart problems and never knew they had a virus. Thankfully the people i know fully recovered from Covid 19.

Your talking complete sh*te and obviousky didnt read the article.

Read it again.

The people you know fully recovered likely have heart damage now.

Itsnottheflubro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,921 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Have a look at the delivery drivers who also have to stock the shelves jumping out of the truck, pull up the chin strap from the front, adjust it from the front, man handle every item going on the shelf. I'm after witnessing it a few times getting my morning coffee.
    With the mandatory masks it's made the danger of your shopping being contaminated a lot higher. Too much mask touching going on.

People touch their faces all the time, if the delivery guy has it, mask or no mask he's going to end up put his infected paws on some or all the delivery regardless.

With the mask though at least his aerosol rate is reduced. Your incessant repetitive argument consistently lacs any sort of common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Going by the increases in cases, the general approach of the government and word in the HSE, I expect Dublin to be in lockdown in the next two to three weeks. There is obvious community transmission.

Yes . 5 people out 5 million who are sick with this really warrants this. The government should build bunkers for each household and we can come out in 2023

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Akabusi

Are we the only country in Europe who haven't opened the pubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Bit of context here please. "Word in the HSE" What on WhatsApp groups is it.

Unless you know more than Dr Glynn who was quite clear no more regional restrictions under consideration. The current national ones expected to be good enough.

https://twitter.com/RobOHanrahan/status/1299271359944634370?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

owlbethere wrote: »
    According to many of the boards.ie experts, the virus is just a little cold causing a little cough and damage to hearts is just outliers.

It's not even a little cold for most people, with a little cold at least you know you have it.

I'm not denying it has much stronger impact than a cold on some people btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

SeaBreezes wrote: »

Read it again.

Itsnottheflubro

I’m not disputing a virus can cause problems. All viruses can, you are just ignorant and arrogant to the fact. It’s rare and i’m sorry if that doesn’t fit in your doom and gloom misery bubble. Regarding the people i know who recovered and you claim their hearts are damaged i suggest you go to your doctor to get something for your hysteria.

Regarding your “itsnottheflubro” i never compared it to Covid 19 so read my post properly.

Akabusi wrote: »

Yes, us and NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭xabi

Read it again.

Itsnottheflubro

Come on now.

Bit of context here please. "Word in the HSE" What on WhatsApp groups is it.

Unless you know more than Dr Glynn who was quite clear no more regional restrictions under consideration. The current national ones expected to be good enough.

https://twitter.com/RobOHanrahan/status/1299271359944634370?s=19

It's the increasing trend and high population density that is the issue. This isn't coming from whatsapp groups but COVID-19 winter prep meetings I've attended in the HSE this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Yes but its out on control here . 5 people in ICU

It's the increasing trend and high population density that is the issue. This isn't coming from whatsapp groups but COVID-19 winter prep meetings I've attended in the HSE this week.

To be honest I take anything you say here with a pinch of salt.

You spoke about hosptial numbers in your hosptial trebling previously and no hosptial in the reports ever showed that in the single day you posted.

Many other questionable posts so excuse my skepticism when the CMO publicly says something else. A covid winter prep meeting in a hosptial isn't going to discuss a lockdown of a certain area. Anything mentioned would be purely opinion

Do you mind me asking what your role is ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Hawthorn Tree

People of Connacht, we need to blow those bridges along the Shannon!!!

We will accept refugees from Kerry, Clare and Donegal but the rest of ye can feck off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Akabusi

Yes, us and NI.

It was probably wise to hold them back until they see what happens with the schools, however it is pretty obvious that there will be another increase in case. Will they use that as further justification in keeping them shut? I heard this week of two pubs in my locality that are opening at night for a few of their regulars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

People of Connacht, we need to blow those bridges along the Shannon!!!

We will accept refugees from Kerry, Clare and Donegal but the rest of ye can feck off!

Nah you’re grand thanks. I’ll take me chances with Covid !!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Hospitalisated cases up to 32, ICU up to 5 with one new recent admission according to the tracking app.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

I’m not disputing a virus can cause problems. All viruses can, you are just ignorant and arrogant to the fact. It’s rare and i’m sorry if that doesn’t fit in your doom and gloom misery bubble. Regarding the people i know who recovered and you claim their hearts are damaged i suggest you go to your doctor to get something for your hysteria.

Regarding your “itsnottheflubro” i never compared it to Covid 19 so read my post properly.

Sigh. Dont shoot the messenger.
    Try not to make it a personal attack.

Dont like the FACTS I post? Use the ignore button.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

A lot of other viruses don't pose a threat right now. Like measles, mumps, rubella, chickenpox because many of us are vaccinated or we have immunity from the illness itself and they are not global pandemic. Even flu is not a massive threat due to the yearly vaccine. I know flu vaccines may not be completely accurate all the time but the professionals behind it make a damn good go of it. For example they use the southern hemisphere flu to model the vaccine for the Northern hemisphere winter flu.

I know a nurse and she had a patient on his ward who was nearly blind and fighting for his life with measles. His mother didn't believe in the vaccine and there he was fighting for his life.

Other viruses do not pose a massive threat right now. Covid19 is a threat because its a novel coronavirus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Not a fan of Donnelly, he's left a lot to be desired in recent weeks. But the jokes about his personal appearance are reprehensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

s1ippy wrote: »
    Hospitalisated cases up to 32, ICU up to 5 with one new recent admission according to the tracking app.

A bad rta could put more than 5 people in icu, I doubt every road in the country would be shut down though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,921 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Not a fan of Donnelly, he's left a lot to be desired in recent weeks. But the jokes about his personal appearance are reprehensible.

Agreed, eggtremely unfair on him.

Sigh. Dont shoot the messenger.
    Try not to make it a personal attack.

Dont like the FACTS I post? Use the ignore button.

Likewise if you don’t like my FACTS .

Family member referred for test Monday evening, tested Wednesday morning, no results yet.

We really need a quicker turn around than this surely.

Now the doctor said their 99% sure its a normal throat infection but had to be referred given the symptoms. Basically better now anyway but in our experience its too slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Even if they reopened they'd be closed almost as quickly. What's even the point, it'll eventually lead to some outbreaks, it's completely unnecessary for current functioning of society and their closure improves people's health.

owlbethere wrote: »
    A lot of other viruses don't pose a threat right now. Like measles, mumps, rubella, chickenpox because many of us are vaccinated or we have immunity from the illness itself and they are not global pandemic. Even flu is not a massive threat due to the yearly vaccine. I know flu vaccines may not be completely accurate all the time but the professionals behind it make a damn good go of it. For example they use the southern hemisphere flu to model the vaccine for the Northern hemisphere winter flu.

I know a nurse and she had a patient on his ward who was nearly blind and fighting for his life with measles. His mother didn't believe in the vaccine and there he was fighting for his life.

Other viruses do not pose a massive threat right now. Covid19 is a threat because its a novel coronavirus.

Getting major complications from Covid19 isn’t a massive threat either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Does anyone else have a feeling that what we are seeing happening now is exactly what we (and most of Europe/the world) didn't see happening at the start of the year and maybe even at the end of last year. A slow, almost invisible spread of hundreds of people with very mild and asymptomatic illness with a handful of hospitalisations. At the time any noticeable illness was assumed to be a cold or flu. Then due to exponential growth the amount of people with serious illnesses grew rapidly and led to a crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭JDD

What's everyone's feelings about how many new cases we can have a day - assuming the average age of infection remains the same - without new restrictions being imposed?

And as an add on of that, how many would need to be in hospital before NPHET recommends new restrictions come in? We had 881 in hospital at one point in April and the health service coped but I think they were just at capacity. Going over 1000 at that point would have been a no-no in my opinion. Now that we have other health services back up and running, and assuming we want to keep them running, our tipping point is going to be lower. And, given it takes 2-4 weeks for restrictions to take affect, what number will be the tipping point be? 300 in hospital? 400?

If we do everything we can - within the constraints of stopping the economy from imploding - to keep over 70's from catching it, we will keep the hospitalisations down. And that can't be just telling over 70's to cocoon. They won't do it if they think that the rest of the country aren't making an effort to keep infections low too. Though keeping infections out of nursing homes will be half the battle.

If two thirds of infections are kept to under 45's, only a max 5% of those will be hospitalised. Much less in fact if a good proportion of those positive tests are asymptomatic. So if we have 400 infections a day, 300 pertaining to under 45s, we'll have approx 10 a day being hospitalised, with the vast majority of them discharged after a week. If most of the remaining infections stayed in the 45-65 category, we'd have another 10ish a day being admitted. That brings us up to the 300 in hospital at any one time mark.

We've a while to go before we get to 400 a day. If the R rate is 1.2 we have at least a couple of months.

I'm not sure if the numbers work that way at all, but I'd love to see the scenarios that NPHET have set out.

You know what?
    People are so frustrated with him and given the fact that there is no real fora to express that frustration, sometimes childish jokes are the only way.

People's brains must be scrambled if they think this kind of thing is funny.

I bet they'd be too chicken to say it to his face.

Yeah it’s no Yoke.
    If people were making fun of my appearance I’d be eggstremely annoyed about it.