If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Girlfriend's history

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,844 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

People on this forum will say relationships are built on trust but honesty is more important, you can’t trust someone that isn’t honest. Was she honest with you? You only found out about this because you snooped. I personally would run a mile, this would be a huge dealbreaker for most guys. Things on the internet are forever, what if your friends or family seen this? Would you be ok with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Potatoeman wrote: »
    People on this forum will say relationships are built on trust but honesty is more important, you can’t trust someone that isn’t honest. Was she honest with you? You only found out about this because you snooped. I personally would run a mile, this would be a huge dealbreaker for most guys. Things on the internet are forever, what if your friends or family seen this? Would you be ok with that?

How would his friends or family see her emails ? She's not up on an escort website.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    How would his friends or family see her emails ? She's not up on an escort website.

Facial recognition software and internet archive sites. They both already exist the first isn’t mainstream yet.

And? What's her face got to do with her private emails?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Ramonesp

She had a profile on the escort website for 3 months from last October to February , I clicked on links on the website and it was taken down. In her emails with the agency it clearly said that she was a non sexual escort only. From what I can see she only met up with one guy for 3 dinner dates.....the old business man in his 70s. Like I said ...she did this in October (before we met ) and met him 2 times only while we were casually dating .....since we've gone serious there has been no meetings etc. If I had known this at the start I would of walked and not looked back but now after knowing her for several months ...I've grown to love her and she loves me. I know it was a dick move of me to check emails and I now wish I hadn't but it doesn't change the uncomfortable feelings I have about what she got upto ....despite it being just companionship I feel that it's a very close relative to the sex industry and that it's very easy for lines to get blurred

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Ramonesp wrote: »
    She had a profile on the escort website for 3 months from last October to February , I clicked on links on the website and it was taken down. In her emails with the agency it clearly said that she was a non sexual escort only. From what I can see she only met up with one guy for 3 dinner dates.....the old business man in his 70s. Like I said ...she did this in October (before we met ) and met him 2 times only while we were casually dating .....since we've gone serious there has been no meetings etc. If I had known this at the start I would of walked and not looked back but now after knowing her for several months ...I've grown to love her and she loves me. I know it was a dick move of me to check emails and I now wish I hadn't but it doesn't change the uncomfortable feelings I have about what she got upto ....despite it being just companionship I feel that it's a very close relative to the sex industry and that it's very easy for lines to get blurred

You never explained how you got into her Whatsapp messages.

She made it clear it was companionship only. She didnt sleep with anyone for money, regardless if what you think it's close to and lines blurring. The lines didnt blur. Break up with her but please have the balls to tell her you read her emails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

You really need to just talk.

You don't know why she went into this line of work, and as you can imagine she probably didn't want to talk about it because you/some other potential partner would make a quick judgement call.

If you feel no matter what she will say and its a complete red flag, and you do break up - I have no idea how you do that!

But talk it out first I would day! Especially if you are talking about love here..

Sardonicat wrote: »
    And? What's her face got to do with her private emails?

I’m saying things are not as private as people think, her profile was on that site with a picture. It’s retrievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

If I had known this at the start I would of walked and not looked back

So walk OP, you clearly are unable to get over this so I'm not sure what discussing it with strangers on the internet will gain. I feel talking to her honestly about it is a waste of time as it doesn't matter how well she explains herself, this is something that is just going to stick in your mind and you are likely to bring it up and keep throwing it in her face down the line so best for everyone to separate now.

Being paid for your company with no sexual contact is not the same at all as being a prostitute. Some elderly men are lonely and have the money to pay a pretty girl to keep them company for a meal. Honestly whats the issue? Prop paid well hence why she kept in touch with the men in question or maybe she hopes Covid will take them out and they'll leave her some money. If she worked in a bar and wore a low cut top to get extra tips from drunk young lads would you such an issue? Would you see that as one step up from being a prostitute?

https://www.cosmopolitan.com/uk/love-sex/a16565849/sugar-baby-reddit-ama/

I think it’s very foolish to think there is not a sexual side to this.

https://www.cosmopolitan.com/uk/love-sex/a16565849/sugar-baby-reddit-ama/

I think it’s very foolish to think there is not a sexual side to this.

I don't think that's the same thing, and at this point it's nothing more than speculation to assume the OPs gf is into that scene (or providing anything other than companionship on a few occasions).

Are all escorting sites "for companionship only"? I believe they are. I would be assuming she dabbled in a seeking arrangements type on escorting before she met you. What you do with that is up to you.

Yeah you shouldn't have snooped but you did and now you have this so should address it.

(There's a lot of perfect people in this thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

It’s okay to be uncomfortable with your partner having a past in escorting. There are people bending over backwards here trying to show how ‘woke’ they are, but I wonder if they’d have these same views if it was their own partner. This is a fair thing to be concerned about.

At the same time, it’s entirely possible that it’s nothing to worry about too. This could’ve been a fleeting notion that she tried out and wasn’t for her. I know when I’ve been single I’ve tried stuff, because what harm, and found it wasn’t for me. And I’m not going to lie for as judgemental as some people can be about this stuff, if I got offered a ball of money to just have dinner and nothing more with a friendly old granny I’d consider it and I bet many others would too! While your concerns are valid and pulling on that string may unravel something else worth knowing, remember too that it could be something you wouldn’t care about if you knew the full story and because of how you’ve found out you’re left with your anxiety and the worst possible scenarios in your head.

Your options now are to walk, to pretend you didn’t see it and let it consume you then probably come out anyway down the line in a manner you can’t control, or to fess up and have an open conversation. The last one is the only real option where saving the relationship is possible. But also prepare yourself for the possibility that you may not get an explanation, she may be so appalled by the snooping that it ends the relationship. And you’d deserve it if it was the case, I really don’t think you seem to understand that you’ve done something many would consider a dealbreaker. But even then, that is ultimately a better scenario than living in constant uncertainty and letting it eat you alive, only for it to come out eventually anyway.

leggo wrote: »
    . There are people bending over backwards here trying to show how ‘woke’ they are, .
    leggo wrote: »

At the same time, it’s entirely possible that it’s nothing to worry about too. This could’ve been a fleeting notion that she tried out and wasn’t for her. I know when I’ve been single I’ve tried stuff, because what harm, and found it wasn’t for me. And I’m not going to lie for as judgemental as some people can be about this stuff, if I got offered a ball of money to just have dinner and nothing more with a friendly old granny I’d consider it and I bet many others would too! While your concerns are valid and pulling on that string may unravel something else worth knowing, remember too that it could be something you wouldn’t care about if you knew the full story and because of how you’ve found out you’re left with your anxiety and the worst possible scenarios in your head.

Your options now are to walk, to pretend you didn’t see it and let it consume you then probably come out anyway down the line in a manner you can’t control, or to fess up and have an open conversation. The last one is the only real option where saving the relationship is possible. But also prepare yourself for the possibility that you may not get an explanation, she may be so appalled by the snooping that it ends the relationship. And you’d deserve it if it was the case, I really don’t think you seem to understand that you’ve done something many would consider a dealbreaker. But even then, that is ultimately a better scenario than living in constant uncertainty and letting it eat you alive, only for it to come out eventually anyway

This- except I'm not sure I understand the 'woke' part?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭bitofabind

If you are going to have any kind of future with her you're going to have to ask her about this OP. And be aware that the fact of you snooping means she'll already have her defences up, at best will tell you nothing and at worst will dump you.

There are too many variables as to why your girlfriend was working as an escort. It's not something most women even consider. Does she have money issues? Addiction issues? Is she in debt? Has she done this before in the past? What are her boundaries like with men and sex in general?

If I was about to set up shop with someone, I'd need to know exactly what in their life, their past and their character led them down the route of selling their company to older rich men to make a quick buck. Are we talking "I can make a lot of dough and it seemed safe" or "I'm 100k in debt and can't pay my rent and it was a last resort" here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Up Donegal

She left her email account open on my laptop a few days ago and I ended up snooping.

If you went to the laptop and the email was open when you got there, you could mention it to her but when you "ended up snooping", that's a different story. You shouldn't have went through her emails.

Anyway, good luck and I hope everything turns out for both of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭Aseth

At this point it's not really important how OP found out and whether we find it questionable as this is not really a part of the problem.

OP you need to think deep and hard, can you trust your gf if she tells you this was an episode in her life, it was only 3 dates, no sex? Can you trust her when she tells you she is going out with friend(s) for dinner and not worry all the time that she is lying to you and having date as an escort? Or is it going to be continuously on your mind?
    There is also a serious possibility she might break up with you when you tell her you went through her emails. You could keep quiet but do you think you can move on?

We can discuss here different aspects of the whole situation but if you can't trust her than maybe it's better for both of you to break up?

Aseth wrote: »

We can discuss here different aspects of the whole situation but if you can't trust her than maybe it's better for both of you to break up?

I'm not saying it's not valid concern (trusting the gf) but it's hard to ask the gf to reassure him when he has already shown he cannot himself act in a way that is very trustworthy.

I think it all needs to be gotten out into the open to figure out if they want a relationship and if they can both build trust from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭Aseth

kenmm wrote: »
    I'm not saying it's not valid concern (trusting the gf) but it's hard to ask the gf to reassure him when he has already shown he cannot himself act in a way that is very trustworthy.

I think it all needs to be gotten out into the open to figure out if they want a relationship and if they can both build trust from here.

I do get what you are saying but she doesn't know about it yet. Again we could have a lengthy discussion on reading partner's emails, coming clean, respect, honesty, etc but I think OP needs to figure out if with or without discussing it with his gf can he trust her ever again(doesn't matter what we think about her behaviour)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,602 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Bring it up with her. Don’t worry about the whole “ you invaded my privacy “ thing for reading her emails, she left it open on your computer. (You didn’t hack it or had a keylogger ?) so it’s fine. Very very few people here wouldn’t have a quick gander . Did she leave it open on purpose Do you think ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

cj maxx wrote: »
    Bring it up with her. Don’t worry about the whole “ you invaded my privacy “ thing for reading her emails, she left it open on your computer. (You didn’t hack it or had a keylogger ?) so it’s fine. Very very few people here wouldn’t have a quick gander . Did she leave it open on purpose Do you think ?

How did he get access to her WhatsApp??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,602 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

How did he get access to her WhatsApp??

Hmm. I didn’t cop that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

She found you on he internet, she found him onnrhe internet, God knows what other agencies of ‘escort’ services she hs also subscribed to - either with that email or phone or others. OP - whether its mail order brides or guys flying to third world and ex communist countries to find ‘love’ with strangers who don’t speak their language & look pretty but they know nothing about - its exchanging comfort for benefits regardless of how you dress it up. How much do
    you think she had in common to date a seventy year old - if thats even his age- is this how you’d like your sister to be carrying on? I mean it - lets face it - she wsn’t ‘escorting’ a 30,40,50 or 60 year old - do you think thats normal? To put into your ‘escort’ preferences anyone from 20-70. Is that where your values lie? If your best friend was dating a prostitute he found in the internet what wpild you say to him - and if she was also double dating 70 year old strangers what would you say to him? do you know anything really about her or her past - or are you willing to run the risk
    of being yet another guy caught in the sudden lifelong financial trap of an unexpected pregnancy that you will he paying for along with adult support for the rest of your life, or wil you wait til she has the residency issue nailed and then be prepared to lose half your salary and house to her? Two years of living together and she is a common law wife Nd owns half everything by law.
    You know nothing about her or her past other than her morals are light and she is prepared to date ANYONE - for cash. She moved over and in with you ? How quickly did that happen? And while she was being paid to “escort” a pensioner. C’mon. Im sure there are other beautiful, available women out there who arn’t for sale on the internet - in person - . Who do you think you are kidding. The liberal left might think its ok to have a prostitute as a girlfriend but is that how low you value yourself? Will you be bringing her home to
    your mother and farher. What happens when they search the internet for her - now, or in the future. Or anyone else does - will you be then shunned as much as she will be - lets face it - will other wives and mothers be having her over for tea or allowing playdates? For all
    ypu lnow she has a long list of past cluents that drop over/in when they’re in town and her values are so light she considers being available for cash normal. And it isn’t. Move on. And move her out.

And go to your doctor or a wellman clinic and get yourself tested (bloods) for everything before you have sex with anyone else.

There is no evidence to suggest a sexual encounter happened, but that sort of post is probably (potentially) exactly why she wouldn't say anything to a casual new partner (the OP).

RE the last part, presumably that would happen anyway before moving on to a new long term partner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭guitarhappy

How many sad stories are on here week after week where the couple have been married 5 years, have 7 children under the age of 4, the wife has turned off the tap, and the guy is asking 'will I ever get any mogambo again?'

At least this girlfriend is interesting and is self directing her own life. She's not a prostitute by any reasonable definition, she's not doing anything "wrong." She's exciting.

She seems like a keeper who won't make you die an early death out of sheer boredom and white picket fence. Tell her you think it's really cool what she's doing, wait and listen to her response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

How many sad stories are on here week after week where the couple have been married 5 years, have 7 children under the age of 4, the wife has turned off the tap, and the guy is asking 'will I ever get any mogambo again?'

At least this girlfriend is interesting and is self directing her own life. She's not a prostitute by any reasonable definition, she's not doing anything "wrong." She's exciting.

She seems like a keeper who won't make you die an early death out of sheer boredom and white picket fence. Tell her you think it's really cool what she's doing, wait and listen to her response.

she is available for hire on the internet. She is 37 and in her last year of being able to have a chance of having a baby and at high risk for that because of her fertility age. She is happy to ‘date’ seventy year old pensioners who ‘fly in’ for a night of fun - with a stranger. She was double dating at least two men on the internet while fishing for dates anywhere in the weatern world - london, Ireland, USA. She is now - from January - since 3 dates - and just before lockdown she has now moved to Iteland moved in in with OP- unclear) where he discovered by accident that she is available for hire for nights out for payment on the internet - he has also discovered she was two timing him while she shopped around or sold herself at the gates of the old folks home for cash. Hardly the kind of woman you’d want to be stuck with finamcially for life - or introduce to your father - for all you know she’s probably casing out his friends for a quick fix solvency solution while dating you. Maybe she needs a new handbag, or car, or teethwhitening - sure just a few jobs for hire with strangers and she’ll have no money worries. What kind of morals and background do you think someone who thinks this way has? Sure - you may find this ‘exciting’ or ‘a keeper’ but do you think you mates girlfriends will want to hang out with a for hire hooker on nights out - or have anything to do with you as a couple. Sex or women for sale is not sexy nor attractive - especially as your life partner or lifelong debtor. What do you do when she sells herself for a night to the fArmer up the road, or your colleague, or the pensioner you meet at the GAA hall, or an old man from america ‘just a friend’ who flies in for a ‘datenight’ and brings his chequebook/ATM card.
    Wouod you think its ok for your child or daughter to sell herself for cash? No? Neither is it for yoir partner/girlfriend. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,941 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,971 ✭✭✭JJayoo

She's a sugar baby, gets paid by rich old farts for her 'company'

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Mod Note

Folks the OP has set out what they've discovered the girlfriend is and are asking for advice on what to do next. Please bear that in mind when replying and offer them advice. Though given the OP hasn't been back and there isn't much more to go on its probably not easy to give further advice.

Guitarhappy I've deleted your post. Please bear in mind the higher standard of posting expected here in PI.