Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Didn't they say the cases in the German schools were all brought in from home with little to none school transmission.

Makes you wonder

Look, we are living in a time where we are asked to keep our close contacts low. That is going beyond some people with their massive sense of entitlement for a regular high social life. Many people here in Ireland believes they are living their lives like Kim kardashian and are entitled to a social life - every.single.weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Steve F

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Probably will be as cold with all the windows open !

They'll be closed once the cold weather comes.
    Most associate being cold with getting sick plus everyone will agree it's uncomfortable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

owlbethere wrote: »
    Look, we are living in a time where we are asked to keep our close contacts low. That is going beyond some people with their massive sense of entitlement for a regular high social life. Many people here in Ireland believes they are living their lives like Kim kardashian and are entitled to a social life - every.single.weekend.

And a foreign holiday despite the travel advice. Self entitled twits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Steve F wrote: »
    They'll be closed once the cold weather comes.
    Most associate being cold with getting sick plus everyone will agree it's uncomfortable

Aye and turn the heating up. Sounds a bit like the Isreal situation but in reverse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,001 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Queried wrote: »
    I have been onto the union and sent an email to my pal Norma but I will continue to put on the pressure as you've said.

I can understand not isolating a class when a child is sent for a test but if a pupil tests positive it is simply negligent to continue to bring the class where the case was detected into school instead of quarantining them. I may have taken it up wrong but this article https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/school-virus-outbreaks-likely-but-bespoke-responses-will-avoid-closures-hse-1.4340291?mode=amp gave me the impression that quarantining the rest of the class would not necessarily happen in the event of a detected case;

"Health officials would avoid a “wide, sweeping first brush approach” initially and that she “would not routinely expect” whole classes to be excluded if there is a single case found."

I don't know how this could actually be possible. Anyone in my classroom would have to be considered a close contact anyway. They are so out of touch of what it's really like in an Irish classroom. I love my job but one of the only downsides is how quickly illness spreads, I don't believe that the powers that be aren't aware of this. Sorry for the ranting, I just want to continue to work without worrying about the pupils in my care and myself catching this virus and it not being taken as seriously as it would be elsewhere.

No apology needed ..I have let off steam here about similar issues , and it helps even if people don't agree with you ! :)
    I have sons mostly grown but one in school and they just don't get this at all , completely invincible . Very goodhearted and will do what you ask , when you remind them , but constant " nagging " as they would see it , necessary , lol.
    I can imagine this multiplied by 25 or 30 !
    Unfortunately to move ahead it is going to happen and hopefully will settle into a more common sense approach as it goes on .
    But ensure your union are vocal through this .
    This virus should be an occupational illness for all in essential frontline jobs .
    I wouldn't expect much from that Minister of Education .
    Norma is climbing up the political ladder very quickly and will obviously stand on top of parents, pupils and teachers to get a pat on the head from Micheal.

Would not this be a comment on all members of society ?
    Or the partying part thereof..?

I think there are people " carrying on " regardless .
    But it's not fair to tar all parents with the same brush.
    Some have been more than adhering to the guidelines , and noone in my acquaintance is out and about , partying or holidaying abroad .
    So unfair if parents as a whole are made scapegoats for what is very likely going to be transmission within schools .
    Some would be blameworthy, but a lot wouldn't.

I don't want to disagree with you because I understand from your posts where you are coming from , but this is where I am on this =!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Gerry Killeen needs to go and self-isolate on the ****ing moon

Seriously **** RTE for having him on again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Yes---- go for it.... Let's shame people who get COVID because of their unacceptable actions...

Is this the new AIDS?

The way this country is handling this pandemic youd have serious fears.

You said it. There is a serious entitlement by some folk, but including government. It's going to be a winter of discontent. I find it really sad that our old lives are gone but they are still gone for the foreseeable. Some people are selfish idiots or covidiots. It is tough times, stand up in solidarity to your countrymen and women. I have to say I did think growing up we have had a charmed life. I love history and did reflect nothing really happened since world war 2 and even that wasn't as bad for Irish than the English in large part. This is our tough times. Ireland will prevail. Bring back Leo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

Yes---- go for it.... Let's shame people who get COVID because of their unacceptable actions...

Is this the new AIDS?

The way this country is handling this pandemic youd have serious fears.

People who get covid because of their unacceptable actions deserve what they get. But you know they rolled the dice, their choice.

The unsuspecting people they pass it on to however, the health workers that will have to take a bigger risk treating them, well, they do deserve to be shamed for that.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Yes.
    Said today by Dr Nolan that they will leave it to Public Health but they would probably be working on the basis of students only having contact with on average about 3 to 5 people , because as he said that is all he would really remember from school .
    No offence but some of these guys with high points who go on to be eminent doctors and scientists and mathematicians may not exactly be social butterflies , so I sincerely hope he is going off some more scientific data than his own memory of school ! Lol.

Also no mention of the consideration that this virus may be airborne or transmitted by aerosol as well and doubt if a lot of Irish classrooms are that big or sophisticated in their air filtration ?
    Thinking , painted breeze block with old steamed up , aluminium windows , if they are lucky .

See, this what happens when you let nerds have a bit of power. They become worse than the bollixes that used give them wedgies.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1299033073514942464

14 day incidence in Carlow and Tipperary is now at the level it was at in Kildare and Offaly when they were locked down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

I know Ireland has a high incidence of cystic fibrosis so spotted this if any one wants to read in detail there is a pdf on the page it is from Spain.... numbers low so cavete maybe cocooning seriously

https://www.resmedjournal.com/article/S0954-6111(20)30202-X/fulltext

For the morning...Abbotts-Fast-5-15-Minute-Easy-to-Use-COVID-19-Antigen-Test-Receives-FDA-Emergency-Use-Authorization-Mobile-App-Displays-Test-Results-to-Help-Our-Return-to-Daily-Life-Ramping-Production-to-50-Million-Tests-a-Month

https://abbott.mediaroom.com/2020-08-26-Abbotts-Fast-5-15-Minute-Easy-to-Use-COVID-19-Antigen-Test-Receives-FDA-Emergency-Use-Authorization-Mobile-App-Displays-Test-Results-to-Help-Our-Return-to-Daily-Life-Ramping-Production-to-50-Million-Tests-a-Month

another paper on rapid molecular and antigen tests... whats nice is the link to a plain language version on the right which I would read first then the paper. nite all
    https://www.cochranelibrary.com/cdsr/doi/10.1002/14651858.CD013705/full#CD013705-abs-0002

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

SeaBreezes wrote: »

Well :) maybe that explains global governments çlosing down whole economies, China stamping furiously on it every time it flares, and the general pandemonium - highly contagious heart disease is a lot more head wrecking than highly contagious respiratory illness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 Fat Lives Matter

Great to see no deaths again, yet Mr Egg head is talking about a national lockdown? WTF is all that about? Only single digits in ICU? yet this gimp is talking about a lockdown? OFC, it wont affect you MR Donnelly, you can ride of into the sunset with your fat pension after all this has passed, but the business who have worked extremely hard, the people who have actually created employment can't? what a ****ing scumbag! Fair play to TD McNamara calling you out on your BS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭NoodleMc

Are they doing temperature checks in schools?

I've 2 in secondary school. Both schools doing temperature checks in the morning. Off to isolation room if high - another check 15 mins later - if still high parent called to take child home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

NoodleMc wrote: »
    I've 2 in secondary school. Both schools doing temperature checks in the morning. Off to isolation room if high - another check 15 mins later - if still high parent called to take child home.

Our school is trusting us to check the temperature before we leave home. Everything else is back to normal, school bag and lunch box packed as normal, shirt and tie scrapped can go in their school tracksuit.
    Can't believe we're going back to this daily drudge, going to miss sleeping in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭TheQuietBeatle

Great to see no deaths again, yet Mr Egg head is talking about a national lockdown? WTF is all that about? Only single digits in ICU? yet this gimp is talking about a lockdown? OFC, it wont affect you MR Donnelly, you can ride of into the sunset with your fat pension after all this has passed, but the business who have worked extremely hard, the people who have actually created employment can't? what a ****ing scumbag! Fair play to TD McNamara calling you out on your BS

I sense it's scare tactics to get people to cop on. There are still a lot of idiotic things going on.

So many people are touching and pulling at their masks. Pulling used masks from their pockets, handbags etc. Therefore contaminating their hands and then touching stuff that others will then touch.

Masks used incorrectly may be doing as much damage as no masks and I say that as someone who has been using masks.

Washing hands is especially important in these circumstances, and people should consider washing down their shopping.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

So, with all the talk about increasing cases, and continued restrictions including the pubs with no food, I'm curious as to what do people feel are the main couple of reasons why we moved from such low cases and low community transmission to where we are today (albeit not a crisis), even despite mandatory mask wearing in the interim period? The key areas that turned things around from good to mediocre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I sense it's scare tactics to get people to cop on. There are still a lot of idiotic things going on.

Very true. My mom is the sacristan at her church. This week there was a funeral and people (non family) showed up to express their condolences. One man shook hands with every single one of mourners. No mask on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭hawkwing

So, with all the talk about increasing cases, and continued restrictions including the pubs with no food, I'm curious as to what do people feel are the main couple of reasons why we moved from such low cases and low community transmission to where we are today (albeit not a crisis), even despite mandatory mask wearing in the interim period? The key areas that turned things around from good to mediocre.

Maybe the reason is more people are being tested and it was rampant everywhere before. People died in nursing homes because it was already all over the place and they were vulnerable and now because one meat factory which could have easily been any type of factory was found to have a cluster more meat factory workers were tested and lots of people who have nothing at all wrong with them tested positive.
    I don't think there was any failure etc regarding nursing homes because it was way more widespread than anyone said. Now I think a lot of the most liable to die are already dead as seems to be the case with deaths down everywhere compared to cases. But at this stage that to me is the only logical explanation for most of it,either way it's my last post on de virus as I have very little interest in the "experts/rte/boards" talking about it anymore.

Government didn't bother to do anything to prevent outbreaks in meat factories.

It was easier to threaten lockdowns and blame people for having house parties.

Those meat factories then resulted in several clusters around the country. Some really big clusters.

Still allowing flights in from the US probably doesn't help either, although I have no idea how much that impacts the numbers.

More testing also means we are finding more cases but a lot of them are not even sick.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,044 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Washing hands is especially important in these circumstances, and people should consider washing down their shopping.
    Washing shopping has never really been advised, although fine if you wish. If you want to, just leave it in storage somewhere for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,178 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

So the State somehow has the resources to police attendances in private homes but not enough to ensure people are quarantining from high risk counties? Surely legal issue affecting private home more complicated then mandating quarantine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Eod100 wrote: »
    So the State somehow has the resources to police attendances in private homes but not enough to ensure people are quarantining from high risk counties? Surely legal issue affecting private home more complicated then mandating quarantine?

Took them a month to visit 30 factory's, they raided over 6000 pubs in one weekend. Quite clear who they think the villains are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Longing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Eod100 wrote: »

Any powers relating to private homes will need to go before the Dáil in terms of Gardaí entering without a warrant as far as I'm aware unless they've found a loophole but it was widely reported a sitting of the Dáil would be required.

It appears that todays proposals will just be relating to pubs whereby anywhere caught can be closed for the rest of the day on the say so of the superintendent.

Secondly no they don't have the resources at all. One of my friends is a Garda as I've mentioned before and he said any calls like there's x number of people in this house are bottom of the queue and its essentially they'll get to them whenever they can. Could be an hour could be 4 hours but they are and will be bottom of the pile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

It's down to the factories and DP centers.
    Were they being tested Is the big question and when did they know something was up before they acted.

Also possibly, though it's just a theory I have but we know many had Polish contracts so workers could have flown in from anywhere in the world and worked in these factories without doing any sort of quarantine or restricted movement thus spreading it.

But the 3 main causes are in my opinion :

1) These factory workers could have had symptoms but they weren't paid if they didn't work so they had to work, also many were foreign workers usually living in cramped housing where it could easily spread.

2) Next we know people from DP centers also work in factories, these DB centers are also cramped so it spread quickly there too.

When any of these people interacted with the public like going to the shop meeting friends etc they had a chance of spreading the virus.

3) because of the other 2 places it spread into the community. This isn't a major factor like the other two but people got lax, less social distancing, parties hugging etc, these are much smaller clusters but more difficult to identify and nullify which is why we see the 6-15 guideline.

I think we won't hear the real truth about these factories as it would cause public outrage, instead we hear how 94 people had no symptoms of of 97 and now they're all at home safely in quarantine whilst being paid.

basically everyone's hard work ruined by profit making cooperations.