Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Jesus.

Lads there is 5 different strains of flu.

The flu jab only covers one.

How some of you people manage from one day to the next is beyond me.

https://www.hse.ie/eng/health/immunisation/pubinfo/flu-vaccination/about-the-vaccine/
    The flu vaccine is available from October 2019 until end of April 2020. This seasons campaign has now ended.

This year, the seasonal flu vaccine protects against the 4 strains of flu virus recommended by the World Health Organization (WHO) as the strains most likely to be circulating this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Queried

Jesus.

Lads there is 5 different strains of flu.

The flu jab only covers one.

How some of you people manage from one day to the next is beyond me.

Quote from HSE website regarding last years flu vaccine:
    "This year, the seasonal flu vaccine protects against the 4 strains of flu virus recommended by the World Health Organization (WHO) as the strains most likely to be circulating this season."

https://www.hse.ie/eng/health/immunisation/pubinfo/flu-vaccination/about-the-vaccine/#:~:text=This%20year's%20seasonal%20flu%20vaccine,to%20be%20circulating%20this%20season.

So it protects against more than 1 strain. I'll definitely be getting it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,149 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Steve F wrote: »
    I was bedridden till nearly the second week in January 2000...the arrival of the new millennium passed me by and to be honest I felt so ill I couldn't have cared less about it.

Had a severe dose of food poisoning (from a kebab the previous night from a now defunct abrakebabra) - massive night planned for the millenium all sadly missed with 12 hours of throwing up every last remnant of my stomach

Anyway I diverge but brought back memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,301 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Mate. Stop been hysterical. Flu vaccines aren't poison. It's not snake oil.

Educate yourself

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16670732

Never had a need to take it, perhaps 25 years ago when I had the flu bad enough to have to spend 2 days on the couch watching tv it might have been useful but my body is running like a Swiss clock as regards taking on the flu of a winter :D

Now it's out to get ye while you're not looking

On another note with all the mask wearing and sanitizing this will probably be the best flu season in a long time (as in very few infections)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,301 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

fritzelly wrote: »
    Now it's out to get ye while you're not looking

On another note with all the mask wearing and sanitizing this will probably be the best flu season in a long time (as in very few infections)

Yes I've noticed common colds, sore throat, runny nose all being non existant for me since the lockdown began. May not be a good thing being not exposed to these at all for a few years if current distancing is maintained.

maebee wrote: »
    I got the flu once in my life, in December 1999. I thought I was at death's door. It was horrendous. Got the flu jab in 2000 and every year since. Have never had a flu since. In my book, the flu vaccination works.

I might be reading you wrong.... But you got the flu once in your life up until the year 2000. I have no idea how old you are but for the sake of this example, I'll assume you are a similar age to me.

If you were 20 when you got the flu, you went 20 years of your life not getting the flu WITHOUT a vaccine.

And every year since you got the jab and haven't gotten the flu. Which means you went 20 years of your life not getting the flu WITH a vaccine.

If that's the case, it is not any kind of example of how effective a vaccine is. It's kind of like when Lisa sells Moe the anti-bear rock.

Yes I've noticed common colds, sore throat, runny nose all being non existant for me since the lockdown began. May not be a good thing being not exposed to these at all for a few years if current distancing is maintained.

We only get a very short immunity to them in the first instance so will not matter in the long term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

I might be reading you wrong.... But you got the flu once in your life up until the year 2000. I have no idea how old you are but for the sake of this example, I'll assume you are a similar age to me.

If you were 20 when you got the flu, you went 20 years of your life not getting the flu WITHOUT a vaccine.

And every year since you got the jab and haven't gotten the flu. Which means you went 20 years of your life not getting the flu WITH a vaccine.

If that's the case, it is not any kind of example of how effective a vaccine is. It's kind of like when Lisa sells Moe the anti-bear rock.

Ahh come on - no one remembers all the times they had the flu when they were a kid plus as you get older your immune system weakens leading to other complications from the flu

You do realize a vaccine is a preventative measure rather than a treatment/curative measure?

Any information sources where the flu vaccine is poison/not effective?

So you are saying the flu doesn't exist in Ireland in your analogy? Are we denying the flu is a real thing now?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Some thick people on this thread refusing to get a flu jab and claiming they're not anti-vax

You're a risk to the vulnerable in society. It's just like with covid, if you are infected it might not harm you but it could kill somebody else.

Stop being so selfish and spend ten quid or whatever it is, it takes about fifteen minutes out of your entire year.

My last post of the night.... to Germany this time and a forensic pathologist, on autopsies of those who have died regarding covid
    note first 20 seconds blurred for anyone sqcreamish but you can skip if you want rest based in a studio

speckle wrote: »
    My last post of the night.... to Germany this time and a forensic pathologist, on autopsies of those who have died regarding covid
    note first 20 seconds blurred for anyone sqcreamish but you can skip if you want rest based in a studio

All very good saying its harmless 8 months after this new virus was discovered and spreading like wildfire (and while it's nowhere near as fatal as feared it's still killed a fair amount of people before their time)

fritzelly wrote: »
    All very good saying its harmless 8 months after this new virus was discovered and spreading like wildfire (and while it's nowhere near as fatal as feared it's still killed a fair amount of people before their time)

It is a video not a static picture, watch it as the video says more then the captured subtitle on the screenshot a bit like the 'restart the new year with bendy banana's..' you posted;) Nite Nite

Ohh I agree with a lot of what he is saying but hindsight and all that jazz (double speed play)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭Talisman

Here are some links to the flu vaccine data provided by the U.S. CDC.

CDC Seasonal Flu Vaccine Effectiveness Studies

US Flu Vaccine Effectiveness Data for 2019-2020

The numbers indicate that the vaccines have been 19~60% effective in the past 11 years, with a mean of ~44%. Michael Osterholm has repeatedly made the point that the mechanism for producing flu vaccine isn't scalable and that the vulnerable don't receive enough vaccine in part for this reason. Older and high-risk groups require a larger amount of vaccine which needs to be administered in two doses, 4-6 weeks apart. This doesn't always happen because there is a limited supply of vaccine and the volume of production has been in decline for a number of years - there's not enough money in the flu vaccine production business for companies to maintain production levels.

In 2003, the World Health Assembly set targets for vaccination coverage of elderly of 50% by 2006 and 75% by 2010. Neither of those targets were ever met. Vaccination coverage among the most vulnerable people with chronic diseases and health-care workers is below 40% in most countries.

The latest figures available from the ECDC show Ireland purchased and distributed 850,000 doses in the 2016-17 flu season, which was approximately enough vaccine to give one sixth of the population a single dose.

Influenza vaccination coverage rates insufficient across EU Member States

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,009 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Is Tipp high from meat food plant cluster?

On mushrooms:)

So you are saying the flu doesn't exist in Ireland in your analogy? Are we denying the flu is a real thing now?

Erm.... No.

I didn't even hint at that.

What a bizarre misinterpretation and needlessly condescending response.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

https://www.acpjournals.org/doi/10.7326/M19-3075

Background:
    Observational studies using traditional research designs suggest that influenza vaccination reduces hospitalizations and mortality among elderly persons. Accordingly, health authorities in some countries prioritize vaccination of this population. Nevertheless, questions remain about this policy's effectiveness given the potential for bias and confounding in observational data.

Objective:
    To determine the effectiveness of the influenza vaccine in reducing hospitalizations and mortality among elderly persons by using an observational research design that reduces the possibility of bias and confounding.

Design:
    A regression discontinuity design was applied to the sharp change in vaccination rate at age 65 years that resulted from an age-based vaccination policy in the United Kingdom. In this design, comparisons were limited to individuals who were near the age-65 threshold and were thus plausibly similar along most dimensions except vaccination rate.

Setting:
    England and Wales.

Participants:
    Adults aged 55 to 75 years residing in the study area during 2000 to 2014.

Intervention:
    Seasonal influenza vaccine.

Measurements:
    Hospitalization and mortality rates by month of age.

Results:
    The data included 170 million episodes of care and 7.6 million deaths. Turning 65 was associated with a statistically and clinically significant increase in rate of seasonal influenza vaccination. However, no evidence indicated that vaccination reduced hospitalizations or mortality among elderly persons. The estimates were precise enough to rule out results from many previous studies.

https://www.healio.com/news/primary-care/20200302/flu-vaccination-does-not-reduce-hospitalizations-death-in-older-adults

At what point does covid-19 stop becoming news worthy? With little to no deaths we are basically getting daily briefings on the numbers of people with a bad cough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭prunudo

At what point does covid-19 stop becoming news worthy? With little to no deaths we are basically getting daily briefings on the numbers of people with a bad cough.

Depending on how the school openings go will dictate whether it stays top of headlines for the next six months or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

prunudo wrote: »
    Depending on how the school openings go will dictate whether it stays top of headlines for the next six months or not.

Overall, the actual reopenings will go well I reckon, as it is like normal school when we reopen with the classes bubbles back, and the children in groups pods as usual.

The craic will be trying to keep the 1m, and in some instances looking at the plans, 40cm between the kids as they move about and also trying to make sure the germs in the air only look for groups of 6 not pods of 4. That stuff is not interesting for news. They will appear and disappear until a case occurs and then it will vanish again. WOnder if there will be the usual footage of children coming in the gate to school en masse

Mask, visor, social distancing and copious amounts of handwashing.

prunudo wrote: »

Children will get sick and need to stay home for 48 hours. Not sure how they're going to get headlines out of that.

And at the best of times it doesnt take more than a cold to keep a teacher home for a week and call in the substitute. But school hit with outbreak of the common cold doesn't quite have the same catchy headline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

I'm looking forward to the soon-to-be headline news about little Johnny getting the sniffles and having to go home from school only for it to turn out to be a runny nose. Crisis averted! Guaranteed to be the top story on RTE news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Speaking of vaccines whether you get them or not what any ones view on this that.... company's are looking for liability waivers on a covid vaccine incase of side effects

https://www.brusselstimes.com/belgium/127905/coronavirus-belgian-experts-shocked-as-astrazeneca-seeks-liability-waiver-for-vaccine/

Probably hedging their bets on every crackpot who has any sort of un-related issue post vaccine blaming it on the vaccine and tying them up in the courts for decades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

GazzaL wrote: »
    I'm looking forward to the soon-to-be headline news about little Johnny getting the sniffles and having to go home from school only for it to turn out to be a runny nose. Crisis averted! Guaranteed to be the top story on RTE news.

Then discovering that Johnny was given calpol before coming to school

Investigative jounalists will have a ball.

But sure in reality the HSE inform close contacts so it remains to see what they dub a close contact. Even if a teacher is suspected of having it or being a close contact they have to leave the buildings without telling rest of staff apparently/ allegedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭prunudo

khalessi wrote: »
    Then discovering that Johnny was given calpol before coming to school

Investigative jounalists will have a ball.

But sure in reality the HSE inform close contacts so it remains to see what they dub a close contact. Even if a teacher is suspected of having it or being a close contact they have to leave the buildings without telling rest of staff apparently/ allegedly.

What a time to be a investigative journalist.

Id image there will be hype in the first few days and then again when the first school gets a case. It will be like when woodies or macdonalds reopened, big frenzy but then it just became normal.