Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

blanch152 wrote: »
    You could call it the Friends of Gerry Adams category too if you want.

What do you mean by that? Who/What is a ''Freinds of Gerry Adams'' category?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

jm08 wrote: »
    What do you mean by that? Who/What is a ''Freinds of Gerry Adams'' category?

Where people like Liam Adams, Tom McFeely and Slab Murphy fit in, thought that was obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,101 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

BQQ wrote: »
    *Taoisigh

We do have a Tánaiste though

Yes, one of each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,998 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

People should acknowledge that SF are doing the right thing by not seeking a Dail return to put forward a vote of no confidence In a government that has been working very hard to erode the last slim shred of confidence the people have in it.

The possibility of another election and weeks of cattle trading to form the next government are not what we need now.

Let’s just remember the next time the ballot boxes are put in front of us that FF need to be consigned to the trash bin for once and for all. Their inability to reinvent themselves from their last stint in power is clear for all to see, they are just simply not for changing.

Seen Mary Lou on the news. So in her amoral world it's wrong for td's to play golf with judges and lobbyist put xmas parties with criminals and murderers is fine.

And of course the virus can tell the difference between a party and a mock funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

jh79 wrote: »
    Seen Mary Lou on the news. So in her amoral world it's wrong for td's to play golf with judges and lobbyist put xmas parties with criminals and murderers is fine.

And of course the virus can tell the difference between a party and a mock funeral.

That must of sounded so smart in your own head before you typed it, and even smarter then when you heard the echo.

Well done.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

That must of sounded so smart in your own head before you typed it, and even smarter then when you heard the echo.

Well done.

You're more than welcome to explain to me how it is more acceptable for "one shot" McCabe to attend SF functions than bankers playing golf with tds.

Sorry, but I don't have the time, the inclination or the crayons.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Sorry, but I don't have the time, the inclination or the crayons.

Any chance you stuck them up your nose ?

The voice of experience.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Where people like Liam Adams, Tom McFeely and Slab Murphy fit in, thought that was obvious.

You really are throwing the kitchen sink at smart alec comments. Getting tutorials from Leo are you?

The voice of experience.

To be fair you walked right into that one.

You really are throwing the kitchen sink at smart alec comments. Getting tutorials from Leo are you?

Any chance as a SF voter you could explain Mary Lou's logic that it is unacceptable for td's to play golf with lobbyists and bankers but acceptable for active members of criminal gangs to attend SF functions?

You'd have to tell me who and which function this active member of a criminal gang was at.

Was posted earlier in one of the SF threads you and I post on. Some Sunday paper from NI. Conor Murphy and "One Shot" McCabe. The pictures were taken after the murder of Paul Quinn too.

Francie thought it was enough evidence for Murphy to resign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,144 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Was posted earlier in one of the SF threads you and I post on. Some Sunday paper from NI. Conor Murphy and "One Shot" McCabe. The pictures were taken after the murder of Paul Quinn too.

Francie thought it was enough evidence for Murphy to resign.

Where are you getting the 'invited' bit? It was a Christmas party in a pub from what I know.
    You gilding the lily?

p.s. That wasn't why I thought Murphy should resign, I thought that because he got involved in the case when he shouldn't have.

Where are you getting the 'invited' bit? It was a Christmas party in a pub from what I know.
    You gilding the lily?

p.s. That wasn't why I thought Murphy should resign, I thought that because he got involved in the case when he shouldn't have.

Fair enough. An assumption on my part.

In your opinion is it worse for an elected politician to associate with the likes of "one shot" or bank managers?

Fair enough. An assumption on my part.

In your opinion is it worse for an elected politician to associate with the likes of "one shot" or bank managers?

That question I answered on the other thread.

I thought that was why you said Murphy should resign.

If the answer was because of the "conflict" it's normal that some dodgy characters would still be involved? Surely that doesn't apply if they are still active after the GFA.

McCabes 's gang have been named as those involved. His gang is what people are referring to as those operating in the area but without the blessing of Gerry or the late B Storey?

I thought that was why you said Murphy should resign.

If the answer was because of the "conflict" it's normal that some dodgy characters would still be involved? Surely that doesn't apply if they are still active after the GFA.

McCabes 's gang have been named as those involved. His gang is what people are referring to as those operating in the area but without the blessing of Gerry or the late B Storey?

I explained this before in fairness jh79

The IRA whom I never supported (but as republican understood why they did what they did) had to convince me. As had SF that they were applying their commitments to the GFA.
    I think what Adams and McGuinness did was outstanding in bringing them (IRA) into democratic politics.
    I understood a number of things...rather than sensationally go on about white bearded old men in the whins pulling nefarious strings I understood not all of them would get or take up elected office and that there was a possibility some people who did awful things would be in the background. That is a post conflict/war society.

I also understand what the IMC referred to when they talked about 'difficulties in South Armagh' for the IRA and control. That too was always going to happen and I think Murphy apologising has brought him at least to heel. I think he should resign though.

I am convinced SF are fulfilling their commitments to the GFA...therefore can vote for them.

I explained this before in fairness jh79

The IRA whom I never supported (but as republican understood why they did what they did) had to convince me. As had SF that they were applying their commitments to the GFA.
    I think what Adams and McGuinness did was outstanding in bringing them (IRA) into democratic politics.
    I understood a number of things...rather than sensationally go on about white bearded old men in the whins pulling nefarious strings I understood not all of them would get or take up elected office and that there was a possibility some people who did awful things would be in the background. That is a post conflict/war society.

I also understand what the IMC referred to when they talked about 'difficulties in South Armagh' for the IRA and control. That too was always going to happen and I think Murphy apologising has brought him at least to heel. I think he should resign though.

I am convinced SF are fulfilling their commitments to the GFA...therefore can vote for them.

Given that Murphy is still a MLA is it hypocritical of MLD to criticise TD's for playing fecking golf with bank managers and the like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

The virus can't tell the difference in a Gardas funeral or a Sinn Fein funeral either jh.

McMurphy wrote: »
    The virus can't tell the difference in a Gardas funeral or a Sinn Fein funeral either jh.

'The Virus Likes To Party' according to Dara Calleary on Wednesday last when he probably had the invite for a two day in his pocket.

McMurphy wrote: »

I agree completely. But MLD was on news today saying there was no equivalency with the Clifden incident. Was she right or wrong?

Given that Murphy is still a MLA is it hypocritical of MLD to criticise TD's for playing fecking golf with bank managers and the like?

They are all hypocrits when it suits...what makes you think that I think there is a perfect political party out there, I don't really know.

And please jh79...do me a favour and stop trying to diminish the significance of the power swap parties, the judiciary, journalists and the Gardai all ignoring regs and giving two fingers to the entire country by calling it a 'game of fecking golf.'

That game has accounted for multiple apologies and the resignation of two government reps and an abject Taoiseach on our national broadcaster. Not to mention severely weakening the government.

They are all hypocrits when it suits...what makes you think that I think there is a perfect political party out there, I don't really know.

And please jh79...do me a favour and stop trying to diminish the significance of the power swap parties, the judiciary, journalists and the Gardai all ignoring regs and giving two fingers to the entire country by calling it a 'game of fecking golf.'

That game has accounted for multiple apologies and the resignation of two government TD's and an abject Taoiseach on our national broadcaster. Not to mention severely weakening the government.

Mary Lou on the Six One news specifically said as an aside that the golf club thing was wrong irrespective of the virus.

'The Virus Likes To Party' according to Dara Calleary on Wednesday last when he probably had the invite for a two day in his pocket.

There wasn't a whimper about the social distancing guidelines being ignored until the shinners followed suit.

They keep going with different angles - "they broke travel restrictions during lock down" no they didn't, the funeral was the day after restrictions were lifted.

"They broke the rules" then post a link complaining that an exception was made for Storeys funeral.

"Social distancing was ignored" so too was Garda Horkans.

"The virus can't tell difference in a party and funeral" - see above.

They have no moral high ground, yet still try and claim some.

I agree completely. But MLD was on news today saying there was no equivalency with the Clifden incident. Was she right or wrong?

Didn't see it, (the interview) but have seen it discussed on the Dara Calleary thread, and the general consensus there is that she was saying there was a difference in a funeral and a golf outing, which I agree with.

Emotions will be running high at a funeral, hence why I thought it was completely understandable (though technically not right) that the social distancing measures were ignored at times during both the Garda and Storey funerals, both were wrong, but could be forgiven in my eyes.

It's hypocritical to have a problem with one and not the other.

Mary Lou on the Six One news specifically said as an aside that the golf club thing was wrong irrespective of the virus.

Well what the f*** was going on? Members of the judiciary partying with members of select political parties? Details emerging on the other thread of some of the business interests there too.
    It's all very cozy between the power swap parties and the part of the state apparatus they are supposed to be separated from. The Gardai watching on too as regs were being broken.

Best thing is not to upset yourself too much about this particular fact and the next time don't vote for her or her party.

Might be a good idea to stop watching the Irish news too.