If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

Not that I believe that gaff parties are rampant bit those people buying drink in the supermarket could well just be heading back to their own houses.

yep one big house , would you wake up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

people are drinking in houses because the pubs arent open, its not fooking rocket science.

seriosuly, anyone that has a few friends that like a drink can see that
    "you have a drinking problem so"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

you like the pub for either the drink or the socializing.

if its socializing, then group gatherings are just retarded in a pandemic.

If its the drink you prefer, then you can drink at home....that's not rocket science.

But to go out and socialize is bad enough , but to do it whilst drunk where you are more likely to be less careful is not just absolutely stupid, but selfish and shows disregard for others.

you like the pub for either the drink or the socializing.

if its socializing, then group gatherings are just retarded in a pandemic.

If its the drink you prefer, then you can drink at home....that's not rocket science.

But to go out and socialize is bad enough , but to do it whilst drunk where you are more likely to be less careful is not just absolutely stupid, but selfish and shows disregard for others.

could say that to alot of teachers and headmasters and gardai ,who all drink , get off your high chair , you will get dizzy

what has that got to do with my point.

I dont care if the pope, putin, trump and johnny around the corner drink, it does not change the fact going out to socialize during a global pandemic and get drunk with others is borth stupid and selfish.

I loved the pub, but have the mentality to realize its not a priority, and being asked to hold off supping in a bar with others is not a lot to ask.

The way you go on you think it was a priority

what has that got to do with my point.

I dont care if the pope, putin, trump and johnny around the corner drink, it does not change the fact going out to socialize during a global pandemic and get drunk with others is borth stupid and selfish.

I loved the pub, but have the mentality to realize its not a priority, and being asked to hold off supping in a bar with others is not a lot to ask.

The way you go on you think it was a priority

borth ??

the most stupid thing to do now is still hide
    wake up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

borth ??

the most stupid thing to do now is still hide
    wake up
    I'll take a wild stab at this...
    You have no elderly people you are in the slightest worried about, or any others.

Don't think anyone is hiding. Just taking preventative measures. I believe the rest of the pubs opening under the same guidelines may help rather than hinder, while watched, but that's not yet happening.

Suckit wrote: »
    You have no elderly people you are in the slightest worried about, or any others.

Don't think anyone is hiding. Just taking preventative measures. I believe the rest of the pubs opening under the same guidelines may help rather than hinder, while watched, but that's not yet happening.

I think the way some people go on they must be chronic alcoholics or sad lonely people with no friends or partners that they have to get to a pub in order to get attention.

Not that selling food in a pub will somehow prevent covid either, I saw one bar in cork that was selling food, had people all social distancing sitting outside, then the rain pissed down, and all the people who were distancing were huddled together under a canopy trying to stay dry., making everything they did earlier all rendered completely wasted.
    I looked over at these morons and thought, these exactly are the type of fools the sane people have to depend on to take precautions. Greedy selfish people who only think about their needs and screw everyone else.

Still I am sure someone will look for a typo in my post in order to deflect from some home truths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

I think the way some people go on they must be chronic alcoholics or sad lonely people with no friends or partners that they have to get to a pub in order to get attention.

Not that selling food in a pub will somehow prevent covid either, I saw one bar in cork that was selling food, had people all social distancing sitting outside, then the rain pissed down, and all the people who were distancing were huddled together under a canopy trying to stay dry., making everything they did earlier all rendered completely wasted.
    I looked over at these morons and thought, these exactly are the type of fools the sane people have to depend on to take precautions. Greedy selfish people who only think about their needs and screw everyone else.

Still I am sure someone will look for a typo in my post in order to deflect from some home truths.

Usually it's the people with no friends who don't want the pubs to reopen. Those who have friends want to meet them for a few drinks. So that particular insult doesn't really work. And it's easy and much cheaper to be an alcoholic without pubs.

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

well done on not reading what i wrote in my posts..

I clearly stated I like my pint,
    clearly stated in my posts that my wife and I and fiends would socialize often, but dont bother with house parties out of health reasons and not being stupid

Maybe being confined at home without the pub is not that hard to do, I can survive without the pub, I am not that desperate for attention where my ego needs more attention than my health.....and I am comfortable in my own surroundings.
    Have you considered you can have friends, a family, like a pint, but are willing to go without a pub because you care about picking up a virus during a global pandemic and bringing home to your loved ones....maybe you are the lonely one, as anyone with a family or loved one would have considered that.

no pint on earth is worth that, and if you value drinking in a pub more than your health and the health of others, that says more about you.

you act like pubs are essential or priority, I hate to break it to you, but they are not.
    And if you need to see your friends that badly, why does it have to be in a pub ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

It’s mind boggling that so many people clearly have such little understanding of addiction issues.
    ‘Chronic alcoholics’ aren’t going to go to the effort of ringing around venues to book a two hour socially distanced slot with the added expense of having to pay €9 for a substantial meal that they don’t even want when they could just spend that money on extra alcohol and drink at home or elsewhere.

Someone with a chronic addiction, or even just a regular addiction, would not jump through so many hoops when it would be significantly less effort to just go to an off license.
    For them it’s all about accessing what they’re addicted to as quickly & easily as possible, and not the socialisation aspect.

The last few months have been incredibly difficult and emotionally taxing for most people and it’s only now that a glimmer of slight normality is beginning to return.
    If you want to make a martyr of yourself and continue to live a life of recluse then go ahead, but don’t label others as ‘sad, lonely, chronic alcoholics’ because they are wanting to meet friends and family to socialise as per the government guidelines, and because they want the regular pubs to be allowed reopen without the ridiculous substantial meal requirement.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    It’s mind boggling that so many people clearly have such little understanding of addiction issues.
    ‘Chronic alcoholics’ aren’t going to go to the effort of ringing around venues to book a two hour socially distanced slot with the added expense of having to pay €9 for a substantial meal that they don’t even want when they could just spend that money on extra alcohol and drink at home or elsewhere.

Someone with a chronic addiction, or even just a regular addiction, would not jump through so many hoops when it would be significantly less effort to just go to an off license.
    For them it’s all about accessing what they’re addicted to as quickly & easily as possible, and not the socialisation aspect.

The last few months have been incredibly difficult and emotionally taxing for most people and it’s only now that a glimmer of slight normality is beginning to return.
    If you want to make a martyr of yourself and continue to live a life of recluse then go ahead, but don’t label others as ‘sad, lonely, chronic alcoholics’ because they are wanting to meet friends and family to socialise as per the government guidelines, and because they want the regular pubs to be allowed reopen without the ridiculous substantial meal requirement.

Well done on completely missing the point yet again.

the fact you think I am staying home and avoiding pubs to be a "martyr" shows how utterly clueless you are as to why I and other sane unselfish people are doing what we are doing.

The fact i am considering my health, the health of my family and parents during a global pandemic seems to be completely lost on you.

You can spout whatever pathetic excuse you want to validate your crying to have the pubs open, but it wont change the truth pubs are not a priority during this crisis.

But hey, who cares about people dying when you want to go to the pub cos you are bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

the fact you think I am staying home and avoiding pubs to be a "martyr" shows how utterly clueless you are as to why I and other sane unselfish people are doing what we are doing.

The fact i am considering my health, the health of my family and parents during a global pandemic seems to be completely lost on you.

You can spout whatever pathetic excuse you want to validate your crying to have the pubs open, but it wont change the truth pubs are not a priority during this crisis.

But hey, who cares about people dying when you want to go to the pub cos you are bored.

It’s not just pubs though, is it? You’ve also taken issue with people going to restaurants, meeting up with friends and having gatherings in their homes.
    You seem to have a problem with any type of social interaction.
    But we aren’t robots, if people want to do those things within the government guidelines then they are perfectly entitled to and it doesn’t make them selfish or reckless, no matter how much you insist otherwise.
    Just because you find it easy to go without those things doesn’t mean other people do.

And the fact that you again dismiss it as wanting to go to the pub out of boredom says it all. You clearly just don’t have a clue. The situation is far more complex than a bit of boredom, not that you care or anything.

This pandemic is going absolutely nowhere and life must go on.
    People are dying of other things besides coronavirus too, but people don’t care as much about that.
    Not to mention those who will die preventable deaths in the coming years from missed cancer screenings.

You put in a good effort with your little guilt trip there but I’m afraid it just won’t work.
    I will never agree with you that keeping the pubs closed and banning house parties will prevent death when all the major recent clusters have come out of meat factories and direct provision centres, and the majority of deaths were caused by mismanagement of nursing homes which is no reflection on the efforts of us as a society.
    That ones on the government.
    I suggest you direct your anger and judgment at them, rather than at people who are just trying to get a little bit of normality in these tough times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

well done on not reading what i wrote in my posts..

I clearly stated I like my pint,
    clearly stated in my posts that my wife and I and fiends would socialize often, but dont bother with house parties out of health reasons and not being stupid

Maybe being confined at home without the pub is not that hard to do, I can survive without the pub, I am not that desperate for attention where my ego needs more attention than my health.....and I am comfortable in my own surroundings.
    Have you considered you can have friends, a family, like a pint, but are willing to go without a pub because you care about picking up a virus during a global pandemic and bringing home to your loved ones....maybe you are the lonely one, as anyone with a family or loved one would have considered that.

no pint on earth is worth that, and if you value drinking in a pub more than your health and the health of others, that says more about you.

you act like pubs are essential or priority, I hate to break it to you, but they are not.
    And if you need to see your friends that badly, why does it have to be in a pub ?

You are so high up on that horse that I think the clouds are obscuring your view of reality. Do you think deliberately trying to insult people is going to achieve anything? I think it's ironic, given your posting style that you claim you don't need the pub because you're 'not desperate for attention'.

Personally I don't drink at all and don't go to pubs but I won't judge you on your drug intake during non-pandemic times because if you want to damage your liver that's up to yourself.

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

Suckit wrote: »

Yes do have elderly people and they want to go out . If the government can so can they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Why are you being such an arse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Woah someone drank all the kool aid. Are you always this angry and miserable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,690 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Pubs that don’t serve food are exactly the place a microscopic virus that can’t be stopped by borders or lockdowns like to wait and jump on you as soon as you enter the premises.
    Opening them would be like opening the gates of Hades where all hell will be unleashed and the destruction of society would no doubt soon fall upon us...
    For the good of all mankind and the prevention of illness and deaths we must never open the pubs again!!

MadYaker wrote: »
    Why are you being such an arse?

Idiotic replies. They make some very valid points and the gang are all just piling on with this rubbish because they can’t answer any of them.

all the people quoting me, and not a single one could find way to deny the points i made about the pubs not being a priority.

People can call me boring, say i drank the kool aid, but i put the health of my family , our parents and myself far far above the desperate need for a pint in the pub to socialize during a pandemic.

just because some other pub sells food for 9quid dont mean they are immune either.

Says more about the selfish nature of people when they do not give a damn about others or spreading a virus cos their need for a pint and attention of others takes priority

you are the one moaning about the pubs not being open and miserable you cannot socialize during the pandemic, and claim I am miserable....priceless

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I think it is the guilt shaming that is the worst. Just cause someone wants to go for a few scoops it should not make them a social parasite or pariah and nor should they be labelled as such.

Bans are bans, but as a responsible person I find it patronising that it assumed by others that I would recklessly attend a pub if I were not feeling well or in fact would risk the lives of family and loved ones.

Not everyone has a family to be worried about? For starters. These types need their local the most if you ask me.

It is unfair to assume anyone going for a few pints is being reckless and it is also unfair to make a deal about it. This is a free country and there are bigger bads going on than someone going to a pub for a few pints.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I think it is the guilt shaming that is the worst. Just cause someone wants to go for a few scoops it should not make them a social parasite or pariah and nor should they be labelled as such.

Bans are bans, but as a responsible person I find it patronising that it assumed by others that I would recklessly attend a pub if I were not feeling well or in fact would risk the lives of family and loved ones.

Not everyone has a family to be worried about? For starters. These types need their local the most if you ask me.

It is unfair to assume anyone going for a few pints is being reckless and it is also unfair to make a deal about it. This is a free country and there are bigger bads going on than someone going to a pub for a few pints.

nor should everyone who takes precautions be labelled either, which clearly happens

And you might well be responsible, but the more a person gets drunk the chances of them being less responsible increases.

I guess its all about priorities for me, I put my health and the health of those I love before the need to go to the pub, and believe me, I loved the pub and miss it, but the risk is too strong,

People claiming the government can do what they want etc is a different argument and what those "badder lads" you refer to are doing is also a different issue, I am against what they done too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

all the people quoting me, and not a single one could find way to deny the points i made about the pubs not being a priority.

People can call me boring, say i drank the kool aid, but i put the health of my family , our parents and myself far far above the desperate need for a pint in the pub to socialize during a pandemic.

just because some other pub sells food for 9quid dont mean they are immune either.

Says more about the selfish nature of people when they do not give a damn about others or spreading a virus cos their need for a pint and attention of others takes priority

There are 19 people currently in hospital for Covid. During the winter flu season between 200-500 people die per winter (that's from the HSE website). We have had roughly 20 deaths in the last month. It is time we got on with things and opened up out society again instead of faffing about for tiny numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭Neowise

nor should everyone who takes precautions be labelled either, which clearly happens

And you might well be responsible, but the more a person gets drunk the chances of them being less responsible increases.

I guess its all about priorities for me, I put my health and the health of those I love before the need to go to the pub, and believe me, I loved the pub and miss it, but the risk is too strong,

People claiming the government can do what they want etc is a different argument and what those "badder lads" you refer to are doing is also a different issue, I am against what they done too.

What difference does a pub being opened or closed make to you?

You clearly state that your priority is to your family and you wouldn't be going to them, but, you cannot go to them because they are not open. Can I deduce then, that if they were open, that you would be unable to keep yourself out of the pubs, and it is for that reason that you want them to remain shut, so that you are not tempted into them?

Open the pubs, if pubs are being unsafe, shut them down for health and safety breachs, but allow those that are being responsible and maintaining a safe setup to remain open. Why should pubs remain shut just because justin doesn't want to go to a pub because his family is his priority?

I’d this was just “look after yourself” (like a lot of people seem to think) then it would be easy. But it requires everyone, or at least the vast majority, to do their bit for everyone. Just because you don’t know someone, burying them for your pint is selfish at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

There are 19 people currently in hospital for Covid. During the winter flu season between 200-500 people die per winter (that's from the HSE website). We have had roughly 20 deaths in the last month. It is time we got on with things and opened up out society again instead of faffing about for tiny numbers

That's correct.

But the reason there are only 19 people in hospital is because most people are following recommendations - or at least have modified their usual behaviour.

It is not a conspiracy. We have seen what happened in other countries when it was allowed to spread in normal day-to-day life - the same as you might see for the flu.

Bear in mind also that vulnerable people - by and large - get flu vaccinations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

I guess its all about priorities for me, I put my health and the health of those I love before the need to go to the pub, and believe me, I loved the pub and miss it, but the risk is too strong, .

That poster you quoted clearly said the pubs being open would not mean he would forget his priorities. You do not have superiority over him.

you are the one moaning about the pubs not being open and miserable you cannot socialize during the pandemic, and claim I am miserable....priceless

That makes no sense.

Stop talking sense you’re upsetting people.