blanch152 wrote: » You could call it the Friends of Gerry Adams category too if you want.
jm08 wrote: » What do you mean by that? Who/What is a ''Freinds of Gerry Adams'' category?
BQQ wrote: » *Taoisigh We do have a Tánaiste though
jh79 wrote: » Seen Mary Lou on the news. So in her amoral world it's wrong for td's to play golf with judges and lobbyist put xmas parties with criminals and murderers is fine. And of course the virus can tell the difference between a party and a mock funeral.
Rows Grower wrote: » That must of sounded so smart in your own head before you typed it, and even smarter then when you heard the echo. Well done.
jh79 wrote: » You're more than welcome to explain to me how it is more acceptable for "one shot" McCabe to attend SF functions than bankers playing golf with tds.
Rows Grower wrote: » Sorry, but I don't have the time, the inclination or the crayons.
jh79 wrote: » Any chance you stuck them up your nose ?
blanch152 wrote: » Where people like Liam Adams, Tom McFeely and Slab Murphy fit in, thought that was obvious.
Rows Grower wrote: » The voice of experience.
jm08 wrote: » You really are throwing the kitchen sink at smart alec comments. Getting tutorials from Leo are you?
jh79 wrote: » Any chance as a SF voter you could explain Mary Lou's logic that it is unacceptable for td's to play golf with lobbyists and bankers but acceptable for active members of criminal gangs to attend SF functions?
jm08 wrote: » You'd have to tell me who and which function this active member of a criminal gang was at.
jh79 wrote: » Was posted earlier in one of the SF threads you and I post on. Some Sunday paper from NI. Conor Murphy and "One Shot" McCabe. The pictures were taken after the murder of Paul Quinn too. Francie thought it was enough evidence for Murphy to resign.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Where are you getting the 'invited' bit? It was a Christmas party in a pub from what I know. You gilding the lily? p.s. That wasn't why I thought Murphy should resign, I thought that because he got involved in the case when he shouldn't have.
jh79 wrote: » Fair enough. An assumption on my part. In your opinion is it worse for an elected politician to associate with the likes of "one shot" or bank managers?
FrancieBrady wrote: » That question I answered on the other thread.
jh79 wrote: » I thought that was why you said Murphy should resign. If the answer was because of the "conflict" it's normal that some dodgy characters would still be involved? Surely that doesn't apply if they are still active after the GFA. McCabes 's gang have been named as those involved. His gang is what people are referring to as those operating in the area but without the blessing of Gerry or the late B Storey?
FrancieBrady wrote: » I explained this before in fairness jh79 The IRA whom I never supported (but as republican understood why they did what they did) had to convince me. As had SF that they were applying their commitments to the GFA. I think what Adams and McGuinness did was outstanding in bringing them (IRA) into democratic politics. I understood a number of things...rather than sensationally go on about white bearded old men in the whins pulling nefarious strings I understood not all of them would get or take up elected office and that there was a possibility some people who did awful things would be in the background. That is a post conflict/war society. I also understand what the IMC referred to when they talked about 'difficulties in South Armagh' for the IRA and control. That too was always going to happen and I think Murphy apologising has brought him at least to heel. I think he should resign though. I am convinced SF are fulfilling their commitments to the GFA...therefore can vote for them.
McMurphy wrote: » The virus can't tell the difference in a Gardas funeral or a Sinn Fein funeral either jh.
jh79 wrote: » Given that Murphy is still a MLA is it hypocritical of MLD to criticise TD's for playing fecking golf with bank managers and the like?
FrancieBrady wrote: » They are all hypocrits when it suits...what makes you think that I think there is a perfect political party out there, I don't really know. And please jh79...do me a favour and stop trying to diminish the significance of the power swap parties, the judiciary, journalists and the Gardai all ignoring regs and giving two fingers to the entire country by calling it a 'game of fecking golf.' That game has accounted for multiple apologies and the resignation of two government TD's and an abject Taoiseach on our national broadcaster. Not to mention severely weakening the government.
FrancieBrady wrote: » 'The Virus Likes To Party' according to Dara Calleary on Wednesday last when he probably had the invite for a two day in his pocket.
jh79 wrote: » I agree completely. But MLD was on news today saying there was no equivalency with the Clifden incident. Was she right or wrong?
jh79 wrote: » Mary Lou on the Six One news specifically said as an aside that the golf club thing was wrong irrespective of the virus.