Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will schools be able to go back in September? (Continued)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Queried

I arranged our school classrooms. There is less than 1m shoulder to shoulder in our rooms, probably around 80cm to 70cm in reality. The further st I could get the teacher away was around 1.3m approx. This is in the standard size rooms in these new build schools (7mx7m), all furniture removed, etc.

The clip shown in the primary school where they have an rea where the teacher is 2m away from students is only achievable in about 3 of our 40 odd classrooms.

We're packing more students into the overflow than what's allowed anyway so we just have to plough on I suppose...

Wow, that must have taken some amount of time, fair play!

skippy1977 wrote: »
    If you rewatch the clip...some of the chairs where literally wedged against the wall....you couldn't get a child in to the seat??

EgS4RrZXkAE0W4h?format=jpg

I don't know how I missed this the first time round, I knew my eyesight has been getting worse but not this bad :pac: thanks for sharing, so not even the model school for telly can manage it apparently!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Why are they insulting everybody with this stupid window dressing.

They must know that we know it's all a farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

If you rewatch the clip...some of the chairs where literally wedged against the wall....you couldn't get a child in to the seat??

Encountered this issue myself, I'd recommend to them to actually sit in the chair to see if it works! That ain't gonna work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

But sure they were a dot on the plans. Easy to have 1 and 2 metre distances between dots and even then some 40cm apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Listening to her talking about subs. I feel sorry for the sub teachers in primary, 4 subs to cover my school and 15 others which are medium sized and large schools, a minimum of 700 teachers but quite a few more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

They are still working on the sub panels for secondary......because there are no subs to put on a panel I assume. Of the few schools I'd be aware of staffing in only two have every teacher they need as it currently stands.....October is not that far away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

They are still working on the sub panels for secondary......because there are no subs to put on a panel I assume. Of the few schools I'd be aware of staffing in only two have every teacher they need as it currently stands.....October is not that far away

If parents were aware just how many unqualified teachers were in the system on full timetables....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

Am I wrong in thinking she didn't sound too confident that the results would actually be ready on time?? Thought I picked that up from her. She said the process is ongoing or something to that effect

If parents were aware just how many unqualified teachers were in the system on full timetables....

Or how many PMEs or people with a good leaving cert in a subject were teaching Irish etc. I do hope it causes real change, its all principals are focused on for months now and it makes effective timetabling in advance for planning impossible. Most of our staff still won't know what classes they have by the end of this week, they are preparing guesswork at the moment, trying to get ahead of things.

I also think the idea of putting a randomer in to supervise is gas, about a quarter of teachers who start in our school quit. They are actually qualified in managing students. A randomer won't keep our kids in the class, never mind socially distant and with masks on. Their normal teachers they are used to and respect will be grand but new teachers are going to have a tough time too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭Icsics

She also mentioned teachers on job sharing subbing, no teacher I know on job share will sub. They are on job share for family / personal reasons & by its definition you work half the hours, not volunteer for more, especially now

Icsics wrote: »
    She also mentioned teachers on job sharing subbing, no teacher I know on job share will sub. They are on job share for family / personal reasons & by its definition you work half the hours, not volunteer for more, especially now

This is so true.

Many do it to help with caring duties too. I'm sure they will be stressed enough as is without taking random classes on. I figured no one suggesting jobsharing teachers has ever worked in a school or been on a BOM of one either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭i_surge

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    He is perfectly entitled to make his point with being sarcastic and abrasive and asking if I want to swap jobs .He has no idea of my circumstances or my job

No idea what you are on about.

What is abrasive about what i said? I'm usually much worse, little patience for black is white arguments sometimes and easy to over step the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,690 ✭✭✭appledrop

Queried wrote: »
    Just catching up on Prime Time, watching the tour of the school at the start of the show. I'm just wondering if other teachers have been able to implement the type of distancing shown in the clip, where pretty much all of the children are 1m from each other? It would be a lot less stressful if this were possible, I'm just wondering if many have managed this?

I'm sick + tired of schools they are picking to show social distancing. Last weeks school that MM was swanning around has less thsn 190 students for a secondary school + lovely new school! They can nearly have every student in their own classroom!

Similar todays primary school has about 180 students in it. Meanwhile local primary school has 500 pupils + secondary 1000. Thats the real world.

Own big school shown was Carlow + that was a joke. Id be very worried about Principal who thought good idea to have an assembly of 150 students in gym for prayers!

appledrop wrote: »
    I'm sick + tired of schools they are picking to show social disrancing.

If they showed a picture of my classroom Twitter would go nuts :pac: You have to laugh or you'd cry :rolleyes: I spent ages trying to make it work but it's just not feasible with the size of the classroom and numbers of pupils there'll be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

A 'suite of measures' seems to be the latest catchphrase, the reign of 'best practice' may be over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,442 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

A 'suite of measures' seems to be the latest catchphrase, the reign of 'best practice' may be over

She got caught when pressed on where best practice for masks was coming from, what countries were doing it? Just said it was recommended by NPHET.

A vaccine could take years and years to materialise. I don't think people realise how long it could take. Sometimes a vaccine can be developed quickly but many fail at a late testing stage and then you're back to square one. It could also be years until there is no daily cases reported. We cannot have children out of school for years. Obviously.

It could be 2 months or less away if we had any semblance of collective responsibility and leadership

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Sunday Sunday

i_surge wrote: »
    It could be 2 months or less away if we had any semblance of collective responsibility and leadership

Highly unlikely, actually not a hope of a vaccine being available to mass population within 2 months.

The stages of vaccine approval:

- Exploratory stage
    - Pre-clinical stage
    - Clinical development
    - Regulatory review and approval
    - Manufacturing
    - Quality control

We have 6 vaccines currently in phase lll of the clinical development stage.

Even with the process fast tracked 2 months is pie in the sky.

Highly unlikely, actually not a hope of a vaccine being available to mass population within 2 months.

The stages of vaccine approval:

- Exploratory stage
    - Pre-clinical stage
    - Clinical development
    - Regulatory review and approval
    - Manufacturing
    - Quality control

We have 6 vaccines currently in phase lll of the clinical development stage.

Even with the process fast tracked 2 months is pie in the sky.

Not a vaccine, a virus free island.

But with such a wave of hand wavers of bs like yourself it is an impossibility i sadly concede.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Sunday Sunday

i_surge wrote: »
    Not a vaccine, a virus free island.

But with such a wave of hand wavers of bs like yourself it is an impossibility i sadly concede.

The effort it would take to get us to zero covid would not be possible nor sustainable. Look at countries who have successfully done this only to have the virus imported back in.

Plus we share an open border with NI, never be possible to shut down completely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Queried wrote: »
    Just catching up on Prime Time, watching the tour of the school at the start of the show. I'm just wondering if other teachers have been able to implement the type of distancing shown in the clip, where pretty much all of the children are 1m from each other? It would be a lot less stressful if this were possible, I'm just wondering if many have managed this?

https://twitter.com/SkippyCarroll/status/1298365208797294592?s=20

The effort it would take to get us to zero covid would not be possible nor sustainable. Look at countries who have successfully done this only to have the virus imported back in.

Plus we share an open border with NI, never be possible to shut down completely.

Both basic arguments i am tired of having. It is technically possible, at least as possible as the magic provisions we have for reopening schools against all currently available science.

Anyway, with the likes of yourself defending the reopen at all costs mentality it can't be done. Needs buy in and collective wisdom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

Thursday nearly here. I can't wait. My camera will be out filming the chaos at the school gate. It will be gold in fifty years.
    Norma Foley sacked in a couple of weeks.
    Met Eireann should issue a red warning for Thursday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Scoondal wrote: »
    Thursday nearly here. I can't wait. My camera will be out filming the chaos at the school gate. It will be gold in fifty years.
    Norma Foley sacked in a couple of weeks.
    Met Eireann should issue a red warning for Thursday.

Pretty sure you will be arrested for taking pics around the school gates

I am pretty sure I won't. It's a public area.
    I want to capture the mayhem on a public road.
    Tell me the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭combat14

cases of covid 19 reinfection in europe now .. just when one would think you were now safe

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/two-people-belgium-netherlands-reinfected-22573664.amp

SILENCE

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Scoondal wrote: »
    SILENCE

Well if anyone was outside my sons school taking pics at the school gates I'd ring the Gardaí and I guarantee they would be down and advise you to move on.

That's if you didn't get a kicking from parents when your spotted